Rating:
9.5
Guns N' Roses - Appetite For Destruction
21 July 1987


01. Welcome To The Jungle
02. It's So Easy
03. Nightrain
04. Out Ta Get Me
05. Mr. Brownstone
06. Paradise City
07. My Michelle
08. Think About You
09. Sweet Child O' Mine
10. You're Crazy
11. Anything Goes
12. Rocket Queen


Here it is, one of the greatest hard rock albums of all time (or possibly of all genres?), whether you're a fan of music from the 80's LA scene or not, this is a respectable album any way you look at it.

To understand the music, you have to have to understand the musicians behind it. I'll sum it up: 5 guys come to LA who have virtually nothing (the frontman a real nutcase who comes from a dark childhood), meet up, live together in a teeny room, and live out your typical gritty, sleazy lifestyle. Let's just say it really comes through in the music.

The album opens up with the furious "Welcome To The Jungle" almost a heavy metal song in itself shows us the range Axl has (had?) to offer. The variation of styles within this album is amazing in itself; they go from a heavy metal type song to a punk song; "It's So Easy" to blues rock to even an almost country type influence without losing there own unique sound. The guitars reach their peak in the album with "Sweet Child O' Mine" with an unforgettable intro riff, in fact, not only are the guitars great but every aspect of the band is great (ok, even Steven Adler, who wasn't the greatest drummer by any measure was able to pull it off). Duff shows what a great bassist he is in "Rocket Queen" opening up with a very funky dancable bass lick, once again showing how many genres these guys are able to borrow sounds from but staying in the hard-rock genre and still making it sound genuine.

But alas, nothing is ever perfect and this unfortunately applies to this album as well. As hard as it was for me to find any problems, the only one I found was with "Think About You" a track written by Izzy Stradlin. It's a great track and is probably held in high regards by many but for me seemed to be really forgettable when you're being blown away by pretty much every other song on the album.

Being an album I grew up with, it's filled with so many great memories for me (hell, I first learned the 'F' word for the first time from "It's So Easy") yet it has never gotten old, even after going through 4 different copies in 3 different formats, not once have I gotten tired of it. This is a solid piece of pure sleazy rock 'n roll genius, leaving no question as to why it's one of the greatest selling debut rock album of all time, too bad not even they could ever top themselves.

I usually end my reviews with "I highly reccomend this to those who like [insert genre or style here]" but frankly, who hasn't heard this album?

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Guns N' Roses
Album: Appetite For Destruction


 


written by Doc Godin | 28.10.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 176  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 01.11.2007 at 15:21  
Hell yeah! Masterpiece of Hard Rock, amazing songs, great riffs and great Axl... One of my favourite albums ever...
theflyingmachine - 02.11.2007 at 04:15  
Definitely one of the best albums ever.
BloodTears - 02.11.2007 at 22:43  
Its great. Guns were great.
LeChron James - 11.03.2008 at 12:00  
not necessarily having to do with the review. its well written and i agree its an incredible album. but wtf was hollywood rose?
Doc Godin - 11.03.2008 at 20:53  
Written by LeChron James on 11.03.2008 at 12:00

not necessarily having to do with the review. its well written and i agree its an incredible album. but wtf was hollywood rose?

Hollywood Rose was Axl Rose and Izzy Stradlins old band. There is an EP you can find of old Hollywood Rose demos (only 5 songs though) that were recorded when Axl was about 19.
Daggon - 27.09.2008 at 20:54  
Oh yeah, one of the first albums I heard when I started to listen to rock music. Surely It will never become old.
Bite Me - 25.12.2008 at 18:01  
EACH song is perfect. One of my favorite albums ever. Best album by Gn'R, no doubt.
IronBlackZepp - 03.02.2009 at 04:47  
The only really great GNR album, Lies and the use your illusion albums are very average, and the last 2 sucked. Chinese Democracy is horrable.
Ozman - 03.02.2009 at 12:28  
Written by IronBlackZepp on 03.02.2009 at 04:47

The only really great GNR album, Lies and the use your illusion albums are very average, and the last 2 sucked. Chinese Democracy is horrable.


You have to help me out here. What last two sucked? You just said the Use Your Illusion albums are very average. And those two are the last two before Chinese Democracy.
And Lies isn't really a proper album. It was released as stop gap ep between Appetite and UYI
Kanto - 03.02.2009 at 12:37  
Paradise city is my favorite GNR song, and this album is really good, probably the best album of Slash&Axl Co.
IronBlackZepp - 04.02.2009 at 00:46  
Written by Ozman on 03.02.2009 at 12:28

Written by IronBlackZepp on 03.02.2009 at 04:47

The only really great GNR album, Lies and the use your illusion albums are very average, and the last 2 sucked. Chinese Democracy is horrable.


You have to help me out here. What last two sucked? You just said the Use Your Illusion albums are very average. And those two are the last two before Chinese Democracy.
And Lies isn't really a proper album. It was released as stop gap ep between Appetite and UYI


Oh, by the last two I mean The Spaghetti Incident, which was an album with all cover tunes released in 1993, and Chinese Democracy.
Andresopeth - 22.05.2009 at 19:20  
A great album, one of my favorites of all times for sure, Rocket Queen is an amazing song so it is My Michelle, i love this album, Guns N' Roses marked an era with this one!
Panterica - 27.08.2009 at 18:22  
Classic, not perfect but it has some of the greatest riffs in rock's history.
Boxcar Willy - 27.11.2009 at 20:50  
Written by BloodTears on 02.11.2007 at 22:43

Its great. Guns were great.

they were
Reza - 12.09.2010 at 14:57  
It's a memorable album to me.
Angelic Storm - 12.09.2010 at 15:18  
This was the first album I ever bought, and I still love it today. Classic album.
AnGina-- - 13.03.2011 at 12:26  
Gotta say it one more time, even though I praise GnR & Appetite all over that THIS is THE ALBUM. This is the album that created my music style, this is the album that got me into rock, this is an album that it's a must have for me, I can never get tired of it, it has no fillers and from Welcome To The Jungle to Rocket Queen it just flows. It got it's 9.5 fair and square, classic albums that I actually can't imagine my life without.
Boxcar Willy - 21.04.2012 at 07:17  
Rolling like a freight train... Flying like an aeroplane one more time.

*sticks arms out like an airplane*
Lit. - 24.01.2013 at 06:12  
Written by Panterica on 27.08.2009 at 18:22

Classic, not perfect but it has some of the greatest riffs in rock's history.

Not to mention the greatest solos. The last one in Jungle reminds me of a man slowly going crazy until he finally snaps. And don't even me started on that one from Rocket Queen...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Guns N' Roses - Appetite For Destruction 10.5 10.11.2010 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Guns N' Roses - Chinese Democracy 9 08.03.2009 by DayFly
News Guns N' Roses - Duff McKagan Returning For S. American Shows 7.5 03.04.2014 by Bad English
Reviews Guns N' Roses - Use Your Illusion II 7 04.12.2013 by Andresopeth
Albums Guns N' Roses - Use Your Illusion II 6 01.02.2010 by



Hits total: 4585 | This month: 41