Tomi Koivusaari


1987-1989 Violent Solution - guitar, vocals  
1989- Abhorrence - guitars  
1990-1997 Amorphis - guitars, vocals  
1996-2006 Ajattara - guitars (as Samuel Lempo)  
1997- Amorphis - guitars  
2010- Amorphis - guitars, backing vocals  

Studio musician

1996 Waltari - vocals  

Guest musician

2009 Black Sun Aeon - vocals  

Personal information

Also known as: Samuel Lempo
Born on: 11.04.1973

Tomi Koivusaari is the guitarist and former vocalist of the Finnish metal band Amorphis. He started playing at the age of 14, his first band was Violent Solution formed in 1987, with him on guitars and vocals, Esa Holopainen on guitars and Jan Rechberger on drums. The band played thrash metal, recorded a demo and an EP. He also formed a doom/death metal band called Abhorrence in 1989, and recorded a demo and an EP. Both bands broke up in 1990, but Tomi was not a member of Violent Solution since he formed Abhorrence. In 1990, Tomi, Esa, Jan and bass guitarist Olli-Pekka Laine (who played in Nuxvomica at that time) formed the legendary Amorphis. They started with playing melodic death metal, but after recording two demos, two LPs and two EPs, the started to change their style. The third album (Elegy, 1996) contained much more progressive metal elements than before. Also, a new vocalist joined the band, Pasi Koskinen (from St. Mucus), who remained in the band from 1996 until 2004. They recorded several albums and released two compilations as well. Since mid-2005, the new vocalist is Tomi Joutsen from Sinisthra. In 1996, Tomi formed Ajattara with Pasi Koskinen. He uses the "Samuel Lempo" name in the band.