Rating:
7.5
Nanowar Of Steel - Into Gay Pride Ride
15 September 2010


01. Metropolis Part 3 - The Legacy
02. NanowaR
03. Stormlord Of Power
04. The Nanowarrior's Prayer
05. Blood Of The Queens
06. DJ Fernanduzzo
07. Odino And Valhalla
08. Radio-grafia Pt. II
09. Surprise Love
10. Forest Of Magnaccions
11. Look At Two Reels
12. 1 Vs. 100
13. Lamento Erotico
14. RAPsody
15. Karkagnor's Song - The Hobbit
16. Karkagnor's Song - In The Forest


"Our metal's so strong, 'cos our dick is so long!"

Straight - pun intended - at the beginning of the new year, we bring you a review of the most phallic centered album of 2010 (apart from the porn grind bands everyone laughs about but no one listens to of course). Coming from the feminine footwear of Europe, Nanowar Of Steel have set out to tickle the jewels of true metal warriors around the globe, riding their ponies and swinging their bloodied tampons as they go. Exposing the cross-dressing tendencies of modern power metal, this is surely the gayest metal album since the latest Manowar release.

On their horny pink crusade they sing about the most lovely things, including, but not limited to: the homosexual exploits of a certain Luka Turillee [for legal reasons the reviewer is not allowed to voice his suspicions who the band is really singing about], girls who surprisingly turn out to have "more" than expected, seas of monarchical blood (the royal menstruation cycle), Italian things I do not understand but which I'm sure are really naughty and - I saved the most exciting for last - showers of gold. In addition to that they also made us some exciting, rather anal versions of classics such as Wonderful World, Another Brick In The Wall, some Rhapsody Of Fire songs and more.

Talking about the music, it was obviously composed to seduce burly, loincloth wearing men with markedly impressive chest hair growth. Apart from the aphrodisiac pheromone function it's not all too special though. Your standard power metal fare, the same kind of music the band is constantly making fun of. Not bad, but not amazing either and certainly not novel, that would kind of defeat the point of this CD.

In terms of pure humorist quality there are definitely better releases, but most of them aren't metal and aren't released by power metal bears, fairies, princesses, daddies, drag queens, twinks or sailors. On a more serious note: I believe that many metalheads really do take themselves, the music they listen to and the heavy metal image way too serious and I applaud any well-informed attempt at making fun of this 'phenomenon'.


ULTRA-IMPORTANT FOOTNOTE: I don't have any problems whatsoever with homosexuals and anything that might have sounded homophobic was not to be taken serious. However I love political incorrect humor, in fact it's my favorite. And if anything in this review personally upsets you, you now know that you shouldn't listen to this album anyway.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 7


Band profile: Nanowar Of Steel
Album: Into Gay Pride Ride


 


written by Bas | 03.01.2011



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 34  
Users visited: 445  
Search this topic:  


BitterCOld - 03.01.2011 at 19:54  
Great review. have not heard the album, not entirely sure i want to. i think Nanowar (of steel) hit their highpoint with either "Tricycles Of Steel" or the "Power of the great Sword" two parter.

i do agree with you that so many metalheads take everything far too seriously, and imagine this will cause quite a bit of nerd-rage.
farfaramir - 03.01.2011 at 20:10  
WTF IS THIS? XD...!!!
vezzy - 03.01.2011 at 20:13  
Written by farfaramir on 03.01.2011 at 20:10

WTF IS THIS? XD...!!!


Remove the "XD" and add more anger.
farfaramir - 03.01.2011 at 20:14  
Written by vezzy on 03.01.2011 at 20:13

Written by farfaramir on 03.01.2011 at 20:10

WTF IS THIS? XD...!!!


Remove the "XD" and add more anger.

WTF IS THIS?! :@... (6)
Now it sounds more metal (?).
Valentin B - 03.01.2011 at 20:15  
I'm a bit upset i couldn't get to their gig in Ruse last year, because they are seriously my favorite parody metal band. the guys mock simply everything and they just don't give a flying fuck about critics, posers or pretty much anything else.

i even e-mailed one of them asking if they are manowar fans(seeing as they have an enormous amount of manowar references, and not just in the lyrics/song titles) and Gatto Pancieri actually replied to me saying that yeah, they are fans, but generally they play and sing like this because they love having fun and parodying everything

i'll surely listen to this with a smile on my not-giving-a-fuck face.
vezzy - 03.01.2011 at 20:16  
Written by farfaramir on 03.01.2011 at 20:14

Written by vezzy on 03.01.2011 at 20:13

Written by farfaramir on 03.01.2011 at 20:10

WTF IS THIS? XD...!!!


Remove the "XD" and add more anger.

WTF IS THIS?! :@... (6)
Now it sounds more metal (?).


...What's that supposed to be?

I said anger, not wanker.
farfaramir - 03.01.2011 at 20:25  
Written by vezzy on 03.01.2011 at 20:16

Written by farfaramir on 03.01.2011 at 20:14

Written by vezzy on 03.01.2011 at 20:13

Written by farfaramir on 03.01.2011 at 20:10

WTF IS THIS? XD...!!!


Remove the "XD" and add more anger.

WTF IS THIS?! :@... (6)
Now it sounds more metal (?).


...What's that supposed to be?

I said anger, not wanker.

seafood - 03.01.2011 at 20:37  
Among the lyrical themes, you forgot to mention the epic poem about McDonald ( McDonald's br00tal ), closing the album .. whitch is also a good song musicaly imho , althought cheesy as hell.

A fine album, worth listening to mainly if you are a Manowar/Rhapsody fan and still can make fun of them, otherwise you probably won't get some of the jokes presented. The music is you standard Manowar-ish cheesy metal, enjoyalbe for few listens, but not something you'll remember after some time.

In short, I completly agree with the review and rating
Susan - 03.01.2011 at 20:50  
Nanowar of Steeeeeeel!!! Happy New Year indeed
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.01.2011 at 22:03  
Sorry, but musically and lyrically Nanowar are a pile of **** if you want good metal parody band both musically and lyrically than go for Zimmershole instead
Ellrohir - 04.01.2011 at 00:27  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.01.2011 at 22:03

Sorry, but musically and lyrically Nanowar are a pile of ****


wow...once again we agreed with each other


and making "fun" of Bard's Song? pure blasphemy
BitterCOld - 04.01.2011 at 00:46  
Metal needs more blasphemers.
Vivi' - 04.01.2011 at 01:00  
I love Nanowar, I've seen them twice live and they are so much fun! And their videos are genius! Great review, I hate metal people who take themselves seriously!
Evil Chip - 04.01.2011 at 03:18  
Didn't make me laugh. I'll stick to Steel Panther.
Yojimbo - 04.01.2011 at 06:50  
I'll stick to music about killing and high fantasy. You guys can have this stuff about tampons and girls with something more (what?!).
Varegan - 04.01.2011 at 20:52  
Post-power metal badassphemy! i like ths shit
>Odysseus - 05.01.2011 at 22:16  
Really ?
what happened ? Emo isn't good enough nowadays to fvck up the only good music that is left ?
RavenKing - 06.01.2011 at 00:31  
Written by >Odysseus on 05.01.2011 at 22:16

Really ?
what happened ? Emo isn't good enough nowadays to fvck up the only good music that is left ?


Do you suggest that Manowar is the only good music left nowadays? I pity you if it's really what you believe.
vezzy - 06.01.2011 at 12:20  
Written by RavenKing on 06.01.2011 at 00:31

Written by >Odysseus on 05.01.2011 at 22:16

Really ?
what happened ? Emo isn't good enough nowadays to fvck up the only good music that is left ?


Do you suggest that Manowar is the only good music left nowadays? I pity you if it's really what you believe.


The guy likes Hatebreed too. ROFL.
>Odysseus - 06.01.2011 at 12:53  
Written by RavenKing on 06.01.2011 at 00:31

Written by >Odysseus on 05.01.2011 at 22:16

Really ?
what happened ? Emo isn't good enough nowadays to fvck up the only good music that is left ?


Do you suggest that Manowar is the only good music left nowadays? I pity you if it's really what you believe.

No .. i was talking about metal in general ... i'm not even a huge fan of Manowar ( with all due respect to them )
YoreLore - 06.01.2011 at 18:49  
Written by vezzy on 06.01.2011 at 12:20

Written by RavenKing on 06.01.2011 at 00:31

Written by >Odysseus on 05.01.2011 at 22:16

Really ?
what happened ? Emo isn't good enough nowadays to fvck up the only good music that is left ?


Do you suggest that Manowar is the only good music left nowadays? I pity you if it's really what you believe.


The guy likes Hatebreed too. ROFL.


lolercaust. Imagine liking bands you dont like...
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.01.2011 at 18:53  
Written by YoreLore on 06.01.2011 at 18:49

lolercaust. Imagine liking bands you dont like...


vezzy - 06.01.2011 at 20:44  
Written by YoreLore on 06.01.2011 at 18:49
lolercaust. Imagine liking bands you dont like...


Favorite band mining is a nice hobby, you should try it.
frankeli - 07.01.2011 at 14:30  
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA loincloth and all .... I got to have a listen!!!
Angelic Storm - 07.01.2011 at 14:34  
I think I'll give this a miss, it most probably is as awful as I envision it being. Noone will ever beat Lawnmower Deth at comedy metal anyways.
Dragonlord TG - 07.01.2011 at 14:47  
Nanowar are like "Meet The Spartans" or any of the thousand parody movies that have been released these last few years. They make fun of everything, but ironically fail at actually being funny.

Steel Panther is the right way to do it.
Bas - 07.01.2011 at 18:24  
Written by seafood on 03.01.2011 at 20:37

Among the lyrical themes, you forgot to mention the epic poem about McDonald ( McDonald's br00tal ), closing the album .. whitch is also a good song musicaly imho , althought cheesy as hell.
...
In short, I completly agree with the review and rating

Thanks
And actually that's my favourite song on the album, however writing that the band sings about fast food isn't as exciting as writing about the royal mentstruation cycle in the review

Written by >Odysseus on 05.01.2011 at 22:16

Really ?
what happened ? Emo isn't good enough nowadays to fvck up the only good music that is left ?

I'm not even sure what your post means. Perhaps you are one of those people who take metal too serious and think it's something you're not allowed to make fun of?
BitterCOld - 07.01.2011 at 19:06  
Written by Angelic Storm on 07.01.2011 at 14:34

I think I'll give this a miss, it most probably is as awful as I envision it being. Noone will ever beat Lawnmower Deth at comedy metal anyways.


how many times can you bounce up and down on satam's big old trampoline?
Angelic Storm - 07.01.2011 at 19:10  
Written by BitterCOld on 07.01.2011 at 19:06
how many times can you bounce up and down on satam's big old trampoline?


I do not know, but I'll let you have a go, on Satan's big old tramp-o-liiiiiine! lol
TheAmazingP - 13.01.2011 at 11:33  
I actually found the album very decent. Except from being funny as hell, its songs are actually better than those that they were intended to mock.

"From the ghetto to the forestah!"
Boxcar Willy - 16.01.2011 at 04:22  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.01.2011 at 22:03

Sorry, but musically and lyrically Nanowar are a pile of **** if you want good metal parody band both musically and lyrically than go for Zimmershole instead

THANK YOU!... turrible band... (turrible is WORSE than terrible)
Zenzero - 25.01.2011 at 23:11  
Great great review!
Surion - 11.05.2011 at 08:35  
Love the album, it makes me laugh everytime I hear it. It's okay to make fun of metal stereotypes once in a while..
Mattybu - 11.09.2011 at 22:13  
The track names are funny.. "Stormlord of Power" is just classic

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Nanowar Of Steel - Into Gay Pride Ride 10.5 31.08.2012 by
Reviews Nanowar Of Steel - Other Bands Play Nanowar Gay! 7 12.01.2007 by iaberis
Albums Nanowar Of Steel - Other Bands Play Nanowar Gay! 6 27.04.2010 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Nanowar Of Steel - Triumph Of True Metal Of Steel 5.5 29.09.2009 by Ellrohir
Albums Nanowar Of Steel - A Knight At The Opera 4.5 24.04.2014 by yeah1980



Hits total: 6824 | This month: 66