Advertise on Metal Storm
Somnus Aeternus - On The Shores Of Oblivion

7.6 | 5 votes |
Release date: 2012
Style: Death doom metal, Gothic metal


5 have it
1 wants it

01. Withering Attachment
02. Decrepitus
03. Few More Pictures Till Death
04. Of the Bond
05. The Light At The End Of The Suffering
06. A Touch Of Insanity
07. Purgatorium
08. The Divine Void
09. Everything Else Is A Lie
10. Sinthesis

Staff review by
On The Shores Of Oblivion is the first release from Czech death doomsters Somnus Aeternus. They originally formed in 2007 and have had several line-up changes along the way.

It starts interestingly enough, with "Withering Attachment" sounding like a cross between your typical death doomy opener doused in Sarsparilla and spaghetti Western. So rather than Clint Eastwood sighting up at high noon against some dude about to get his black hat and head ventilated, it's more doomed and decrepit, like a zombie Clint Eastwood squaring off against some black hatted goon outside on main street of a decaying, rotting ol' western town.

published 03.06.2013 | Comments (2)

Found in 1 list
Top lists

Hits total: 1397 | This month: 5