Kauan - Pirut review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.6

120 users:
8.27
Band: Kauan
Album: Pirut
Release date: December 2013


01. I
02. II
03. III
04. IV
05. V
06. VI
07. VII
08. VIII


In February, 2013, while Kauan was mixing the album in their hometown of Chelyabinsk, Russia, an asteroid entered the Earth's atmosphere and crashed into the area. This caused production delays and put a hold on finishing the album, until the band was certain that they and their family members had not contracted radiation poisoning. The experience of the meteor was the main inspiration for the album's cover and inner artwork. Excerpt from the band's website.

Their music might as well be coming from the skies. Kauan can be described as an eclectic mix of post rock, folk, classical music and funeral doom. Pirut may be the Finnish word for "devils" but the result is a single 39-minute heavenly composition full of wonders. The Russian band has been around since 2005 and this is already their fifth full-length album.

I am not sure how I managed to never hear of them before since Kauan combine all the musical elements that appeal to me. From the haunting atmospheres to the ethereal guitar riffs and with influences ranging from Pink Floyd to Anathema to Alcest to Moonsorrow, this band manages to surprise me at every turn. The vocals are sung in Finnish adding to the folk vibe. The first listen was an amazing experience. The second listen was no less rewarding. It is one of those albums that make you take an amazing mind trip. The main force behind the project Anton "Hvar" Belov has some serious composition skills. On top of a piano, instruments such as violins, a viola or an oboe give another dimension to their music. It is all cleverly done. The prowess in merging classical music with their main sound reminds me of another great band named Virgin Black.

If you like your music on the quiet side while full of emotion, this album is for you. Pirut is the perfect album for a rainy night or when in a relaxing mood. Folk, post rock, and doom. Seriously, what's not to like?


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 28.12.2013 by Bringing you reviews of quality music and interesting questions such as:

"A picture is worth a thousand words. How many words is a song worth?"

I have only got so much patience and skills, you do the math.


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 263 users
29.12.2013 - 03:47
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Classical music and funeral doom, you say? Anything like Elysian Blaze?
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 07:47
Monolithic
♠♠♠
Written by Apothecary on 29.12.2013 at 03:47

Anything like Elysian Blaze?

Only a few similarities, as far as I can remember. But in the long run, Pirut hardly matches the bitterness and eerieness of Elysian Blaze.
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 11:45
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Apothecary on 29.12.2013 at 03:47
Classical music and funeral doom, you say? Anything like Elysian Blaze?


What made you thought of that besides the classical music comments? They are miles appart, to be honest. Both in music and emotions involved. Great stuff though. Very relaxing.
Whole album here.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 15:01
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.12.2013 at 11:45

Written by Apothecary on 29.12.2013 at 03:47
Classical music and funeral doom, you say? Anything like Elysian Blaze?


What made you thought of that besides the classical music comments? They are miles appart, to be honest. Both in music and emotions involved. Great stuff though. Very relaxing.
Whole album here.

He mentioned the blend of the two, so that immediately brought to mind Mutatiis' dark, neoclassical-laden funeral doom to me. I've never heard this band before, so that's a simple correlation to make from just reading a description of the album without having yet heard the music, no?
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 15:03
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Apothecary on 29.12.2013 at 15:01
He mentioned the blend of the two, so that immediately brought to mind Mutatiis' dark, neoclassical-laden funeral doom to me. I've never heard this band before, so that's a simple correlation to make from just reading a description of the album without having yet heard the music, no?


Well, reading further you get this "influences ranging from Pink Floyd to Anathema to Alcest to Moonsorrow". Not to mention the lighter post-rock and folk sounds involved. So I think it's clear that this is definitely not a dark album.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 15:56
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.12.2013 at 15:03

Well, reading further you get this "influences ranging from Pink Floyd to Anathema to Alcest to Moonsorrow". Not to mention the lighter post-rock and folk sounds involved. So I think it's clear that this is definitely not a dark album.

Yeah, I'm listening now, definitely no Mutatiis vibes to be found here
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 17:57
Erik M.
Written by Apothecary on 29.12.2013 at 03:47

Classical music and funeral doom, you say? Anything like Elysian Blaze?


It barely has funeral doom, sadly. I was also very excited when I read it but was disappointed when I heard the full album. However, I still agree with the review score here, as I think it's an awesome album.

And like is already said more than once, this is totally different from Elysian Blaze. Almost no similarities at all I'd say.
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 18:01
Erik M.
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.12.2013 at 15:03

definitely not a dark album.


I would even say the opposite of dark. This is ridiculously happy and relaxing music. The extremely few funeral doom parts here aren't nearly enough to call this funeral doom, so it's strange Anton said so.
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 18:30
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Erik M. on 29.12.2013 at 17:57

And like is already said more than once, this is totally different from Elysian Blaze. Almost no similarities at all I'd say.

Speaking of the project, I do believe Mutatiis has another release planned for next year. Another goody to add to your 2014 wishlist
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 18:39
Erik M.
Written by Apothecary on 29.12.2013 at 18:30

Speaking of the project, I do believe Mutatiis has another release planned for next year. Another goody to add to your 2014 wishlist


Thanks for the info. Indeed an album to look forward to, even though I have to admit I haven't spun Blood Geometry nearly as much as I wanted to. However, I ordered the CD last week so it should arrive soon.
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 19:13
Reaper_Redeamer
Asteroids? That's why being musician is a difficult job XD
Loading...
30.12.2013 - 02:16
advent
Good music, but sometimes it gets repetitive but top notch musicianship.
Loading...
02.01.2014 - 20:13
Draugen
A fantastic band. This album was my first experience with Kauan and as soon as I had listened to it I decided to get a hold of the rest of their discography. While all the albums are really good I must say that the debut and Pirut are my personal favorites. The doomy sound in most of the songs as well as the more varied vocal delivery are both nice contrasts to the calmer and more post influenced parts.
Loading...
04.01.2014 - 14:00
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Written by Erik M. on 29.12.2013 at 18:01

Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.12.2013 at 15:03

definitely not a dark album.


I would even say the opposite of dark. This is ridiculously happy and relaxing music.


The way it makes me feel, I'd describe it as a "light in the dark" kind of album. I get an overwhelming sense of hope in times of grief.
Loading...
23.03.2014 - 17:38
Pierre Tombale
This album is back to the golden times of their "early" releases with Lumikuuro being the best one in their discography yet.
I know it is totall subjective, but I like the doom - folk n ambient or doom - folk approach FAR mor than the folk - ambient ones on Aava Tuulen Maa and Kuu..
Loading...
23.10.2015 - 00:32
Demonic Tutor
The Enemy Within
Written by R'Vannith on 04.01.2014 at 14:00

The way it makes me feel, I'd describe it as a "light in the dark" kind of album. I get an overwhelming sense of hope in times of grief.


Well said. It does exactly the same for me.
Loading...

Hits total: 5475 | This month: 39