Rating:
8.7
Peste Noire - L'Ordure A L'Etat Pur
20 May 2011


01. Casse, Pêches, Fractures Et Traditions
02. Cochon Carotte Et Les Surs Crotte
03. J'avais Rêvé Du Nord
04. Sale Famine Von Valfoutre
05. La Condi Hu


Peste Noire's discography is like a game of Russian roulette. Ever since their debut, every single album has insulted a portion of its fans enough to make them leave the club for good. Insanely bad production, crazy vocals, strange genre experiments, a hard to digest avant-garde approach, you name it. The Kommando's infamous leader, Famine, takes risks every single time... spinning the cylinder and handing you the revolver with a grin on his face. L'ordure à L'état pur is the band's latest bullet, threatening your head more than any other of their albums. Oh boy did I almost blow my brains out with this one.

Only five songs clocking around one hour long (so we are talking about long tracks) where there is a large amount of influences and constant progression. Black, folk, post-punk, funk and even techno can be heard along with instruments such as cello, trumpet, accordion and beautiful acoustic guitars. All this accompanied with Peste Noire's classic features: Famine's high-pitched and filthy shouts, beautiful and well composed solos - everything is mixed with the satiric atmosphere that always surrounds the music of these Frenchmen.

Apart from the ambitious songwriting and Famine's ability to glue everything together, one of my favorite things from the album is the use of Audrey Sylvain's vocals (of Amesoeurs fame). Her voice is pure and sincere; it takes me to a different time. Think of a filthy Paris in a Les Misérables setting, the most helpless girl among the harlots of that god-forsaken place, still believing that everything will be alright in the end. Such a bittersweet feeling, together with Famine's scornful attitude, makes this album an extremely bizarre theatre where you laugh at tragedies and cry at comedies. A surprisingly fun carnival that honours filth and insanity.

In true Peste Noire fashion, this is a love-or-hate album. If anything above interested you in any way, I strongly recommend you to check it out. Don't be afraid, take a chance, look death straight in the eye and pull the trigger. You might discover a ridiculous and fun world... or end up on the floor bleeding from disgust.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 


written by Mr. Doctor | 24.12.2011



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 44  
Users visited: 262  
Search this topic:  


bif91 - 24.12.2011 at 23:41  
Great to see a review of the album here on MS, nice job.
When I first heard this I thought I´d never like it, but in some strange way I found it interesting...good, fun & filthy...
Liked the debut, didn´t like the second, enjoyed the third and now I have learned to enjoy this one as well. Feels like I need to give Folkfuck folie another chance.
La condi hu is beautiful.
Troy Killjoy - 24.12.2011 at 23:44  
A Peste Noire review just in time for Christmas. Nicely done, and I totally agree with everything you said (although I would've placed more emphasis on its "fun factor" but that's just me).

I'd rate it a solid point lower but that's a matter of personal taste.
Mr. Doctor - 24.12.2011 at 23:53  
Written by bif91 on 24.12.2011 at 23:41

Liked the debut, didn´t like the second, enjoyed the third and now I have learned to enjoy this one as well. Feels like I need to give Folkfuck folie another chance.

They definitely have hit or miss albums, hence the russian roulette comment... Just like you, Folkfuck is my less favorite (still a quite good album at some moments).

Written by Troy Killjoy on 24.12.2011 at 23:44

A Peste Noire review just in time for Christmas. Nicely done, and I totally agree with everything you said (although I would've placed more emphasis on its "fun factor" but that's just me)


I wanted to write so much more to be honest specially the fun factor because it's really an album that you enjoy because it's fun not really because you want to be very serious and think deep about the music. It's just that I wanted to set the image that I always got with this album in particular, which was of a filthy paris where bittersweet moments and flat out laughter met.

I really couldn't come up with words about how I felt about it in terms of fun but I'm pretty satisfied anyways.
Thank you both for the comments, it was a while ago I reviewed... it's hella fun with these sorts of albums.

about the best tracks... I'll go with J'avais rêvé du Nord, wonderful progressions, beautiful acoustic guitars, female vocals and solos... I also love when Famine and Audrey sing together during the last couple of minutes.
Lokaeda - 25.12.2011 at 01:00  
Like I've pointed out before, I have a problem with the lyrics of the 1st song. Some people I know think he's joking, but regarding some lyrics all over his albums, I'm not sure.

Otherwise I agree when you say it's a love/hate album. I personnaly like Folkfuck and La Sanie more
Mr. Doctor - 25.12.2011 at 01:05  
Written by Lokaeda on 25.12.2011 at 01:00

Like I've pointed out before, I have a problem with the lyrics of the 1st song. Some people I know think he's joking, but regarding some lyrics all over his albums, I'm not sure.


I personaly don't care about the lyrics and also don't really see him as racist, let alone nazi, that would be kind of absurd considering the bassist is asian as far as I know... Dude is just nationalistic (plus he has commented on the whole nazi thing a lot of times and I believe him).

Considering the always present satiric-vibe, He's just joking. Nothing to make a fuss about imo. Although I'm pretty sure he doesn't like communism xD but I think that's all there is to it.
ß - 25.12.2011 at 07:03  
Seeing as it's Christmas and, and I'm in a jolly mood and all I shall give this a try. I'm not expecting much seeing as Peste Noire bores me to tears, but who knows... maybe it'll surprise me.
Mikyz - 25.12.2011 at 08:48  
I love it, can't recommend this enough cause you know even though their sound changes every album the guitar work is always as addicting.
Mr. Doctor - 25.12.2011 at 13:50  
Written by ß on 25.12.2011 at 07:03

Seeing as it's Christmas and, and I'm in a jolly mood and all I shall give this a try. I'm not expecting much seeing as Peste Noire bores me to tears, but who knows... maybe it'll surprise me.

Highly recommend the whole third (and longest) track, it has all the elements I mentioned and gives the whole picture. It's definitely a surprising album but surprise can mean many things

Written by Mikyz on 25.12.2011 at 08:48

I love it, can't recommend this enough cause you know even though their sound changes every album the guitar work is always as addicting.

Yeah I have become quite the fan of the man's riffs, solos, leads and overall guitar work. The acustic parts are just sweet and when he does those same melodies on electric guitar I just go all "aaaawwww yeeeaaaaahhh".
Slayer666 - 25.12.2011 at 13:54  
One of the most confusing albums I've ever come across. I still have no idea what to think about it.
Mr. Doctor - 25.12.2011 at 14:19  
Written by Slayer666 on 25.12.2011 at 13:54

One of the most confusing albums I've ever come across. I still have no idea what to think about it.


I think that's good in the long run... Better an album that leaves you an impression (both bad or good) that something leaving you completely indifferent.
Unhealer - 25.12.2011 at 15:28  
I didn't know Peste Noire was among the avant-garde ranks, I thought it was just trve kvlt black metal.

I have to check this out, the review got me interested
Mr. Doctor - 25.12.2011 at 15:33  
Written by Unhealer on 25.12.2011 at 15:28

I didn't know Peste Noire was among the avant-garde ranks, I thought it was just trve kvlt black metal.
I have to check this out, the review got me interested


I never saw them as a "trve BM" band... Their previous one had also a lot of folky and some avantgarde passages. Their first two are more BM in the usual way with the first one having lots of solos and acoustic moments and the second one being pretty noisy. They change way too often to be trve
Glad that my review is getting people interested to check it out.
Unhealer - 25.12.2011 at 20:01  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.12.2011 at 15:33

Written by Unhealer on 25.12.2011 at 15:28

I didn't know Peste Noire was among the avant-garde ranks, I thought it was just trve kvlt black metal.
I have to check this out, the review got me interested


I never saw them as a "trve BM" band... Their previous one had also a lot of folky and some avantgarde passages. Their first two are more BM in the usual way with the first one having lots of solos and acoustic moments and the second one being pretty noisy. They change way too often to be trve
Glad that my review is getting people interested to check it out.


I thought it was TKBM but only because I heard just one random song and sounded like that, so don't worry I'll try to check this out before the year ends.
ß - 25.12.2011 at 20:05  
I can't believe I'm saying this but... I somewhat enjoyed this. La condi hu and J'avais rêvé du Nord were quite solid.
Troy Killjoy - 25.12.2011 at 20:20  
Written by Unhealer on 25.12.2011 at 15:28
I didn't know Peste Noire was among the avant-garde ranks...

I wouldn't go so far as to suggest they're avant-garde. They've basically gone from more traditional black metal to incorporating punk elements into their sound.
Unhealer - 25.12.2011 at 20:23  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.12.2011 at 20:20

I wouldn't go so far as to suggest they're avant-garde. They've basically gone from more traditional black metal to incorporating punk elements into their sound.


Well, Darkthrone did that and I loved it, does it sound something like Circle the Wagons?
Troy Killjoy - 25.12.2011 at 20:25  
Written by Unhealer on 25.12.2011 at 20:23
Well, Darkthrone did that and I loved it, does it sound something like Circle the Wagons?

Not even close to be honest. Darkthrone adopted a crust punk sound, whereas Peste Noire is more like a... a more raw version of Amesoeurs and a more angry Lifelover.
Mr. Doctor - 25.12.2011 at 20:36  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.12.2011 at 20:25

Not even close to be honest. Darkthrone adopted a crust punk sound, whereas Peste Noire is more like a... a more raw version of Amesoeurs and a more angry Lifelover.

Not to mention that the punk sound is the post-punk kind of sound... not the crust-punk sound

Written by ß on 25.12.2011 at 20:05

I can't believe I'm saying this but... I somewhat enjoyed this. La condi hu and J'avais rêvé du Nord were quite solid.

Those two along with the first track are my favorites. Specially J'avais rêvé du Nord which is the most complete one with everything described in the review Love both the female, black vocals and when they interact with each other in the last couple of minutes of the track. The acoustic melodies that later are played again with an electric guitar) are pretty boss too.
Troy Killjoy - 25.12.2011 at 20:37  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.12.2011 at 20:36
Not to mention that the punk sound is the post-punk kind of sound... not the crust-punk sound

Exactly, which is something more apparent in those other bands. And Joyless (who all but abandoned the black metal elements of yore) do post-punk justice. If you like female vocals of course.
Unhealer - 25.12.2011 at 20:50  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.12.2011 at 20:36

Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.12.2011 at 20:25

Written by Unhealer on 25.12.2011 at 20:23
Well, Darkthrone did that and I loved it, does it sound something like Circle the Wagons?

Not even close to be honest. Darkthrone adopted a crust punk sound, whereas Peste Noire is more like a... a more raw version of Amesoeurs and a more angry Lifelover.


Not to mention that the punk sound is the post-punk kind of sound... not the crust-punk sound


I just checked some songs and yeah, I was reminded of Amesoeurs. Which is fucking awesome.
Why did that project have to die after just one record...
Mr. Doctor - 25.12.2011 at 20:51  
Written by Unhealer on 25.12.2011 at 20:50
Why did that project have to die after just one record...


Amesoeurs could have been so much more tbh... Sad indeed.
Merchant of Doom - 26.12.2011 at 12:03  
Written by Unhealer on 25.12.2011 at 20:50


Why did that project have to die after just one record...


So they don't produce more shit... Jokes apart, I'm in the hate camp as far as this is concerned... so much energy wasted in useless bits. Cut the crap out and this could have been a splendid album. But some people are too pretentious, aren't they?

EDIT: forgot to say that the nationalism elements are pretty repugnant...
BloodTears - 26.12.2011 at 22:03  
Are you feeling suicidal? ahah Just based on the last line of the review.

Probably not something I would like, but I do admit my curiosity.
Mr. Doctor - 26.12.2011 at 22:06  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 26.12.2011 at 12:03
But some people are too pretentious, aren't they?

I suppose that was aimed at Famine, uh?

I totally see why people would hate this though.
Marcel Hubregtse - 26.12.2011 at 22:08  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.12.2011 at 22:06

I totally see why people would hate this though.


Yeah, because it's totally not good at all
Mr. Doctor - 26.12.2011 at 22:09  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.12.2011 at 22:08

Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.12.2011 at 22:06

I totally see why people would hate this though.

Yeah, because it's totally not good at all


Now my review is complete! I needed your classic rant.

Written by BloodTears on 26.12.2011 at 22:03

Are you feeling suicidal? ahah Just based on the last line of the review.
Probably not something I would like, but I do admit my curiosity.

Hhahahaha Not really... I'm fine.... I think
Merchant of Doom - 27.12.2011 at 11:03  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.12.2011 at 22:06

Written by Merchant of Doom on 26.12.2011 at 12:03
But some people are too pretentious, aren't they?

I suppose that was aimed at Famine, uh?

I totally see why people would hate this though.



yes, it was aimed at Famine...
Mr. Doctor - 27.12.2011 at 13:06  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 27.12.2011 at 11:03
yes, it was aimed at Famine...


Hhahah yeah I was acting kind of dumb up there. I just have this way of thinking: I don't give a crap if people like the album or not, if the review is well written then it's all that matters to me.
Merchant of Doom - 27.12.2011 at 16:03  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 27.12.2011 at 13:06

Written by Merchant of Doom on 27.12.2011 at 11:03
yes, it was aimed at Famine...


Hhahah yeah I was acting kind of dumb up there. I just have this way of thinking: I don't give a crap if people like the album or not, if the review is well written then it's all that matters to me.



you write good reviews, shame they are about horrible bands...
Mr. Doctor - 27.12.2011 at 16:10  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 27.12.2011 at 16:03
you write good reviews, shame they are about horrible bands...

Hhahahah well that is bound to happen from time to time.
Marcel Hubregtse - 27.12.2011 at 16:14  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 27.12.2011 at 16:10

Written by Merchant of Doom on 27.12.2011 at 16:03
you write good reviews, shame they are about horrible bands...

Hhahahah well that is bound to happen from time to time.


Your problem is you like crappy bands such as Peste Noire
Mr. Doctor - 27.12.2011 at 16:16  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 27.12.2011 at 16:14
Your problem is you like crappy bands such as Peste Noire


I'll try to redeem myself by working on a Sonne Adam review.
Marcel Hubregtse - 27.12.2011 at 16:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 27.12.2011 at 16:16

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 27.12.2011 at 16:14
Your problem is you like crappy bands such as Peste Noire


I'll try to redeem myself by working on a Sonne Adam review.


Good boy
Merchant of Doom - 27.12.2011 at 16:38  
Something like this would do...


Marcel Hubregtse - 27.12.2011 at 17:21  
Sigh generic extreme doom once again. Nothing special going on there.
Mr. Doctor - 27.12.2011 at 17:34  
Merchant: You really don't want me to do a review of that ahahhahah.
Merchant of Doom - 27.12.2011 at 18:10  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 27.12.2011 at 17:21

Sigh generic extreme doom once again. Nothing special going on there.


ok, you can listen to Peste Noire instead... couldn't find anything else with a slower intro... it was only to annoy our Doctor... I quite like it, though...
Merchant of Doom - 27.12.2011 at 18:12  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 27.12.2011 at 17:34

Merchant: You really don't want me to do a review of that ahahhahah.


no, not really... I'm not THAT nasty...
Unhealer - 29.12.2011 at 20:26  
Thank god you reviewed this before the year ends. Loving this album, definitely among the bests of the year.
psychofrench - 02.01.2012 at 14:41  
This is my favorite album of 2011, and probably my favorite of the past 5 years or so. So much could be said about it, but one thing is true, Famine takes his music extremely seriously and a lot of thinking was put into that album. Getting into the lyrics is definitively a plus on this album, even the way he spells the words (Which you can't hear while listening anyways) gives you a different perspective on the music. It seems to me that very few bands nowadays are putting that much effort in their creations and I respect Famine for doing it with PN.
Growing - 26.02.2012 at 22:22  
Very good review.
Alex Fenger - 02.02.2013 at 19:10  
This review is bad and you should feel bad
I really don't understand the fascination with this album though. It feels like a jumbled mess of incoherent bad black metal. I'd give it around a 4 or 3
Mr. Doctor - 02.02.2013 at 22:16  
Written by Alex Fenger on 02.02.2013 at 19:10

This review is bad and you should feel bad
I really don't understand the fascination with this album though. It feels like a jumbled mess of incoherent bad black metal. I'd give it around a 4 or 3


I hardly see any black metal in it to be honest. Fuck you man, my review is cute, it's just about an album you don't like.
Ellrohir - 02.02.2013 at 22:21  
This album is brilliant...dunno, ppl seems to expect just some Immortal-like poses and Mayhem-like music from black metal, but it can have various shapes and forms...the first song itself is priceless and totally worth it

btw: have you noticed this Opeth-like riff in it? around 2:00 and after

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Peste Noire - L'Ordure A L'Etat Pur 10.5 22.05.2011 by Lokaeda
Reviews Peste Noire - La Sanie Des Siècles - Panégyrique De La Dégénéresc 5.5 05.03.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Extreme metal forum Peste Noire - 3rd album probably in a few weeks. 4.5 02.05.2007 by -tom-
Albums Peste Noire - La Sanie Des Siècles - Panégyrique De La Dégénéresc 4.5 11.06.2010 by Got Mayhem?
Albums Peste Noire - Les Larmes Du Tyran 4.5 21.11.2010 by Array



Hits total: 4391 | This month: 51