Rating:
9.2
Pain Of Salvation - "BE"
12 October 2004


01. Animae Partus ("I Am")
02. Deus Nova
03. Imago (Homines Partus)
04. Pluvius Aestivus
05. Lilium Cruentus (Deus Nova)
06. Nauticus (Drifting)
07. Dea Pecuniae
    1 - Mr. Money
    2 - Permanere
    3 - I Raise My Glass
08. Vocari Dei
09. Diffidentia (Breaching The Core)
10. Nihil Morari
11. Latericius Valete
12. Omni
13. Iter Impius
14. Martius / Nauticus II
15. Animae Partus II


Pain Of Salvation have came back with this new "Be" album. And with this new one they are taking progressive music further! This album is a piece of music that was never heard before, the best word to describe it is Origanility. We knew the Swedish band capable of very good music but to bring a concept like this demands a lot of work and imagination.

This piece of work is quite unreviewable because anyone could find through those lyrics, melodies and moods different meanings which makes this album a masterpiece! It is based on questions about life, existence, religion throughout 14 extremly different songs going from folk style like "Imago" to pure prog/atmospheric rock with ultra clean vocals in "Iter Impius" but with keeping the band's roots with some more heavy songs like "Lilium Cruentus."

This concept of the album is one of the best I've ever seen; you can find much contradictory stuff in it (but IMO done deliberatly). Some songs are really quite philosophical whereas others like "Dea Pecuniae" are just pompous. Going from questions about existence, meaning of life and god, to a businessman that just doesn't give a damm about everyone else but himself as it is said in the booklet :"Mr. Money" is a business man who spends all his assets on Cryobiology (the science of studying the effects of very low temperature on life). He is cryogenically frozen and not revived until he is made immortal. When he awakes he realize he's the last one alive on earth because aknowledging the state of the planet (quite ruined by human kind's greed) no other person had chosen immortality.

But without speaking of the concept, the music itself is strong as it ever was during all PoS previous albums. They show us that they are staying and nearly claiming the place of Best Progressive band existing nowadays. The composition is as good as ever, giving us all kinds of atmospheres, moods and feelings. I particularly have shivers on the song "Iter Impius" in which Daniel is truly taking the voice of an angel... pure emotion and beauty! But I think that every fan of Pain Of Salvation will like this album after digging it quite some time. This is not an album on which you got a final impression after just two or three listenings, dig it and dig it deeper you'll get the meanings that Daniel tried to put in his songs!

"Be" is recommended for every person that tries to find a meaning to his life or asking himself question about his little existence - for people without those kind of existential questions buy it because it is a Pain Of Salvation album, that is to say that the progressive music performed in this album is amazing and won't disapoint you for sure!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Pain Of Salvation
Album: "BE"


 


written by #~|CoP|~# | 23.09.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Spyroid

Rating:
7.0
I don't usually care much about lyrics or concepts at all. A good concept can add a lot to an album - I am a big Ayreon fan, but at the same time most of my favorite bands have pretty left winged opinions, and I consider myself to be a liberal. As long as the music is good I don't really care about lyrics, bands' attitudes, or anything like that. But here's an exception: Be.

Read more ››
published 10.01.2009 | Comments (21)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 111  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 09.10.2006 at 22:24  
M-A-S-T-E-R-P-I-E-C-E!
Read the concept and listen to it, it's wonderful!
Best songs: Imago, Lilium Cruentus, Dea Pecuniae, Iter Impius
Valar - 10.10.2006 at 08:44  
One of the best prog albums of all times, yeah amazingingly conceptual and musically flawless.
Daniel Gildenlow has once again shown his genius in this masterpiece.
Eagerly waiting for Scarsick!!
Sepulchral Oath - 20.10.2006 at 19:41  
I have the DVD/live cd version of this; it is nothing but pure amazingness and perfection. Imago and Iter Impius id have to say are my favorite tracks.
Spyroid - 04.11.2006 at 16:42  
I haven't read the concept or lyrics, my friend just ripped it into my computer and said "LISTEN".
It's burning of imagination, but I don't know, maybe it's the communism theme (or well, socialism) or maybe I should read the lyrics. Or maybe it's not just my kind of music?
Anyway, musicially I'd give it 8/10 (some songs 10/10, some 6/10) but I can give it 9/10 because it's such a good try
manos - 16.02.2007 at 15:58  
i've beem listening to this kind of music for many years, and i've been lucky to have obtained tons of albums of very different genres... So this is a hard thing for me to say but, p.o.s.-be is my favorite album of all time!! Before that was operation mindcrime for quite a long time, but be is a huge album musically and lyrically... NO WORDS CAN DESCRIBE IT, just let it be...
ylside - 30.10.2008 at 21:53  
Blew me away, a slap on the face... It's up there with my all time favorite albums now. I find the DVD version in fact better than the CD.
Hamird - 26.11.2008 at 21:06  
This is a nice album, one of the best Progressive albums for me.. I like concept, and great music. Also I like the track which people leave message for God. Also Iter Impius that I think that's the best track on this album.
Elio - 26.11.2008 at 21:53  
Written by Spyroid on 04.11.2006 at 16:42

I haven't read the concept or lyrics, my friend just ripped it into my computer and said "LISTEN".
It's burning of imagination, but I don't know, maybe it's the communism theme (or well, socialism) or maybe I should read the lyrics. Or maybe it's not just my kind of music?
Anyway, musicially I'd give it 8/10 (some songs 10/10, some 6/10) but I can give it 9/10 because it's such a good try


So the socialist theme is good or bad? btw, agreed with Hamird, Vocari Dei is very beautiful and touching.
Spyroid - 27.11.2008 at 00:51  
Written by Elio on 26.11.2008 at 21:53

Written by Spyroid on 04.11.2006 at 16:42

I haven't read the concept or lyrics, my friend just ripped it into my computer and said "LISTEN".
It's burning of imagination, but I don't know, maybe it's the communism theme (or well, socialism) or maybe I should read the lyrics. Or maybe it's not just my kind of music?
Anyway, musicially I'd give it 8/10 (some songs 10/10, some 6/10) but I can give it 9/10 because it's such a good try


So the socialist theme is good or bad? btw, agreed with Hamird, Vocari Dei is very beautiful and touching.


I'm a liberal. I try not to care about politics in lyrics - the music is the thing that matters most, and I probably share opinions with less than 10 % of my favourite bands anyway... but sometimes it gets to obvious, like in most PoS material and thats probably why I'm not a huge fan of them.
BlankFile - 19.06.2012 at 23:01  
Great concept, and musically outstanding! A fantástic experience.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Pain Of Salvation - Ending Themes: On The Two Deaths Of Pain Of Salvation 5.5 19.07.2009 by Evil Chip
Reviews Pain Of Salvation - One Hour By The Concrete Lake 5.5 15.07.2007 by 4look4rd
Reviews Pain Of Salvation - Remedy Lane 5.5 25.02.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Pain Of Salvation - Road Salt One 5.5 20.07.2010 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Pain Of Salvation - Remedy Lane 5.5 14.09.2006 by Valar



Hits total: 4373 | This month: 51