Poverty's No Crime - The Chemical Chaos review


16 users:
Band: Poverty's No Crime
Album: The Chemical Chaos
Release date: October 2003

01. Walk Into Nowhere
02. Every Kind Of Life
03. All Minds In One
04. A World Without Me
05. Terminal Trip
06. Pact With The Past
07. Left To Chance
08. Moving Target
09. Do What You Feel
10. Access Denied [unplugged version]

Poverty's No Crime is a totally unknown band to me, and I'm always bragging about knowing a lot of metal bands blah blah blah… this guys are around since 1991 and this is their fifth album, surprised? Well, I am, "The Chemical Chaos" was a total surprise for me, not just because I didn't know nothing about the band, when I pressed play and start listening "Walk Into Nowhere" I knew I was in love with this band…

Poverty's No Crime, despite the weird title again (lately I've been reviewing bands with crazy titles) deliver a very tight progressive Metal, that remind me of Dream Theater and The Flower Kings, the musicianship here is just amazing, all the songs have a crisp sound and the keyboards in the background are always present.

The album deals with destiny and the fact that each detail, however small it may be, can have a profound influence on the course of things. From a scientific point of view, life is just an endless sequence of chemical and physical processes - too complex to comprehend- but theoretically calculable.

One of the most amazing tracks in the album is "Every Kind Of Life" with an overall "happy" sound and great chorus, this is what this album is all about, complex compositions, and catchy hooks in every song! And don't forget the singer! He has a great voice too! Many people hate James Labrie voice, well, you'll be satisfied to hear this guy!

"All Minds In One" starts slowly and acoustic, and then builds up to become this incredible song, it has this guitar line that I can't get out of my head. "Terminal Trip" is the mandatory instrumental song, where you can hear what these guys are all about. "Pact With The Past" has this very sad guitar intro, and then becomes this mid paced melancholic song. The record ends with "Access Denied" an acoustic version of the opener song of their 1999 album "Slave To the Mind".

As you can see, this album is filled to the brim with good tunes, excellent musicianship and really great compositions, to all fans of Progressive Metal, this is a must-have, if you were disappointed with the last Dream Theater album, luckily enough there's a better release already out there, ladies and gentlemen: Poverty's No Crime.

Written by Undercraft | 10.12.2003


Hits total: 1668 | This month: 15