Rating:
8.8
Sun Of The Blind - Skullreader
3 March 2009


01. Cursed Universe
02. Lord Of Mind
03. Fire And Thirst
04. Ornaments
05. Vanitas


It's been pretty quiet around Darkspace lately, our beloved real-life version of the Total Perspective Vortex, but thankfully its members are not resting on their well-earned laurels. Well, at least guitarist/vocalist Zhaaral isn't, fellow members Wroth and Zorgh seem to have taken a break for a while. Oh well, each to his own, right?

So Zhaaral, who is that exactly? As said, he is the guitarist and one of the vocalists of Darkspace, and now he is also active as brain, body and soul of the Avant-garde Black metal band Sun Of The Blind. He's not on his own though, he has two companions in the form of "RM" (synths) and MH (vocals). First attempt of the new Swiss awesome threesome: Skullreader.

And trust me on this, it's definitely one for the space-obsessed Blackies out there. There's the obvious influence of Darkspace, especially in the guitar sound. But Zhaaral luckily didn't simply copy Darkspace's sound, no, he took it and added a whole lot of obscure melodies to it. And that makes the guitar sound downright awesome. It's like you see towers of bright and beautiful light rocketing up towards the heavens everywhere around you. Those are the souls of the starchildren, once bound by earthly shackles, now free to roam the vast and endless fields of Time and Space.

-Hey, usually I'm not so out-of-here, it's what Sun Of The Blind does to me.-

The other very important aspect of this album is the synthesizer. It is employed as counterpart of the guitar and with its infinite, open sound it accomplishes the guitar wonderful. They often intertwine and push each other to astral heights during the album, sharing small gems of melodies and sky high painter-like streaks of space colour with the listener. MH, who I suspect is a woman, counters the tortured shrieks of Zhaaral with dreamy, elusive and at first hard to notice vocals, like shadows against the inky cosmic blackness of the night sky. A nice finishing touch.

It may take a dreamer's mind to enjoy this, or a drug-riddled one. Or simply someone that wants to escape reality for a moment, someone that needs to wander among the stars for some time in order to find a little peace of mind. In any way, this is Avantgarde (or Ambient) Black metal at its best. A strong concept wonderfully written out in overwhelming music. One for the lotus-eaters.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Sun Of The Blind
Album: Skullreader


 



Written on 05.09.2009 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 31  
Users visited: 195  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 05.09.2009 at 22:15  
Wow... This is actually pretty damn good. I'm hearing their myspace and the guitar sound is indeed amazing. The best part is that the music isn't a copy of Darkspace at all. Both have the space theme but play the music their own way.

The discovery of the month along with Process Of Guilt
Good review!
Thanntos - 05.09.2009 at 22:25  
I had this in my collection for a couple months, was just waiting for a band page! Great album here!
Ask - 05.09.2009 at 22:29  
Good to see this getting some well-deserved attention. This is one of my top albums from '09.
TheAmazingP - 05.09.2009 at 23:40  
It's a great album, although I've not yet laid my hands on it. Oh well, another album that I just *have* to go and purchase.
Tox - 06.09.2009 at 02:48  
Why does it only get an 8 on originality? This isn't exactly conventional black metal. 10 would be too much, but 9 seems at least fair.
Sunioj - 06.09.2009 at 06:35  
Quote:
It may take a dreamer's mind to enjoy this, or a drug-riddled one.


Lol, good thing I have both of those.

Great album, good to see it get some attention.
Super_Greg - 06.09.2009 at 10:38  
Haven't heard of Darkspace before, but i really like the song on their myspace
Deadsoulman - 06.09.2009 at 19:07  
On first listen I must say I'm impressed. I'm liking this a lot! That's what I'd call a useful side-project, as it doesn't sound much like Darkspace.

Btw, the end of your third paragraph is funny, this is more or less what The Angelic Process does to me, and I find the atmosphere of Sun Of The Blind to be quite similar to that of TAP.
-DC-002- - 02.10.2009 at 04:28  
I really liked this album the first few times listening to it. Pretty much just Darkspace with a progressive and production bump up. But, it got really boring and hard to listen to after a while for me. I feel like it's to predictable sometimes. Maybe it needs a bit more bite to it.
Ozman - 25.04.2010 at 03:30  
Heard it once up to now, cause I got it for my birthday from a friend today, and I REALLY like it. imo it is better than Darkspace.
InnerSelf - 08.05.2010 at 16:33  
Is it anything like Chaos Moon
Lucas - 09.05.2010 at 01:12  
Written by InnerSelf on 08.05.2010 at 16:33

Is it anything like Chaos Moon


Hmmm, yes and no. Both are 'astral' Black metal with a 'celestial' touch, but place them under a telescope and they differ a lot. Still, if you like one you'll most likely like the other.
InnerSelf - 09.05.2010 at 14:44  
Written by Lucas on 09.05.2010 at 01:12

Written by InnerSelf on 08.05.2010 at 16:33

Is it anything like Chaos Moon


Hmmm, yes and no. Both are 'astral' Black metal with a 'celestial' touch, but place them under a telescope and they differ a lot. Still, if you like one you'll most likely like the other.


I thought after reading the review that the two bands have similar sound , and recently I was enjoying the hole "astral" side of metal with the great synths and keyboard work like Chaos Moon and even at times Shape of Despair
Mr. Doctor - 10.05.2010 at 17:57  
Written by InnerSelf on 09.05.2010 at 14:44

I thought after reading the review that the two bands have similar sound , and recently I was enjoying the hole "astral" side of metal with the great synths and keyboard work like Chaos Moon and even at times Shape of Despair


I hope you just compared Chaos Moon and Shape Of Despair because of the keyboards and nothing more...
InnerSelf - 12.05.2010 at 13:34  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.05.2010 at 17:57

Written by InnerSelf on 09.05.2010 at 14:44

I thought after reading the review that the two bands have similar sound , and recently I was enjoying the hole "astral" side of metal with the great synths and keyboard work like Chaos Moon and even at times Shape of Despair


I hope you just compared Chaos Moon and Shape Of Despair because of the keyboards and nothing more...


Just the keyboards nothing more...

but who knows maybe Funeral Doom is just down tempo Black Metal
Xnoybis - 13.05.2010 at 21:59  
Digging this. great review, thanks for bringing it to my attention.
Krankheit - 03.06.2010 at 21:17  
This is great stuff! Being a fan of Darkspace, I don't know why I haven't checked out Sun Of The Blind until now.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.06.2010 at 21:24  
Definitely a very cool album this, it's interesting how they maintained the chugging sensibility of Darkspace and injected it with melody, incredibly successfully. My only complaint with it is that after a whole album's worth I find it a little saccharine at times, but only in a very minor fashion.
InnerSelf - 07.06.2010 at 08:51  
It is as great as promised
I went on and got the Darkspace III also and now both albums have become and addiction
these tow might be among the finest Black Metal albums I have ever heard
Marcus - 02.03.2011 at 04:25  
Awesome album, thanks to this review for getting me into them and Chaos Moon.
Troy Killjoy - 02.03.2011 at 05:35  
Written by Marcus on 02.03.2011 at 04:25

Awesome album, thanks to this review for getting me into them and Chaos Moon.

I'm assuming by the lack of Darkspace being mentioned, that you're already into them.

If not, get into them.
Marcus - 02.03.2011 at 11:04  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.03.2011 at 05:35

Written by Marcus on 02.03.2011 at 04:25

Awesome album, thanks to this review for getting me into them and Chaos Moon.

I'm assuming by the lack of Darkspace being mentioned, that you're already into them.

If not, get into them.

I hate to say this but I haven't had a chance to listen to them yet Guess I'll bump Darkspace to the top of my "to listen" list.
Marcus - 07.03.2011 at 17:45  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.03.2011 at 05:35

Written by Marcus on 02.03.2011 at 04:25

Awesome album, thanks to this review for getting me into them and Chaos Moon.

I'm assuming by the lack of Darkspace being mentioned, that you're already into them.

If not, get into them.


Listened to Darkspace III last week. Liked it but I gotta say I enjoyed Sun of the Blind more.
Troy Killjoy - 07.03.2011 at 18:15  
Written by Marcus on 07.03.2011 at 17:45

Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.03.2011 at 05:35

Written by Marcus on 02.03.2011 at 04:25

Awesome album, thanks to this review for getting me into them and Chaos Moon.

I'm assuming by the lack of Darkspace being mentioned, that you're already into them.

If not, get into them.


Listened to Darkspace III last week. Liked it but I gotta say I enjoyed Sun of the Blind more.

I prefer Darkspace II, but I'd take Sun of the Blind over I and III.
Marcus - 23.03.2011 at 08:28  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.03.2011 at 18:15

Written by Marcus on 07.03.2011 at 17:45

Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.03.2011 at 05:35

Written by Marcus on 02.03.2011 at 04:25

Awesome album, thanks to this review for getting me into them and Chaos Moon.

I'm assuming by the lack of Darkspace being mentioned, that you're already into them.

If not, get into them.


Listened to Darkspace III last week. Liked it but I gotta say I enjoyed Sun of the Blind more.

I prefer Darkspace II, but I'd take Sun of the Blind over I and III.


Listened to II (seems like I'm hearing the trilogy in the opposite order) and while I liked it more than III there's still something about Darkspace that doesn't appeal to me as much compared to Sun of The Blind or Chaos Moon. I can't think of how to explain it necessarily, but I think Darkspace may be a little too "noisy" for me.
Ragana - 06.04.2011 at 02:57  
Written by Marcus on 23.03.2011 at 08:28

I can't think of how to explain it necessarily, but I think Darkspace may be a little too "noisy" for me.

I think Darkspace is more atmospheric exactly because of all the noise.
Oaken - 10.04.2012 at 16:03  
Written by InnerSelf on 07.06.2010 at 08:51

It is as great as promised
I went on and got the Darkspace III also and now both albums have become and addiction
these tow might be among the finest Black Metal albums I have ever heard

I haven't listened to Darkspace yet, but I second your opinion on Sun Of The Blind. You can't but sink and drown in those distant melodies and warm guitar rythyms.
Written by Ragana on 06.04.2011 at 02:57

Written by Marcus on 23.03.2011 at 08:28

I can't think of how to explain it necessarily, but I think Darkspace may be a little too "noisy" for me.

I think Darkspace is more atmospheric exactly because of all the noise.

Maybe, but I think Sun Of The Blind is much, much easier to get into.
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.04.2012 at 16:13  
Written by Oaken on 10.04.2012 at 16:03

Maybe, but I think Sun Of The Blind is much, much easier to get into.

That's because there's far more melody and far less noise ;] Much like Darkspace is probably easier to get into than Paysage d'Hiver (I would imagine, people may disagree about that but you have to consider the large amounts of melody in Dark Space III).
Oaken - 10.04.2012 at 16:19  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 10.04.2012 at 16:13

Written by Oaken on 10.04.2012 at 16:03

Maybe, but I think Sun Of The Blind is much, much easier to get into.

That's because there's far more melody and far less noise ;] Much like Darkspace is probably easier to get into than Paysage d'Hiver (I would imagine, people may disagree about that but you have to consider the large amounts of melody in Dark Space III).

Yeah, that must be true. I have to check out Darkspace and Paysage soon. Problem is, Paysage d'Hiver have a very big number of demos that I don't know where to start... I've read something that says they sound similar to the first two Blut Aus Nord records (Which own), but I could use some help concerning their best albums.
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.04.2012 at 16:21  
Written by Oaken on 10.04.2012 at 16:19

Yeah, that must be true. I have to check out Darkspace and Paysage soon. Problem is, Paysage d'Hiver have a very big number of demos that I don't know where to start... I've read something that says they sound similar to the first two Blut Aus Nord records (Which own), but I could use some help concerning their best albums.

I haven't listened to a great deal of Paysage but from what I've heard most of his stuff is pretty much the same across the board. I imagine 'Winterkälte' would probably be the best place to start.
InnerSelf - 10.04.2012 at 17:21  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 10.04.2012 at 16:13

That's because there's far more melody and far less noise ;] Much like Darkspace is probably easier to get into than Paysage d'Hiver (I would imagine, people may disagree about that but you have to consider the large amounts of melody in Dark Space III).


Darkspace are certainly easier to get into than Paysage, since the later is sometimes almost pure noise.
and Oaken, if you were to start with Paysage I would recommend listening to Darksapce first and then try Paysage's Die Festung and Winterkälte

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Sun Of The Blind - Skullreader 7.5 13.09.2012 by Alex Fenger
Reviews Moss - Tombs Of The Blind Drugged 6 04.05.2009 by Ozman
Reviews Mictlantecuhtli - Warriors Of The Black Sun 6 08.03.2009 by Black_Handed
Reviews Foudre Noire - The Dark Gods 4.5 25.10.2010 by Ag Fox
Reviews Jumalhämärä - Slaughter The Messenger 4.5 23.10.2009 by Bas



Hits total: 5632 | This month: 37