Psychotic Waltz - The God-Shaped Void review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

191 users:
8.03
Band: Psychotic Waltz
Album: The God-Shaped Void
Release date: February 2020


01. Devils And Angels
02. Stranded
03. Back To Black
04. All The Bad Men
05. The Fallen
06. While The Spiders Spin
07. Pull The String
08. Demystified
09. Season Of The Swarm [Mediabook bonus]
10. Sisters Of The Dawn
11. In The Silence


The comeback phenomenon of bands inactive for decades that has been sweeping over metal music lately has not left the progressive genre untouched. Following the recent resurrection of prog legends Heir Apparent and Conception, 2020 signifies the grand return of Psychotic Waltz.

With their original line-up no less!

I guess the first question is how does The God-Shaped Void sound in comparison to their other albums that were released in another century. I can tell you that it actually is something which could have been released right after Bleeding in the sense that Psychotic Waltz had already then adopted a more simplified approach in their songwriting, focusing mostly on atmosphere, melodies and mood. The God-Shaped Void feels like it hasn't been 24 years since its predecessor and it has an even more melancholic and dark undertone, while irresistible melodies appear all the time from left, right and centre in the form of enchanting acoustic and lead guitars, magnetizing flute and shadowy keyboards.

The love for gloom was evident from the album opener and first song that was revealed, "Devils And Angels". Admittedly, it features one of the most banal riffs ever but its atmosphere is mysterious and doomy and Buddy Lackey's vocals in the verse bizarrely remind me of Andrew Eldritch's (The Sisters Of Mercy) singing in "Marian". From then on the record's pace is moderate, without insane tempo changes, and with most songs taking their time to fully develop and aiming at immersing the listener. Less often things get more aggressive, like on "Back To Black", "Sisters Of The Dawn" or the closing crescendo of "Devils And Angels".

The God-Shaped Void doesn't have the heaviness of A Social Grace, the instant catchiness of Into The Everflow or the quirkiness and the alternative/grunge experimentation of Mosquito. Considering how innovative and progressive Psychotic Waltz used to be, their new album is surprisingly accessible and easy listening, without many left-field prog moments but it is really full of brilliant music moments. The choruses of "All The Bad Men", "Demystified" and "Sisters Of The Dawn", the solo work on "Stranded", "While The Spiders Spin" and "In The Silence", Buddy's astonishing vocal performance on "The Fallen", and his trademark flute on "Pull The String" and "Demystified" are only a few of these moments; there are so many more but I'll let you discover them yourselves.

I can imagine people being disappointed if they were expecting something akin to A Social Grace but these people probably forget that the band was already heading to a different direction with every album after their debut and with The God-Shaped Void it seems to me like they have reached the destination they were aiming for since the very beginning. I've had this record for nearly two months, I've listened to it incessantly and I absolutely love it because it sucks me into its own world every time I play it, which is essentially what I am always looking for in music; to be completely carried away by it.

Hadn't they been ripped off by record labels, Psychotic Waltz probably would - and, quite frankly, should - have been as famous as Dream Theater or Fates Warning because they were that good. It's never too late though, The God-Shaped Void is such an impressive comeback, it is going to be impossible to go unnoticed.

"How long have we been waiting
We are alive and we will soon arise
We have survived falling from so high"


 



Written on 11.02.2020 by Only way to feel the noise is when it's good and loud!


Comments

Comments: 19   Visited by: 247 users
11.02.2020 - 19:52
nikarg
Mod
Big thanks to Radu for knowing how badly I'd want to review this and sending me the promo well ahead of the album's release.
Loading...
11.02.2020 - 20:11
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Always great to see bands with most of their original lineup. Already pretty tired of ones with just one or two. But it's also often a bit our fault for not being interested in stuff unless it has the name of the original band, so they have good reason to wanna keep that.

This is indeed one of the best comebacks in a while. At least of this year, that's for sure.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
11.02.2020 - 20:51
nikarg
Mod
Written by RaduP on 11.02.2020 at 20:11

This is indeed one of the best comebacks in a while. At least of this year, that's for sure.

For me, this is album of the year so far. It's still very early but it will surely be on my year-end list no matter what.
Loading...
11.02.2020 - 21:03
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 11.02.2020 at 20:51

For me, this is album of the year so far. It's still very early but it will surely be on my year-end list no matter what.

It's good, but it ain't no Poppy.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
11.02.2020 - 21:07
nikarg
Mod
Written by RaduP on 11.02.2020 at 21:03

it ain't no Poppy.

No, it ain't. I don't disagree
Loading...
11.02.2020 - 21:57
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
I remember a song about flags standing high
As the red blazing rockets turned dark a blue sky
I remember the reason the weak shared good-byes if they could



There can be better as that
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
12.02.2020 - 01:47
nikarg
Mod
Written by Bad English on 11.02.2020 at 21:57

I remember a song about flags standing high
As the red blazing rockets turned dark a blue sky
I remember the reason the weak shared good-byes if they could



There can be better as that

Wait until you listen to "The Fallen"
Loading...
12.02.2020 - 09:02
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by nikarg on 12.02.2020 at 01:47

Written by Bad English on 11.02.2020 at 21:57

I remember a song about flags standing high
As the red blazing rockets turned dark a blue sky
I remember the reason the weak shared good-byes if they could



There can be better as that

Wait until you listen to "The Fallen"

Will Do, but I doubt it can be better as that, its esential clasdic
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
12.02.2020 - 15:21
Witchslayer
Nice looking forward to this.
----
Avantgarde / Oriental Black; Psychedelic / Stoner; Post / Sludge; Djent / Prog; Jazz Rock / Metal / Fusion / Cool Jazz; Ambient / Ambient Techno
Loading...
13.02.2020 - 14:08
TheBigRossowski
Dudeist Priest'
Written by nikarg on 11.02.2020 at 20:51

Written by RaduP on 11.02.2020 at 20:11

This is indeed one of the best comebacks in a while. At least of this year, that's for sure.

For me, this is album of the year so far. It's still very early but it will surely be on my year-end list no matter what.


Totally stoked about this!!! It's good thing I still check metalstorm from time to time. Far fuckin' out, man
----
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?
Loading...
14.02.2020 - 17:53
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
This release has made a splash all over the internet. Excellent review and thanks.
----
rekt
Loading...
15.02.2020 - 03:17
Darkside Momo
Retired
Great review, wonderful album. Had to wait nine years since they first talked about a new album (that was when they toured with Nevermore and Symphony X), but it was worth it
----
My Author's Blog (in French)


"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you"

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I am awake"
Loading...
15.02.2020 - 11:26
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by Darkside Momo on 15.02.2020 at 03:17

Great review, wonderful album. Had to wait nine years since they first talked about a new album (that was when they toured with Nevermore and Symphony X), but it was worth it

Checked a bit if there in Msa would have Come back chatogory it would nail it, I doubt there will be better prog album in next decade
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
17.02.2020 - 14:39
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Geezer I have a news for you write a concert reviev

Psychotic Waltz OFFICIAL
37 mins ·
We are proud to announce two confirmed shows from our October tour, finally bringing us back to Greece for the first time in 8 years. We can't wait to get back in front of the wonderful fans there and share some songs both old and new!

----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
19.02.2020 - 21:36
nikarg
Mod
Written by Bad English on 17.02.2020 at 14:39

Geezer I have a news for you write a concert reviev

I knew about the shows in Greece before they were made public (band asked to keep it quiet). I don't know if I'll write a concert review but I'll definitely be in the front row for this.
Loading...
19.02.2020 - 22:05
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by nikarg on 19.02.2020 at 21:36

Written by Bad English on 17.02.2020 at 14:39

Geezer I have a news for you write a concert reviev

I knew about the shows in Greece before they were made public (band asked to keep it quiet). I don't know if I'll write a concert review but I'll definitely be in the front row for this.

Tell me if they will play i remember
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
25.02.2020 - 21:56
Daniell
_爱情_
After listening to this gem 4 times, I went back and refreshed the band's back catalogue. The God-shaped Void is most likely Psychotic Waltz's best album to date.

I've always thought that the second pair of albums from the 90's was better than the first couple. The first two reminded me of Fates Warning too much. In my opinion they became their own band on Mosquito and perfected their sound on Bleeding. The new album is simply stunning. I haven't heard such a good prog album since 2016's Theories of Flight.

Nik, thanks a bunch, because it was this review that reminded me that this album was out and made me check it out
Loading...
25.02.2020 - 23:52
nikarg
Mod
Written by Daniell on 25.02.2020 at 21:56

Nik, thanks a bunch, because it was this review that reminded me that this album was out and made me check it out

You're welcome but it would have been impossible for you to miss it; it is being praised all over internet

As far as PW albums go: for me it's Into The Everflow > A Social Grace > Bleeding > Mosquito. However, margins are slim because I love all four of them. I can't place The God-Shaped Void yet, it's too early to judge but it is indeed a stunningly good album and the quality of output by this band is admirable to say the least. And I am not even a big prog fan.
Loading...
26.02.2020 - 10:23
Daniell
_爱情_
Written by nikarg on 25.02.2020 at 23:52

As far as PW albums go: for me it's Into The Everflow > A Social Grace > Bleeding > Mosquito. However, margins are slim because I love all four of them. I can't place The God-Shaped Void yet, it's too early to judge but it is indeed a stunningly good album and the quality of output by this band is admirable to say the least. And I am not even a big prog fan.

That's the beauty of their music - you don't need to be a prog fan to appreciate it. It's far from the wankfests of Dream Theater and the like.
Loading...

Hits total: 4366 | This month: 62