Elder - Lore review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.7

114 users:
8.42
Band: Elder
Album: Lore
Release date: February 2015


01. Compendium
02. Legend
03. Lore
04. Deadweight
05. Spirit At Aphelion


If Elder have a lesson for their listeners in Lore, it's to keep on moving. There isn't anything profound in this, they'll just never stop for long and lay a riff to rest in a stagnant position, leaving it idle to overstay its welcome. Ineffectual repetition is skilfully bypassed, and, consequently, their third full-length effort features five elongated tracks with a high level of stoner metal detail and continuity.

A dynamic rhythm section designed to carve out compositional canyons and a Sleep benefited wisdom grants the band an ability for lengthy tunes on Lore, which shift with as much continual reshaping of song structures as one can envision within the context of singular stoner soundscapes. In many ways, these tracks are a seamlessly scenic tour and panorama of the genre, as it spans the psychedelic gamut of stoner's horizons, from its rock lined crevices, through the heaviest of heavy psych, and well into metal in a nicely diverse delivery. Although the arrangement is more elaborate in elongation and oft-changing than expected for a band of their kind, higher summits with engaging points of melody are found throughout the record, grasping at the listener with readier repetition and their bluesy groove edge.

The band's deft approach to song construction often finds just the right amount of repetition without driving a riff six feet under. However, there will be passages which arise to repeat themselves and establish a comparatively psychedelic laziness without demonstrating as much finesse in the leads and percussion as elsewhere, with the respective ability of such in edging song progression along via the ongoing flow and build of guitar and drum patterns. This imperative in the track-list is likely to lessen attentiveness on the listener's part at some intervals of the album in its entirety because, although the performance itself is certainly consistent, Lore is lined with its more obvious stand-out segments and points of greater engagement as repetition is emphasised in appropriate proportions in order to avoid monotony.

On the other hand, most of the album's passages sharply hold onto any given riff or melody for long enough without too hastily reshaping them, so that they leave the desired effect; that is, they're memorable, and can be recalled after listening. Repetition works wonders on the recollection, though Elder know not to overdo it, even if they might occasionally extend ideas a bit beyond their means or, conversely, underdo it, and change things up too regularly. Stoner is a genre which finds some of its best facets highlighted in repetition, though Elder would individually shape sounds to their own will.

A highlight for the record is obvious as all rhythm recedes and gives way to the floating feel of the title track's mid-section; the experience reaches a moment atop a mountain of melody to allow for respite and a view of its surrounds. The way back down is all assisted by melodic continuation and riffs well-weathered. This sixteen-minute endeavour is surely a place from which the band can stand proud of their achievements. To bring out the best of such, an outstanding production gives Lore the kind of texture that stoner fans dream of day-and-night, the fuzzy and bass emboldened riffs and drum sound being all rich, warm and inviting with their lucidity in the mix.

The vocal presence for Lore is rather minimal, as the band opt for the drawn out instrumental dominance of metal structured heavy psych. When used, the arrangements are a welcome addition and compliment the instrumentation well, DiSalvo's delivery bearing a natural stoner style and thoroughly granting tracks like "Legend" a psychedelic enhancement commencing around the three-minute mark. In fact, and although he lays out a few lines across the tunes, the album overall is often wanting of more of such vocals from DiSalvo.

Considering its demonstrated resources, Lore as a well-rounded whole isn't found to be wanting of much, save your ear. It's an excellent record from a band that have shown great promise, and deliver in spades in their third studio outing.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


 



Written on 20.02.2015 by R'Vannith enjoys music, he's hoping you do too.


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 271 users
20.02.2015 - 20:48
qlacs
"The Quaker"
Heard it a few weeks ago, indeed not bad.
----
Loading...
21.02.2015 - 15:46
koob
That artwork tho
Loading...
21.02.2015 - 15:49
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Written by koob on 21.02.2015 at 15:46

That artwork tho

'tis a thing of beauty.
Loading...
23.02.2015 - 09:22
SludgeBeard
So glad they added these guys, I didn't think they'd actually do it. DRS is amazing, can't wait for this record to ship.
Loading...
23.02.2015 - 11:10
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Written by SludgeBeard on 23.02.2015 at 09:22

So glad they added these guys, I didn't think they'd actually do it. DRS is amazing, can't wait for this record to ship.


Definitely a worthwhile addition. These guys are excellent musicians, this record being testament to that.
Loading...
23.02.2015 - 14:09
Spirit Molecule
spirit molecule
Man, I can't wait for this one! DSR is one of my all time favourite albums.
----
If you never wake up from a dream does it become reality?

Last fm
Don't click here
Loading...
23.02.2015 - 21:20
SludgeBeard
Written by R'Vannith on 23.02.2015 at 11:10

Written by SludgeBeard on 23.02.2015 at 09:22

So glad they added these guys, I didn't think they'd actually do it. DRS is amazing, can't wait for this record to ship.


Definitely a worthwhile addition. These guys are excellent musicians, this record being testament to that.

I can't imagine why these guys aren't bigger than they are. They have legit crossover appeal without sacrificing their creativity or musicianship. There's a million metal bands with much more flashy record deals that can't hold a candle to these guys.
Loading...
24.02.2015 - 09:36
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Written by SludgeBeard on 23.02.2015 at 21:20

I can't imagine why these guys aren't bigger than they are. They have legit crossover appeal without sacrificing their creativity or musicianship. There's a million metal bands with much more flashy record deals that can't hold a candle to these guys.


In terms of studio output they received a fair bit of recognition for the previous album, hopefully this one will be enough to increase public awareness of the band, and they certainly deserve it.
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 00:31
SludgeBeard
Written by R'Vannith on 24.02.2015 at 09:36

Written by SludgeBeard on 23.02.2015 at 21:20

I can't imagine why these guys aren't bigger than they are. They have legit crossover appeal without sacrificing their creativity or musicianship. There's a million metal bands with much more flashy record deals that can't hold a candle to these guys.


In terms of studio output they received a fair bit of recognition for the previous album, hopefully this one will be enough to increase public awareness of the band, and they certainly deserve it.

True, but still... I don't have a lot of serious metal friends, but they've usually heard of most of my obscure favorites. I never run into any Elder fans unless i come to a place like this that's devoted to them.
Loading...
28.02.2015 - 01:21
SludgeBeard
Got my copy today, its fucking rad. And the disc is probably the sexiest in my collection.
Loading...
29.07.2015 - 17:48
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Not necessarily a bad album, but part of me just can't get over the Mastodon worship here, which is so blatant it hurts. Half the time when I listen to this album I feel like I'm listening to some bonus tracks from Crack The Skye or something. I suppose there are definitely worse bands out there to imitate, and this isn't terrible music by a long shot, but I really wouldn't call it overly original either.
----
Go tell that long tongue liar
Go and tell that midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
30.07.2015 - 12:32
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Written by Apothecary on 29.07.2015 at 17:48

Not necessarily a bad album, but part of me just can't get over the Mastodon worship here, which is so blatant it hurts. Half the time when I listen to this album I feel like I'm listening to some bonus tracks from Crack The Skye or something. I suppose there are definitely worse bands out there to imitate, and this isn't terrible music by a long shot, but I really wouldn't call it overly original either.


I wouldn't draw any conclusive comparisons to Mastodon in relation to the metal element of the album, as Elder (on this record at least) have much more to do with stoner/psych rock as well.

They aren't particularly derivative of any band, really. Although I agree it isn't the most original or groundbreaking of records, generally speaking it'd be a bit much to expect more from a stoner band in terms of pushing the envelope (not every band can be Mastodon ). Regardless, I'd say that the band are distinctive, and that they've found their own style in incorporating stoner rock to stoner metal.
Loading...

Hits total: 9015 | This month: 13