Peosphoros - Pink Metal review



Reviewer:
9.0

35 users:
2.46
Band: Peosphoros
Album: Pink Metal
Release date: March 2018


01. Britney Therapy
02. Prostitutes Must Die In Genocide
03. Terrorism
04. Multiculturalism Is Genocide
05. Pink Metal
06. Rape And Kill Animals Attack Women


There has been a lot of controversy in the metal community as of late, and within the black metal community especially. Peosphoros have a little something to say about it.

Pink Metal, the debut from this new UK three piece, is an album that fires shots, and quite a lot of them. Confrontational, unapologetically offensive, and brutally satirical, it is a release that feels as though it was destined to happen, as a natural byproduct of metal's current socio-political atmosphere. Several damning accusations of sexual misconduct against notable band members. A borderline witch-hunt for bands with questionable lyrical content that may be perceived as Nazi-esque. Bands backing down in the face of protests against them, canceling shows or even entire tours in the process. The contradictions between what sort of behavior is and isn't likely to be tolerated within metal fandom in general. Peosphoros look at all that is going around them and choose to neither pick a side nor sit on a fence, but to launch into a furious lyrical crusade against the faults they find among all parties involved, while simultaneously espousing an ideology that seems to be impossible to lump into any single camp.

Following in the nature of satire, the lyrical message of Peosphoros appears to be coming mostly from the perspective of individuals or groups the band is poking fun at, as opposed to being beliefs actually held by the members. If one has been following the more drama-fueled side of metal media as of late, here one will notice references to sex offenders, white supremacy, radical Islam, feminism, Antifa, Facebook policy, and more, all of which are in the cross hairs of Peosphoros. What really makes Pink Metal unique, however, is that it simultaneously seems to both reject and embrace different aspects of these various hot button issues at the same time, often issues that (theoretically) would be in fundamental opposition to each other. The band will say that they hail both Hitler and ISIS in the same track, claim that they want to be dictators at one point while lampooning censorship the next, ridicule black metal while also playing it, and other such examples. The intent here is admittedly difficult to decipher, but I think the point being made by the band is the supreme importance of self expression, and that those wishing to limit it for one reason or another are unaware that they will only create more problems than they solve by doing so.

While Peosphoros are likely to draw the most attention from the sheer extremity of their lyrical content and imagery, the matter of their music itself should certainly not be ignored either. At its core it is black metal, but of a highly idiosyncratic variety. Guitar is not present at all, with a thunderous, distorted bass that often gets quite bouncy and catchy deciding to compensate. The impressive drum work keeps the tempo pleasantly variating between frantic barrages and more moderate grooves. Vocals alternate between all three members, and over the album's 29 minutes a combination of growls, shrieks, operatic female vocals, and spoken word parts delivered in a stereotypically LGBT accent are employed. The latter can get very irritating after a point, but given the overall aesthetic of the band, I'm almost inclined to say that this is intentional, as it only serves to make their humor that much darker and more puzzling. Overall, the multifaceted and atypical nature of Peosphoros' music reflects that set out by their lyrics, and serves as a powerful complement.

Pink Metal is inevitably an album that will shock, disturb, anger, satisfy, and entertain depending upon the individual engaging it. It is not in any means "made for everyone," and relentless in both its lyrical and music delivery. One could raise the issue here of this being a group of individuals looking for agitation simply for the sake of it, but when their content is really placed within the context of what has been going on lately within the metal community, it comes almost as a moment of clarity. Everyone is wrong, no one is right, and the only truth to be known is that which one creates for themselves: this, more than anything, appears to be the "Peosphoros ethos." While this band and album are likely to be rejected outright by a wide swath of people, ultimately it should be remembered that the best artists are often those who create for their times, speaking directly to the generation from which they are coming. In this regard then, there is little fault that I can find with the mission of Peosphoros, because like it or not, they are doing just that.

It's time to go pink.

*Review 200. I could not be more happy in celebrating it with this refreshingly original and daring album. Cheers to any and all who helped me get here.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 10
Production: 9


 



Written on 14.05.2018 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments page 3 / 3

Comments: 74   Visited by: 418 users
21.05.2018 - 17:00
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Anyone involved with any part of this should be embarrassed with themselves.
----
Checkout my band here!
Loading...
22.05.2018 - 01:41
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.05.2018 at 17:00

Anyone involved with any part of this should be embarrassed with themselves.

Oh my, you are absolutely correct and I am rather ashamed of myself for serving as a favorable mouthpiece to the cringey, try hard, and downright abominable antics of the musicians involved in these dreadful compositions! As such, allow me to retract all my opinions as articulated here and delete this review altogether because of a one sentence Internet comment from someone I do not feel any sort of connection to and have never physically interacted with
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
22.05.2018 - 19:36
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Written by Apothecary on 17.05.2018 at 23:22

It's rather funny to me how people criticize this thing for being edgy, try hard, and cringey considering the sheer amount of edginess, try hard-ism, and cringey behavior within the realm of extreme metal in general, and black metal more than anything. I can't help but laugh and casually brush such comments aside considering other bands such as Marduk, Behemoth, Watain, Destroyer 666, Shining, and more that regularly go on and on with ridiculous, pseudo extreme antics for the sake of stirring the shit pot, reinforcing their confrontational imagery, and bringing themselves more publicity.... not too unlike what Peosphoros are doing here.


Just speaking for myself here, but I think one has to come to terms with how corny your favorite metal band can be. It's just the nature of the genre. Personally, I can tolerate a flavor-of-the-week song about slaying a dragon for the thousandth fucking time, if it has sick enough licks and is super catchy. Sure, a Shining album could be easily dismissed as try-hard sadboy drivel, but there is clearly passion behind their releases that makes it charming. Again, I feel like "trying hard" is inherit to the genre, just depends on your tastes.

(Separate point incoming)
I've noticed that rap in recent times has really dug into the more "meta" side of things, and I think that it's a really funny (and sometime legitimately cool) trend. It seems only natural for a metal band to break through with some unapologetic and raw social/political self-awareness. I'm just not sure this album made the mark, but the effort is clearly there.
----
You do you, brozzio.
Loading...
23.05.2018 - 05:20
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Apothecary on 22.05.2018 at 01:41

Oh my, you are absolutely correct and I am rather ashamed of myself for serving as a favorable mouthpiece to the cringey, try hard, and downright abominable antics of the musicians involved in these dreadful compositions! As such, allow me to retract all my opinions as articulated here and delete this review altogether because of a one sentence Internet comment from someone I do not feel any sort of connection to and have never physically interacted with

This is almost as cringey as this album itself.
----
Checkout my band here!
Loading...
23.05.2018 - 10:00
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Boxcar Willy on 23.05.2018 at 05:20

Written by Apothecary on 22.05.2018 at 01:41

Oh my, you are absolutely correct and I am rather ashamed of myself for serving as a favorable mouthpiece to the cringey, try hard, and downright abominable antics of the musicians involved in these dreadful compositions! As such, allow me to retract all my opinions as articulated here and delete this review altogether because of a one sentence Internet comment from someone I do not feel any sort of connection to and have never physically interacted with

This is almost as cringey as this album itself.

no u
----
Okay, this is epic!
Loading...
23.05.2018 - 11:28
LuciferOfGayness
GolemOfWaffles
What am I missing here - why are people so upset and why does this album have such a low score?

I listened to it and it sounded ok. But I guess I am missing something in the music as well as I never would rate this as high as a 9. Getting old I guess...
Loading...
23.05.2018 - 14:52
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by LuciferOfGayness on 23.05.2018 at 11:28

What am I missing here - why are people so upset and why does this album have such a low score?

I listened to it and it sounded ok. But I guess I am missing something in the music as well as I never would rate this as high as a 9. Getting old I guess...

It is now likely the biggest gap between critic opinion and popular opinion
----
Okay, this is epic!
Loading...
23.05.2018 - 14:59
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Boxcar Willy on 23.05.2018 at 05:20

This is almost as cringey as this album itself.

I just don't see what you and others get out of that shit. What, you think you're about to change my mind, and shame me into not being a fan of this band anymore? I'm not that flimsy, Mr. Keyboard Warrior.

And I don't buy the "oh I enjoy having debates on music" type remarks either. You don't start a debate by personally attacking the artists involved in something. You're not looking to debate, you're just looking to moan and bitch about something you don't like.
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
23.05.2018 - 15:15
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by LuciferOfGayness on 23.05.2018 at 11:28

What am I missing here - why are people so upset and why does this album have such a low score?

It's the usual "album does crazy shit musically and MS crowd acts as if it's murdered 60 babies in their cribs" type behavior
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
23.05.2018 - 15:36
Mercurial
I dunno, an album about murdering 60 babies is something I could probably get on board with. Babies are awful.
Loading...
23.05.2018 - 15:41
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Mercurial on 23.05.2018 at 15:36

I dunno, an album about murdering 60 babies is something I could probably get on board with. Babies are awful.

You and me both
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
23.05.2018 - 15:47
Mercurial
Written by Apothecary on 23.05.2018 at 15:41

You and me both

What's funnier than a dead baby?
A dead baby in a clown costume.

*badum tish*

aaand back on topic.
Loading...
27.05.2018 - 05:38
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Apothecary on 23.05.2018 at 14:59

Written by Boxcar Willy on 23.05.2018 at 05:20

This is almost as cringey as this album itself.

I just don't see what you and others get out of that shit. What, you think you're about to change my mind, and shame me into not being a fan of this band anymore? I'm not that flimsy, Mr. Keyboard Warrior.

And I don't buy the "oh I enjoy having debates on music" type remarks either. You don't start a debate by personally attacking the artists involved in something. You're not looking to debate, you're just looking to moan and bitch about something you don't like.

What's the point of getting so defensive when someone says something you like sucks? It's the same shit just flipped around. How can you give something publicity and then whine and moan when people comment on it? Not that anyone should care what other people think ever though.
----
Checkout my band here!
Loading...
27.05.2018 - 15:03
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Boxcar Willy on 27.05.2018 at 05:38

What's the point of getting so defensive when someone says something you like sucks? It's the same shit just flipped around. How can you give something publicity and then whine and moan when people comment on it? Not that anyone should care what other people think ever though.

It's not a matter of people criticizing something, it's a matter of how they do it. There is both constructive, civil criticism on this thread as well as childish insult type comments (such as yours) that don't really serve to do anything other than stir the pot and give me the impression of "lol here this asshole goes again."

Would you like an illustration of the difference? I'll break it down for you.

"This album is a massive turd"

"Pure trash"

"Anyone involved in this should be embarrassed with themselves"

As opposed to something like...

"It's definitely an interesting entry to the black metal sphere, but after listening to a few songs and looking at some of their posts it does all feel a little bit like a student art project to me: a bit too on the nose statement wise with too many buzzwords, angry / humourous rhetoric and cliche imagery being thrown around and musically kind of amateurish and hard to take seriously. I live in Brighton though so probably get exposed to this kind of thing more than most, but could be an interesting springboard for other artists to do something better with. Interesting but kind of lame and cringey."

That last comment actually has substance to it, fuels a good conversation, and voices dissatisfaction without outright ranting. The first 3 just come off as empty, meaningless whining to me, and as such, I'm not that inclined to respond very nicely to them, if you haven't noticed. And if you can't see the difference in the tone of the first 3 comments VS. the tone of the last one..... holy shit, really.
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...

Hits total: 6622 | This month: 51