Rating:
9.2
Lordi - The Arockalypse
10 March 2006


01. SCG3 Special Report [feat. Dee Snider]
02. Bringing Back The Balls To Rock
03. The Deadite Girls Gone Wild
04. The Kids Who Wanna Play With The Dead
05. It Snows In Hell [feat. Bruce Kulick]
06. Who's Your Daddy?
07. Hard Rock Hallelujah
08. They Only Come Out At Night [feat. Udo Dirkschneider]
09. The Chainsaw Buffet [feat. Jay Jay French]
10. Good To Be Bad
11. The Night Of The Loving Dead
12. Supermonstars (The Anthem Of The Phantoms)
13. Would You Love A Monsterman? '06 [2006 Re-release bonus] [2007 Vynil Version]
14. Mr. Killjoy [2006 Re-release bonus] [2007 Vynil Version]
15. EviLove [2006 Re-release bonus] [2007 Vynil Version]
16. Devil Is A Loser [live] [2007 Vinyl Version]
17. Hard Rock Hallelujah [live] [2007 Vinyl Version]
18. Would You Love A Monsterman? [live] [2007 Vinyl Version]

Disc I [Special Edition bonus DVD]
01. Live At Market Square
02. Hello Athens
+ Who's Your Daddy? [video]
+ Hard Rock Hallelujah [video]
+ Would You Love A Monsterman? '06 [video]


Who hasn't heard of Lordi? Who hasn't heard about their triumph in the Eurovision Song Contest 2006? I've been watching this contest for years and it was about time to see something different! I have to admit that before that I hadn't even heard Lordi's name, but after the whole contest thing and the noise about them, I went on to see who they really are. Many things have been told about them, some good, but mostly bad. Most of them were lies from people that had a purpose to keep them away from the contest. They only achieved to make them infamous across Europe and boost their album on the top of music charts in most E.B.U. countries.

So, "The Arockalypse" is the album that brought them into the light, the album that made them rich and famous! Many people originally were lighthearted about their victory but they later refused to listen to them since they considered them as commercialized and something like a bad copy of KISS and other bands. Personally, I never liked KISS, but I really enjoyed listening to this album by Lordi. I can easily characterize it as a mix of Glam Rock and Heavy Metal. I loved the sound of their guitars and the vocal abilities of their singer, both on this album and live. I generally loved this album and the band, both for their music and their stage image.

The album itself is a great piece. It begins with a weird intro of news broadcasting about a monster invasion which is actually the first act of the Arockalpse, the Rock Apocalypse! Of course the highlight of the album is the song which helped them invade and conquer Europe, "Hard Rock Hallelujah" but nearly all songs are amazing. Some of them feature guest musicians from bands like Twisted Sister, Accept and KISS, bands that were the main influence of Lordi. This lethal mix makes the album even more irresistible. The sound still remains the same, since these guest stars only took place in the recordings and not in the composing of the music. The only song that sounded a bit different was "They Only Come Out at Night" where Udo Dirkschneider participates in the vocals. The whole album is pleasant and easy to listen to every time; I never got bored of it and I don't think I ever will. It's interesting, with nice music, clever and funny lyrics and always in time! I recommend it to all of you! Behold the monsters that changed the history of a whole festival and became the first rock band to win the Eurovision contest (and also gave Finland its first victory there)!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Lordi
Album: The Arockalypse


 


written by iaberis | 02.03.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 36  
Users visited: 120  
Search this topic:  


Q - 15.03.2007 at 00:48  
Christ_13 - 31.03.2007 at 15:12  
This is pure shit!! It's the best way to describe this thing/album..
iaberis - 13.05.2007 at 16:31  
Written by Guest on 31.03.2007 at 15:12

This is pure shit!! It's the best way to describe this thing/album..

Can you explain your opinion please?
The Kremlin - 17.09.2007 at 07:53  
I love The Chainsaw Buffet. The secret ingredient screams! That's about it.
MrEddieG - 20.10.2007 at 18:43  
They are another Gwar :no:
WorpeX - 06.02.2008 at 02:08  
Nice review, and a great band. ^^ Their are some serious classics on this album like Would you Love a Monster Man?, It Snows in Hell and Hard Rock Hallelujah! They also are cool to watch live.
Ellrohir - 06.02.2008 at 14:49  
well they are very much "mainstream" and "commercial", i´d say...and i will give less for originality and for songwriting...with performance i agree - they are showmen - and the production they have great too - just take how many people (and especially not metalheads) know them...

so well, they are some kind of "primitive" music, but as well their music is quite easy to "get into" and quite catchy...i will rate it somewhere between 7 and 8 overall
Talvi - 18.03.2008 at 18:08  
Yeah iaberis, dis band sucks, booooooooooooo!!! kill him!! bitch! die!
Spenku - 19.03.2008 at 23:24  
I like lordi, and i usually dont listen to glam.
Doc Godin - 20.03.2008 at 09:10  
Written by MrEddieG on 20.10.2007 at 18:43

They are another Gwar :no:

Perhaps you havn't actually listened to one of the two, because you'd notice they sound completely different.
iaberis - 20.03.2008 at 19:13  
Written by Doc Godin on 20.03.2008 at 09:10

Written by MrEddieG on 20.10.2007 at 18:43

They are another Gwar :no:

Perhaps you havn't actually listened to one of the two, because you'd notice they sound completely different.

I have to agree on that. He just said this cause they were similar costumes. I bet he's never heard any of them.
jaeger - 23.03.2008 at 01:43  
Of course it's catchy and some songs sound just like disco (just replace the guitar by a keyboard and change the way they sing), but well that's glam. It's still a funny as hell, I like their spirit.
Ellrohir - 27.09.2009 at 02:03  
This was great stuff for me in the times i thought Linkin Park are fine metal band...
silenius - 10.10.2009 at 21:12  
Ear rape
iaberis - 12.10.2009 at 22:37  
Written by silenius on 10.10.2009 at 21:12

Ear rape

checking your fav bands list, i'd say your taste in music is an ear rape
Ellrohir - 12.10.2009 at 22:56  
You are about to defend Lordi? why?
iaberis - 12.10.2009 at 23:01  
I ain't defending em... just saying a fact, most of his fav bands are noise
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.10.2009 at 23:32  
Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:01

I ain't defending em... just saying a fact, most of his fav bands are noise


Checked his bandlist and all those bands are superior to that popband Lordi.
iaberis - 12.10.2009 at 23:33  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.10.2009 at 23:32

Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:01

I ain't defending em... just saying a fact, most of his fav bands are noise


Checked his bandlist and all those bands are superior to that popband Lordi.

whatever
iaberis - 12.10.2009 at 23:34  
You all just hate Lordi cause they won the Eurovision Song Contest...
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.10.2009 at 23:36  
Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:33

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.10.2009 at 23:32

Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:01

I ain't defending em... just saying a fact, most of his fav bands are noise


Checked his bandlist and all those bands are superior to that popband Lordi.

whatever


You are actually saying that Opeth Moonspell Vintersorg Rotting Christ Amon Amarth Riverside are noise?
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.10.2009 at 23:37  
Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:34

You all just hate Lordi cause they won the Eurovision Song Contest...


Nope, that is actually the one GOOD thing they have done.
But musically you can't call their music Heavy Metal by any stretch of the imagination.
iaberis - 12.10.2009 at 23:40  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.10.2009 at 23:36

Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:33

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.10.2009 at 23:32

Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:01

I ain't defending em... just saying a fact, most of his fav bands are noise


Checked his bandlist and all those bands are superior to that popband Lordi.

whatever


You are actually saying that Opeth Moonspell Vintersorg Rotting Christ Amon Amarth Riverside are noise?

Nope but Cattle Decapitation, Mayhem and some more are, but that's a huge talk irrelevant with Lordi and this review
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.10.2009 at 23:42  
Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:40

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.10.2009 at 23:36

Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:33

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.10.2009 at 23:32

Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:01

I ain't defending em... just saying a fact, most of his fav bands are noise


Checked his bandlist and all those bands are superior to that popband Lordi.

whatever


You are actually saying that Opeth Moonspell Vintersorg Rotting Christ Amon Amarth Riverside are noise?

Nope but Cattle Decapitation, Mayhem and some more are, but that's a huge talk irrelevant with Lordi and this review


It is relevant cause he said Lordi are ear rape and you answered his taste in music is ear rape instead.
iaberis - 12.10.2009 at 23:51  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.10.2009 at 23:42

It is relevant cause he said Lordi are ear rape and you answered his taste in music is ear rape instead.

Ah, my point is that people who don't like a genre and listen to something different, shouldn't go bash bands of it since it's all a matter of taste. If I don't like grindcore I don't go bashing it... Thus have an opinion on stuff you like. It's ironic for someone into extreme metal saying Lordi is ear rape when more than half of this planet population should agree that his music is noise / ear rape.
Lord_Regnier - 12.10.2009 at 23:52  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.10.2009 at 23:37

Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:34

You all just hate Lordi cause they won the Eurovision Song Contest...


Nope, that is actually the one GOOD thing they have done.
But musically you can't call their music Heavy Metal by any stretch of the imagination.


Totally agreed, Marcel.
Marcel Hubregtse - 13.10.2009 at 00:09  
Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 23:51

is that people who don't like a genre and listen to something different, shouldn't go bash bands of it since it's all a matter of taste. If I don't like grindcore I don't go bashing it... Thus have an opinion on stuff you like. It's ironic for someone into extreme metal saying Lordi is ear rape when more than half of this planet population should agree that his music is noise / ear rape.


Here we go again with the lame "it's all a matter of taste" phrase. No, not everything is a matter of taste. It is safe to say that 99% of the bands he mentioned are better instrumentalists than the guys in Lordi. Lordi is bad hard rock band when comparing them to other hard rock bands as well.
For you extreme metal is ear rape, for me pop music and stuff such as Lordi is ear rape. Their music being totally overporduced pop drivel which doesn't challenge the listener at all. Lordi fitted right into the entire Eurovision Song Festival crwod due to their pop drivel.
Lord_Regnier - 13.10.2009 at 00:19  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.10.2009 at 00:09

For you extreme metal is ear rape, for me pop music and stuff such as Lordi is ear rape. Their music being totally overproduced pop drivel which doesn't challenge the listener at all. Lordi fitted right into the entire Eurovision Song Festival crowd due to their pop drivel.


I have the same feeling. Superficial shitty pop music hurts my ears. It's not even art but shit released only for money.
silenius - 13.10.2009 at 13:22  
I actually liked some of the songs on lordis first album, but this is for me nothing but pure lifeless crap, and no i dont hate heavy metal per cé, im a huge grave digger fan, and i listen to hell of alot of symphonic/power metal, so i dont have anything about the genre but i dont even consider lordi to be metal at all,

and yes i voted for lordi in the eurovision song contest:P not because of the band itself but to have the chance of a hard rock band winning for once,

but again, hidious music that gives me panic attacks.

and btw marcel, youre taste in music is great^^
FleshRequiem - 21.10.2009 at 16:14  
Looks like people here seem to be a little too serious here. Throwing words that music should be challenging, and how ears are soo hurt by pop drivel like Lordi. Good for you, but whatever happened to having, you know, the ancient thing called good ol FUN in music that has been lacking in hard rock and metal for such a long time?
But of course, every band now has to be serious, angry tr00, kVlt and all those other ridiculous garbage sounds called "metal" music
Well good sirs, I take it you know Lordi is a HARD ROCK band not a metal one? And I daresay they are not bad instrumentalists at all. Have you seen them perform live? Have you taken the time to rock out to their albums? Until you read up a bit on Mr. Lordi and the artists he works with, I recommend you don't speak about Lordi at all.
FleshRequiem - 21.10.2009 at 16:16  
Ahh, it's sites like these that make me realize how divided and full of shit the metal community has become. Useless rants and ranting against one band or another., how "metal" or "heavy" or how they sold out.

What was once a family became a mockery of itself. So continue patting each other on the back, I'm having a ball here.
Slayer666 - 23.12.2009 at 16:11  
Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 22:37

Written by silenius on 10.10.2009 at 21:12

Ear rape

checking your fav bands list, i'd say your taste in music is an ear rape

Checking out your band list, I can say your taste in music is pretty damn mainstream and I see why you gave this album an 9.2. 9 stands for brilliant, whereas "The Arockalypse" doesn't have a "b" of brilliance. It's just catchy, perhaps fun even, but simple and superficial. 7-7.5 at best.
iaberis - 31.12.2009 at 23:22  
Written by Slayer666 on 23.12.2009 at 16:11

Written by iaberis on 12.10.2009 at 22:37

Written by silenius on 10.10.2009 at 21:12

Ear rape

checking your fav bands list, i'd say your taste in music is an ear rape

Checking out your band list, I can say your taste in music is pretty damn mainstream and I see why you gave this album an 9.2. 9 stands for brilliant, whereas "The Arockalypse" doesn't have a "b" of brilliance. It's just catchy, perhaps fun even, but simple and superficial. 7-7.5 at best.

Actually I'd give it 8, but it was the MS review calculator that gave it 9.2 according to my subratings... Which is quite sad...
Bovinus - 23.11.2010 at 16:57  
I'm on the Mr. FleshRequiem's side here. If you don't like the album, just give it a rating of 1, don't buy it and don't listen to it. I gave it a 9 to boost up its rating, but it deserves IMHO a solid 7.5 at least, or a even a "little" 8. Yes, it's commercial. Primitive, for sure. And it's definitely mainstream. But you know what ? I don't give a shit about : it's efficient, catchy and fun. Is it metal ? I don't even care, it's for sure hard rock and I'm happy enough with just that. But what for sure is not "metal" is ranting and bashing on what one does and does not like.
iaberis - 26.11.2010 at 05:37  
Written by Bovinus on 23.11.2010 at 16:57

I'm on the Mr. FleshRequiem's side here. If you don't like the album, just give it a rating of 1, don't buy it and don't listen to it. I gave it a 9 to boost up its rating, but it deserves IMHO a solid 7.5 at least, or a even a "little" 8. Yes, it's commercial. Primitive, for sure. And it's definitely mainstream. But you know what ? I don't give a shit about : it's efficient, catchy and fun. Is it metal ? I don't even care, it's for sure hard rock and I'm happy enough with just that. But what for sure is not "metal" is ranting and bashing on what one does and does not like.

+1 from me dude!
Cuca Beludo - 04.05.2011 at 19:35  
Ok, they have some good musics, that are catchy and fun, but you just gabe this album an absurd rating... and the songs get "boring" after some time listening... but i like those demons, anyway!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Lordi - The Arockalypse 6 06.01.2012 by Wraith000
Reviews Lordi - The Monster Show 5.5 17.09.2011 by
Albums Lordi - The Riff [Single] 4.5 08.02.2013 by Array
News Lordi - New Drummer Joins The Band 4.5 27.04.2012 by
News Lordi: Reach Finals Of The Eurovision Song Contest 4.5 19.05.2006 by Götter



Hits total: 3346 | This month: 56