Dreadnought - A Wake In Sacred Waves review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

34 users:
8.15
Band: Dreadnought
Album: A Wake In Sacred Waves
Release date: October 2017


01. Vacant Sea
02. Within Chanting Waters
03. To Luminous Scale
04. A Drifting Reign


An enormous deli sandwich. A fine glass of wine. And now, a light steak dinner.

(If you don't get the above references, see my earlier Dreadnought reviews... we're keeping the food and drink metaphor train a'rollin).

Without question, Dreadnought have become one of my favorite bands within the frame of modern prog metal, which is saying a lot given my usual disincline to it. Something about this band's fusion of prog with a larger spectrum of folk and extreme metal influences makes their music more dynamic, multifaceted, and just overall interesting than the large majority of what else they're currently up against. 2013's impressive Lifewoven debut saw Dreadnought more or less blending all their influences together equally, while the follow up, 2015's Bridging Realms, hushed down the extreme metal influences a good bit and took a more mellow approach. Where to from there?

If you're familiar with the previously mentioned albums, it can be said that A Wake In Sacred Waves for the most part follows in the vein of Bridging Realms, focusing on more of a relaxed, progressive music type atmosphere before anything else. However, the one thing that's noticeably different here is that the transitions into the more extreme, heavier aspects of the music are much smoother than they were on Bridging Realms. While far from being "sloppy" or "terrible" on that album, said transitions did nonetheless feel a little sudden, leaving an impression of being pulled out of the dreamlike atmosphere of piano and Lauren Vieira's gorgeous vocals rather abruptly. This is far less of an issue with A Wake In Sacred Waves, where (much like with Dreadnought's debut), the transitions go over so smoothly that a lot of the time you don't even notice them. The superb opener that is "Vacant Sea" is as good an example as any, throwing in a wide variety of tricks including clean vocals, shrieks, organ, saxophone, black metal riffing, blast beats, and more that help the heavier and lighter moments dance around each other in magnificent ways.

Indeed, at many moments throughout A Wake In Sacred Waves, one may get the feeling of "wow, where did that come from?", which in itself is testament to the sonically diverse, well paced nature of the music. There is quite a lot going on here, but somehow the shifts from one territory to a considerably different one feel smooth, natural, and not forced at all. Further still, the blend of the band's more airy, atmospheric moments with their underlying extreme metal influences can at many points result in quite interesting, nontraditional techniques (shrieks over piano and drums, mandolin or organ underneath heavy guitar riffage, etc). And, once again, praise must really be given to Dreadnought's sense of production, because it could not be better considering the layered, intricate music they're playing. Everything is brought out in full audibility at exactly the right time, given the attention necessary for the moment while somehow not compromising any of the instruments either.

A Wake In Sacred Waves is ultimately a prog album before it's a black metal or a folk album, but the heavier, more crushing moments are now overall better mixed into the rest of the music, and most definitely get the job done. Thus, the "light steak dinner" metaphor stands: this album may not go as hard as some of the other succulent slices of cattle stomach out there, but it still carries enough weight with what it is working with to accomplish the mission and fill you up. Three albums in, it's pretty hard to deny that Dreadnought have emerged as a major force to be reckoned with in contemporary prog metal. The sky is the limit for them from here.

Sail the waves.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 10


 



Written on 17.01.2018 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 368 users
17.01.2018 - 18:19
VIG
Esoteric Zachism
I'm fucking hungry.
----
Through the darkness of future past,
The magician longs to see.
One chants out between two worlds...
"Fire... walk with me."
Loading...
17.01.2018 - 18:25
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by VIG on 17.01.2018 at 18:19

I'm fucking hungry.

From the food references, the album description, or both?
Anyway, this is a real grower of an album, no question. Started off giving it an 8 but after multiple replays it definitely deserves the 9.
----
This is this the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
17.01.2018 - 18:37
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Great review, great album. Only gone through it twice fully but I should really give it more time.
Loading...
17.01.2018 - 18:48
VIG
Esoteric Zachism
Written by Apothecary on 17.01.2018 at 18:25

From the food references, the album description, or both?
Anyway, this is a real grower of an album, no question. Started off giving it an 8 but after multiple replays it definitely deserves the 9.

Both I guess. I have barely checked this band, I brushed em off because prog isn't my thing.
----
Through the darkness of future past,
The magician longs to see.
One chants out between two worlds...
"Fire... walk with me."
Loading...
17.01.2018 - 18:51
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by VIG on 17.01.2018 at 18:48

Both I guess. I have barely checked this band, I brushed em off because prog isn't my thing.

Trust me when I say that they're far from your usual prog metal band. More like a modern day Yes/King Crimson fusion in metal form than anything else.... with some BM spice thrown in too
----
This is this the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
17.01.2018 - 18:52
VIG
Esoteric Zachism
Written by Apothecary on 17.01.2018 at 18:51

Trust me when I say that they're far from your usual prog metal band. More like a modern day Yes/King Crimson fusion in metal form than anything else.... with some BM spice thrown in too

I fucking love King Crimson so I will check it out.
----
Through the darkness of future past,
The magician longs to see.
One chants out between two worlds...
"Fire... walk with me."
Loading...
17.01.2018 - 21:19
bleak
Great review, man! Love this album. Love this band.
Loading...
17.01.2018 - 21:57
musclassia
Yeah, this is one of the stronger albums of 2017. I prefer Bridging Realms (prefer the greater emphasis on the non-extreme part of their sound) but this was a thoroughly satisfying follow-up
Loading...
17.01.2018 - 22:16
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by musclassia on 17.01.2018 at 21:57

Yeah, this is one of the stronger albums of 2017. I prefer Bridging Realms (prefer the greater emphasis on the non-extreme part of their sound) but this was a thoroughly satisfying follow-up

I think I would have enjoyed Bridging Realms more as a one off prog rock album, honestly. Not bad by any means but as I said here, a lot of the times the transitions from the more mellow vibes into the extreme territory felt a little too abrupt.
----
This is this the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
17.01.2018 - 22:58
LeKiwi
High Fist Prog
I don't...eat steak...I guess I have to put the band to rest
Loading...
18.01.2018 - 01:27
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by LeKiwi on 17.01.2018 at 22:58

I don't...eat steak...I guess I have to put the band to rest

Substitute "veggie burger" for "steak" in the review
----
This is this the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
18.01.2018 - 20:24
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Lol This is hilarious.

This album kinda flew under the radar for me sadly. This review rekindles my interest. Hopefully I can listen to it soon!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
18.01.2018 - 21:00
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by BloodTears on 18.01.2018 at 20:24

This album kinda flew under the radar for me sadly.

It happens! I had no clue about the new Boris, for instance, until last month, and it was released back in July
No time like the present!
----
This is this the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
25.01.2018 - 20:26
AndyIbarra
I love the album and agree with everything you said.
Except for the part about production. I wish the piano was better mixed during the extreme parts, sometimes it gets muddled.
Loading...

Hits total: 4626 | This month: 1130