Babymetal - Metal Resistance review



Reviewer:
9.0

121 users:
6.27
Band: Babymetal
Album: Metal Resistance
Release date: April 2016


01. Road Of Resistance
02. Karate
03. あわだまフィーバー
04. ヤバッ!
05. Amore -蒼星-
06. メタ太郎
07. シンコペーション
08. GJ!
09. Sis. Anger
10. No Rain, No Rainbow
11. Tales Of The Destinies
12. The One


Is it possible to review a band like this without becoming mired interminably in the comically astronomical depths of controversy that dog any and all assessments of them? No, I suppose it isn't. Babymetal are not reviled - they are super infinity-plus-one polarizing to a degree that defies precedent, enough to make dimethyl sulfoxide look like hexane. But now that we've acknowledged as much, let's discuss this album like adults, shall we?

I'll admit that when I first heard "Karate" I laughed like a maniac for the entire four minutes and 25 seconds - not out of derision, but because I could actually feel the fabric of reality tearing itself to shreds around my very being, and in spite of myself I couldn't stop listening to the song. As if Babymetal's very existence weren't cognitively dissonant enough, the psychonauts brought djent into the picture - and, more than that, thrashy djent. Many observers balk at the prospect of crediting Babymetal with anything remotely positive, but Babymetal have a tendency towards cross-genre experimentation that, though more the result of faceless songwriters than an artistic vision of the band itself, nonetheless keeps their albums alive and engaging in unexpected ways.

With the debut behind them as a solid proof-of-concept, Babymetal push themselves into heavier, faster, and more expansive territory on Metal Resistance. The J-pop and metal aspects feel much more complementary and better-integrated this time around; in addition, Su-metal, Moametal, and Yuimetal have become not only much stronger vocalists, but also more comfortable with their unusual mélange of styles. Overall, Metal Resistance boasts catchier, more consistent songwriting than its predecessor, and when paired with bolder performances and a more focused sense of direction, these songs take metal to its most unapologetically melodic fringes. Some of those who derided Babymetal may find Metal Resistance a lot more palatable due to the maturation of sound.

Anyone who can stomach Dragonforce should have no objections to the opener, "Road Of Resistance," previously released as a collaboration with Herman Li and Sam Totman of said epic power-slingers; "Road Of Resistance" perfectly mirrors Dragonforce at every turn, with the ironic twist that these three teenage Japanese girls have deeper voices than both of Dragonforce's vocalists. "Amore" continues in the same lightning-power vein, while "GJ" echoes the fantastic djent of "Karate." The vaguely atmospheric djentronica of "From Dusk Till Dawn" desperately demands some explanation, but the song succeeds to a much greater degree than it should. "Meta Taro" sounds like a cross between Viking Sabaton and a First World War marching song; "Tales Of The Destinies" employs nonstandard time signatures and dueling keyboards and guitars to effectively capture the sound of anime-soundtrack-Haken (with some occasional Gloryhammer-ing splashed in for good measure).

I have to exercise an exorbitant degree of self-restraint so as not to detail the entire album song-by-song, but each individual work has its own personality and reflects another subgenre of metal that no one would have expected to hear in such an ineffable context. I hear Slipknot, Dream Theater, Gojira, and others inexplicably reflected here. Babymetal was a novelty - a highly enjoyable novelty, but a novelty nonetheless; Metal Resistance is a much more serious work, and a much more successful one. I certainly never thought in a million years that I'd ever say that the new Babymetal is better than the new Amon Amarth, much less that the new Babymetal is currently my album of the year, but this is the world we live in now.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 8


 



Written on 01.04.2016 by Reviewing since 2010. Reviewing competently since 2013. More metal than you since before the dawn of 'istry.


Comments page 4 / 4

Comments: 114   Visited by: 860 users
21.04.2016 - 09:14
Danny Thomas
Anime metal music
----
Our children are dead. Burnt in the ruins that were left by war.
Loading...
21.04.2016 - 18:38
caimanjosh
Haha, this music is fun. Good music to listen to in the spring while walking around and admiring the girls in pretty dresses. I suspect that the novelty will wear off and I won't listen to it after a few months have passed, but right now it brings a smile to my face.
Loading...
22.04.2016 - 11:36
Dr. Strawberry
9 ? Why don't make it a 10 ?
Is this guy trying to give Metal Storm a bad name ?
Loading...
22.04.2016 - 20:59
no one
Written by Dr. Strawberry on 22.04.2016 at 11:36

9 ? Why don't make it a 10 ?
Is this guy trying to give Metal Storm a bad name ?


I think it was april fools......MS already has a bad name by letting this band be submitted anyway.
----
nobody
Loading...
22.04.2016 - 21:42
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Written by no one on 22.04.2016 at 20:59

Written by Dr. Strawberry on 22.04.2016 at 11:36

9 ? Why don't make it a 10 ?
Is this guy trying to give Metal Storm a bad name ?


I think it was april fools......MS already has a bad name by letting this band be submitted anyway.


It was always icing on cake when someone doesn't get prank. Like our Mr incorrigible idiot (godyassbuster).
----
Loading...
23.04.2016 - 07:08
Pit_Of_Zombies
I dont post on here at all, i usually just lurk about reading everything. but the fact that this got a 9.0 a staff pick, and there isnt even a mention about the new aborted album anywhere to be found on the home page? d00dz lets be reasonable. what the hell is goin on around here?
Loading...
24.04.2016 - 05:34
Mechaniacal
I love it when a band that has obnoxiously idiotic haters does something good and it makes the haters cry and get unreasonably angry. Get a life, losers.
Loading...
24.04.2016 - 07:50
no one
The butt hurts not just for the baby metal haters it seems.
----
nobody
Loading...
25.04.2016 - 08:45
Dr. Strawberry
Written by no one on 24.04.2016 at 07:50

The butt hurts not just for the baby metal haters it seems.

We don't really hate them indeed, we just thought their performance is ridiculously stupid, that's all. Probably the most-invited cover artists next to Ghost for Metal Hammer made this magazine the biggest loser at all time !
Loading...
25.04.2016 - 08:47
Dr. Strawberry
Written by Mechaniacal on 24.04.2016 at 05:34

I love it when a band that has obnoxiously idiotic haters does something good and it makes the haters cry and get unreasonably angry. Get a life, losers.

We're angry with Anime clowns ? No way. We're laughing actually.
Loading...
26.04.2016 - 06:47
Dr. Strawberry
My upstairs comment is the No.100 comment of this review
Loading...
26.04.2016 - 08:25
Maco
Handbanana
You bitch I wanted to be the No. 100 :'(
----
I'm derp.
Loading...
27.04.2016 - 09:54
Dr. Strawberry
Written by Maco on 26.04.2016 at 08:25

You bitch I wanted to be the No. 100 :'(

Then you've to wait for Mr. Steel to post another masterpiece review like this one.
Loading...
27.04.2016 - 16:22
Dima
Hmmm
Loading...
28.04.2016 - 10:02
Daniell
No, you don't
This band is like Cradle of Filth. Many people will be put off by the vocals, even though the music is quite decent.
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
28.04.2016 - 14:05
hamG
Oh shit, I like it.
Loading...
29.04.2016 - 16:56
Tel3tubby
Just listened to Karate. It's certainly better than everything they've done before, but for me, their music would work best as the first minute of an anime.
Loading...
01.07.2016 - 13:57
RobRadcliffe
Account deleted
Fuckin' 9.0??? You're ill. You rather go and visit a shrink. First of all, 'Babymetal' are NOT musicians. They can't sick, they're yelling or whatever they're doing there on stage. Secondly, they're in a band and they're NOT playing any musical instrument. They have hired random Japanese people to play their shitty music on the background. J-Pop or Japanese Pop is shitty musical genre from Japan that destroying the whole musical industry for the whole musical genres, I didn't noticed yet how K-Pop or Korean pop sucks as well. So, Japanese pop music singing about to give little girls pieces of chocolate are not music. J-Pop and Melodic Death 'Metal'? Hell nope! And the dumbest of all is, that I saw an interview on Loudwire on YouTube, that they've inspired from Metallica. Are they fuckin' insane? Do they know who that fuck Metallica are? They haven't even exist. They weren't even a sperm seeds on their daddies' ball sacks. You're so pitiful to wright a review about this shit and voting it with a fuckin' huge overrated 9.0 per 10! Yes, you're young and 'murican. So go to listen to your fat bitch Meghan Trainor and stop writing shitty reviews for NON metal artists. Why even they signed a contract for a metal label tho? Shame on you young lady!
Loading...
01.07.2016 - 18:21
ScreamingSteelUS
Agent of Steel
Written by Guest on 01.07.2016 at 13:57

Fuckin' 9.0??? You're ill. You rather go and visit a shrink. First of all, 'Babymetal' are NOT musicians. They can't sick, they're yelling or whatever they're doing there on stage. Secondly, they're in a band and they're NOT playing any musical instrument. They have hired random Japanese people to play their shitty music on the background. J-Pop or Japanese Pop is shitty musical genre from Japan that destroying the whole musical industry for the whole musical genres, I didn't noticed yet how K-Pop or Korean pop sucks as well. So, Japanese pop music singing about to give little girls pieces of chocolate are not music. J-Pop and Melodic Death 'Metal'? Hell nope! And the dumbest of all is, that I saw an interview on Loudwire on YouTube, that they've inspired from Metallica. Are they fuckin' insane? Do they know who that fuck Metallica are? They haven't even exist. They weren't even a sperm seeds on their daddies' ball sacks. You're so pitiful to wright a review about this shit and voting it with a fuckin' huge overrated 9.0 per 10! Yes, you're young and 'murican. So go to listen to your fat bitch Meghan Trainor and stop writing shitty reviews for NON metal artists. Why even they signed a contract for a metal label tho? Shame on you young lady!

Did you forget that you already commented on this three months ago to tell me I'm insane?
----
Row, row, fight the power
Djently down the stream

I wonder how you will defend your ludicrous assertions.
Loading...
01.07.2016 - 19:44
Maco
Handbanana
You are insane!!
----
I'm derp.
Loading...
01.07.2016 - 19:50
ScreamingSteelUS
Agent of Steel
Written by Maco on 01.07.2016 at 19:44

You are insane!!

Finally, a professional opinion.
----
Row, row, fight the power
Djently down the stream

I wonder how you will defend your ludicrous assertions.
Loading...
01.07.2016 - 21:42
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Just another 40+ guy who's pissed off seeing his favorite band been included with Babymetal. He really must be proud owner of possessing "MOF" bought back in '86.

Well, he also missed the publication date.
----
Loading...
01.07.2016 - 22:00
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
Gotta love the comment section
----
2016

2017
Loading...
02.07.2016 - 01:12
RobRadcliffe
Account deleted
Metallica is NOT my favorite band. Check out my profile, they're not even into my favorite band list. Yes, I am forty fuckin' three years old. No, I'm not still into the '86 or in general in the 80s area. I'm into Viking, Folk, Pagan, Melodic and Blackest parts of the metal, like: Moonsorrow, Enslaved, Insomnium, Swallow The Sun, Emperor, Kalmah, Tsjuder, etc. I'm not even a Metallica fan, I've never been, since Lars is such an ass-clown so...yeah...
Loading...

Hits total: 17845 | This month: 263