Saturndust - RLC review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.5

13 users:
6.77
Band: Saturndust
Album: RLC
Release date: April 2017


01. Negative-Parallel Dimensional
02. Astral Dominion
03. RLC
04. Titan
05. Time Lapse Of Existence
06. Saturn 12.c


When you sit back and think about it, there really are quite a lot of ways that you can die in space. You could, for example, have your ship's radar malfunction and fly straight into an asteroid field. A solar flare from a nearby star could wipe out your electronics, leaving you stranded and slowly starving to death. And there are always those pesky Xenomorphs to worry about as well. Truly, it's a realm where you have a high likelihood of meeting your doom. Doom like Saturndust.

If your ears were open and tuned in on the inner workings of the metal underground, you may have caught the debut of this hypnotic Brazilian trio back in 2015. For Saturndust, this year's follow up, RLC, is no less than a successful capitalization upon their previous effort. Here listeners are treated to a very crunchy, hard-hitting brand of doom metal, complete with catchy, memorable riffs, very impressive drumming, and soaring, yelling type vocals that really serve to guide the music without seeming to overpower it. As one might assume from a band name like Saturndust (and one would be correct), this is further embellished by a delicious undertone of whoosing, atmospheric effects oozing of psychedelic and sci fi influences, that would make the likes of Isaac Asimov and Frank Herbert smile with joy.

The real selling point with RLC is the degree to which Saturndust make their music variate throughout the course of the album. The doom and the spacey, ambient effects are blended together extremely well, to the point that they sort of take turns boosting each other up. For example, you might get a heavy track like "Negative Parallel Dimensional," that's mostly doom with the ambient elements accentuating the mood, or you might get a more formless, atmospheric cut like the title track, where the opposite is the case. All the instrumentation falls into place with this wonderful sense of fusion and alternation. Sometimes the vocals soar while at other points they employ more of a quiet, whisper like approach. Sometimes the guitar gets in on the crunchy doom jammage while at other points it takes on a softer, more chord-based delivery. And likewise, the drumming ranges from throbbing and suspenseful one moment to hushed and restrained the next. It's a highly satisfying blend of techniques that proves Saturndust are anything but one dimensional with their composition.

With RLC, the only thing that could possibly be raised as an issue of complaint is the lack of forward development, a rehash of old ideas, perhaps. Considering what has come before it, RLC is essentially more of the same. But this is pretty insignificant and really nothing to complain about, considering how good Saturndust's recipe already is. The "if it aint broke, don't fix it" maxim most definitely applies to these young Brazilians, and their formula is anything but broke. Here's hoping they keep the ball a'rolling, and even if their sound doesn't change up much over future releases, I know I'll stay a devoted fan, because goddamn, does it just suck you right on in.

"In space no one can hear you scream"? Bullshit. The scream is right here, and it's called Saturndust.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 02.06.2017 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 302 users
02.06.2017 - 21:38
RaduP
Noob
Goddam back in the review game woo
----
Headbutt yourself!
Loading...
02.06.2017 - 21:39
RaduP
Noob
S/t > RLC tho
----
Headbutt yourself!
Loading...
02.06.2017 - 21:39
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 02.06.2017 at 21:39

S/t > RLC tho

You're not the only one I've seen say that, I think they're about equal though honestly. Both pretty A game releases for space metal
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
02.06.2017 - 22:35
RaduP
Noob
Written by Apothecary on 02.06.2017 at 21:39

Written by RaduP on 02.06.2017 at 21:39

S/t > RLC tho

You're not the only one I've seen say that, I think they're about equal though honestly. Both pretty A game releases for space metal


Damn, I gotta agree,Saturndust is some of the best doom metal I've heard in a while
----
Headbutt yourself!
Loading...
03.06.2017 - 04:50
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Ah, I was waiting for this one lol! Glad you like the album, although I'm with RaduP in believing that the S/T is better
Loading...
03.06.2017 - 21:46
sbgmetal
Xenomorphs... lol
Loading...
09.06.2017 - 16:52
Maratha
Fantastic work from these Brazilians. This could be commissioned to be the OST for The Void.
Loading...
09.06.2017 - 17:14
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Maratha on 09.06.2017 at 16:52

This could be commissioned to be the OST for The Void.

Please! Great film and great album!
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
18.06.2017 - 07:18
Dreiroth
Are you sure the reviewed album it's the same as the one in the photo?
Loading...
18.06.2017 - 14:18
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Dreiroth on 18.06.2017 at 07:18

Are you sure the reviewed album it's the same as the one in the photo?

What makes you think it isn't?
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
20.06.2017 - 06:59
Dreiroth
Quote:

Here listeners are treated to a very crunchy, hard-hitting brand of doom metal, complete with catchy, memorable riffs, very impressive drumming, and soaring, yelling type vocals that really serve to guide the music without seeming to overpower it.

Didn't hear any of this
Loading...
20.06.2017 - 15:25
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Dreiroth on 20.06.2017 at 06:59

Didn't hear any of this

Maybe because I used a lot of subjective language with that quote that leaves that impression on me but not on you because holy shit, people hear and interpret music differently, imagine that!
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
28.06.2017 - 09:29
Heavy Heathen
"As one might assume from a band name like Saturndust (and one would be correct), this is further embellished by a delicious undertone of whoosing, atmospheric effects oozing of psychedelic and sci fi influences, that would make the likes of Isaac Asimov and Frank Herbert smile with joy."

I read Frank Herbert, Saturndust, and Isaac Asimov in the same sentence. Now I am going to listen to this album.
----
I have two profiles on here. This is my older one by several months.
\m/
Loading...
28.06.2017 - 22:25
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Heavy Heathen on 28.06.2017 at 09:29

I read Frank Herbert, Saturndust, and Isaac Asimov in the same sentence. Now I am going to listen to this album.

Can't beat the classics
Philip K. Dick will forever be my favorite though
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
06.07.2017 - 05:52
Dreiroth
Written by Apothecary on 20.06.2017 at 15:25

Written by Dreiroth on 20.06.2017 at 06:59

Didn't hear any of this

Maybe because I used a lot of subjective language with that quote that leaves that impression on me but not on you because holy shit, people hear and interpret music differently, imagine that!


"Catchy memorable riffs and impressive drumming" doesn't look "subjective" language to me unless hitting alternately a snare and a cymbal at 60bpm (as in once every 3 seconds) can be considered as skill...
But yeah, no worries, you are right, I know that when I need to look for new cool music to listen I should not base myself on the hyper-inflated votes of the reviews.
Loading...
07.07.2017 - 16:38
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Dreiroth on 06.07.2017 at 05:52

I know that when I need to look for new cool music to listen I should not base myself on the hyper-inflated votes of the reviews.


A review is an opinion dude, at the end of the day you not agreeing with the way I describe the music is more indicative of different interpretations of it than of some sort of objective, undeniable fact that I'm choosing to ignore just because. Get over yourself
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...

Hits total: 4416 | This month: 153