Behemoth - Demigod review



Reviewer:
9.2

839 users:
8.59
Band: Behemoth
Album: Demigod
Release date: October 2004


Disc I
01. Sculpting The Throne Ov Seth
02. Demigod
03. Conquer All
04. The Nephilim Rising
05. Towards Babylon
06. Before The Æons Came
07. Mysterium Coniunctionis (Hermanubis)
08. XUL
09. Slaves Shall Serve
10. The Reign Ov Shemsu-Hor

Disc II [DVD] [2010 limited edition bonus]
[Live in Leeuwarden, Holland 10.12.2007]
01. Slaying The Prophets Ov Isa
02. Antichristian Phenomenon
03. Demigod
04. From The Pagan Vestlands
05. Prometherion
06. Conquer All
07. Christgrinding Avenue
08. As Above So Below
09. Decade Ov Therion
10. Chant For Ezkaton 2000
11. I Got Erection


Behemoth - Demigod (2004)

Virtuosity, action and technique. There are many ways of describing Demigod, although it must be experienced if you are to fully understand it. Demigod, nothing less than another melancholic masterpiece, darkly triumphing the world of Brutal Death Metal.

Session guitarist Seth ironically opens up the album with his fragile, still mysterious guitar-theme in "Sculpting the Throne ov Seth." It's the breath before the plunge. The song practically explodes. BAM! Your ass is ravaged by blast beats and Nergal's dynamic riffs that'll begin the historic and brutal madness of Behemoth. The title track, one of my favourites, also starts off more calmly. Only this time you'll hear the muffled trumpets of a frenzied roman army, that even this time, expands into something dark, fast, brutal and at the same time very poignant.

In the CD-Booklet Nergal describes every song and thought behind it and the meaning behind his phenomenal lyrics; clearly, one of his major influences during the writing of demigod was the medieval-era. The Romans, rulers and gods, all summarized in these ten songs of utter perfection. Onto the rest of the album. Demigod is always remarkably consistent, with disgustingly good drumbeats, oriental sweep-solos and the massive bass line giving this special Behemoth-like rhythm to the album.

The unique eastern guitar scales as well as the really precise orchestrations on some songs really makes this album flawless, at least almost. I personally would have enjoyed a bigger variation of Scales in Nergal's solos. As for each song I believe myself hearing practically the same solos over and over again, more or less.

I believe Nergal managed to pull off some great chops, but more importantly, what he didn't succeed, doing perfect that is, was to make his solos personal for both himself and the listener. Other than that, all you who haven't had a listen to this one yet, I beg you not to hesitate and worship this piece of art.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 10

Written by Asylum #9 | 28.11.2006


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Svneatr
Rating:
8.4
Oh Demigod why do I have so many conflicting opinions on you?

It is a good album; it catapulted Behemoth into the superstar ring of death metal. It is widely accepted as their best release. I'm not going to debate about it being what it is, an entertaining and damn fine album by a talented band, but I don't think it delivers as much as the hype would tell you. They lost a lot of the black metal influence, (Demigod is pretty much a straight death metal album) but I think the problem for me with this album is the drastic difference in quality between songs.

Read more ››
published 13.04.2012 | Comments (4)


Comments

Comments: 29   Visited by: 280 users
28.11.2006 - 12:24
Katatronik
Angel of Lust
Yeah I agree with you, so great review!
This is a perfect album, angry amazing and powerful... I can't wait for a new Behemoth album!
----

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear,
and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown."
Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Loading...
28.11.2006 - 20:03
Mindheist
No Longer Human
Let's see,...What we have in Demigod, is a wicked slice of melodic blackened death metal played with some stunning youthful exuberance. Your Rating, 9.8 is, in my opinion, so generous/ so exaggerated, sure the key to Behemoth's work is that they keep their riffs interesting and varied whilst sticking to a well-established blueprint. Vocally, I have concerns with Nergal's rancorous bark, which at times actually becomes a little too overbearing in its enthusiasm.Thus, it stands out from time to time, very very modified and makes me bored from time to time...so i give to their Performance a 7, for their songwriting a 8, no originality so i give 5 to the Originality, Production is flawless, so a 9 can do it justice, Overall impression, a 8, so a 7.5 would be great....Nice review anyway
Loading...
28.11.2006 - 20:36
Asylum #9
Account deleted
Hehe, thanks for sharing your thoughts.
Yes - I was a little bit generous with the rating, i would more likely give it a 9 if i were able to, well well.
Although, it's still really, really original.

PS - I rated it 9.2.
Loading...
28.11.2006 - 21:43
Estix
While the review was nice and simple to read, i still don't find anything special in Demigod. Especially after i started learning more about death metal. Sure, the CD feels like they totally want to rip the world apart...Problem is, a lot of others do that. I really think that i'm the only person in the whole extreme metal listener area who doesn't like Demigod. At least up until this point i haven't found anyone else
Oh yeah and just to clear stuff up, i no longer have a problem with listening to popular bands. I used to have a sort of pushing towards popular bands when i started in the "tr00" metal. Now it's gone. So i can honestly say that the problem is the not-so-interesting music.

EDIT: on another note, i don't HATE this CD. I'd still give it a 6 or 7 at max.
----
I am NOT a musician, so I do not judge bands by skill. I judge them on how I like the sound.
Loading...
28.11.2006 - 22:59
Asylum #9
Account deleted
Quoting myself: "There are many ways of describing Demigod, although it must be experienced if you are to fully understand it."

You may have a point in what you're saying Headbang, but i, personally, can't possibly find any other band that sounds like Behemoth, or even near.
And i don' really like to categorize them either, because how can you relate them to, for example, Cannibal Corpse or Dismember, or any other known Death-Metal band?

I also believe what attracts so many people with Demigod is because it is just so destroying as you say, that's what makes it original, somehow.

Just a thought.
Loading...
13.12.2006 - 15:25
Sunioj
This is a very powerful and well put together album, I would give it an 8 though, the layered voices and the occasional drowned guitars IMO are the weak link here, all hail behemoth!

Loading...
02.01.2007 - 23:19
Montural
Account deleted
well this album kicks ass ..... can't stop listening to it ...... but that the only album I like the most for behemoth cause I'm more into death metal ............. I'm sure that there new album will be also great :thumbup:
Loading...
03.01.2007 - 17:32
Xtreme Jax
Psycroptipath
One of my favourite albums in metal, I'd rate it a 9.5.
Nergal's vocals are really powerful and hits you straight where it hurts - not a bad thing - which is one of the main reasons why I love this album so much.
Good review
----

Hellcunt Smurf
Loading...
09.05.2007 - 00:50
Empty Spaces
Unburied At Dusk
Awesome album!!!
Loading...
18.06.2007 - 19:09
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
One of the best Death Metal albums ever. Ver brutal and creative. Possibly even better than Thelema.6 and ZKC.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
18.06.2007 - 20:51
__Az__
Written by Passenger on 18.06.2007 at 19:09

One of the best Death Metal albums ever. Ver brutal and creative. Possibly even better than Thelema.6 and ZKC.



I agree, not only is this definately behemoth's best release to date... but, I believe it can be ranked up their with the best in death metal as a genre..
Loading...
19.06.2007 - 07:33
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Sorry to say, but I found this alkbum very boring almost no varatiation, and that coming from a Behemoth fan. Production wise it did sound fuller than their other albums but what they gained in power they lost in creativity.
I would rate it around an 8
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
06.07.2007 - 08:57
Bhavok
i like the way behemoth changes, without losing their escence... small things make different every new album, just awesome
Loading...
12.11.2007 - 19:50
bucky01403
Account deleted
I just ran through Demigod, again. Such a fantastic album, although I don't know if I could take it over The Apostasy.
Loading...
13.11.2007 - 21:20
Behemnil
Account deleted
Behemoth fuckin kicked my ass in Demigod. They totally tore out my torso and raped it in the bellybutton! Demigod is 10 billion times beter than The Apostasy, but I have to say Apostasy still kicks people in the nutts with the first note in any of the songs. So they are both amazing. And Satanica!! FUCK YEA!!! Decade of Therion makes me spin my guts around and around for hours until i throw them up. FUCKIN BEHEMOTH!!!:maniac:
Loading...
17.11.2007 - 10:26
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.06.2007 at 07:33

Production wise it did sound fuller than their other albums but what they gained in power they lost in creativity.

Creativity is right, the track 'Conquer All' is such a knock off of Anthrax's 'Be All, End All'. (at least the intros).

And no, I dont hate Behemoth, in fact I like most of there stuff, but the rip off of that opening riff is kinda angering.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
24.11.2007 - 10:30
Introspekrieg
Totemic Lust
I've listened to this album over and over again, love the drums (esp. the drums), the riffs, the sweeps, but I just couldn't get past the horrendous vocals. Then I played it in front of some of my metalcore friends and watched as they cringed. And then I was enlightened...
Loading...
24.11.2007 - 13:57
Opium
Account deleted
Written by Doc Godin on 17.11.2007 at 10:26

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.06.2007 at 07:33

Production wise it did sound fuller than their other albums but what they gained in power they lost in creativity.

Creativity is right, the track 'Conquer All' is such a knock off of Anthrax's 'Be All, End All'. (at least the intros).

And no, I dont hate Behemoth, in fact I like most of there stuff, but the rip off of that opening riff is kinda angering.

I didn't notice that, but thanks for the heads up

Fortunately I like Anthrax a lot more than Behemoth anyway
Loading...
01.04.2008 - 03:43
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Agree with the rate, this is a great album. Behemoth was one of the first black metal bands i've heard of. This album speacially brings 5 songs that consider above the average: ''Sculpting the throne ov Seth'', ''Demigod'', ''Before Aeons Come'', ''XUL'' and of course the masterpiece ''Slaves Shall Serve''!!! 9,7/10
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
16.06.2008 - 10:08
Murder
Slaves shall serve is one of the most brutal songs that i've heard !!!

Very fucking good album!
Loading...
04.07.2009 - 10:24
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
Nice review for a great album!!
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
28.07.2009 - 19:15
Demi_God_666
Great Album. Just one minor thing, the vocals kinda got annoying, i didn't really like the overlapping technique in recording, with the whole "low meshed with high". It definitely made this album unique from their others and it doesn't make me think less of Behemoth either, they will always be my favorite band !

And one tiny little note "Conquer All", is almost exactly like Anthrax's "Be All, End All"...but with their own twist.Not that it matters because there have been many songs that have been copied in some way...its bound to happen

Anyways, love this album...definitely an 8 out of 10 for me!
Loading...
02.08.2009 - 21:24
wormdrink414
Great album. Easily one of my favorite albums ever, and already they've outdone themselves once with the Apostasy, and might very well do it again with Evangelion.
Loading...
02.08.2009 - 23:29
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
This album s when Behemoth lost their spark and went downhill and just followed the weel trodden path of standard death metal
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
13.11.2009 - 13:00
Rysiu
I think this is the most magnificent albums in this brutal music. It's not just about the music, but it is beautifully expressed. It has a huge amount of energy and passion. When I listen to it, I'm proud that I am from Poland. I think, that this is the way, that they should play.
----
The key of joy is Disobedience...
Loading...
21.11.2009 - 00:41
Reaper02
This is how death metal should sound like - raw , fast and powerful.
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 00:16
MétalNoir
Fils du Lys
One of my all-time favorite death album. Great review for an even greater album.
----
Notre destinée n'est pas encore tracée....
Loading...
28.05.2011 - 16:39
Beastofmetal456
Account deleted
Awesome DM album. Great review. The oriental sweeps in overall and the breakdowns in the last track are amazing. The ever present blastbeats add to this essential death metal album. And also, I wasn't annoyed alot by the vocals. Not the greatest, but good. Solid 10 for me.
Loading...
29.08.2011 - 22:13
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Really an piece of art decorated with utter melancholic streaks of infernal blasphemies
Loading...

Hits total: 10796 | This month: 34