HellLight - No God Above, No Devil Below review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
6.0

11 users:
6.73
Band: HellLight
Album: No God Above, No Devil Below
Release date: July 2013


01. Intro
02. No God Above, No Devil Below
03. Shades Of Black
04. Unsacred
05. Legacy Of Soul
06. Path Of Sorrow
07. Beneath The Lies
08. The Ordinary Eyes


It's heavy, it's slow, it's oppressing aaaaaaand…


Not really that exciting.

HellLight is a funeral doom metal band hailing from the lovely country of Brazil. The band plays a sort of melodic funeral doom, the base of the music relies on typical funeral doom structure. Slow monotonous and crushing riffs, backed by a wall of synth, and minimal drum presence. They introduce clean vocals which are very pleasant to my ears. They add a nice break from the heavy, overkill doom structure. The songs range from the short 2 minute intro to the massive 14 minute long The Ordinary Eyes. The songs contain many melodic breaks, where the guitar plays nice, faster riffs and lines that catch the listener's ear more than the average funeral doom behind it. The production is okay. The guitar sounds a little thin, and the drums sound a little harsh, but this can all be overlooked. Overall it's produced well, not extraordinary by any means, but it gets the job done.

To be honest, this album bored me by the second track. The album suffers from a severe case of "hearditbeforesyndrome". The music is nothing new, or exciting. Apart from a few interesting melodic guitar solos, this album is beyond monotonous. Production-wise, the album is fine. Musically, the album is fine. That's all it really is: Fine. Why? Because I know I can find at least 15 other albums that sound damn near identical to this. This style has just lost its touch. I'm sure this will be someone's favourite album, but for most of you it will disappear on your shelf after the first listen.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 5
Production: 7

Written by Boxcar Willy | 17.08.2013


 


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 102 users
17.08.2013 - 19:35
MuhannadQandah
Boooooring
Loading...
17.08.2013 - 20:12
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Meh... I'll stick with Evoken, Elysian Blaze, and Esoteric for the good funeral doom. That's my new rule: if a funeral doom band's name doesn't start with an E, they probably suck.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
17.08.2013 - 20:32
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Apothecary on 17.08.2013 at 20:12

Meh... I'll stick with Evoken, Elysian Blaze, and Esoteric for the good funeral doom. That's my new rule: if a funeral doom band's name doesn't start with an E, they probably suck.


Faal start with an F, Sketpicism with S, Profetus with P, Shape Of Despair with S All exceptions to the rule?
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
17.08.2013 - 20:54
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.08.2013 at 20:32

Faal start with an F, Sketpicism with S, Profetus with P, Shape Of Despair with S All exceptions to the rule?

You could say that
Ahab too... or at least before The Giant, didn't care for that one too much.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
18.08.2013 - 02:27
Alex F
yeah man
They never were special. Your review has successfully prevented me from checking it out. I might in the future when I'm in the mood for generic funeral doom.
Loading...
19.08.2013 - 07:40
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Mediocre review for an equally mediocre album.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
19.08.2013 - 11:54
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
It really sucks to make a review for generic funeral doom. I feel your pain. xD
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
19.08.2013 - 11:56
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Quote:

Because I know I can find at least 15 other albums that sound damn near identical to this.


Such as?

Not that I am saying that Helllight isn't generic, because it sure as hell is.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
19.08.2013 - 11:58
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.08.2013 at 11:54

It really sucks to make a review for generic funeral doom. I feel your pain. xD



how can you feel his pain when you've never reviewed a generic funeral doom album?
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
19.08.2013 - 13:09
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.08.2013 at 11:58

Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.08.2013 at 11:54

It really sucks to make a review for generic funeral doom. I feel your pain. xD

how can you feel his pain when you've never reviewed a generic funeral doom album?


Yes, I have. Once, though.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
21.08.2013 - 16:11
Alex F
yeah man
Written by Boxcar Willy on 19.08.2013 at 07:40

Mediocre review for an equally mediocre album.

Well in your defense, writing a review for a mediocre album is probably the hardest review to write (or so I'd imagine). At leat with a really good or really shitty album there are factors that make it as such, but with mediocrity you just have generic, done to death instrumentation, and there's really not a lot to say.
Loading...
21.08.2013 - 21:25
metalix
Boring!!!
Loading...
12.09.2013 - 22:35
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
"Shades of Black" is a damn good song to be honest.
----
Loading...

Hits total: 2513 | This month: 9