Rating:
6.0
Helloween - The Time Of The Oath
1996


01. We Burn
02. Steel Tormentor
03. Wake up The Mountain
04. Power
05. Forever And One (Neverland)
06. Before The War
07. A Million To One
08. Anything My Mama Don't Like
09. Kings Will Be Kings
10. Mission Motherland
11. If I Knew
12. The Time Of The Oath
13. Still I Don't Know [2006 Expanded Edition bonus]
14. Take It To The Limit [2006 Expanded Edition bonus]
15. Electric Eye [Judas Priest cover] [2006 Expanded Edition bonus]
16. Magnetic Fields [Jean Michel Jarre cover] [2006 Expanded Edition bonus]
17. Rain [Status Quo cover] [2006 Expanded Edition bonus]
18. Walk Your Way [2006 Expanded Edition bonus]
19. Light In The Sky [2006 Expanded Edition bonus]
20. Time Goes By [2006 Expanded Edition bonus]


Helloween worked very hard to "correct" their "mistakes", those mistakes being the less popular albums Pink Bubbles Go Ape and Chameleon, which are very experimental and progressive as opposed to the usual speed metal that comes from these German pioneers. Anyway, classic heavy metal tracks are found here in the Judas Priest vein like "We Burn" and "Kings Will Be Kings". Besides "Wake Up the Mountain" and the common fan favorite "Power" there is really nothing else on this album interesting to comment on. Does that make it a bad album? No! What made this album deserve a mediocre rating are its very bland and repetitive tendencies. They dig up the sound of the well known and loved Keepers albums, and play it to death. We get "epics" that go nowhere and a few sappy ballads with no emotion that seem forced and half assed. There is also a tongue in cheek number that is more embarrassing than humorous.

The rest of the tracks are not really worth mentioning here. This is pretty much an album that should have never been released. Actually, it shouldn't even have been thought to be released for that matter. Take a look at the artwork. Does it look familiar? It should because it is the same album cover to Keeper of the 7 Keys part 1, just modernized. This is basically what you are also getting in the music - a modernized version of an album that should not have had a sequel. How this album is considered to be their best, I will never know.


Band profile: Helloween
Album: The Time Of The Oath


 


written by Joey Jo Jo | 06.08.2005


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Mountain King

Rating:
8.8
Seeing that the one review of this album on Metal Storm does it no justice at all, I decided to share my thoughts about it. Some people claim that Helloween reached their peak with Andi Deris on Dark Ride. I would have to disagree because looking at the track list it's obvious that some of the strongest Helloween numbers appear. From the anthem "Power" to the power metal massacre of "Kings Will Be Kings" to the touching "Forever and One" there are really no disappointing songs.

Read more ››
published 01.04.2011 | Comments (7)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 105  
Search this topic:  


Talvi - 09.11.2006 at 10:45  
Is this considered their best? I doubt it. This album is the only 'really' good one after Keepers 2. The Dark Ride is MUCH better and is their trully best.
Baz Anderson - 10.11.2006 at 18:29  
i never made the connection between this album and the 'Keeper...' albums. i dont understand that at all

i think this is a great album and i am glad it was released..

also people that criticise Helloween always seem to make reference to how something that is suppose to be funny just isnt
and thats something that annoys me as well because i find everything funny that they want to be funny, either because i do find it funny - or because it is just stupid ('Heavy Metal Hamsters' for example)

but whatever. i would give this album nine out of ten
Opium Magnet - 12.11.2006 at 13:58  
"There is also a tongue in cheek number that is more embarrassing than humorous" are you referring to track 8?
Dandelion - 09.06.2007 at 08:23  
only 6???its an excellent album with great songs like kings will be kings,steel tormentor,power,mission motherland,before the war and of course the excellent if i knew
Bitch Boy - 10.06.2007 at 00:34  
Haha 6?? I would give this one at least 8 This is one of my favorite Helloween albums.
Dowi - 09.11.2007 at 20:57  
Come on , Aguirre, it's the best album they have released so far. All the tracks are amazing, even the silly "anything my mamma don't like".
PD: Keeper...who?
Lone Reaper - 07.04.2008 at 17:46  
This is the best album that "Hells" released with Andi Deris on vocals...
IMHO, this album must be rated with 9 or even 9.5...

And "Anything My Mamma Don't Like" isn't more silly that legendary "I Want Out". Helloween known as a band with a great humour sence
Spyroid - 19.01.2009 at 15:59  
This might be my least favourite Helloween album, I don't know if I agree with the review but at least with the rating. The songs simply aren't enough appealing to me.
shisha - 18.02.2010 at 20:42  
I think that metal storm staff members should not approved reviews like this one. This review is just absolutely wrong! It may misdirect a potential listeners of this, almost, masterpiece. Now I just can remember how much I have enjoyed this album. That joy I can't find in any music today! It is enough to mention this few ones Power, We Burn, Before The War, The Time Of The Oath, Wake Up The Mountain, Forever And One. Just beautiful album!
Lord_Regnier - 19.02.2010 at 13:57  
Written by Baz Anderson on 10.11.2006 at 18:29

i never made the connection between this album and the 'Keeper...' albums. i dont understand that at all

i think this is a great album and i am glad it was released..

also people that criticise Helloween always seem to make reference to how something that is suppose to be funny just isnt
and thats something that annoys me as well because i find everything funny that they want to be funny, either because i do find it funny - or because it is just stupid ('Heavy Metal Hamsters' for example)

but whatever. i would give this album nine out of ten



The connection is quite obvious, visually.
However, musically, this album can't match the Keepers. A few decent songs and lots of crap. That's all what it is.

Helloween have never been funny. Everytime they try, they only sound lame and make fools of themselves. But, well, I'm one of those who think humor has nothing to do with metal and should be kept out of it. I just find it stupid, not funny. In fact, there are things I find fucking retarded, taking into account that they 're coming from men over 30 year old.

Anyway, my opinion on Helloween is quite simple. They should have disbanded when Kai Hansen left. I remember how it was here during the early-mid 90s: this band was so shitty those who liked it were ashamed to admit it. Same for Iron Maiden, in fact. Both bands have been so pathetic during the 90s people who liked them were reluctant to admit it.
Baz Anderson - 19.02.2010 at 20:11  
I posted that over three years ago...
Lord_Regnier - 19.02.2010 at 22:43  
Written by Baz Anderson on 19.02.2010 at 20:11

I posted that over three years ago...


So what? Makes no difference to me. I never check the dates when I quote posts.
Baz Anderson - 19.02.2010 at 23:49  
I've not listened to this album for a long long time, but I would still say it is one of their best going on memory alone.

The whole humour in metal thing has been discussed before.
The Shape 1973 - 21.02.2010 at 16:16  
This is the worst review I have read on Metalstorm, I know that everybody has their own opinion, but this is just so wrong its embarrassing.

This is one of their strongest albums and is my favourite. Every track is perfect german power metal, a real return to from. Along with The Dark Ride this is Andi Deris' at his best.
Mountain King - 07.05.2010 at 11:37  
Best Helloween album with Andi Deris and my 3rd favorite Helloween album after the Keepers...
Uirapuru - 10.05.2010 at 19:05  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 21.02.2010 at 16:16

This is the worst review I have read on Metalstorm, I know that everybody has their own opinion, but this is just so wrong its embarrassing.


Written by shisha on 18.02.2010 at 20:42

I think that metal storm staff members should not approved reviews like this one. This review is just absolutely wrong! It may misdirect a potential listeners of this, almost, masterpiece. Now I just can remember how much I have enjoyed this album. That joy I can't find in any music today! It is enough to mention this few ones Power, We Burn, Before The War, The Time Of The Oath, Wake Up The Mountain, Forever And One. Just beautiful album!



You guys must be crazy... not publishing a review just because it's ''wrong''. Maybe they shoudn't publish all the 10's and 9.9's and 9.8' that every guest review distribute to ALL Helloween albums.

This review is short but it explained very well the (many) bad points about this album. I completly agree with it.
The Shape 1973 - 10.05.2010 at 20:03  
Written by Uirapuru on 10.05.2010 at 19:05

Written by The Shape 1973 on 21.02.2010 at 16:16

This is the worst review I have read on Metalstorm, I know that everybody has their own opinion, but this is just so wrong its embarrassing.


Written by shisha on 18.02.2010 at 20:42

I think that metal storm staff members should not approved reviews like this one. This review is just absolutely wrong! It may misdirect a potential listeners of this, almost, masterpiece. Now I just can remember how much I have enjoyed this album. That joy I can't find in any music today! It is enough to mention this few ones Power, We Burn, Before The War, The Time Of The Oath, Wake Up The Mountain, Forever And One. Just beautiful album!



You guys must be crazy... not publishing a review just because it's ''wrong''. Maybe they shoudn't publish all the 10's and 9.9's and 9.8' that every guest review distribute to ALL Helloween albums.

This review is short but it explained very well the (many) bad points about this album. I completly agree with it.

I've read the review again and my comments. I stand by what I have said. The review bares no resemblance to the album that I know.

If you don't like the album then fine. I still believe that it is their strongest album, no weak tracks and a fine example of power metal. The vocals are great, Uli's drumming is as excellent as always and the twin guitars continue their trademark sound. The title track has one of the best intros I have ever heard, I love that riff. The live album that goes with this era of Helloween is also brilliant.
themetalvoice - 05.04.2011 at 18:41  
Time of the oath is great Album, in fact Helloween is getting better with Deris on vocals. Their last album 7 sinners is up there with keeper's one and two

Check out my review on 7 sinner 's

www.themetalvoice.com
Angelic Storm - 06.04.2011 at 06:36  
Written by Mountain King on 07.05.2010 at 11:37

Best Helloween album with Andi Deris and my 3rd favorite Helloween album after the Keepers...


I agree that it is the best Helloween album with Andi, although that would make it my 4th fave, seeing as my fave is "Walls Of Jericho", followed by the 2 Keepers.
Mountain King - 06.04.2011 at 12:31  
Written by Angelic Storm on 06.04.2011 at 06:36

Written by Mountain King on 07.05.2010 at 11:37

Best Helloween album with Andi Deris and my 3rd favorite Helloween album after the Keepers...


I agree that it is the best Helloween album with Andi, although that would make it my 4th fave, seeing as my fave is "Walls Of Jericho", followed by the 2 Keepers.


Yeah i know Walls Of Jericho is an amazing debut for it's year but i personally don't like it that much. But i know most people adore it. It's one of the few albums i still don't own in expanded edition, i need to get it and listen to it again...
( invisible ) - 20.03.2012 at 18:37  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 21.02.2010 at 16:16

This is the worst review I have read on Metalstorm, I know that everybody has their own opinion, but this is just so wrong its embarrassing.

This is one of their strongest albums and is my favourite. Every track is perfect german power metal, a real return to from. Along with The Dark Ride this is Andi Deris' at his best.


100 % agreed. This is a pure shit review.

Review : Helloween worked very hard to "correct" their "mistakes", those mistakes being the less popular albums Pink Bubbles Go Ape and Chameleon.....
(invisible) : They did not correct anything from the past few issues, they just went back to the root of Power Metal.

Review : ...classic heavy metal tracks are found here in the Judas Priest vein like "We Burn" and "Kings Will Be Kings".....
(invisible) : I do not see even 10 % similarity with these two songs and Judas Priest's songs. These two song still very much Power Metal.

Review : ....They dig up the sound of the well known and loved Keepers albums, and play it to death. We get "epics" that go nowhere and a few sappy ballads with no emotion that seem forced and half assed. There is also a tongue in cheek number that is more embarrassing than humorous....
(invisible): This album is a lot of times better than Keeper I & II...., very smooth, well constructed, good directive. The vocalist's vocal is incredibly warm, in fact is more suitable to Helloween's music style than the previous lead vocal.

Review : ...The rest of the tracks are not really worth mentioning here. This is pretty much an album that should have never been released.....
(invisible) : I think this review is the one should have never been published....

Review : ....Take a look at the artwork. Does it look familiar ? It should because it is the same album cover to Keeper of the 7 Keys part 1, just modernized. This is basically what you are also getting in the music - a modernized version of an album that should not have had a sequel. How this album is considered to be their best, I will never know.
(invisible) : what's wrong with using the same mascot on the cover ?? I even can't differentiate Megadeth early releases.

The Time of The Oath deserves a Classic Album status. Frankly, too many disappointing previous issues making people overlooked this release, what a shame ! Keeper I & II are very experimental to me, too raw, pop and shallow.

The Time of The Oath (9)
Keeper I & II (6)

PS: I had never heard any vocalist can sing Electric Eyes...This guy did it !
PS II : Even the expanded edition Disc 2 (single b side ) all tracks are so good ! I never a H fan, but find this album so jaw dropping !
Guib - 18.02.2013 at 22:28  
Yeah so I just think this review does not give this album justice. I mean, to me it is definitely a classic... Its one of my favorite helloween release. I really don't get the 6. -_- And like most people here, I agree to each his opinion, but (''should have never been released) lol whut ? Dude I don't know what brought you down on this album, but did you actually listen to it properly ?
Also I don't see why people bash on Chameleon, this album is fucking great, I especially love the track ''Music''.
Oh and for the similarity with Judas Priest, you should've mentioned Steel Tormentor but clearly not Kings Will Be Kings and We Burn .. lol

Oh and ( Invisible ) don't push it, Keeper I & II are superior in my opinion, and even though they are not in yours ... 6 REALLY ? uh... whatever you're being just as stupid as this review lol.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Helloween - The Time Of The Oath 8.5 01.04.2011 by Zenzero
Albums Helloween - The Time Of The Oath 7.5 26.03.2012 by musicalkaratekid
Reviews Luca Turilli - King Of The Nordic Twilight 6.5 09.11.2006 by Talvi
Reviews Helloween - Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part II 5.5 09.11.2007 by Dowi
Reviews Beherit - The Oath Of Black Blood 5.5 28.09.2007 by NECURATU



Hits total: 3747 | This month: 47