Rating:
7.7
Apocalyptica - Worlds Collide
14 September 2007


Disc I
01. Worlds Collide
02. Grace [feat. Tomoyasu Hotei]
03. I'm Not Jesus [feat. Corey Taylor]
04. Ion
05. Helden [feat. Till Lindemann] [David Bowie cover]
06. Stroke
07. Last Hope [feat. Dave Lombardo]
08. I Don't Care [feat. Adam Gontier]
09. Burn
10. S.O.S (Anything But Love) [feat. Cristina Scabbia]
11. Peace
12. Ural [deluxe version bonus]
13. Dreamer [deluxe version bonus]

Disc II [DVD (Deluxe version)]
01. I'm Not Jesus [video]
02. The Making Of 'I'm Not Jesus'
03. Interview
04. Photo Gallery


Apocalpytica are an innovative group of cello players hailing from Finland who gained attention for their covers of Sepultura, Slayer, Pantera and obviously Metallica. Their first two albums contained cover songs, but since Cult they have being writing their own songs. They added drums on the Reflections album with the assistance of Dave Lombardo from Slayer on several tracks. With Worlds Collide, the band has increased the number of tracks featuring guest vocalists from more mainstream bands such as Slipknot and Lacuna Coil.

Musically, the cello-only songs are diverse ranging from the aggressive and thrashy "Last Hope" (on which Dave Lombardo once again contributed his drumwork) to "Burn" to the soothing closing track "Peace." The cello-only songs are thought through with high caliber and would please all fans from their earlier albums.

However, the decision to include so many guest vocalists from mainstream rock bands is not the best one. And here's why, on the track "I'm Not Jesus," the cellos lose their prominence in the music to the not so unique vocals from Corey Taylor. Another track "Heldon" featuring Till Lindermann sound out of place due to his not so appealing vocals. The other two tracks with vocals are more decent but the lyrics are not so mature and focus on themes that were done before by other bands such as love and rejection.

In conclusion, this album will probably be the last album along with their latest effort 7th Symphony to be mentioned as their best. But if fans are seeking diversity, then they've got it on this album although the quality of the tracks have diminished due to the below average song writing for the vocal tracks.

Best songs: "Last Hope", "Peace" and "Ion."

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Apocalyptica
Album: Worlds Collide


 


written by TerrorZone | 16.12.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 66  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 16.12.2011 at 01:26  
I think the most innovative thing this band has ever done is cover Metallica.

That being said, this was still better than 7th Symphony.

And you're right about the guest vocalists being an issue here. I think the album overall suffered as a result.
Milena - 16.12.2011 at 01:26  
Short but up to point. I prefer this one to the latest one by spades though.
ApocalypticaMax3 - 16.12.2011 at 15:00  
I still do believe Grace is the strongest song on this album. Dreamer is a beautiful piece as well.
TerrorZone - 17.12.2011 at 09:42  
Written by ApocalypticaMax3 on 16.12.2011 at 15:00

I still do believe Grace is the strongest song on this album. Dreamer is a beautiful piece as well.


On Grace, guitars from Mr Hotei can't really be heard and Dreamer is a bonus track so it kind of misses the point.
Last Hope is my favorite but may not be the best.
TerrorZone - 17.12.2011 at 09:46  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.12.2011 at 01:26

I think the most innovative thing this band has ever done is cover Metallica.

That being said, this was still better than 7th Symphony.

And you're right about the guest vocalists being an issue here. I think the album overall suffered as a result.


I actually disagree with you, Metallica covers helped the band gain attention but I think their original cello only songs without drums are top notch.

By the way what's your favourite Metallica cover song by Apocalyptica?
Troy Killjoy - 17.12.2011 at 09:57  
Written by TerrorZone on 17.12.2011 at 09:46
By the way what's your favourite Metallica cover song by Apocalyptica?

"Wherever I May Roam", although it's been forever since I listened to any songs from that album.
Milena - 19.12.2011 at 02:55  
Written by TerrorZone on 17.12.2011 at 09:46

I actually disagree with you, Metallica covers helped the band gain attention but I think their original cello only songs without drums are top notch.

I agree with you, except for the drums, they interact with their music in an awesome way.

All instrumental songs from this album and at least a half from 7th symphony are as awesome as some of their previous material. But my god, they must be kidding with those vocalists.
Mr. Doctor - 19.12.2011 at 07:53  
Written by Milena on 19.12.2011 at 02:55
But my god, they must be kidding with those vocalists.


Quite right, I'm a Rammstein fan and even I don't have a clue to why Till is there...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Apocalyptica - Worlds Collide 6 02.02.2011 by John Shock
Reviews Kreator - Phantom Antichrist 3 02.12.2012 by Ace Frawley
News Apocalyptica - Release Video 3 05.10.2013 by Daniell
News Apocalyptica - New Song Available For Download 3 08.08.2010 by ApocalypticaMax3
Albums Apocalyptica - Cult 3 07.10.2011 by Sulac



Hits total: 4675 | This month: 58