My Silent Wake / The Drowning - Black Lights & Silent Roads [Split]

8.3 | 7 votes |
Release date: 27 April 2010
Style: Death doom metal, Gothic metal, Doom metal, Death metal


13 have it

My Silent Wake
01. I Am (Eternity) [Attrition cover]
02. Bleak Endless Winter
03. Devoid Of Light [The Drowning cover]
04. Rebirth

The Drowning
05. The Doomsday Feire
06. Arc Light
07. Silent Epiphany
08. A Photograph [My Silent Wake cover]

Additional info
Produced & Mixed by Steve Allan.
Engineering by Steve Allan & Kate Hamilton.
Mastering by Jeff Mortimer.

Staff review by
Jason W.
I feel as though I have experienced my own form of rebirth after consciously letting the My Silent Wake and The Drowning split seep into me. From My Silent Wake's multifaceted exploration of their own influences and vision to The Drowning's raw fragility and piercing intensity, this release has impressed me in a genuinely subtle way, like a unique friendship can. Black Lights & Silent Roads stands before me as successfully ambitious, showing not only an intimate camaraderie between two metal bands but as an impassioned exploration into each band's musical potential and composing depth.

published 18.12.2010 | Comments (2)

Hits total: 3503 | This month: 8