Into Eternity - Buried In Oblivion review



Reviewer:
9.8

173 users:
8.49
Band: Into Eternity
Album: Buried In Oblivion
Release date: February 2004


01. Splintered Visions
02. Embraced By Desolation
03. Three Dimensional Aperture
04. Beginning Of The End
05. Point Of Uncertainty
06. Spiraling Into Depression
07. Isolation
08. Buried In Oblivion
09. Black Sea Of Agony
10. Morose Seclusion


This is a complete surprise, and one of the greatest surprises of the year! Century Media pulled this one out of nowhere and damn what a fantastic release, I must say that I'm not familiar with previous releases of Into Eternity, and if you're not either, let me tell what's all the fuzz about.

Into Eternity plays Progressive Metal in the vein of Dream Theater or Shadow Gallery, with some neoclassical riffs here and there, fantastic drumming and some guitars right out of the ranks of Swedish Melodeath, all of this combine with multiple vocal choices, clean voice, a low, more gruff Death vox, and another more "shrieky" (a lá Black Metal if you like). The 3 vocals intertwine perfectly and the result is just amazing.
Anyway, I was saying, is incredible what the band has managed to create here, a powerful album full of Progressive technical passages and unmatched Melodeath brutality.

The opener "Splintered Visions" begins with a fantastic guitar lead, just to quickly change to more aggressive passages, the clean voice enters, a break, the shrieks. The growls, I'm in heaven, I know I'm in love exactly after 1.34 minutes listening to this masterpiece.
"Embrace By Desolation" follows the same progressive passages combined with the violent ones. "3 Dimensional Aperture" is another great song, a deadly duet between the 2 rough vocals, and when the clean voice enters the arena, things calm down and a "moderm" sound now dominates the song, catchy choruses and happy lines, you know, the "modern" stuff.

"Beginning Of The End" has excellent riffs all through the songs, while "Point Of Uncertainty" has another classical-influenced lead guitar. "Spiraling Into Depression" is a more commercial song, and I'm sure that if this song didn't have rough vocals on it, could be Mtv material.

One thing that these guys have to work is on their slow, balladesque songs, "Buried Into Oblivion" and "Morose Seclusion" offered nothing, hate to say it but, just plain boring, and that 2 songs that kept me away from giving the perfect score to this one.

Well, this is an almost perfect album in every way, perfect musicianship, amazing cover art, originality, crisp production and the most important thing of all, fun to listen.
Recommended to fans of Progressive Metal, Melodeath, Brutal Death, Power Metal, bah, I'll leave it there, just go and get it NOW.

Written by Undercraft | 09.03.2004


 

Guest review by
Equilibrium
Rating:
9.5
The Canadians Into Eternity release with "Buried In Oblivion" their third album. The very good 2001 release Dead Or Dreaming offered already technical Death Metal with some Progressive influences, but they didn't get the breakthrough. Now with the second guitarist Rob Doherty, who supports Tim Roth, the song writing got even more complex and they are ready to conquer the play-lists of all metalheads.

Read more ››
published 00.00.0000 | Comments (0)

Guest review by
Arian Totalis
Rating:
8.5
Hailing from Regina, Saskatchewan, are Into Eternity, a band for both progressive and death metal fans alike. Their sound is something which is unique, and distinct in the fact that there is over the top prog techniques being used, many clean/guttural vocal changes (with almost everyone in the band holding some vocal duty or other), and riffs straight out of the DM handbook. This album is their third release, and it is by far one of their most technical and thorough pursuits. The masters of many people's depression haunted minds really pulled off what could be called a prog masterpiece .

Read more ››
published 23.02.2010 | Comments (7)


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 109 users
14.10.2006 - 00:25
BloodTears
ANA-thema
what a great album this is. its mind blowing really.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
18.10.2006 - 01:28
Arian Totalis
The Philosopher
Wow....I didn't know that this thread existed!
But yes, as Blood Tears has said, it's truly Mind Blowing.
It's progressive, death, and Power, Sooooooo Good. A must
have for ANYONE
that's into Technical Death Or into
Prog metal. Should be especially a good treat for those who like
progressive death.
----
"For the Coward there is no Life
For the hero there is No Death"
-Kakita Toshimoko

"The Philosopher, you know so much about nothing at all." _Chuck Schuldiner.
Loading...
20.10.2006 - 19:37
Sepulchral Oath
Account deleted
This is one of my favorite albums ever. I bought it a couple months after it came out, and i still listen to it almost every day.
Loading...
21.10.2006 - 01:32
Dangerboner
:D
yep...great album. Right when I heard the nifty guitar opener on the first track I knew this was going to be a great album.
Loading...
04.11.2006 - 20:40
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Great great great album, loved it from the first second and every moment is great. 9/10. Best Death Metal oriented band I know ^^
Loading...
30.11.2006 - 19:51
broken goddess
Amazing album!!!!
this quickly became one of my favorite CDs to listen to.
----
--baleful's the passion when hearts stand still--
Loading...
23.12.2006 - 05:27
Rupert
What a powerful album. I love the vocal work, it fits the music perfectly. They even got some time signature mixes in there too (awesome).
Loading...
04.01.2007 - 00:15
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Fantastic - original and refreshing release, one of the best of 2004.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
11.08.2007 - 22:33
º HoSTiLe º
I agree a great soprise, very complete, I just love It!!! I went to the 2006 gigantour and I wasw very exited about Arch Enemy and Into Eternity live!!! but what a shame IE didn't play I hope I'd have the chance to see'em soon!!
----
- ¤øØ )' ¦-¦Ö§±¦£ë '( Øø¤
........StEpS_Of_SiLeNcE........
Loading...
26.03.2008 - 19:02
Rusher
One of the best albums I have ever listened in my whole life!!!
Damn, everything on it is perfect: great vocals, great guitar riffs, amazing solos...

Loading...
24.03.2010 - 04:25
Builtforsin88
Seen these guys way back in 07, one hell of a show. Great album also.
Loading...
31.03.2012 - 17:44
BlindToNegotiate
...not even gonna attempt to describe the masterwork here.
Loading...

Hits total: 4065 | This month: 26