Rating:
9.6
Veil Of Maya - [id]
6 April 2010


01. id
02. Unbreakable
03. Dark Passenger
04. The Higler
05. Martyrs
06. Resistance
07. Circle
08. Mowgli
09. Namaste
10. Conquer
11. Codex


Two years after releasing their second CD called The Common Man's Collapse, Veil Of Maya returns with a blessing called [id]. This album has achieved something that only a few handpicked albums were able to: the whole album can be listened to as a single song (like Meshuggah's Catch 33, for example) but can also be listened to in a random sequence together with other songs of a playlist, and the songs don't lose their coherence, which does not happen to Catch 33.

I like to think of Veil Of Maya's [id] and The Common Man's Collapse not as two separate albums, but as a single class on how to make metal (or metalcore for you separatists): each one of [id]'s tracks is an idea they develop into a song. Circle, for example, is an idea that focuses on rhythm, while Mowgli focuses one kind of guitar harmony, and Unbreakable focuses heaviness and dissonance. This may not seem perfectly clear if you haven't listened to the album yet, but once you do, you'll understand what I mean. The Common Man's Collapse gathers each of these ideas and shows you (student) how to put them together in a way that are coherent and sweet. Now why have I chosen this metaphor on which these two CDs are a single "class"? If you think of [id] as theory and The Common Man's Collapse as practice, there won't be much explaining to be done.

Enough with the comparison, let's look at this album as just another album. The music is simply amazing, and their musicians, besides talent, have the knowledge of how to put this talent to good use. As a guitarist, I feel forced to talk about Marc Okubo's performance in this CD, which is completely flawless. Knowing how to shred, sweep-pick and tap doesn't make you a good guitarist, what matters is the way you use it: you should use it so that it adds a spice to the music, but using too much spoils it. Marc knows that. Each song is basically a riff or a musical idea (there comes the metaphor again) that they carefully develop into a short song, and they're absolutely not tiring to hear, since the musicians who wrote them know when to end the song. Some people may complain about the shortness of each track, but I prefer to think of it like this: if each of them lasted for, let's say, 8 minutes, would they be as good? A short awesome song is a lot better than a long boring one.

I can guarantee you that you won't regret listening to such a great album, if you end up not liking it, it is important that you've at least listened to it so that you can be more critical when listening to new music, since it is an interesting branch of metalcore with some unique ideas and it's own [id]entity.

P.S. I don't give it a straight-up 10 because of some minor adjustments I would make if I were to write the guitars on this album.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Veil Of Maya
Album: [id]


 


written by Todgeist | 31.05.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 123  
Search this topic:  


oLjud - 31.05.2011 at 08:20  
Just an awesome album! But I wouldn't give it a solid 9.6, "just" 9 would be more fit.
Gonzo666 - 31.05.2011 at 18:37  
I almost didn't give this album a chance just because I really disliked their last albums. This one actually did impress me. They have stepped up their game to a whole new level with this album, it does show what they can write and play. In a way it makes me excited for the upcoming albums.
There was a lot about this album that I still didn't like. He does write some incredible riffs but only plays them for a couple seconds. We need more than a couple seconds, it just teases us. The hard constant pounding needs to go, this is one thing bands need to stray from. If you are going to do it, add something to it. It really does make the song drag on. I did get bored listening to the album, it took me two sessions to finish it. To much 2-step going on.
I have to give this album a solid 6.
Todgeist - 02.06.2011 at 04:57  
Written by oLjud on 31.05.2011 at 08:20

Just an awesome album! But I wouldn't give it a solid 9.6, "just" 9 would be more fit.


Thank you for the comment, I guess I might just have gotten a little bit carried away when rating the album ~.~
Todgeist - 02.06.2011 at 05:01  
Written by Gonzo666 on 31.05.2011 at 18:37

I almost didn't give this album a chance just because I really disliked their last albums. This one actually did impress me. They have stepped up their game to a whole new level with this album, it does show what they can write and play. In a way it makes me excited for the upcoming albums.
There was a lot about this album that I still didn't like. He does write some incredible riffs but only plays them for a couple seconds. We need more than a couple seconds, it just teases us. The hard constant pounding needs to go, this is one thing bands need to stray from. If you are going to do it, add something to it. It really does make the song drag on. I did get bored listening to the album, it took me two sessions to finish it. To much 2-step going on.
I have to give this album a solid 6.


I see your point, but I'd like to add that this album is a different format than you generally see bands doing, and that's the idea that drove them into writing it. Still, maybe I've just got used to the fact that the songs are the way they are, you know.
Gonzo666 - 02.06.2011 at 19:00  
Written by Todgeist on 02.06.2011 at 05:01

Written by Gonzo666 on 31.05.2011 at 18:37

I almost didn't give this album a chance just because I really disliked their last albums. This one actually did impress me. They have stepped up their game to a whole new level with this album, it does show what they can write and play. In a way it makes me excited for the upcoming albums.
There was a lot about this album that I still didn't like. He does write some incredible riffs but only plays them for a couple seconds. We need more than a couple seconds, it just teases us. The hard constant pounding needs to go, this is one thing bands need to stray from. If you are going to do it, add something to it. It really does make the song drag on. I did get bored listening to the album, it took me two sessions to finish it. To much 2-step going on.
I have to give this album a solid 6.


I see your point, but I'd like to add that this album is a different format than you generally see bands doing, and that's the idea that drove them into writing it. Still, maybe I've just got used to the fact that the songs are the way they are, you know.


They didn't really do a different format, just kind of strayed away a little. They added a little bit to their music which helps, but its still the same hard pounding deathcore sound. I think if these guys keep it up, in a couple albums we could really have a good one.
opeth771 - 30.09.2011 at 21:12  
THE best deathcore album ever. Epic

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Veil Of Maya - [id] 4.5 30.09.2011 by opeth771
News Veil Of Maya - Debut New Single 4.5 31.10.2013 by
Albums Veil Of Maya - All Things Set Aside 4.5 26.01.2011 by JD
Albums Veil Of Maya - Eclipse 4.5 28.02.2012 by opeth771
News Veil Of Maya - Announce North American Tour With Vildhjarta 4.5 17.09.2013 by undi



Hits total: 4174 | This month: 16