Rating:
9.2
Behemoth - Demigod
25 October 2004


Disc I
01. Sculpting The Throne Ov Seth
02. Demigod
03. Conquer All
04. The Nephilim Rising
05. Towards Babylon
06. Before The Æons Came
07. Mysterium Coniunctionis (Hermanubis)
08. XUL
09. Slaves Shall Serve
10. The Reign Ov Shemsu-Hor

Disc II [DVD] [2010 limited edition bonus]
[Live in Leeuwarden, Holland 10.12.2007]
01. Slaying The Prophets Ov Isa
02. Antichristian Phenomenon
03. Demigod
04. From The Pagan Vestlands
05. Prometherion
06. Conquer All
07. Christgrinding Avenue
08. As Above So Below
09. Decade Ov Therion
10. Chant For Ezkaton 2000
11. I Got Erection


Behemoth - Demigod (2004)

Virtuosity, action and technique. There are many ways of describing Demigod, although it must be experienced if you are to fully understand it. Demigod, nothing less than another melancholic masterpiece, darkly triumphing the world of Brutal Death Metal.

Session guitarist Seth ironically opens up the album with his fragile, still mysterious guitar-theme in "Sculpting the Throne ov Seth." It's the breath before the plunge. The song practically explodes. BAM! Your ass is ravaged by blast beats and Nergal's dynamic riffs that'll begin the historic and brutal madness of Behemoth. The title track, one of my favourites, also starts off more calmly. Only this time you'll hear the muffled trumpets of a frenzied roman army, that even this time, expands into something dark, fast, brutal and at the same time very poignant.

In the CD-Booklet Nergal describes every song and thought behind it and the meaning behind his phenomenal lyrics; clearly, one of his major influences during the writing of demigod was the medieval-era. The Romans, rulers and gods, all summarized in these ten songs of utter perfection. Onto the rest of the album. Demigod is always remarkably consistent, with disgustingly good drumbeats, oriental sweep-solos and the massive bass line giving this special Behemoth-like rhythm to the album.

The unique eastern guitar scales as well as the really precise orchestrations on some songs really makes this album flawless, at least almost. I personally would have enjoyed a bigger variation of Scales in Nergal's solos. As for each song I believe myself hearing practically the same solos over and over again, more or less.

I believe Nergal managed to pull off some great chops, but more importantly, what he didn't succeed, doing perfect that is, was to make his solos personal for both himself and the listener. Other than that, all you who haven't had a listen to this one yet, I beg you not to hesitate and worship this piece of art.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Behemoth
Album: Demigod


 


written by Asylum #9 | 28.11.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Loathera

Rating:
8.4
Oh Demigod why do I have so many conflicting opinions on you?

It is a good album; it catapulted Behemoth into the superstar ring of death metal. It is widely accepted as their best release. I'm not going to debate about it being what it is, an entertaining and damn fine album by a talented band, but I don't think it delivers as much as the hype would tell you. They lost a lot of the black metal influence, (Demigod is pretty much a straight death metal album) but I think the problem for me with this album is the drastic difference in quality between songs.

Read more ››
published 13.04.2012 | Comments (4)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 29  
Users visited: 263  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 28.11.2006 at 12:24  
Yeah I agree with you, so great review!
This is a perfect album, angry amazing and powerful... I can't wait for a new Behemoth album!
Mindheist - 28.11.2006 at 20:03  
Let's see,...What we have in Demigod, is a wicked slice of melodic blackened death metal played with some stunning youthful exuberance. Your Rating, 9.8 is, in my opinion, so generous/ so exaggerated, sure the key to Behemoth's work is that they keep their riffs interesting and varied whilst sticking to a well-established blueprint. Vocally, I have concerns with Nergal's rancorous bark, which at times actually becomes a little too overbearing in its enthusiasm.Thus, it stands out from time to time, very very modified and makes me bored from time to time...so i give to their Performance a 7, for their songwriting a 8, no originality so i give 5 to the Originality, Production is flawless, so a 9 can do it justice, Overall impression, a 8, so a 7.5 would be great....Nice review anyway
Asylum #9 - 28.11.2006 at 20:36  
Hehe, thanks for sharing your thoughts.
Yes - I was a little bit generous with the rating, i would more likely give it a 9 if i were able to, well well.
Although, it's still really, really original.

PS - I rated it 9.2.
Estix - 28.11.2006 at 21:43  
While the review was nice and simple to read, i still don't find anything special in Demigod. Especially after i started learning more about death metal. Sure, the CD feels like they totally want to rip the world apart...Problem is, a lot of others do that. I really think that i'm the only person in the whole extreme metal listener area who doesn't like Demigod. At least up until this point i haven't found anyone else
Oh yeah and just to clear stuff up, i no longer have a problem with listening to popular bands. I used to have a sort of pushing towards popular bands when i started in the "tr00" metal. Now it's gone. So i can honestly say that the problem is the not-so-interesting music.

EDIT: on another note, i don't HATE this CD. I'd still give it a 6 or 7 at max.
Asylum #9 - 28.11.2006 at 22:59  
Quoting myself: "There are many ways of describing Demigod, although it must be experienced if you are to fully understand it."

You may have a point in what you're saying Headbang, but i, personally, can't possibly find any other band that sounds like Behemoth, or even near.
And i don' really like to categorize them either, because how can you relate them to, for example, Cannibal Corpse or Dismember, or any other known Death-Metal band?

I also believe what attracts so many people with Demigod is because it is just so destroying as you say, that's what makes it original, somehow.

Just a thought.
Sunioj - 13.12.2006 at 15:25  
This is a very powerful and well put together album, I would give it an 8 though, the layered voices and the occasional drowned guitars IMO are the weak link here, all hail behemoth!

Montural - 02.01.2007 at 23:19  
well this album kicks ass ..... can't stop listening to it ...... but that the only album I like the most for behemoth cause I'm more into death metal ............. I'm sure that there new album will be also great :thumbup:
Xtreme Jax - 03.01.2007 at 17:32  
One of my favourite albums in metal, I'd rate it a 9.5.
Nergal's vocals are really powerful and hits you straight where it hurts - not a bad thing - which is one of the main reasons why I love this album so much.
Good review
Empty Spaces - 09.05.2007 at 00:50  
Awesome album!!!
Passenger - 18.06.2007 at 19:09  
One of the best Death Metal albums ever. Ver brutal and creative. Possibly even better than Thelema.6 and ZKC.
__Az__ - 18.06.2007 at 20:51  
Written by Passenger on 18.06.2007 at 19:09

One of the best Death Metal albums ever. Ver brutal and creative. Possibly even better than Thelema.6 and ZKC.



I agree, not only is this definately behemoth's best release to date... but, I believe it can be ranked up their with the best in death metal as a genre..
Marcel Hubregtse - 19.06.2007 at 07:33  
Sorry to say, but I found this alkbum very boring almost no varatiation, and that coming from a Behemoth fan. Production wise it did sound fuller than their other albums but what they gained in power they lost in creativity.
I would rate it around an 8
Bhavok - 06.07.2007 at 08:57  
i like the way behemoth changes, without losing their escence... small things make different every new album, just awesome
bucky01403 - 12.11.2007 at 19:50  
I just ran through Demigod, again. Such a fantastic album, although I don't know if I could take it over The Apostasy.
Behemnil - 13.11.2007 at 21:20  
Behemoth fuckin kicked my ass in Demigod. They totally tore out my torso and raped it in the bellybutton! Demigod is 10 billion times beter than The Apostasy, but I have to say Apostasy still kicks people in the nutts with the first note in any of the songs. So they are both amazing. And Satanica!! FUCK YEA!!! Decade of Therion makes me spin my guts around and around for hours until i throw them up. FUCKIN BEHEMOTH!!!:maniac:
Doc Godin - 17.11.2007 at 10:26  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.06.2007 at 07:33

Production wise it did sound fuller than their other albums but what they gained in power they lost in creativity.

Creativity is right, the track 'Conquer All' is such a knock off of Anthrax's 'Be All, End All'. (at least the intros).

And no, I dont hate Behemoth, in fact I like most of there stuff, but the rip off of that opening riff is kinda angering.
Introspekrieg - 24.11.2007 at 10:30  
I've listened to this album over and over again, love the drums (esp. the drums), the riffs, the sweeps, but I just couldn't get past the horrendous vocals. Then I played it in front of some of my metalcore friends and watched as they cringed. And then I was enlightened...
Opium - 24.11.2007 at 13:57  
Written by Doc Godin on 17.11.2007 at 10:26

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.06.2007 at 07:33

Production wise it did sound fuller than their other albums but what they gained in power they lost in creativity.

Creativity is right, the track 'Conquer All' is such a knock off of Anthrax's 'Be All, End All'. (at least the intros).

And no, I dont hate Behemoth, in fact I like most of there stuff, but the rip off of that opening riff is kinda angering.

I didn't notice that, but thanks for the heads up

Fortunately I like Anthrax a lot more than Behemoth anyway
Uirapuru - 01.04.2008 at 03:43  
Agree with the rate, this is a great album. Behemoth was one of the first black metal bands i've heard of. This album speacially brings 5 songs that consider above the average: ''Sculpting the throne ov Seth'', ''Demigod'', ''Before Aeons Come'', ''XUL'' and of course the masterpiece ''Slaves Shall Serve''!!! 9,7/10
Murder - 16.06.2008 at 10:08  
Slaves shall serve is one of the most brutal songs that i've heard !!!

Very fucking good album!
Deadmeat - 04.07.2009 at 10:24  
Nice review for a great album!!
Demi_God_666 - 28.07.2009 at 19:15  
Great Album. Just one minor thing, the vocals kinda got annoying, i didn't really like the overlapping technique in recording, with the whole "low meshed with high". It definitely made this album unique from their others and it doesn't make me think less of Behemoth either, they will always be my favorite band !

And one tiny little note "Conquer All", is almost exactly like Anthrax's "Be All, End All"...but with their own twist.Not that it matters because there have been many songs that have been copied in some way...its bound to happen

Anyways, love this album...definitely an 8 out of 10 for me!
wormdrink414 - 02.08.2009 at 21:24  
Great album. Easily one of my favorite albums ever, and already they've outdone themselves once with the Apostasy, and might very well do it again with Evangelion.
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.08.2009 at 23:29  
This album s when Behemoth lost their spark and went downhill and just followed the weel trodden path of standard death metal
Rysiu - 13.11.2009 at 13:00  
I think this is the most magnificent albums in this brutal music. It's not just about the music, but it is beautifully expressed. It has a huge amount of energy and passion. When I listen to it, I'm proud that I am from Poland. I think, that this is the way, that they should play.
Reaper02 - 21.11.2009 at 00:41  
This is how death metal should sound like - raw , fast and powerful.
MétalNoir - 28.09.2010 at 00:16  
One of my all-time favorite death album. Great review for an even greater album.
Beastofmetal456 - 28.05.2011 at 16:39  
Awesome DM album. Great review. The oriental sweeps in overall and the breakdowns in the last track are amazing. The ever present blastbeats add to this essential death metal album. And also, I wasn't annoyed alot by the vocals. Not the greatest, but good. Solid 10 for me.
Maxx666 - 29.08.2011 at 22:13  
Really an piece of art decorated with utter melancholic streaks of infernal blasphemies

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Behemoth - Demigod 5.5 16.04.2012 by Unhealer
Albums Behemoth - Demigod 4.5 29.04.2010 by ChibiDemigod
News Behemoth - Drummer Twists Ankle; Band Cancels Festival Dates 3 27.08.2006 by matos
News Behemoth - Co-Headlining European Tour With Cradle Of Filth 3 25.10.2013 by AtrumHiberna
News Behemoth - Court Rules Against Frontman In Bible-Tearing Case 3 30.10.2012 by Bad English



Hits total: 9609 | This month: 8