Satan's Host - Pre-Dating God Part 2 review



Reviewer:
5.9

20 users:
7.15
Band: Satan's Host
Album: Pre-Dating God Part 2
Release date: January 2015


01. Fanning The Flames Of Hell
02. Soul Wrent
03. Lady N' The Snake
04. As The Dead, They Sleep
05. Descending In The Shadow Of Osiris
06. Reprise: Pre-Dating God [Classic metal remix]


Nope. It didn't get any better.

Honestly, I was initially irritated by the lack of truly extreme parts on Pre-Dating God Part I. They'd pop in, or come really close to making an appearance, only to back down pretty quickly. Then I realized there's still Part II. Maybe Satan's Host are pulling an Opeth, with Part I to Part II being their Damnation to Deliverance? One showcasing their more melodic, power metal side, with the other displaying a little more brutality?...You know, the whole "two sides to the same coin" thing...

Nope. This is pretty much just Part I continued. The same anti-climactic song writing, the same potential, the same let down. The confusing part is why the hell did this need to be a double album? Part I has got it's fair share of filler, what made them think it was a good idea to stretch things out into two full-length albums? It's incredibly baffling. It's not like Part II is 100% filler either. If they tightened the song writing up a bit, cut out the fat and made things a little more cohesive, we would have been left with one fantastic album as opposed to two mediocre albums. It just seems like Satan's Host have a misplaced sense of confidence in their songwriting abilities.

Ok folks, we're wrapping this one up early. If you really need to know what Part II sounds like, go back and read my review for Part I. It's basically the same.


 



Written on 28.02.2015 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 123 users
28.02.2015 - 08:45
sbgmetal
Yea i pretty much agree with the review, i do like satans host but if they would have combined both parts into a single album it would have been much better output
Loading...
28.02.2015 - 14:12
ZafÞ
Phlegmish
Completely agreed with both reviews, except that it's funny that you complain about this being a double album, when in fact it's two separate albums released on the same day, which makes even less sense, especially since they're so similar.
Cut the fat, release it as one album, and maybe it's as good as By The Hands Of The Devil (which already has its flaws, but is a lot better than this boring mess.)
----
And the tears that we will weep today
Will all be washed away
By the tears that we will weep again tomorrow
Loading...
28.02.2015 - 23:44
Susan
Smeghead
LOL ahhh thanks for a great laugh Both were excellent reads
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
01.03.2015 - 03:25
flightoficarus
Stamp Tramp
There are only a handful of double albums out there that I really consider to be worth their weight start to finish. Physical Graffiti, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, some may disagree but The Fragile; off the top of my head. It's a difficult feat that should not be attempted without a strong vision and a veritable cornucopia of good ideas. Inflated egos is probably right.
----
Daily underground metal recommendations at Metal Trenches.
Listen to the Trench Talk podcast.
Loading...
01.03.2015 - 08:26
Malignar
I don't know. I would think 5.9 should be reserved for the some of the worst releases out there. I agree there is something about their songwriting that isn't very catchy. And this double whatever it is, is their worst couple releases in many years. But there needs to be points for being completely unique. I know of exactly zero black/power metal bands. They can play their instruments, vocals are outstanding and the riffs are good. Just something missing in the songwriting.
Loading...
01.03.2015 - 14:54
Tomas Piller
Written by Malignar on 01.03.2015 at 08:26

I don't know. I would think 5.9 should be reserved for the some of the worst releases out there.

Well, what would you reserve numbers 1 to 5 for? Notice the number 6 is labeled 'average' on MS, that's pretty much what's said in the review.
Loading...
02.03.2015 - 00:19
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
Written by deadone on 02.03.2015 at 00:13

I think Satan's Host is one of those "we have potential but have no idea how to exploit it" bands."

Indeed.
I even kept an eye on Satan's Host since the last release (even added to my fav list to receive updates and all) to see if they would get inspired in the future and then they came up witj two samey sounding albums which seem to be a step less than their last one.
At this rate I not exactly can expect much from now on, I believe.
----
2016 - 2017
2018 - 2019
Loading...
02.03.2015 - 11:29
Charly546
Written by deadone on 02.03.2015 at 00:13

I think Satan's Host is one of those "we have potential but have no idea how to exploit it" bands."


I think they did a very good job of exploiting their potential on "By The Hands of The Devil" and "Celebration For The Love of Satan" so if there's someone who thinks poorly of this album but thinks that the "idea" might be good, then check those albums out. Those were the "wild" ones, compared to this "tame" twin-album. Even the Grim Reaper cover that should get the blood moving fails to do so.

(I should note that my opinion is based on the full twin-album streaming before the release of the albums).
Loading...

Hits total: 2508 | This month: 6