Rating:
9.5
Woods Of Ypres - Against The Seasons: Cold Winter Songs From The Dead Summer Heat [EP]
October 2002


01. Intro: The Shams Of Optimism
02. Crossing The 45th Parallel
03. The Sea Of Immeasurable Loss
04. A Meeting Place And Time
05. Awaiting The Inevitable


Woods Of Ypres is by far one of my favourite bands, regardless of their state, whether it be their black metal phase, or their melodic doom phase. I truly love all of their releases.

This album is the first of the iconic (and my favourite) band; the EP itself clocks in at just over 30 minutes with five tracks, which is quite long for an EP. However, for an ADHD-riddled teen like myself, it is the perfect length to keep me interested. Now for those who are familiar with new Woods, such as The Green album or Woods IV, you may be disappointed with this release, as it is in the area of black metal, and not the melodic doom most of you are probably used to hearing from Woods Of Ypres. Yes, it's certainly not Tr00 or Kvlt Black Metal, but with tremolo guitar and raspy vocals, it gets the job done.

The music contained within this EP is dark and nasty. It is black metal. Blasting drums and vocals that make me want to die, just die… die and fade away, without ever being remembered or even cared for, it is very, very depressing. The guitars follow along the same lines, depressing, low, and filled with woe. The album does not have a lot of variation; however it still manages to keep you interested in dark and nasty riffs. And, vicious, droning drums. This is wonderfully saddening, especially listening after David's passing.

Another thing one may notice upon listening is that David does not sing or do vocals in this effort, nor does he play guitar or piano. No he simply drums, however he was still the main writer of the music. That being said, the growls of Brian McManus and the cleans of Aaron Palmer are simply stunning: they certainly show the emotion of this music.

Overall, I was very impressed with this first effort. My kudos goes out to the band, and of course… Rest In Peace David.

Highlights - Everything

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Woods Of Ypres
Album: Against The Seasons: Cold Winter Songs From The Dead Summer Heat


 


written by BoxCar Willy | 08.03.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 79  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 08.03.2012 at 21:21  
This is actually a really nice EP, although I'd probably give it a low-to-mid-eight.

And not to start a flame war, but I don't think many people would refer to this band as "iconic".
Grimskallen - 08.03.2012 at 21:22  
Love this release to bits. A meeting place and time is my favourite song perhaps ever. I did lack some description of the actual playing and sound in your review. Great riffs, melodies, lovely blasting agresssive drums and screams but still melodic. Am I the only one that hears Ulver (bergtatt) and maybe even agalloch (pale folklore) influence? At least some sort of subtle dark melodic almost folk like sound at times. Btw I wrote this in a plane on an iPod...
BoxCar Willy - 08.03.2012 at 21:23  
Quote:
Quote:
Written by Troy Killjoy on 08.03.2012 at 21:21

This is actually a really nice EP, although I'd probably give it a low-to-mid-eight.

Yay!

And not to start a flame war, but I don't think many people would refer to this band as "iconic".


>.> All That matters is that I do.


BoxCar Willy - 08.03.2012 at 21:25  
Written by Grimskallen on 08.03.2012 at 21:22

Love this release to bits. A meeting place and time is my favourite song perhaps ever. I did lack some description of the actual playing and sound in your review. Great riffs, melodies, lovely blasting agresssive drums and screams but still melodic. Am I the only one that hears Ulver (bergtatt) and maybe even agalloch (pale folklore) influence? At least some sort of subtle dark melodic almost folk like sound at times. Btw I wrote this in a plane on an iPod...

I always go on this site with my Ipod

I also hear a slight Agalloch influence, but this is fairly original.
Grimskallen - 08.03.2012 at 21:41  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 08.03.2012 at 21:25


I also hear a slight Agalloch influence, but this is fairly original.

Agreed, to me this release is a fine balance of ferocious fast tremelo picking, screams, relentless drumming and parts that are cleaner, slower even acoustic and clean vox flow great. On a side note, fans of this EP/demo, whatever it is should check out NOBMPS. See David Gold profile for full band title, it sees him and Aaron (bassist, clean singer here) make music again.
Doc Godin - 10.03.2012 at 21:01  
I really can't see this as anything but just an all-out fanboy moment. Yeah, it's an ok EP, but let's be honest with ourselves here; 9.5? Seriously? It is a nice debut, but it's really not anything to lose your shit over. I remember buying this CD when I first started getting into black metal in early-mid 2005, and even then, to my inexperienced ears, this sounded incredibly typical and overdone.
BoxCar Willy - 10.03.2012 at 21:45  
Written by Doc Godin on 10.03.2012 at 21:01

I really can't see this as anything but just an all-out fanboy moment. Yeah, it's an ok EP, but let's be honest with ourselves here; 9.5? Seriously? It is a nice debut, but it's really not anything to lose your shit over. I remember buying this CD when I first started getting into black metal in early-mid 2005, and even then, to my inexperienced ears, this sounded incredibly typical and overdone.

There might be some fanboyism here, but this is still a very good BM release.

Hell even Troy likes it.

edit: NON-FANBOY RATING OF 8.7
Doc Godin - 12.03.2012 at 22:51  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 10.03.2012 at 21:45

edit: NON-FANBOY RATING OF 8.7

Even that seems a little high to me. A strong 7-7.5 is what I always had this album set at in my head.

Eye ear of the beholder I suppose, as while reading your review, I feel like I'm hearing a much different album than what you're describing.
BoxCar Willy - 13.03.2012 at 00:19  
Written by Doc Godin on 12.03.2012 at 22:51

Written by BoxCar Willy on 10.03.2012 at 21:45

edit: NON-FANBOY RATING OF 8.7

Even that seems a little high to me. A strong 7-7.5 is what I always had this album set at in my head.

Eye ear of the beholder I suppose, as while reading your review, I feel like I'm hearing a much different album than what you're describing.

I supose it's probably because I enjoy the lighter, folkier side of BM, which is why this was so appealing to me.
Troy Killjoy - 13.03.2012 at 00:22  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 10.03.2012 at 21:45
Hell even Troy likes it.

I'd probably give it an 8 or 8.3. It's definitely not the best album I've heard, it's not revolutionary, and it's not really original either. But the atmosphere is nice and the songwriting keeps me entertained.
hadriel - 24.05.2012 at 19:38  
Sea of Immeasureable Loss is a friggin beast of a track. Going back and listening to this makes me realize just how much I enjoyed their old material vs. newer stuff
BoxCar Willy - 13.12.2012 at 05:14  
Still agree with the original rating and review 100% this is my favourite black metal release ever. It never gets old.
Mr. Doctor - 13.12.2012 at 16:47  
Meh... I have close to no experience with this band so I'm not biased in any way. I just can't understand how this could get a 9,5... and I know it's about tastes and blablabla but I don't mean that. I mean that your review doesn't tell me why this EP is near perfection. I would have say this regardless if I loved this band or not.

It's 7ish stuff. Nice but nothing else. A hell of a lot of Ulver (Bergtatt that is) influence can be found here in the more BM moments.
Marcel Hubregtse - 13.12.2012 at 17:02  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 13.12.2012 at 16:47

Meh... I have close to no experience with this band so I'm not biased in any way. I just can't understand how this could get a 9,5... and I know it's about tastes and blablabla but I don't mean that. I mean that your review doesn't tell me why this EP is near perfection. I would have say this regardless if I loved this band or not.

It's 7ish stuff. Nice but nothing else. A hell of a lot of Ulver (Bergtatt that is) influence can be found here in the more BM moments.

woods Of Ypres are renowned for ripping off other bands. Here it's Ulver and on their doomy stuff it's newer Paradise Lost and newer Katatonia.
Mr. Doctor - 13.12.2012 at 17:04  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.12.2012 at 17:02
woods Of Ypres are renowned for ripping off other bands. Here it's Ulver and on their doomy stuff it's newer Paradise Lost and newer Katatonia.


Considering how well known these guys are... I wonder how many people actually realise those facts. And how many out of those actually know but are in denial.
Marcel Hubregtse - 13.12.2012 at 17:11  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 13.12.2012 at 17:04


Considering how well known these guys are... I wonder how many people actually realise those facts. And how many out of those actually know but are in denial.

we know Tanner is in denial since he considers David Gold as his Jesus/God
BoxCar Willy - 24.12.2012 at 02:01  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.12.2012 at 17:02

Woods Of Ypres are renowned for ripping off other bands. Here it's Ulver and on their doomy stuff it's newer Paradise Lost and newer Katatonia.


Woods Black > Ulver

Woods Doom > Katatonia
BoxCar Willy - 24.12.2012 at 05:33  
Written by Guest on 24.12.2012 at 05:27

Bergtatt and brave murder day shit all over anything this band ever produced
not sure about mediocrity deserving a 9.5 but it's all opinion i guess

Well obviously I disagree, but I have more of a personal connection with this album than most people. The Canadiana here is something I relate to daily. It's just an emotional album for me.

Too bad for the awful review though, agree ten-fold with rating though.

Always thought of Ulver as fairly boring ( I liked their album with the super harsh production, it's name has slipped my mind), and never liked Katatonia or PL.
Marcel Hubregtse - 24.12.2012 at 12:01  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 24.12.2012 at 02:01

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.12.2012 at 17:02

Woods Of Ypres are renowned for ripping off other bands. Here it's Ulver and on their doomy stuff it's newer Paradise Lost and newer Katatonia.


Woods Black > Ulver

Woods Doom > Katatonia


you such a funny fanboy
Mr. Doctor - 24.12.2012 at 12:07  
Hahahahahahahahahahahah. That is all.
Alex Fenger - 24.12.2012 at 12:12  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.12.2012 at 12:01

Written by BoxCar Willy on 24.12.2012 at 02:01


Woods Black > Ulver

Woods Doom > Katatonia


you such a funny fanboy

What Marcel said
BoxCar Willy - 24.12.2012 at 20:03  
Sorry I have a different opinion than you all.

I honestly love every track on this album. I listen to it daily without getting bored. There's not much else that is at that level.



My itunes shows 287 plays of this album. I still think it's as amazing as when I first heard it. SO if that's not worthy of a 9.5, I don't think anything on this site, or in the world is.
Mr. Doctor - 25.12.2012 at 03:13  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 24.12.2012 at 20:03
Sorry I have a different opinion than you all.


I find no problem with that tbh... But here's something that bugs me a tiny bit: You say you still agree with everything you wrote (nothing wrong on that)... But also the rating.

The thing is... Originality: 9

Really? That's actually beyond "just opinions". Even a fanboy of any band should be objective enough to see that his/her favorite band isn't particularly original. 6-7 on that section seems fair.
BoxCar Willy - 25.12.2012 at 03:37  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.12.2012 at 03:13

Written by BoxCar Willy on 24.12.2012 at 20:03
Sorry I have a different opinion than you all.


I find no problem with that tbh... But here's something that bugs me a tiny bit: You say you still agree with everything you wrote (nothing wrong on that)... But also the rating.

The thing is... Originality: 9

Really? That's actually beyond "just opinions". Even a fanboy of any band should be objective enough to see that his/her favorite band isn't particularly original. 6-7 on that section seems fair.

Well I disagree with that, I was a BM n00b when this was written, but It's not like it's horribly ripped off. More like influenced.

Were not talking about a Metallica - Eviel connection here.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Woods Of Ypres - Against The Seasons: Cold Winter Songs From The Dead Summer Heat [EP] 19.5 05.03.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Woods Of Ypres - Woods III: The Deepest Roots And Darkest Blues 11 30.04.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Woods Of Ypres - Woods IV: The Green Album 11 02.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Emmure - Speaker Of The Dead 7.5 07.01.2012 by Void Eater
Reviews Red Fang - Murder The Mountains 6 28.04.2012 by Fredd



Hits total: 2210 | This month: 44