Klimt 1918 - Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation) review



Reviewer:
8.0

41 users:
7.71
Band: Klimt 1918
Album: Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)
Release date: June 2008


01. The Breathtaking Days (Via Lactea)
02. Skygazer
03. Ghost Of A Tape Listener
04. The Graduate
05. Just An Interlude In Your Life
06. Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again
07. Suspense Music
08. Disco Awayness
09. Atget
10. All Summer Long
11. True Love Is The Oldest Fear


"Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)" is the new release of Klimt 1918, the really atypical band from Italy. If you don't know them yet, you have to know that Klimt 1918 is a really original band and that's it's not so easy to classify them but if you need some informations about their music, let's say that they play a mix of Pop, Gothic and Progressive Metal, something a bit special for a basic Metalhead but if you like "soft" music I'm ready to bet some money that you'll like this really good album.

Even if Klimt 1918 is signed on a big Metal label, Prophecy Productions, it's hard to say that the band is a Metal band. Sure some of their riffs are a bit heavy but in general, their music if nearer of Pop than anything else. It doesn't mean that it's bad, at the opposite, if you like dark and melancholic music and little progressive touches "Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)" is a must. The third album of the Italians sound Pop (a bit la Muse), "Doom" (a la new Katatonia) and even a bit Progressive (a la Porcupine Tree), though of course all in all it doesn't look so Metal but it's not really problematic because Klimt 1918 is above all a matter of ambiance and here the ambiances are simply amazing. Of course the melodies (especially on "Skygazer" or "Suspense Music") of the new album are excellent and the eleven songs all have choruses that you'll remember for a long time but what I particularly like here is that those songs are really deep. What I want to say here is that you'll find something behind the music, something that we call emotion. The music of Klimt 1918 is really poetic and the general melancholic ambiance of the record simply kick ass. I understand why the album has the sentence "Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation" in its name, a bit like with "Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness" of the Smashing Pumpkins this release has something really nostalgic in its music and finally this is really touching.

The last Klimt 1918 is really beautiful, of course you have to like Rock and Pop (with big Metal influences of course) to love this release but if you're looking for emotions and don't only want brutality, I'm sure that you'll enjoy the release. Well interpreted with a great recording and a superb cover which nicely represent the whole release, "Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)" is a great confirmation that Klimt 1918 is a band which deserve its success. Honestly I really think that the band should be played on the radios and TVs, they're a lot better than the majority of the trendy British Pop bands that we can listen to nowadays.

Let's be a bit open-minded this time and let's enjoy the new Klimt 1918. Ok this is not really Metal but it's good melancholic music so if you like great melodies, poetic lyrics and dark ambiances, just have a look on this release and you shouldn't be disappointed. "Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)" is not an album for every metalheads but it's highly recommended to all the people who loves the new wave of (dark) Rock bands. Great job, great release, "Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation)" is a really good discovery for me.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9

Written by Jeff | 18.08.2008


 


Comments

Comments: 24   Visited by: 209 users
18.08.2008 - 22:49
bambayay
This album is simply beautiful!
Loading...
18.08.2008 - 23:02
Reizenstein
This sounds very interesting indeed, I'll check it out
----
Growl
Loading...
18.08.2008 - 23:24
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
I checked out thier myspace... Awesome music indeed. Very touching stuff.

I just don't know what the heck is the cover about... Is a mother that have her daughter in her arms or what?

Do the daughter have a bag on her face ? O.O
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 04:37
dancingdecember
this band is one of the best out there.i love everything about them.just look at that coverart and the title of the album always amazing riffs and choruses in their songs and i really think dopoguerra is one of the best albums ever made.

about the review though; i didn't understand why you insisted that these guys arent metal enough for the MS crowd.hell, i know what you meant and i agree with you to some degree but they are as metal as late katatonia at the least and i dont see these kind of warnings or approach in katatonia reviews.
----
i'm super, thanks for asking
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 08:47
M€†aLWaRrIöR™
i own this cd and its so freaking good!!

i like this band a lot!!!
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 09:02
Dangerboner
:D
I had been playing super dirty metal for the last two hours by bands such as Attacker, Agathocles, Axegrinder, and Sentinel Beast, so when I played this album it was quite the contrast. I think it's alright; I can see myself relaxing to this at night to fall asleep, but it's not something I'd listen to on a regular basis. Sometimes the album reminds me of shoegaze and new Alcest, but other times it has this annoying emo/new wave feel. It sure isn't metal though, not that it matters anyways...
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 09:54
Duy Hung
Account deleted
It's hard to define the music they play, in some songs i can even notice some Post-rock influences, but at the end of the day who cares if it's metal or not, this is indeed a great album.
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 13:34
jupitreas
hi-fi / lo-life
The only problem I have with this album is the huge similarity to Dredg. Otherwise, it is indeed a very good album.
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 13:40
Duy Hung
Account deleted
Written by jupitreas on 19.08.2008 at 13:34

The only problem I have with this album is the huge similarity to Dredg. Otherwise, it is indeed a very good album.

It's funny 'cause when i discovered Dredg their music also immediately reminded me of Klimt 1918
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 14:09
Sanvean
Amazing... simply amazing!
----
Odi profanum vulgus et arceo
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 15:15
MetalManic
It's no 'Undressed Momento'
----
MetalManic
www.MetalManic.com
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 20:35
Ernis
狼獾
I saw'em live in May here in Tallinn but they didn't leave any big impression to me then...I don't say their music's bad but somehow they sounded diluted on that particular day and didn't make the crowd very lively...I think they were "too quiet" for the gig...if to reconsider a bit now I think they'd done much better at a small club/bar performance than at an open air event...
----
Go ahead, make my day...
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 23:33
+{Jonas}+
I R Serious Cat
Once again a beautiful and melancholic album but the italian guys, really relaxing.
----
"Nobody wants to be the weird kid, you just end up being the weird kid. You don't know how you ended up getting there" - Rob Zombie

http://jonas-bs.deviantart.com My dA, mainly photography, go check it out!
Loading...
24.08.2008 - 16:13
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
It's ok. Not particularly catchy, but it's emotive, at least.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
05.09.2008 - 18:51
Unconsecrated
Perpetual Ascent
Good review and thanks for it cause i didn't know them. A few weeks later i went to a store and i bought it and i'm not repenting. This album is just beautiful in every way, specially the first 5 songs. Today i was listening to "Dopoguerra" and i can say that i like this one more though people say that "Undressed Momento" is their best (i didn't listen to it yet). It's certainly going to be on my 2008 top.
Loading...
10.09.2008 - 18:19
GT
Coffee!!
Just listened to this album a week ago or something like that. It's just beautiful. Very atmospheric and emotional. Not what I listen to normally at all
----


Dreams are made so we don't get bored when we sleep
Loading...
14.09.2008 - 17:17
FOOCK Nam
Quite relaxing album. I love it.
Loading...
14.09.2008 - 17:18
FOOCK Nam
Written by Guest on 19.08.2008 at 13:40

Written by jupitreas on 19.08.2008 at 13:34

The only problem I have with this album is the huge similarity to Dredg. Otherwise, it is indeed a very good album.

It's funny 'cause when i discovered Dredg their music also immediately reminded me of Klimt 1918

Which band is that? I found them no profile in Metal Archives.
Loading...
28.09.2008 - 22:57
Duy Hung
Account deleted
Written by FOOCK Nam on 14.09.2008 at 17:18

Written by Guest on 19.08.2008 at 13:40

Written by jupitreas on 19.08.2008 at 13:34

The only problem I have with this album is the huge similarity to Dredg. Otherwise, it is indeed a very good album.

It's funny 'cause when i discovered Dredg their music also immediately reminded me of Klimt 1918

Which band is that? I found them no profile in Metal Archives.

Sorry for the late reply, been so long since the last time i was here. Anyway, Dredg is not metal at all so of course you didn't find their profile in MA. Check their last.fm profile instead.
Loading...
29.09.2008 - 00:44
jupitreas
hi-fi / lo-life
Written by FOOCK Nam on 14.09.2008 at 17:18

Written by Guest on 19.08.2008 at 13:40

Written by jupitreas on 19.08.2008 at 13:34

The only problem I have with this album is the huge similarity to Dredg. Otherwise, it is indeed a very good album.

It's funny 'cause when i discovered Dredg their music also immediately reminded me of Klimt 1918

Which band is that? I found them no profile in Metal Archives.


Dredg did in fact start as a metal/progressive hybrid, with screamed vocals etc; however, they quickly abandoned that style in favor of more progression and alternative rock sensibilities. I'd say Dredg is about as metal as Tool, which means not much, although influences and similarities do exist there and are quite clear in the heavier songs. Either way, although Klimt is quite an enjoyable and emotional band, I'd say Dredg is far more original and unique and their next album will most likely be really good, just like all their LPs.
Loading...
29.09.2008 - 11:27
FOOCK Nam
Thanks guys, surely I will check this band immediately.
Loading...
01.11.2008 - 15:19
HardSide
It's a good album, there last effort was much better and harsher
Loading...
06.07.2011 - 17:20
Milena
Learning To "X"
The only problem I have with this review is kind-of-apologizing several times for the band not being metal enough I'll sure listen to it when I have the chance, you described it pretty well
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
15.05.2012 - 21:30
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Milena on 06.07.2011 at 17:20

I'll sure listen to it when I have the chance, you described it pretty well

Do it, very good album, even for my heavier tastes
----
forever bummed out
Loading...

Hits total: 6103 | This month: 22