Mastodon - Blood Mountain review



Reviewer:
8.8

779 users:
8.42
Band: Mastodon
Album: Blood Mountain
Release date: September 2006


Disc I [CD]
01. The Wolf Is Loose
02. Crystal Skull
03. Sleeping Giant
04. Capillarian Crest
05. Circle Of The Cysquatch
06. Bladecatcher
07. Colony Of Birchmen
08. Hunters Of The Sky
09. Hand Of Stone
10. This Mortal Soil
11. Siberian Divide
12. Pendulous Skin
13. Crystal Skull [live version] [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [Limited Edition DVD]
01. Making of "Blood Mountain"
02. Capillarian Crest [video]
+ Gallery captured during the recording
+ Expanded artwork


Mastodon is back!!! Blood Mountain could be one of the most anticipated Relapse albums since the Suffocation come back and finally we have the chance to hear what these guys are up to now. My hopes were really high as when I first heard this band (with their album Remission ) they shocked me like no other band has shocked me before. So here's my objective review about their new record.

Mastodon began exploring a more alternative and even Emoish sound since Leviathan, now they evolved a little more and all the Hardcore overtones, all the magnificent aggression found in Remission is almost gone. Blood Mountain could be the Leviathan extension pack as most tracks have that weird EMO sound that characterized the aforementioned album (don't say anything until you've heard "Sleeping Giant" please). This fact could be a turn-off for some and a turn-on for others; the truth is Mastodon, while creating a totally easygoing album, will double their fan-base with this new record no doubt.

Now it is kind of fruity music indeed, but it's still Mastodon, so even if this sounds like a bowl with peaches and plums there's still the marvelous execution and the complex as hell songwriting. People can still feel overwhelmed when hearing the powerful and fast attack of "Capillarian Crest" where everything sounds like the good old violent band but with better structures and a lot of genres thrown in the mix. This feature in particular will please most of the diehard fans as the band kept on writing intricate formulas with mind-blowing structures, irregular timing, shocking drumming and multi-faceted songwriting.

This album is totally a new experience; the music doesn't sound like that old Mastodon creating blasting riffs like the one in "March Of The Fire Ants" (their best song in my opinion) or aggressive tracks like "Workhorse", this time they began experimenting a lot with some of the oddest forms of music ever in history; take "Bladecatcher" as a good example of what Blood Mountain sounds as a whole…a huge blend of weird genres like Grind, Heavy, Metalcore, Alternative, Progressive, Nu and Emo (give or take a few) emphasized in the Melodic touch of Emotive music.

In the end this album stands for a nice experience; I can't say it's a groundbreaking album ready to redo a whole genre and I can't say it's a bad album either, it is just Mastodon ladies and gentleman. One thing is for sure, it is no way near their masterpiece called Remission for two things, Remission was a straight shot to your brains without the "experimental/EMO" mambo-jambo all over the place, and the most important reason…Remission didn't have one gay song in the entire roster period.


If you're thinking "this guy sucks at rating albums" and if you didn't get the whole point of the review, here's a brief explanatory text.

Rating Explanation: Yes the band performs miraculously and of course their songwriting is complex and intricate. The genres mixed together and all those experimental passages make this album incredibly original; the production is quite good…not perfect. Finally, when you combine all those things you just get a jammed and amorphous invention and the product as a whole sounds kind of cheesy and not really that impressive nor shocking.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9

Written by Herzebeth | 11.08.2006


 


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 53   Visited by: 271 users
10.09.2006 - 09:48
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Dangerboner on 10.09.2006 at 08:33

How's the drumming? Is it as good as it has always been?



The drumming is once again INCREDIBLE, definitely Mastodon's strongest point as usual.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
10.09.2006 - 10:08
Dangerboner
:D
Awesome. I won't hesitate in buying it then.
Loading...
11.09.2006 - 16:39
slainbyanelf
Account deleted
I agree with whoever said that this isn't a great review. Giving the ablum an 'overall impression' score of 6 while rating everything else with 9s and 10s is baffling. And there ARE too many mentions of emo - which, as well as being annoying, isn't very accurate at all. This is a woolly review without any real conviction. The reviewer's main gripe seems to be that the album isn't similar enough to Remission, which makes the whole piece much less an objective review and much more a useless and uninteresting spewing of personal preferences. Personally, I like the album; it shows, among other things, that Mastodon aren't afraid to evolve their sound. Brent Hinds' vocal contribution is great, and there's aggression, melody and invention to spare. Would the reviewer REALLY like it if Mastodon simply re-released Remission? Anyway, I've seen them live and they still play those songs; they haven't gone anywhere.
Loading...
14.09.2006 - 23:18
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
I'm afraid I also don't agree with the review, I find the constant Emo references inaccurate and I don't find the album to be that much of a departure from what they've done so far, though it definitely reveals some evolution and Mastodon seems to have attained an even stronger sense of experimentalism.

That said, I think "Blood Mountain" is the most exciting work Mastodon has done to date, I'm surprised, and my admiration for their work has grown considerably, it's a breath of fresh air in a year that seems doomed to mediocrity.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
07.10.2006 - 17:40
Talvi
Stop blaming him! That's an amazing album, and all of you shouls buy it right NOW!

You EMOs...
----
My account on other musical pages:
http://www.last.fm/user/Pozito/
http://rateyourmusic.com/~Talvi
Loading...
08.02.2007 - 01:54
mwerren
Account deleted
I personally like every album, as they are different while staying true to the band's identity. I discovered them in concert in Zürich in December doing the first part for Tool, and given that tool is my favorite band, I fiigured they could only be good. I was right... Now the only thing that troubles me is that as an old guy who's first rock album was Killers from Mayden back in about 86 (Yes I was 9), I have no idea what the word "EMO" you guys are all refering to means. I guess I'm out of the "Nu Metal" environment. Please educate an old fan. Thanks

P.S. A-S-S-H-O-L-E and No Cure For Cancer, Please... ;-)
Loading...
08.02.2007 - 01:54
mwerren
Account deleted
I personally like every album, as they are different while staying true to the band's identity. I discovered them in concert in Zürich in December doing the first part for Tool, and given that tool is my favorite band, I fiigured they could only be good. I was right... Now the only thing that troubles me is that as an old guy who's first rock album was Killers from Mayden back in about 86 (Yes I was 9), I have no idea what the word "EMO" you guys are all refering to means. I guess I'm out of the "Nu Metal" environment. Please educate an old fan. Thanks

P.S. A-S-S-H-O-L-E and No Cure For Cancer, Please... ;-)
Loading...
26.02.2007 - 08:30
lenesu
mwerren - emo reffers to shitty punk-ass bands like AFI, My Chemical Romance.
Loading...
09.05.2007 - 04:30
DeathComes
Account deleted
ehh dont really agree with the review, great album though
Loading...
06.06.2007 - 15:58
Jotun_01
Account deleted
This is the best Mastodon album so far.
Loading...
30.01.2008 - 17:54
+{Jonas}+
I R Serious Cat
I still want to get into Mastodon spite the amount of emo used in this review
----
"Nobody wants to be the weird kid, you just end up being the weird kid. You don't know how you ended up getting there" - Rob Zombie

http://jonas-bs.deviantart.com My dA, mainly photography, go check it out!
Loading...
29.03.2008 - 20:23
red_lucifer
Account deleted
Although I myself am straight, I think using the word 'gay' in a review like this is childish and irresponsible. I can imagine there's thousands of gay metal fans out there who read these reviews and are really dissapointed with this kind of homophobic claptrap. I think it's time you grew the hell up and thought about the consequences of what you write. There's room in the metal family for everyone wthout singling out people just because they're different. All in all, good album, crap review.
Loading...
17.06.2008 - 08:57
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
EMO is not the same as EMOtional???
since Mastodon becomes more light and emotional (clean vocals and stuff) in their songs.. their'e EMO's now theres nothing we can do... its pure trash now ...

of course im kidding, their still good... fuck their style, it sounds good whatever they are, an album with such a good theme was not wasted.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
16.07.2008 - 16:45
Slyfang
what the fuck.. there's nothing emo here!! this is like.. Southern Jazz Metal i'd say
Loading...
27.10.2008 - 08:34
Nicko's Nose
Great album!

Some of the comments here show just how stupid some tr00 metalheads are...

Tr00 metalhead: "Hey, that's fucking awesome!"
Random guy: "Yeah, its my favorite song from my favorite EMO band!"
Tr00 metalhead: "What? You said EMO??"
Random guy: "Yeah."
Tr00 metalhead: "Oh, then it sucks."

You can replace "EMO" with "metalcore" if you want.
Loading...
02.11.2008 - 22:39
benvolent
Concerning the word <emo>: whatever you had in mind, this word is overloaded with associations, which will never fit to Mastodon. It's just annoying to use it in connection with Mastodon, especially when you don't really explain what you mean. I guess you headed to provoke some fans, which indeed reacted quite emotional - I can understand that! So congratulations, that worked

I, myself, wasn't blown away by blood mountain, but appreciated the new ideas and experimental stuff on this album - so: capillarian crest, bladecatcher and pendulous skin. The guys are still evolving and that's the important fact - do you want an endless replication of the remission-style? Well, go on, bore yourself!
----
The struggle to free myself of restraints, becomes my very shackles
Loading...
05.11.2008 - 19:21
Frankenchrist
Blood mountain was fucking great.
----
Blat Blat
Loading...
28.09.2009 - 17:03
Maim_Menu
Account deleted
Stumbling upon this review made me realize how easy it is to publish misconceived ideas to the world.

Basically, it looks like to this reviewer, whenever a metal vocalist goes into actual singing, we are witnessing EMO elements. It would also appear that whenever a song displays a good deal of cleanly laid and beautiful guitars, it is also displaying EMO elements. If that's not what the reviewer was referring to in his attempt to describe song #3 from Blood Mountain, it will be hard to decipher because that's pretty much what the song is. This song actually is a lot closer to Ole Nessie from Remission than to anything ressembling EMO or any of it's offshoots.

If, after reading the comments following this funny review, you were still not sure if you were going to like Blood Mountain or not after digging Leviathan, or if you haven't bought the album yet, let me reassure you that you WILL like it a lot.

The sung parts of Blood Mountain have infinitely more to do with psychedelic rock from the 70's than anything else, just like it was on Leviathan. There aren't really a lot more sung parts on this one than on Leviathan so I really don't know with what kind of ears the reviewer listened to this album but Frankly, if he knew better, he probably would've written a better and most importantly, a more descriptive and especially accurate review. They say every review is a matter of opinion but just because it is, doesn't mean you can go out and say a Porsche is actually a Ferrari just because nobody passed you the memo yet. One of the responsibilities of an internet publisher is research. The choice of words is as important as the subject matter, and this review simply doesn't show it.

After spinning this album for a few years now, I couldn't stress enough how much of a perfectly natural evolution it is from their previous work, and how much an apprehensive Mastodon fan reading this garbage in expectation to buy the CD could've been misled by what is written in this review. The album IS fierce, it IS brutal and it IS intricate, it is STILL Mastodon in it's purest and unadulterated form. Whatever you will hear on Blood Mountain is exactly what you've come to expect from Mastodon and what you could not wait to sink your teeth into. Just like anything they ever released, it will grow on you after each spin, but not because they incorporated EMO elements that you will have to deal with, but because it is a Mastodon album and it's always been like that, wich is what made this band so good in the first place.

To sum it all up, Blood Mountain has NO emo materiel whatsoever. Really, it has none of it. You will NOT feel alienated, you will NOT be disappointed, it's just a brilliant album from a brilliant, original and explorative band and if you loved their previous work, you will thoroughly enjoy Blood Mountain, even if I'm wrtiting this a couple years too late.

Sincerely.
Loading...
29.07.2010 - 13:06
Acolyt#1
I agree with Maim_Menu, there isn't a bit of EMO in there. Blood Mountain has a wider metal spectrum than previous releases but no EMO in there. The song Sleeping Giant isn't Emo, it's more like old fashioned Heavy Metal crossed with some prog rock. I would have burned the fraggin' CD if it had sullied my ears with EMO stuff.
Loading...
28.08.2010 - 01:44
Winterthrone
What the fuck? Ok I know I,m late but this review is pure and plain CRAP. What the hell are you talking about? Emo...Mastodon you clearly had know idea of what you would write on that album, don't you? Man, it's not because Mastodon have punk influences and that Emo came from punk that automatically Mastodon have Emo influences. I would say they have punk-hardcore influences but never Emo.
Then you use GAY as a negative adjective... On an international website... Don't you know there is maybe a lot of homosexuals using this blog and this comes as an unjustified insult to them? Truly man you should think twice before writing such bullshit. Are you twelve years old to use such a dated insult? I don't like political-correctness but using such homophobic slang on a site that aims at international recognition is quite questionnable...And even more because your a STAFF member. Don't you know the word responsability?


This album is very good, but your review is a LOAD OF CRAP good for a twelve year old boy that needs to impress is friends...Man grow up please!
Loading...
03.10.2010 - 19:39
Guib
Thrash Talker
In Fact I never noticed any Emo influences in Blood Mountain... Whatever Emo influences means to you its not in there -_-
Im a bit mad that the staff let such a reviewer write for the album. Because really I wonder if he even listened to it
properly or just put it once in his player... then forgot about it resulting in a shitty review.

The Album was great, no doubt, but the reviewer wasn't
I gave the album a big 9... cos ya know, nothings perfect
----
- I love my technical, melodic, my thrash, agressive and fast paced, my sludge, well thought, my heavy, heavier and my metal, ever-growing -
Loading...
01.03.2011 - 16:23
Sword_Chant
Saying Mastodon is emo is like saying Slayer has influences of Rick Astley or Simon and Garfunkel

....Good album, my favourite from Mastodon by a long shot. 'Bladecatcher' is crazy
On my cd, Penduluous Skin has a 20 minute silence before a comment at the end - I wish that was cut down in the production.
Loading...
09.12.2015 - 16:19
BlackMetalDay
My god, this review!!!
"this sounds like a bowl with peaches and plums"


The album is very very good, it is my favorite along with Leviathan. I like less the following albums as they are too progressive or slow for my taste.
Loading...

Hits total: 12333 | This month: 22