Rating:
6.0
HellLight - No God Above, No Devil Below
15 July 2013


01. Intro
02. No God Above, No Devil Below
03. Shades Of Black
04. Unsacred
05. Legacy Of Soul
06. Path Of Sorrow
07. Beneath The Lies
08. The Ordinary Eyes


Recorded at Hell Inc. Studios.
Produced by Fabio De Paula.

Cover art and design direction: HellLight & Rodrigo Balan.


It's heavy, it's slow, it's oppressing aaaaaaand…


Not really that exciting.

HellLight is a funeral doom metal band hailing from the lovely country of Brazil. The band plays a sort of melodic funeral doom, the base of the music relies on typical funeral doom structure. Slow monotonous and crushing riffs, backed by a wall of synth, and minimal drum presence. They introduce clean vocals which are very pleasant to my ears. They add a nice break from the heavy, overkill doom structure. The songs range from the short 2 minute intro to the massive 14 minute long The Ordinary Eyes. The songs contain many melodic breaks, where the guitar plays nice, faster riffs and lines that catch the listener's ear more than the average funeral doom behind it. The production is okay. The guitar sounds a little thin, and the drums sound a little harsh, but this can all be overlooked. Overall it's produced well, not extraordinary by any means, but it gets the job done.

To be honest, this album bored me by the second track. The album suffers from a severe case of "hearditbeforesyndrome". The music is nothing new, or exciting. Apart from a few interesting melodic guitar solos, this album is beyond monotonous. Production-wise, the album is fine. Musically, the album is fine. That's all it really is: Fine. Why? Because I know I can find at least 15 other albums that sound damn near identical to this. This style has just lost its touch. I'm sure this will be someone's favourite album, but for most of you it will disappear on your shelf after the first listen.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 5
Production: 7


 



Written on 17.08.2013 by
BoxCar Willy
Str8 thuggin since 96

Wu Tang Clan aint nuttin ta fuck with.
More reviews by BoxCar Willy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 99  
Search this topic:  


MuhannadQandah - 17.08.2013 at 19:35  
Boooooring
Apothecary - 17.08.2013 at 20:12  
Meh... I'll stick with Evoken, Elysian Blaze, and Esoteric for the good funeral doom. That's my new rule: if a funeral doom band's name doesn't start with an E, they probably suck.
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.08.2013 at 20:32  
Written by Apothecary on 17.08.2013 at 20:12

Meh... I'll stick with Evoken, Elysian Blaze, and Esoteric for the good funeral doom. That's my new rule: if a funeral doom band's name doesn't start with an E, they probably suck.


Faal start with an F, Sketpicism with S, Profetus with P, Shape Of Despair with S All exceptions to the rule?
Apothecary - 17.08.2013 at 20:54  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.08.2013 at 20:32

Faal start with an F, Sketpicism with S, Profetus with P, Shape Of Despair with S All exceptions to the rule?

You could say that
Ahab too... or at least before The Giant, didn't care for that one too much.
Alex Fenger - 18.08.2013 at 02:27  
They never were special. Your review has successfully prevented me from checking it out. I might in the future when I'm in the mood for generic funeral doom.
BoxCar Willy - 19.08.2013 at 07:40  
Mediocre review for an equally mediocre album.
Mr. Doctor - 19.08.2013 at 11:54  
It really sucks to make a review for generic funeral doom. I feel your pain. xD
Marcel Hubregtse - 19.08.2013 at 11:56  
Quote:

Because I know I can find at least 15 other albums that sound damn near identical to this.


Such as?

Not that I am saying that Helllight isn't generic, because it sure as hell is.
Marcel Hubregtse - 19.08.2013 at 11:58  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.08.2013 at 11:54

It really sucks to make a review for generic funeral doom. I feel your pain. xD



how can you feel his pain when you've never reviewed a generic funeral doom album?
Mr. Doctor - 19.08.2013 at 13:09  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.08.2013 at 11:58

Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.08.2013 at 11:54

It really sucks to make a review for generic funeral doom. I feel your pain. xD

how can you feel his pain when you've never reviewed a generic funeral doom album?


Yes, I have. Once, though.
Alex Fenger - 21.08.2013 at 16:11  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 19.08.2013 at 07:40

Mediocre review for an equally mediocre album.

Well in your defense, writing a review for a mediocre album is probably the hardest review to write (or so I'd imagine). At leat with a really good or really shitty album there are factors that make it as such, but with mediocrity you just have generic, done to death instrumentation, and there's really not a lot to say.
metalix - 21.08.2013 at 21:25  
Boring!!!
Cynic Metalhead - 12.09.2013 at 22:35  
"Shades of Black" is a damn good song to be honest.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums HellLight - No God Above, No Devil Below 9 05.10.2013 by NocturnalStalker
Reviews Derelict Earth - Below The Empty Skies 6 30.12.2012 by Susan
Reviews The Devil Wears Prada - With Roots Above And Branches Below 5.5 02.12.2011 by oLjud
Reviews Beaten To Death - Dødsfest! 4.5 06.10.2013 by psykometal
Reviews Carnifex - The Diseased And The Poisoned 4.5 02.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 1681 | This month: 61