Hooded Menace - Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.0

83 users:
7.58
Band: Hooded Menace
Album: Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed
Release date: January 2018


01. Sempiternal Grotesqueries
02. In Eerie Deliverance
03. Cathedral Of Labyrinthine Darkness
04. Cascade Of Ashes
05. Charnel Reflections
06. Black Moss


Hooded Menace have had quite a few changes in the line-up since their inception about ten years ago, but mastermind Lasse Pyykkö is the man that has consistently been serving us a cocktail of colossal and sorrowful doom dirges mixed with some pretty terrifying and guttural death metal soundscapes. So, what's his poison this time?

The band's latest offering oscillates equally between death and doom, paying homage to the masters of the style. The ghosts of early Paradise Lost and My Dying Bride are haunting all six tracks in a way that takes you back to the Peaceville years of glory. Heavy driving riffs and sombre melodies create a suffocating aural environment that leaves the listener gagging on the charnel stench.

The amazing cover art portrays the listening experience in the most detailed manner. The music of Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed places us in a subterranean humid cave, completely deprived of sunlight, where ghoulish creatures roam on the surface of murky, fathomless waters and candles provide the only source of light and warmth. Soulless carcasses have become one with the cave's walls, covered in black moss and lurking in the shadows, while suffering an almost motionless torture in sempiternal darkness. If you haven't guessed it already, the lyrical themes are inspired by horror movies of the '70s.

The production by Jaime Gomez Arellano has provided the album with an organic, warm and full sound, just like he did in Paradise Lost's Medusa last year. Hooded Menace are not afraid to reveal their influences and the choice of hiring Arellano to twiddle the knobs has proved a very wise one for he has managed to highlight all the sinister guitar harmonies and the melancholic rhythms the band has crafted.

Even though the Finns are not breaking any new ground, the musicianship and songwriting are so strong that they overcompensate for the lack of originality. Death/doom is once again a big trend in metal and it takes exquisite mastery to stand out from the pack. Releasing a 41-minute album and making it seem too short can only mean success.

Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed is a slimy, labyrinthine cemetery where zombies feed off prey that is caught in dusty cobwebs. Make sure you dive into this black pool of decay, for it is surely going to be one of the best funereal processions of the year.


 



Written on 18.02.2018 by I was into this music when you were still in diapers.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 122 users
18.02.2018 - 15:51
Bad English
Masterchief
You missed lyric part in a end and I like your way like true metalhead writes and coments about all genres. I wish you luck in MS carear man, and keep write and do your thing and read a bit DerRoz reviews
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
18.02.2018 - 17:58
musicalkaratekid
Album just keeps growing on me in a way I never thought it would. Riffs are obviously the focal point here but everything is done with enough conviction and precision so as to render this album one of the most memorable records of its kind this year.
Loading...
18.02.2018 - 18:52
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Bad English on 18.02.2018 at 15:51

You missed lyric part in a end and I like your way like true metalhead writes and coments about all genres. I wish you luck in MS carear man, and keep write and do your thing and read a bit DerRoz reviews

Lyrics at the end of the reviews will return, don't worry
Loading...
18.02.2018 - 18:56
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by musicalkaratekid on 18.02.2018 at 17:58

Album just keeps growing on me in a way I never thought it would. Riffs are obviously the focal point here but everything is done with enough conviction and precision so as to render this album one of the most memorable records of its kind this year.

I agree, there are riffs and melodies that instantly grab you but the songs are long and so after every listen you discover something new that you hadn't noticed before.
Loading...
18.02.2018 - 19:10
Dungeon Shaker
Those riffs! This album is such a grower.
----
www.thunderousvoices.com
Loading...
18.02.2018 - 19:43
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Need to get more into these guys before their Roadburn set for sure, I've heard great things but haven't really invested myself in them just yet. Thanks for the review, I have a feeling that this one is quite good, but isn't necessarily their best. Is there any album you'd suggest starting with in particular?
----
If I knew it was harmless, I would've killed it myself
Loading...
18.02.2018 - 19:57
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Apothecary on 18.02.2018 at 19:43

Need to get more into these guys before their Roadburn set for sure, I've heard great things but haven't really invested myself in them just yet. Thanks for the review, I have a feeling that this one is quite good, but isn't necessarily their best. Is there any album you'd suggest starting with in particular?

You can definitely start with this for the festival since they will probably play mostly new material and it's always nice to know a few of the songs during a live performance. They don't have a bad album imo, my personal favourite is Never Cross The Dead. Bloody awesome.
Loading...
18.02.2018 - 19:58
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by nikarg on 18.02.2018 at 19:57

You can definitely start with this for the festival since they will probably play mostly new material and it's always nice to know a few of the songs during a live performance. They don't have a bad album imo, my personal favourite is Never Cross The Dead. Bloody awesome.

I'll listen to this, Never Cross, and go from there in that case. Thanks buddy
----
If I knew it was harmless, I would've killed it myself
Loading...
18.02.2018 - 20:30
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Apothecary on 18.02.2018 at 19:58
I'll listen to this, Never Cross, and go from there in that case. Thanks buddy

Never Cross The Dead is indeed one of the highlights if not their best album. At any rate. What you wanna listen to is their debut, Fulfill the Curse. Because they will celebrate its' 10-year anniversary and will play that album in its entirety. I doubt they'll play anything else.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
18.02.2018 - 21:25
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.02.2018 at 20:30

What you wanna listen to is their debut, Fulfill the Curse. Because they will celebrate its' 10-year anniversary and will play that album in its entirety. I doubt they'll play anything else.

I had no idea. The debut is pretty cool too, I'm sure Che will enjoy it.
Loading...
18.02.2018 - 22:53
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.02.2018 at 20:30

Never Cross The Dead is indeed one of the highlights if not their best album. At any rate. What you wanna listen to is their debut, Fulfill the Curse. Because they will celebrate its' 10-year anniversary and will play that album in its entirety. I doubt they'll play anything else.

Just checked the article for their Roadburn announcement and you are indeed correct. OK then, I'm actually kind of happy for that, means I'll have to listen to less material in preparation in that case

Uh oh though, the album was released in October of 2008, which means they'll be playing it at Roadburn before it's actually struck the 10 year anniversary. That's probably gonna drive the Metal Pedant Alliance nuts, including a certain Dutchman we know
----
If I knew it was harmless, I would've killed it myself
Loading...
19.02.2018 - 03:14
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Nope. Won't drive me nuts cause I love Fulfill The Curse, which I consider their best (only by a small margin though) Not sure I am going to watch them since I have seen loads of times live, also when their setlist contained solely material off their debut.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
19.02.2018 - 05:07
Maco
Carnivore
Band is solid as a rock. Listen to everything.
----
By blood... Resurrection?
By body... Redemption?
By God... Domination?
By Pilate... Crucifixion!
Loading...

Hits total: 3767 | This month: 24