Undergang - Aldrig I Livet review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
7.5

24 users:
7.21
Band: Undergang
Album: Aldrig I Livet
Release date: December 2020


01. Præfluidum
02. Spontan Bakteriel Selvantændelse
03. Indtørret Lig
04. Menneskeæder
05. Ufrivillig Donation
06. Sygelige Nydelser (Del III) Emetofili
07. Usømmelig Omgang Med Lig
08. Aldrig I Livet
09. Rødt Dødt Kød


My death metal moratorium is over. Time for filthy riffs.

I'm not gonna dive into 2021 death metal yet, since I haven't listened to anything worthwhile yet, but late 2020 did hit with two really hard-hitting death metal albums back when I was feeling my death metal fatigue back then, so I decided not to cram any more death metal reviews for a while, especially since I kinda self-imposed a moratorium for the rest of the year, one that I only broke for something that's more free jazz than death metal anyway. The year has passed. I was done with the rest of the hanging 2020 reviews, so it made sense to come back to those and try to do them justice. Let's start with Undergang.

Being around for more than a decade, Undergang aren't really newcomers to the scene, but 2017's Misantropologi brought their Demilich meets Obituary sound to larger audiences. The Danish quartet added a second guitarist, changed its bassist, and embarked upon following that album up with Aldrig I Livet (Danish for "Never in my life"). By this point you probably realized that this is an OSDM album and there probably isn't that much original within it, but to me it still feels refreshing to hear something take from Carcass' Symphonies Of Sickness instead of from the Swedish scene, and to combine it with the Floridan and Finnish sound, and nothing made later than 1992.

The two guitars do lead to more moments of weirdly melodious riffs, without ever bordering on melodeath. Undergang also takes cues from death metal's first forays into doom metal, mostly in the shape of Autopsy influences, but the doom metal leanings are pretty streamlined and only enhance the oomph of the songs by adding its fair share of more patient paces. Aldrig I Livet is really the kind of death metal album that can thrive even without pushing the throttle. Lumbering, filthy, slimy, everything that makes a death metal album make you wanna take a shower. It's like those vocals really leave some slime and puke on you. Maybe some blood too. This is "ugh" death metal.

Also in case you recognized the vocals from somewhere, it seems that David Torturdød also does vocals for Phrenelith and Hyperdontia, so pretty much for every contemporary Danish death metal band I can name off the top of my head.



 



Written on 06.01.2021 by My opinion is objective, sorry if you don't agree, but you're wrong.


Comments

Comments: 6   Visited by: 54 users
07.01.2021 - 00:04
Netzach
Planewalker
Ugh-death was never my jam but I want to hear this if only to know what a "Spontaneous Bacterial Self-Combustion" is all about.
Loading...
07.01.2021 - 00:23
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Netzach on 07.01.2021 at 00:04

Ugh-death was never my jam but I want to hear this if only to know what a "Spontaneous Bacterial Self-Combustion" is all about.

Please report back your findings.
----
Jusqu'ici, tout va bien...

2021 goodies
Loading...
07.01.2021 - 00:34
nikarg
Mod
This album sounds so wonderfully familiar. And it is short and to the point.
Loading...
07.01.2021 - 00:36
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 07.01.2021 at 00:34

This album sounds so wonderfully familiar. And it is short and to the point.

As all unoriginal death metal should be.
----
Jusqu'ici, tout va bien...

2021 goodies
Loading...
07.01.2021 - 11:17
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
I'm a firm supporter of this band due to their local presence. 1,5 years ago they performed in my town opening up for Pissgrave and a 1,5 years prior to that they teamed up with Blood Incantation.
As you can iamgine: Not only were these two shows perfectly matched on both dates, But Undergang as a whole really shine up live and have a good habit of molding themselves nicely to what is coming up next. Like... Opening up for Pissgrave they sounded fucking filthy and brutal. And opening up for Blood Incantation they really pushed their songwriting and performance forward probably because it was right around the time they released Misantropologi and Starspawn was still pretty fresh in everyone's minds.

It's definitely "ugh" metal but of the highest degree in modern days. I actually think they need just a little extra push to release an incredible album. As long as they keep their length, stick to what they know best and improve it, and don't try to make a 40-50 min album I think they are on the good way.

Nice short review and thanks for bringing them up!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
07.01.2021 - 11:47
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.01.2021 at 11:17

I'm a firm supporter of this band due to their local presence. 1,5 years ago they performed in my town opening up for Pissgrave and a 1,5 years prior to that they teamed up with Blood Incantation.
As you can iamgine: Not only were these two shows perfectly matched on both dates, But Undergang as a whole really shine up live and have a good habit of molding themselves nicely to what is coming up next. Like... Opening up for Pissgrave they sounded fucking filthy and brutal. And opening up for Blood Incantation they really pushed their songwriting and performance forward probably because it was right around the time they released Misantropologi and Starspawn was still pretty fresh in everyone's minds.

God I wish I was there.
----
Jusqu'ici, tout va bien...

2021 goodies
Loading...

Hits total: 662 | This month: 662