Rating:
8.0
Klimt 1918 - Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)
20 June 2008


01. The Breathtaking Days (Via Lactea)
02. Skygazer
03. Ghost Of A Tape Listener
04. The Graduate
05. Just An Interlude In Your Life
06. Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again
07. Suspense Music
08. Disco Awayness
09. Atget
10. All Summer Long
11. True Love Is The Oldest Fear


"Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)" is the new release of Klimt 1918, the really atypical band from Italy. If you don't know them yet, you have to know that Klimt 1918 is a really original band and that's it's not so easy to classify them but if you need some informations about their music, let's say that they play a mix of Pop, Gothic and Progressive Metal, something a bit special for a basic Metalhead but if you like "soft" music I'm ready to bet some money that you'll like this really good album.

Even if Klimt 1918 is signed on a big Metal label, Prophecy Productions, it's hard to say that the band is a Metal band. Sure some of their riffs are a bit heavy but in general, their music if nearer of Pop than anything else. It doesn't mean that it's bad, at the opposite, if you like dark and melancholic music and little progressive touches "Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)" is a must. The third album of the Italians sound Pop (a bit la Muse), "Doom" (a la new Katatonia) and even a bit Progressive (a la Porcupine Tree), though of course all in all it doesn't look so Metal but it's not really problematic because Klimt 1918 is above all a matter of ambiance and here the ambiances are simply amazing. Of course the melodies (especially on "Skygazer" or "Suspense Music") of the new album are excellent and the eleven songs all have choruses that you'll remember for a long time but what I particularly like here is that those songs are really deep. What I want to say here is that you'll find something behind the music, something that we call emotion. The music of Klimt 1918 is really poetic and the general melancholic ambiance of the record simply kick ass. I understand why the album has the sentence "Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation" in its name, a bit like with "Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness" of the Smashing Pumpkins this release has something really nostalgic in its music and finally this is really touching.

The last Klimt 1918 is really beautiful, of course you have to like Rock and Pop (with big Metal influences of course) to love this release but if you're looking for emotions and don't only want brutality, I'm sure that you'll enjoy the release. Well interpreted with a great recording and a superb cover which nicely represent the whole release, "Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)" is a great confirmation that Klimt 1918 is a band which deserve its success. Honestly I really think that the band should be played on the radios and TVs, they're a lot better than the majority of the trendy British Pop bands that we can listen to nowadays.

Let's be a bit open-minded this time and let's enjoy the new Klimt 1918. Ok this is not really Metal but it's good melancholic music so if you like great melodies, poetic lyrics and dark ambiances, just have a look on this release and you shouldn't be disappointed. "Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)" is not an album for every metalheads but it's highly recommended to all the people who loves the new wave of (dark) Rock bands. Great job, great release, "Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)" is a really good discovery for me.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Klimt 1918
Album: Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)


 


written by Jeff | 18.08.2008



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 197  
Search this topic:  


bambayay - 18.08.2008 at 22:49  
This album is simply beautiful!
Reizenstein - 18.08.2008 at 23:02  
This sounds very interesting indeed, I'll check it out
Mr. Doctor - 18.08.2008 at 23:24  
I checked out thier myspace... Awesome music indeed. Very touching stuff.

I just don't know what the heck is the cover about... Is a mother that have her daughter in her arms or what?

Do the daughter have a bag on her face ? O.O
dancingdecember - 19.08.2008 at 04:37  
this band is one of the best out there.i love everything about them.just look at that coverart and the title of the album always amazing riffs and choruses in their songs and i really think dopoguerra is one of the best albums ever made.

about the review though; i didn't understand why you insisted that these guys arent metal enough for the MS crowd.hell, i know what you meant and i agree with you to some degree but they are as metal as late katatonia at the least and i dont see these kind of warnings or approach in katatonia reviews.
M€†aLWaRrIöR™ - 19.08.2008 at 08:47  
i own this cd and its so freaking good!!

i like this band a lot!!!
Dangerboner - 19.08.2008 at 09:02  
I had been playing super dirty metal for the last two hours by bands such as Attacker, Agathocles, Axegrinder, and Sentinel Beast, so when I played this album it was quite the contrast. I think it's alright; I can see myself relaxing to this at night to fall asleep, but it's not something I'd listen to on a regular basis. Sometimes the album reminds me of shoegaze and new Alcest, but other times it has this annoying emo/new wave feel. It sure isn't metal though, not that it matters anyways...
Duy Hung - 19.08.2008 at 09:54  
It's hard to define the music they play, in some songs i can even notice some Post-rock influences, but at the end of the day who cares if it's metal or not, this is indeed a great album.
jupitreas - 19.08.2008 at 13:34  
The only problem I have with this album is the huge similarity to Dredg. Otherwise, it is indeed a very good album.
Duy Hung - 19.08.2008 at 13:40  
Written by jupitreas on 19.08.2008 at 13:34

The only problem I have with this album is the huge similarity to Dredg. Otherwise, it is indeed a very good album.

It's funny 'cause when i discovered Dredg their music also immediately reminded me of Klimt 1918
Sanvean - 19.08.2008 at 14:09  
Amazing... simply amazing!
MetalManic_Joel - 19.08.2008 at 15:15  
It's no 'Undressed Momento'
Ernis - 19.08.2008 at 20:35  
I saw'em live in May here in Tallinn but they didn't leave any big impression to me then...I don't say their music's bad but somehow they sounded diluted on that particular day and didn't make the crowd very lively...I think they were "too quiet" for the gig...if to reconsider a bit now I think they'd done much better at a small club/bar performance than at an open air event...
+{Jonas}+ - 19.08.2008 at 23:33  
Once again a beautiful and melancholic album but the italian guys, really relaxing.
Passenger - 24.08.2008 at 16:13  
It's ok. Not particularly catchy, but it's emotive, at least.
Unconsecrated - 05.09.2008 at 18:51  
Good review and thanks for it cause i didn't know them. A few weeks later i went to a store and i bought it and i'm not repenting. This album is just beautiful in every way, specially the first 5 songs. Today i was listening to "Dopoguerra" and i can say that i like this one more though people say that "Undressed Momento" is their best (i didn't listen to it yet). It's certainly going to be on my 2008 top.
GT - 10.09.2008 at 18:19  
Just listened to this album a week ago or something like that. It's just beautiful. Very atmospheric and emotional. Not what I listen to normally at all
BestMetalstormer - 14.09.2008 at 17:17  
Quite relaxing album. I love it.
BestMetalstormer - 14.09.2008 at 17:18  
Written by Guest on 19.08.2008 at 13:40

Written by jupitreas on 19.08.2008 at 13:34

The only problem I have with this album is the huge similarity to Dredg. Otherwise, it is indeed a very good album.

It's funny 'cause when i discovered Dredg their music also immediately reminded me of Klimt 1918

Which band is that? I found them no profile in Metal Archives.
Duy Hung - 28.09.2008 at 22:57  
Written by BestMetalstormer on 14.09.2008 at 17:18

Written by Guest on 19.08.2008 at 13:40

Written by jupitreas on 19.08.2008 at 13:34

The only problem I have with this album is the huge similarity to Dredg. Otherwise, it is indeed a very good album.

It's funny 'cause when i discovered Dredg their music also immediately reminded me of Klimt 1918

Which band is that? I found them no profile in Metal Archives.

Sorry for the late reply, been so long since the last time i was here. Anyway, Dredg is not metal at all so of course you didn't find their profile in MA. Check their last.fm profile instead.
jupitreas - 29.09.2008 at 00:44  
Written by BestMetalstormer on 14.09.2008 at 17:18

Written by Guest on 19.08.2008 at 13:40

Written by jupitreas on 19.08.2008 at 13:34

The only problem I have with this album is the huge similarity to Dredg. Otherwise, it is indeed a very good album.

It's funny 'cause when i discovered Dredg their music also immediately reminded me of Klimt 1918

Which band is that? I found them no profile in Metal Archives.


Dredg did in fact start as a metal/progressive hybrid, with screamed vocals etc; however, they quickly abandoned that style in favor of more progression and alternative rock sensibilities. I'd say Dredg is about as metal as Tool, which means not much, although influences and similarities do exist there and are quite clear in the heavier songs. Either way, although Klimt is quite an enjoyable and emotional band, I'd say Dredg is far more original and unique and their next album will most likely be really good, just like all their LPs.
BestMetalstormer - 29.09.2008 at 11:27  
Thanks guys, surely I will check this band immediately.
HardSide - 01.11.2008 at 15:19  
It's a good album, there last effort was much better and harsher
Milena - 06.07.2011 at 17:20  
The only problem I have with this review is kind-of-apologizing several times for the band not being metal enough I'll sure listen to it when I have the chance, you described it pretty well
BoxCar Willy - 15.05.2012 at 21:30  
Written by Milena on 06.07.2011 at 17:20

I'll sure listen to it when I have the chance, you described it pretty well

Do it, very good album, even for my heavier tastes

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Klimt 1918 - Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation) 21 27.10.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Beyond Twilight - For The Love Of Art And The Making 6 17.07.2006 by Eddie
Reviews Alkonost - The Path We've Never Made 6 13.09.2006 by Promonex
Reviews Diablo Swing Orchestra - Sing-Along Songs For The Damned & Delirious 6 06.02.2010 by MétalNoir
Reviews Mourning Beloveth - A Disease For The Ages 6 27.05.2008 by Collin



Hits total: 4972 | This month: 34