Rating:
N/A
Paradise Lost - In Requiem
21 May 2007


01. Never For The Damned
02. Ash & Debris
03. The Enemy
04. Praise Lamented Shade
05. Requiem
06. Unreachable
07. Prelude To Descent
08. Fallen Children
09. Beneath Black Skies
10. Sedative God
11. Your Own Reality
12. Missing [Everything But The Girl cover] [limited box-edition bonus]
13. Silent In Heart [limited box-edition bonus]
14. Sons Of Perdition [Japanese bonus]


Although I am a fan of both the doom/death metal Paradise Lost of yore and the band's more recent, electro-synth-goth incarnation, it seems to me that albums after 2001's Believe In Nothing were progressively getting less and less inspired, with the songwriting sometimes receding into trivial cliché, and with the band having a hard time in general spawning what is their definitive trademark regardless of current musical style - songs that are both emotionally punishing and expertly written. Already on their self-titled tenth album the chaps from Halifax tried to re-energize their music by returning to a decidedly heavier sound; however, it is finally with In Requiem that they full-heartedly embrace their old style (circa Icon and Draconian Times) while losing none of the subtlety that they have been exploring since One Second.

Yes - it's true - Nick Holmes even sometimes growls on this album, such as on the mind-numbingly excellent opener that is "Never For The Damned". It is obvious that he has decided that he no longer has anything to prove as a versatile vocalist and its OK now to go back a little to his older style. "Ash And Debris", "The Enemy" and the title track all follow in a similar vein, with heavy rhythms, loud guitars and harsh vocals dominating the songwriting. "The Enemy" in particular stands out as an exceptionally catchy song and it is therefore not surprising that it has been selected to be released as a single. The return to a heavier style also largely saves us from the increasingly kitschy use of samples and keyboards that PL have been developing on their previous two albums. Luckily for those of us who like variety in our music, PL doesn't totally abandon their more subtle style here and there are some truly excellent, melancholic moments on this album too - "Unreachable", "Beneath Black Skies" and "Sedative God" stand out in this respect. "Prelude To Descent" is a full-fledged doom-metal dirge, while "Your Own Reality" is a return to the Depeche Mode-like sound of Host. All in all, one could definitely say that Paradise Lost chose the best elements of most of their past discography (except for the really extreme early stuff) and created an album that capably shows them all off.

Although Paradise Lost never really released anything that could even remotely be considered crap, In Requiem stands as one of their best works - and this is saying a lot. To be placed on the same pedestal as Icon, Draconian Times and One Second, the music on this record speaks for itself and it of interest to anyone considering themselves a fan of this band or of doom metal, gothic metal or any other melancholic type of metal.


Band profile: Paradise Lost
Album: In Requiem


 



Written on 23.05.2007 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 183  
Search this topic:  


iaberis - 23.05.2007 at 19:06  
Sounds good... I'm looking forward to listening this album...
White Winter Sun - 23.05.2007 at 21:33  
I've got this album. It's really great, a real pleasure for ears. Paradise Lost at the top.
dismaleuphony - 24.05.2007 at 06:16  
I agree with you 100% here... their last album had the "hope" of being back to their roots but quickly has been forgotten witih me. This new CD, however, is mature and inspired from beginning to end. I would say they've created a new version of their past successes, and this CD really stands as one of their best releases of their career
Merchant of Doom - 24.05.2007 at 12:53  
well, PL have gone back to a heavier sound, but the album is very uninspired, I would say almost boring. It's not bad, but very derivative. "Fallen children" has even symphonic elements in it! And, come on, jupitreas, "Prelude To Descent" a full-fledged doom-metal dirge? Have you ever listened to proper doom metal? To me, they sound like Metallica... and I couldn't hear any growling on the album...
ToCSiN - 24.05.2007 at 13:31  
Damn folkd, this album is just un believable.
Recommanded
SirHooke - 24.05.2007 at 13:41  
I'll have to check it out, as long as its not too electro-sounding.. but I don't think this one is.
dancingdecember - 24.05.2007 at 16:34  
so fukkin excited
Jiri - 24.05.2007 at 16:57  
Back to the old ways? Sounds cool.
Darkside Momo - 24.05.2007 at 17:47  
Bought it one hour ago... I'll see, but I don't think I'll be disappointed.
ToCSiN - 24.05.2007 at 23:30  
Written by Darkside Momo on 24.05.2007 at 17:47

Bought it one hour ago... I'll see, but I don't think I'll be disappointed.


Trust me you won't mate ... it's a masterpiece
Ozman - 25.05.2007 at 08:53  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 24.05.2007 at 12:53

well, PL have gone back to a heavier sound, but the album is very uninspired, I would say almost boring. It's not bad, but very derivative. "Fallen children" has even symphonic elements in it! And, come on, jupitreas, "Prelude To Descent" a full-fledged doom-metal dirge? Have you ever listened to proper doom metal? To me, they sound like Metallica... and I couldn't hear any growling on the album...



I totally agree with you. Okay so this PL album is better than the last couple of sorry efforts, but it is still average and uninspired (like you said)
And yes Prelude To Descent also reminds me of Metalllica (Load - Reload era)
Darkside Momo - 25.05.2007 at 13:38  
Written by Guest on 24.05.2007 at 23:30

Written by Darkside Momo on 24.05.2007 at 17:47

Bought it one hour ago... I'll see, but I don't think I'll be disappointed.


Trust me you won't mate ... it's a masterpiece


Well... I was disappointed...





LOL !

Just joking ! It's really really good, And the review is quite accurate too
Merchant of Doom - 25.05.2007 at 14:24  
Written by Ozman on 25.05.2007 at 08:53




I totally agree with you. Okay so this PL album is better than the last couple of sorry efforts, but it is still average and uninspired (like you said)
And yes Prelude To Descent also reminds me of Metalllica (Load - Reload era)


Ah, I thought nobody would agree with me.... I must stress that it's an ok album, much better than the previous efforts, but still very disappointing, specially because is so derivative. Like they have forgotten how to be original.
ChristianMetaler - 28.05.2007 at 22:57  
This album is completely amazing from beginning to end! I love it.
ChaosLogic - 29.05.2007 at 03:31  
Can't Ask for more Paradise Lost did their best album ever after all these years
Galthazar - 07.12.2007 at 03:23  
Really a great album. The more I listen to it the more I love it. My favorite song is, despite it's "pop" appearance, Beneath Black Skies. Ash & Depris is also mindblowing song. I just love the hole album. Can't say anything more.
gid - 28.12.2007 at 13:31  
I can't find anything interesting about this album at all. The songs are bland and instantly forgettable, the lyrics are terrible, and the Everything But the Girl cover is simply awful. I love Paradise Lost, but I just cannot find anything nice to say about this album.
+{Jonas}+ - 11.02.2008 at 20:40  
This is certainly teh continuation of the new "era" started with their previous release. Great album. no wonder it was nominated for the awards this year
BloodTears - 16.06.2008 at 19:54  
To be honest, I dislike the album. It just didnt' grab me and I felt the songs weren't all that good.

But I was never really a big Paradise Lost fan and they never interested me that much, so maybe, its a bit of that too.
Mr. Doctor - 19.06.2008 at 19:03  
Written by BloodTears on 16.06.2008 at 19:54

To be honest, I dislike the album. It just didnt' grab me and I felt the songs weren't all that good.

But I was never really a big Paradise Lost fan and they never interested me that much, so maybe, its a bit of that too.


I'm a PL fan, and I have to say that I agree with you, I couldn't feel anything after hearing the album.
I will give it a 7 or something like that.

The good albums are the old ones [but Host is the exception... Since I love that album.]
Deadmeat - 20.10.2008 at 16:29  
Quote:
I'm a PL fan, and I have to say that I agree with you, I couldn't feel anything after hearing the album.
I will give it a 7 or something like that.

The good albums are the old ones [but Host is the exception... Since I love that album.]

No man this album is great! Surely it has a more modern style that the old albums but that does not mean that this makes it not perfect. After many listenings you'll love it. But the most important thing is you must not be opinionated.. Gothic Kings are back in their throne...
Mr. Doctor - 20.10.2008 at 22:53  
Written by Deadmeat on 20.10.2008 at 16:29

No man this album is great! Surely it has a more modern style that the old albums but that does not mean that this makes it not perfect. After many listenings you'll love it. But the most important thing is you must not be opinionated.. Gothic Kings are back in their throne...


The problem was that I disliked their s/t a bit... Since I found it very unispired. And after listening to a couple of songs from this album and I found them in the same vein but a bit better. Maybe I will check them out again.
Uirapuru - 09.06.2009 at 09:23  
Perfect album! Excellent review. I've found my new favorite PL album. Sometime ago I couldn't imagine that some of their new stuff would turn out to be my favorite! Nice
Solstafir! - 10.08.2009 at 00:50  
Now we're talking PL!!! A darn good album released in quite a while...
"Beneath Black Skies" and "Never For The Damned" are two great songs with which they have signaled their return...
THE_BLACK_GOD - 25.12.2009 at 01:54  
To be honest I really couldnt listen to any albums after Draconian Times. One Second, Host, Believe In Nothing and Symbol of Life. Paradise Lost was a disappointment for sure but with metal style. then they released In Requiem. yes this is very better than ex works after Draconian Times. I like this album.
Opethian - 05.06.2014 at 05:53  
An Amazing record. Hands down
deadone - 05.06.2014 at 06:54  
I like this one. Not the greatest album in the world but certainly enjoyable on many levels.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Paradise Lost - In Requiem 6 15.05.2012 by NocturnalStalker
Reviews Paradise Lost - Icon 5.5 01.05.2009 by Heart_of_METAL
Reviews Paradise Lost - Shades Of God 5.5 05.06.2008 by Uirapuru
Reviews Paradise Lost - Host 5.5 26.02.2007 by Darkside Momo
Reviews Paradise Lost - Lost Paradise 5.5 09.06.2009 by Uirapuru



Hits total: 9638 | This month: 51