Rating:
2.9
Enslaved - Axioma Ethica Odini
27 September 2010


01. Ethica Odini
02. Raidho
03. Waruun
04. The Beacon
05. Axioma
06. Giants
07. Singular
08. Night Sight
09. Lightening

[Limited Edition Bonus 7" Vinyl]
01. Jotunblod (Doom)
02. Migration


Here we are again. I say that because Enslaved are beating the proverbial "Nordic Black Metal" horse to death. It seems like this is becoming a standard out of the Northern European Black Metal scene these days. Scary makeup, growling vocals, droning guitars, and a complete lack of direction other than to throw in some "evil" lyrics. Like anyone will ever go as far as Mercyful Fate did in the 80's lyrically? Doubtful, and I haven't seen anyone do it yet.

The only redeeming quality of this band is that the guitars have distortion, other than that it sounds like the rest of an already clichéd mess of metal coming out of northern Europe. It's basically a carbon copy of Immortal or Gorgoroth + (insert any band using the same gimmicks and sound from that region). The guitars drone away with the same simplistic rhythms using a grand total of 3 or 4 bar chords maximum for pretty much the length of any given track. Exhausting? More like headache inducing. The drums are nothing out of the ordinary providing a monotonous driving beat with little or no change, which when compounded with the lack of time changes or anything really interesting at all from the guitars, leaves the listener wondering, where's the beef? Where are the balls this music is supposed to retain which all the fanboys blather about?

Heavy? This couldn't be further from heavy. There's little or no chunk and grind which you'll find in bands like Nevermore or Exhumed. Heavy means driving, deep, rhythmic bass, and double bass drum blast beats with chunky, low, 7 and 8 string guitars. Heavy is music that has bite and gets right up in your face. Enslaved seem to be more about long, drawn out almost symphonic rhythms that never really go anywhere. Where are the time changes? Where are the melodic, blistering solos? Also, what's with all the growling and screaming all the time? Is everyone in Norway really so pissed off that there isn't any time to thoughtfully plan a cd and put some effort into the music?

When did people give up singing for growling, screaming, and grunting as if the vocalist is suffering from a bout of violent diarrhea throughout the entire cd? I like a good growl here and there like Opeth, but after an entire cd of it I want to take an ibuprofen. Enslaved made an attempt at mixing clean vocals with a growl on this cd, but it fell flat like the rest of their music.

The only thing I can fathom about the complete blind-devotion of the fans is that they don't know any better or haven't heard anything better. Enslaved left this listener wanting a hell of a lot more musically and lot less of the exact same tired, angry Nordic "scene," cd after cd. Giving this offering anything over a 3 is being generous.

This cd was a monotonous journey into boredom which would eventually spawn a headache. I actually enjoy bands like Amon Amarth, Ensiferum, and Wintersun because they all offer something musically. Their music actually goes somewhere, and some of the musicianship in these bands is god-like. Enslaved just aren't the caliber of musicians their fans make them out to be. You'll find so much more in bands like Symphony X, Fates Warning, Nevermore, Opeth, Death, Slayer, etc...

I don't hate Enslaved, I just think their music is severely lacking on just about every front. At least it's not Lady Gaga and the guitars are distorted

Performance: 3
Songwriting: 3
Originality: 2
Production: 2


Band profile: Enslaved
Album: Axioma Ethica Odini


 


written by ponderer | 12.12.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Daniell

Rating:
9.5
Let me tell you how I know that an album is hard to digest but great. When I put it on for the first time, most of the songs blur together, it's impossible to tell them apart. The first impression about the album is accentuated by those cool fragments of songs that remain in my memory. During the second listen I manage to hear most of those fragments. Just when I'm about to play the album for the third time to get those last cool bits, I realise that there are some more cool bits that I picked up during my second listen. With every consecutive listen, the number of cool bits increases, and my mind connects them to respective songs. After 10 listens all bits are in place, the picture is complete and my smile is wider than a six-lane freeway, because the album is brilliant.

Read more ››
published 30.09.2010 | Comments (70)



Comments page 3 of 3

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 [3]
Comments: 118  
Users visited: 591  
Search this topic:  


Alex Fenger - 25.02.2012 at 06:13  
Well, you're pretty much a fucking idiot... sorry, but i mean, come on. A 2.9? Clearly a troll, which would normally be accepted by black metal fans and bands, but not now!
BoxCar Willy - 25.02.2012 at 06:37  
Written by Alex Fenger on 25.02.2012 at 06:13

Well, you're pretty much a fucking idiot... sorry, but i mean, come on. A 2.9? Clearly a troll, which would normally be accepted by black metal fans and bands, but not now!

I guess you missed the whole ponderer thing...

http://www.metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=9027


read this.
Alex Fenger - 25.02.2012 at 06:50  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 25.02.2012 at 06:37

Written by Alex Fenger on 25.02.2012 at 06:13

Well, you're pretty much a fucking idiot... sorry, but i mean, come on. A 2.9? Clearly a troll, which would normally be accepted by black metal fans and bands, but not now!

I guess you missed the whole ponderer thing...

http://www.metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=9027


read this.

Ahhhh, I see... After reading my post again, and most of my posts, I come off as a bit of a jackass don't I?
BoxCar Willy - 25.02.2012 at 06:52  
Written by Alex Fenger on 25.02.2012 at 06:50

Written by BoxCar Willy on 25.02.2012 at 06:37

Written by Alex Fenger on 25.02.2012 at 06:13

Well, you're pretty much a fucking idiot... sorry, but i mean, come on. A 2.9? Clearly a troll, which would normally be accepted by black metal fans and bands, but not now!

I guess you missed the whole ponderer thing...

http://www.metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=9027


read this.

Ahhhh, I see... After reading my post again, and most of my posts, I come off as a bit of a jackass don't I?

No, not at all, its just this was a... yeah... read the previous posts, and look through ponderers post.


then you'll understand.
vezzy - 25.02.2012 at 09:39  
Haha, I didn't know about Joe referencing ponderer's review.

ponderer was a hero. A true savior and purist of metal. He still comes back occasionally under the guise of a new account, but I haven't seen him in half an year or so.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.02.2012 at 14:14  
Written by vezzy on 25.02.2012 at 09:39

Haha, I didn't know about Joe referencing ponderer's review.

ponderer was a hero. A true savior and purist of metal. He still comes back occasionally under the guise of a new account, but I haven't seen him in half an year or so.

Every now and then I get some strange torrent of abuse on Facebook from him, moaning about the state of this site yadayadayada. He's still probably seething from all of this.
Mr. Doctor - 25.02.2012 at 14:23  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.02.2012 at 14:14
Every now and then I get some strange torrent of abuse on Facebook from him, moaning about the state of this site yadayadayada. He's still probably seething from all of this.


Heh nice, I suppose it most be very amusing considering that you allow him to write in your page (Asuming he does that... I'm also asuming that you can block him if you wanted to, I don't know about those things of course).... Heh, nothing better than seeing a poor bastard wasting time like that.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.02.2012 at 14:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.02.2012 at 14:23


Heh nice, I suppose it most be very amusing considering that you allow him to write in your page (Asuming he does that... I'm also asuming that you can block him if you wanted to, I don't know about those things of course).... Heh, nothing better than seeing a poor bastard wasting time like that.

Nah does it via PM's. I probably could block him but not really worth the trouble, and it's always amusing to hear him witter on.
Mr. Doctor - 25.02.2012 at 14:38  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.02.2012 at 14:25
Nah does it via PM's. I probably could block him but not really worth the trouble, and it's always amusing to hear him witter on.


You don't answer back...right? xD Or if you do I suppose you are just witty.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.02.2012 at 14:42  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.02.2012 at 14:38


You don't answer back...right? xD Or if you do I suppose you are just witty.

I usually make one attempt to be reasonable and explain things to him but then I get another message back with him prattling on some more. It's then I realise it's a waste of time.
Mr. Doctor - 25.02.2012 at 14:45  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.02.2012 at 14:42
I usually make one attempt to be reasonable and explain things to him but then I get another message back with him prattling on some more. It's then I realise it's a waste of time.


I'm surprised how nice you are to him
BitterCOld - 25.02.2012 at 18:03  
It's funny how fucking nuts that dude went because someone scored an album a 5.9 in a review... not that he was a stable individual beforehand.
Daniell - 28.02.2012 at 11:17  
Written by BitterCOld on 25.02.2012 at 18:03

It's funny how fucking nuts that dude went because someone scored an album a 5.9 in a review... not that he was a stable individual beforehand.


Good times hah. He wrote 2 reviews in answer to mine. This one, which is what it is, and a review of that Kamelot crap which I rated 5.9. The latter was at least based on him actually listening to the album, which wasn't the case with Enslaved
BlueMobius - 05.09.2012 at 15:02  
How have I not seen this until now? Completely hilarious and absurd.
Maco - 24.12.2012 at 07:06  
Ahahahahhahahah THE BEST REVIEW EVER hail ponderer .... wherever you are now HAIL xD
Dentura - 24.12.2012 at 07:41  
This review is quite silly.
mz - 26.03.2013 at 23:09  
Legendary "review", I wish we could have find more reviews like this. It is even funnier than MA's reviews of MoP by metallica.
Hail ponderer
BoxCar Willy - 06.07.2013 at 01:10  
Best review ever.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 [3]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Enslaved - Axioma Ethica Odini 8.5 30.09.2010 by DerRozzengarten
Albums Enslaved - Axioma Ethica Odini 7.5 18.07.2010 by vezzy
Metal arena Best Song Off Of Enslaved's Axioma Ethica Odini 6 25.07.2011 by Pyramid God
Albums Enslaved - Vertebrae 3 25.01.2010 by advent
News Enslaved - N. American Tour Cancelled 3 27.11.2008 by Luciferion



Hits total: 8238 | This month: 67