New Keepers Of The Water Towers - Infernal Machine review



Reviewer:
7.5

23 users:
6.74
Band: New Keepers Of The Water Towers
Album: Infernal Machine
Release date: March 2016


01. The Forever War
02. Tracks Over Carcosa
03. Tachyon Deep
04. Misantropin Kallar
05. Escape Aleph Minor
06. Jorden
07. This Infernal Machine


A modern shaman once firmly told us that psychedelics are not illegal because compassionate governments are concerned about you jumping out windows when you're too high, but rather because they open you up to questioning and the possibility that everything you've been told is wrong. But we all know that's a load of crap. It's really because no feds want mischief makers like New Keepers Of The Water Towers tripped out all day recording silly tributes to the Sun God when they could instead be active, productive members of the labor force. But I certainly don't mind it.

Infernal Machine, the third full length from these psyched out Swedish musicians, comes as a slight change of pace considering their past efforts, as it is far less heavy and grounded in an actual "stoner metal" type sound, and is instead focused on more of an actual psychedelic rock direction and exploring spacey atmospheres in an extended jam type of approach. This shift falters a bit on opening track "The Forever War," which feels a bit like a very long intro that drags on and on, but from there it's executed rather well, especially on the extremely groovy "Tracks Over Carcosa." To complement further, occasionally some offbeat, odd rhythms evident of the band's progressive influence pop into the mix to make things even more interesting, most noticeably on "Escape Aleph Minor."

The one thing that comes as a slight downside in all of this is the considerable lack of vocals across Infernal Machine, as it is for the most part more of an instrumental psychedelic album than anything else. This isn't a real problem, as this sort of music has almost always been inclined towards a "music > vocals" type of formula, but the issue for New Keepers Of The Water Towers on this album is that vocals appear so infrequently that when they do appear, they almost feel a bit sudden and out of place amidst the larger sound going on in the background. Infernal Machine is by no means a bad album, but definitely one that would have benefited more either from a greater vocal presence, or simply no vocals at all (preferably the latter).

Although New Keepers Of The Water Towers had definitely planted seeds for a sound leaning more toward psychedelic jamming and krautrock than toward stoner metal on previous albums, it's really Infernal Machine that sees that experimentation coming to full fruition. Less heavy and more free flowing than past releases, some listeners may be deterred by the lack of weight and structure that the music here has by comparison. Others, however, may be intrigued to see the band go deeper down the rabbit hole with their sound, and that's an itch that Infernal Machine is almost guaranteed to satisfy.

Come along on the trip, flower children.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 23.03.2016 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 182 users
23.03.2016 - 17:58
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Still enjoy this one immensely but find it to be a step down from their previous one.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
23.03.2016 - 22:15
Zap
Phlegmish
I'm not sure if I listened to this in full yet but I do remember liking what I've heard so far.
----
And the tears that we will weep today
Will all be washed away
By the tears that we will weep again tomorrow
Loading...
24.03.2016 - 00:32
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Zap on 23.03.2016 at 22:15

I'm not sure if I listened to this in full yet but I do remember liking what I've heard so far.

Enjoyment of it is probably most dependent on whether you prefer the groovy, stoner based sound, or this more free range psychedelic sound. The two are both closely related though, so I don't see many fans of the former being all that upset with the latter
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
25.03.2016 - 14:34
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Only problem whit this review is that its Che not Ivor, because its Ivor's type of music , I did not knew before you like progressive rock man
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
25.03.2016 - 15:03
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Bad English on 25.03.2016 at 14:34

Only problem whit this review is that its Che not Ivor, because its Ivor's type of music , I did not knew before you like progressive rock man

This really isn't progressive rock as much as it is just trippy, psychedelic rock type jamming. The two can definitely overlap though, as I said, there are a few offbeat moments in here that are more suggestive of the band's prog influence. They're not all over the place, but you can pick them out.

And while I don't really like progressive metal, I love older progressive rock, Yes, Genesis, Hawkwind, Van Der Graaf Generator, King Crimson, it's all great. I don't usually like progressive metal unless it's either combined with another subgenre (black metal, death, doom, whatever) or if it clearly has a strong influence from old school prog to it, like Dreadnought, or Hail Spirit Noir.

Also... surely reviewers don't have to be purely limited to their favorite areas, do they? It's nice to go out on a limb now and then
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
25.03.2016 - 15:45
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by Apothecary on 25.03.2016 at 15:03

Written by Bad English on 25.03.2016 at 14:34

Only problem whit this review is that its Che not Ivor, because its Ivor's type of music , I did not knew before you like progressive rock man

This really isn't progressive rock as much as it is just trippy, psychedelic rock type jamming. The two can definitely overlap though, as I said, there are a few offbeat moments in here that are more suggestive of the band's prog influence. They're not all over the place, but you can pick them out.

And while I don't really like progressive metal, I love older progressive rock, Yes, Genesis, Hawkwind, Van Der Graaf Generator, King Crimson, it's all great. I don't usually like progressive metal unless it's either combined with another subgenre (black metal, death, doom, whatever) or if it clearly has a strong influence from old school prog to it, like Dreadnought, or Hail Spirit Noir.

Also... surely reviewers don't have to be purely limited to their favorite areas, do they? It's nice to go out on a limb now and then


It means we can change style to band profile?
e what you said prog rock. I like 70's to, but I dislike prog metal unless its involved in other supgenres
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
25.03.2016 - 23:38
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Bad English on 25.03.2016 at 15:45

It means we can change style to band profile?

Not necessary really, they're not purely a prog rock band and that isn't even the sound that really comes out the most with them: it's really in the stoner and the psych. Just labeling them as stoner metal, doom, and prog rock is fine
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
25.03.2016 - 23:40
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by Apothecary on 25.03.2016 at 23:38

Written by Bad English on 25.03.2016 at 15:45

It means we can change style to band profile?

Not necessary really, they're not purely a prog rock band and that isn't even the sound that really comes out the most with them: it's really in the stoner and the psych. Just labeling them as stoner metal, doom, and prog rock is fine


then you're staff feel free change it or give me green I will do
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
26.03.2016 - 15:24
Arcesse Eum
...nice, a McKenna reference on MS
----
As above, so below.
Loading...
26.03.2016 - 15:45
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Arcesse Eum on 26.03.2016 at 15:24

...nice, a McKenna reference on MS

Love and greatly admire his vision, teachings, and writings, and it just fit for the style!
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
26.03.2016 - 20:13
Enemy of Reality
Best background music ive heard in a while
Loading...

Hits total: 6867 | This month: 4