Throes Of Dawn - The Great Fleet Of Echoes review



Reviewer:
8.0

99 users:
8.19
Band: Throes Of Dawn
Album: The Great Fleet Of Echoes
Release date: February 2010


01. Entropy
02. Ignition Of The Grey Sky
03. Velvet Chokehold
04. Soft Whispers Of The Chemical Sun
05. Chloroform
06. Slow Motion
07. We Have Ways To Hurt You
08. Lethe
09. The Great Fleet Of Echoes
10. Blue Dead Skies


Throes Of Dawn have been around for quite some time, I remember having listened to them from a friend about 6-7 years ago, to be more precise it was Binding Of The Spirit that I listened to, powerful and atmospheric as far as I recall. Quicksilver Clouds followed, having not listened to it though, but I suppose it moves in the same vein as its predecessor. A few years of silence and hop! The Great Fleet Of Echoes makes its appearance with Throes Of Dawn making their sound lighter and putting a greater effort on the atmospheric term.

These finnish guys in 2010 sound so multi-influenced that you actually get confused. One could say there are influences from the most fragile moments of bands like Anathema (like on some parts of "Ignition Of The Grey Sky"), Katatonia's Discouraged Ones, Paradise Lost and Tiamat, the vocals sound at times like a mixture of Nick Holmes and Johan Edlund, even like Fields Of The Nephilim's Carl McCoy without his renowned, haunting hoarse though, in terms of interpretation and feeling. Also, a general Green Carnation/Opeth aesthetic mainly from Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness/Damnation respectively is recognisable. I even sensed Nevermore's "Next In Line" upon "Velvet Chocehold" (00:39-01:07 par example) and Tiamat's Deeper Kind Of Slumber on "Soft Whispers Of The Chemical Sun", both on vocals and atmosphere which is this psychedelic feeling blending with gothic rock references, making the atmosphere so gentle. If I keep on writing more bands will come to mind, The Great Fleet Of Echoes is unoriginal in sound, but somehow all these influences have been blended together in an original way, if you get what I mean.

Melodic chords, some more dynamic guitar riffing, beautiful piano and floating keyboard passages, mainly clean melodic vocals with some grunting outbursts and any-tempo accompanying rhythm section, this is all you'll find on this album. I personally enjoyed it a lot, so, if you're searching for loads of unoriginal inspiration, melancholic (and a bit menacing at times) as well as soothing atmosphere, then The Great Fleet Of Echoes will be a gentle and pleasant to the ear sound excursion, through amounts of internal fragileness.

Highlights: "Chloroform", "Ignition Of The Grey Sky", "Soft Whispers Of The Chemical Sun", "Velvet Chokehold", "We Have Ways To Hurt You", "Lethe".


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 5
Production: 9


 



Written on 17.09.2010 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 171 users
17.09.2010 - 19:39
Deadsoulman
Lemmyng
I think you're exaggerating the unoriginal side of this album a little. Well, maybe not exaggerating, but drawing too much attention to it compared to this album's merits.

Anyway, there is something about the whole atmosphere of this album, about the way it flows, that has appealed to me from the first listen. I have yet to find an album released this year that has clicked with me on an emotional level as much as this one (which is probably why I hadn't even thought of the band's influences before I read this review). This is still my #1 album of the year, hands down.
Loading...
17.09.2010 - 19:49
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
I may be exaggerating or drew too much attention, but despite liking this album a lot while listening to this specific album all the time band references were appearing to me But i liked it a lot for what it is, at least to me, not so original, but soft, beautiful, travelling, with some outbursts.
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
17.09.2010 - 20:59
Dark Blood
The Avenger
Wow, these guys stepped out for too long I forgot about them lol. Didn't even know they had a new release.
I have Quicksilver Clouds album and I liked it a lot, so I might get this one too. Thanks for the review
----
It is humanity who must pay homage to the greatness of the Universe... not the Universe to the human narcissism.
Loading...
17.09.2010 - 21:09
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
Written by Dark Blood on 17.09.2010 at 20:59

Wow, these guys stepped out for too long I forgot about them lol. Didn't even know they had a new release.
I have Quicksilver Clouds album and I liked it a lot, so I might get this one too. Thanks for the review


You're welcome, if Quicksilver Clouds (which i intend to check also) is like Binding Of The Spirit, then expect a different mood in terms of heaviness on the new one, good album, but not so original, at least to my ears.
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
17.09.2010 - 22:49
Scream8tor
I have really enjoyed listening to this album. I've played it every day for the last couple weeks. I agree with most of the influences, but more importantly, I think this album has a great mood that flows from beginning to end.
Loading...
18.09.2010 - 02:01
Stigmatized
..........
Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 21:09

Written by Dark Blood on 17.09.2010 at 20:59

Wow, these guys stepped out for too long I forgot about them lol. Didn't even know they had a new release.
I have Quicksilver Clouds album and I liked it a lot, so I might get this one too. Thanks for the review


You're welcome, if Quicksilver Clouds (which i intend to check also) is like Binding Of The Spirit, then expect a different mood in terms of heaviness on the new one, good album, but not so original, at least to my ears.


Quicksilver Clouds has a sound more similar to The Great Fleet of Echoes than BOTS. Throes of Dawn are really good and creating a certain mood with their albums and this new on is no different. One of the best of the year.
Loading...
18.09.2010 - 02:04
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
Written by Stigmatized on 18.09.2010 at 02:01

Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 21:09

Written by Dark Blood on 17.09.2010 at 20:59

Wow, these guys stepped out for too long I forgot about them lol. Didn't even know they had a new release.
I have Quicksilver Clouds album and I liked it a lot, so I might get this one too. Thanks for the review


You're welcome, if Quicksilver Clouds (which i intend to check also) is like Binding Of The Spirit, then expect a different mood in terms of heaviness on the new one, good album, but not so original, at least to my ears.


Quicksilver Clouds has a sound more similar to The Great Fleet of Echoes than BOTS. Throes of Dawn are really good and creating a certain mood with their albums and this new on is no different. One of the best of the year.

Thanks for the info, i'll keep it in mind and i'll check it for sure
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
20.09.2010 - 05:14
DaMaGe
I respect you and i respect your view but i do not think that the band deserve all these lines or compare them with the greatest like Tiamat . Opeth and Anathema
----
Born To Be Failure
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 04:16
Vitriolic Hate
Chaos Reaper
Interesting review, probably I'll check it out.
Loading...
16.12.2011 - 04:42
Slinky666
Account deleted
For me, their album Quicksilver Clouds had the right stuff without a doubt. I just like it better in terms of sound and musical pace.
Loading...

Hits total: 5832 | This month: 18