Twilight Force - Heroes Of Mighty Magic review



Reviewer:
8.2

98 users:
7.97
Band: Twilight Force
Album: Heroes Of Mighty Magic
Release date: August 2016


01. Battle Of Arcane Might
02. Powerwind
03. Guardian Of The Seas
04. Flight Of The Sapphire Dragon
05. There And Back Again [feat. Fabio Lione]
06. Riders Of The Dawn
07. Keepers Of Fate
08. Rise Of A Hero
09. To The Stars
10. Heroes Of Mighty Magic [feat. Joakim Brodén]
11. Epilogue
12. Knights Of Twilight's Might


Join Twilight Force, young girls and boys, on this great quest! Together with brethren such as Gloryhammer and Fairyland, they will defend the Twilight Kingdom against the dark lords of serious metal! Ride with our heroes on colorful dragons to the barren lands of evil, harsh metals, and battle the enemy with weapons such as sing-a-long choruses, lush orchestrations, and pure happiness! The quest will be long, exactly 12 tracks, but the energy will remain high with catchy tune after catchy tune to inspire your fellowship. Grab your enchanted sword, head to the wizard for blessings of mighty magic; we ride at sunrise. (Must provide own sword and unicorn.)

I'm sure I read the above text on a scroll pinned to a tree in Sherwood Forest...

Anyway, this record is solid. Solid as a block of aged white cheddar. The expensive kind. Yes, the cheese metaphors have begun. This is one of the most deliciously cheesy power metal albums I've heard in some time, and hope all you lasses and lads will join Twilight Force on the quest and whatnot.

Musically, keyboards and orchestrations lead the way through each song and the compositions all around remain interesting and exciting, track after track. Genre metal it may be but drag it does not! There is a lead vocalist but you sometimes wouldn't know it because of all the sing-a-long choruses. Nonetheless, the vocal solos are very good; Chrileon has solid skills all around and we mostly hear his great middle-upper range. Guest vocalists Fabio Lione and Joakim Brodén each appear on one of the 10-minute epics to help fight the forces of evil.

It's not all rainbows and fairies (I mean, come on, it mostly is). The production is not as clear as it could be and some tracks feel a bit muddy, especially related to the rhythm section, though all instruments suffer a bit. I may not have realized there were 2 guitars just from listening. This is slight, however; it's less a fault and more a place where this record could have just been even better than it is. Beware also the 6+ minute track entitled "Epilogue" which is a narration related to the story. Yes, six and a half minutes of an actor's monologue. No music. Thankfully it's the penultimate track and if you loathe spoken dialogue in your metal like some of us do, it's easy to skip and focus solely on the glorious, glorious music.

So, grab your sword, close your windows, and rock there and back again with Twilight Force.


 



Written on 15.09.2016 by Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of sub-genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.

Twitter: @HeavyMetalSusan


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 272 users
15.09.2016 - 21:51
Bad English
Masterchief
Somehow your review is against Mike Hotel signature in this site lol
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
15.09.2016 - 22:58
Susan
Smeghead
Written by Bad English on 15.09.2016 at 21:51

Somehow your review is against Mike Hotel signature in this site lol


I have no idea what you just said.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
15.09.2016 - 23:03
Briche
I think the sound is quite bad. Sometimes i cant listen guitars, sometimes no drums, sometimes just orquestation... I was expecting something more fresh and this is, sadly, in an amateur level.
----
O_o
Loading...
15.09.2016 - 23:09
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Susan on 15.09.2016 at 22:58

Written by Bad English on 15.09.2016 at 21:51

Somehow your review is against Mike Hotel signature in this site lol


I have no idea what you just said.


Marcel's signature
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

You wrote:
Join Twilight Force, young girls and boys, on this great quest! Together with brethren such as Gloryhammer and Fairyland, they will defend the Twilight Kingdom against the dark lords of serious metal
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
15.09.2016 - 23:11
Susan
Smeghead
Riiiiiight. Marcel was not necessarily who I was addressing in that particular joke
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
15.09.2016 - 23:28
The Shape 1973
New genre according to the sticker on the case. Swedish Adventure Metal.
----
I don't do inclusive
Loading...
16.09.2016 - 09:39
FYA
Destroyer
Is it only me, or it's like heavily inspired by Heroes of Might And Magic 3?
Loading...
16.09.2016 - 10:36
Overrwatcher
That album name though.

Seems like a nod to Heroes of Might & Magic, a series I grew up with. Power metal really is the nerdiest genre out there.

Written by FYA on 16.09.2016 at 09:39

Is it only me, or it's like heavily inspired by Heroes of Might And Magic 3?


While of course the worlds are completely different, they definitely know of Might & Magic. A few of the lines definitely seem like references, especially from the the title track:

"Into the battle they rode,
Warhorses pounding the ground
Elven arrows fly, piercing the air like the wind
The wizard of mystical force;
Enchanting the heroes of might
Enchanted dragon of wisdom
Scorching the enemy lines"

That is so Heroes of Might & Magic. Likely a shitty player though, -1 morale due to troops of three alignments, and that implies the dragons are green (thus same alignment as elves). If they're gold/black/azure then make that -2. At least he specced correctly to run level 1 spells on a Might hero. If he has enough morale boosts then it's A-OK.
----
Overr's List Of Worthwhile Deathcore Albums

Written by Dr. Strawberry on 12.06.2016 at 19:43

Overwatcher, MS Xena, crumbled him in no time. MS needs you to kill the boredom in here.
Loading...
17.09.2016 - 06:52
Teravolt_Danny
Okay... on paper, this is as generic of power metal as you can get.

But goddamn are the songs and music catchy, and actually... yes... magical and majestic sounding. This is power metal fucking well done, folks, Love it or hate it.
----
I lift weights and listen to metal
Loading...
17.09.2016 - 18:34
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Susan on 15.09.2016 at 23:11

Riiiiiight. Marcel was not necessarily who I was addressing in that particular joke


Read a dead one Venom latest album review and 1th and second comment, its so cool (if that revivev was not deleted)
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
18.09.2016 - 20:13
AngelofDeth
Cyborg Raptor
Digging this so far. Just wish it came out during the early summer where blasting cheese metal while driving through the mountains is the thing to do(at least imo)...
----
pewpew.. gotcha
Loading...
18.09.2016 - 20:36
Susan
Smeghead
Written by AngelofDeth on 18.09.2016 at 20:13

Digging this so far. Just wish it came out during the early summer where blasting cheese metal while driving through the mountains is the thing to do(at least imo)...


Haha yes; this is "summertime metal" for sure
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
22.09.2016 - 02:25
BitterCOld
waltrsobchakheit
I tried, Susan, I tried. I do have that goofy powercheese mix, will on extremely rare occasions play some on a lark.

this album is like a plate full of alfajores, like the proper Argentine kind.



one is more than enough a sugar rush. cannot fathom eating two back-to-back and a 12 pack? instant diabetes.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
22.09.2016 - 08:27
Susan
Smeghead
Written by BitterCOld on 22.09.2016 at 02:25

I tried, Susan, I tried. I do have that goofy powercheese mix, will on extremely rare occasions play some on a lark.

this album is like a plate full of alfajores, like the proper Argentine kind.



one is more than enough a sugar rush. cannot fathom eating two back-to-back and a 12 pack? instant diabetes.


GIVE ME WHATEVER THAT AMAZING THING IS IN THAT PICTURE OMG NOMMMMMM. I will dive in like Scrooge McDuck. Diabetes, schiabetes.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
23.09.2016 - 20:02
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
The longer you listen, the better it gets
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
03.10.2016 - 07:45
metalbrat
Written by Briche on 15.09.2016 at 23:03

I think the sound is quite bad. Sometimes i cant listen guitars, sometimes no drums, sometimes just orquestation... I was expecting something more fresh and this is, sadly, in an amateur level.

You are absolutely right. I did not find any difference in tune of 10 out of 12 songs. It all sounded same. On top of it, as you said, the recording - Very poor. 5.00 from me.
Loading...

Hits total: 6716 | This month: 14