Cannibal Corpse - Red Before Black review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
6.5

84 users:
7.65
Band: Cannibal Corpse
Album: Red Before Black
Release date: November 2017


01. Only One Will Die
02. Red Before Black
03. Code Of The Slashers
04. Shedding My Human Skin
05. Remaimed
06. Firestorm Vengeance
07. Heads Shoveled Off
08. Corpus Delicti
09. Scavenger Consuming Death
10. In The Midst Of Ruin
11. Destroyed Without A Trace
12. Hideous Ichor


The task of writing an original and attention-grabbing review for a new Cannibal Corpse album is almost as hard as trying to make out the sick lyrics Corpsegrinder pours out. Nearly thirty years into their career, the band's sound evolution makes Motörhead look like the pinnacle of variety and diversity. Red Before Black is, as you might have guessed already, the 14th episode in a predictable series of aural horror.

The artwork is again courtesy of long-time collaborator, Vince Locke, who has created another violent design, this time viewed from the eyes of the victim. Back in the day, Cannibal Corpse's gory aesthetics and bloodthirsty imagery, along with sonic brutality and graphic song titles such as "A Skull Full Of Maggots", "I Cum Blood" and "Fucked With A Knife" caught a lot of attention and often resulted in widespread censorship and "Parental Advisory - Explicit Lyrics" warning stickers on the album covers. Today though, this stuff does not contain enough shock value to scare a five-year-old.

Musically, "Only One Will Die" opens the album strongly with ruthless aggression and speed, followed by the title track, which is set to become a mosh-pit mongering anthem. Things slow down a bit with "Code Of The Slashers", the first single released, but only temporarily, before furious pace takes over again. "Firestorm Vengeance" and "In The Midst Of Ruin" both possess some killer riffs and reveal the more technical abilities of the band, while "Scavenger Consuming Death" treats us with some pretty weighty guitar and bass parts. These nice things aside, the feeling of listening to run-of-the-mill, riff-recycling death metal is omnipresent. Not that this came as a surprise, of course.

Cannibal Corpse certainly do not stray from their established formula with this release and there is no indicator whatsoever that they will do so in the foreseeable future. I am all for bands preserving their sound and Red Before Black possesses good pace and a few headbanging-worthy moments, but overall, although there is nothing outright bad about it, it is merely a decent death metal record released by one of the genre's biggest names. Not to be ashamed of it, but nothing to be particularly proud of either since its truly memorable moments can be counted on the fingers of one hand.

Paul Mazurkiewicz said in a recent interview that Red Before Black is "a culmination of the best of Cannibal Corpse, the best of what we've had to offer throughout our whole career". As much as I know that this sort of comments is more or less standard when a new album is coming out, these words strike me as insulting to the band's history.

Hardcore fans feel free to embrace it and you won't be disappointed. You will, however, come across an album that pales in comparison with Kill or Torture if I have to compare it with the band's more recent releases. I will personally stick to my old Cannibal albums, which is exactly how I felt after listening to this year's Obituary and Suffocation releases.

"Predatory impulses controlling our minds,
You make a sound, we'll end your fucking life…"


 



Written on 05.11.2017 by I was into this music when you were still in diapers.


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 253 users
05.11.2017 - 12:45
Coconut Racecar
I agree with everything, really. To me, this is one of their weakest albums. I like it. It's a CC album. But it got boring quickly.

I honestly think better production would have helped a lot. The sound of this album just makes everything blend together.
Loading...
05.11.2017 - 22:09
ScreamingSteelUS
Editor-in-Chief
I listened to it just yesterday and my feelings are quite similar. I have a soft spot for Cannibal Corpse, so mediocre CC is still a lot more listenable to me than, say, the most recent Suffocation or Incantation or Immolation, but I really had to stretch to pick out noteworthy moments. There are a couple of songs I'll come back to, but it's pretty standard stuff overall.
----
Row, row, fight the power
Djently down the stream

I'm the Agent of Steel.
Loading...
05.11.2017 - 22:45
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 05.11.2017 at 22:09

There are a couple of songs I'll come back to

Which ones?

I think the two opening tracks and "Scavenger" are pretty cool, but I rarely go back to an album if I don't want to listen to it in its entirety. I've already gone through this about 15 times, so I'm pretty sure I'm done.
----
on and on south of heaven

Loading...
05.11.2017 - 23:36
ScreamingSteelUS
Editor-in-Chief
Written by nikarg on 05.11.2017 at 22:45

Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 05.11.2017 at 22:09

There are a couple of songs I'll come back to

Which ones?

I think the two opening tracks and "Scavenger" are pretty cool, but I rarely go back to an album if I don't want to listen to it in its entirety. I've already gone through this about 15 times, so I'm pretty sure I'm done.

15 times? That's dedication. Usually I listen to an album 4-7 times for a review. The first two tracks stand out, but I also liked "Heads Shoveled Off" and "Destroyed Without a Trace," if I recall correctly.
----
Row, row, fight the power
Djently down the stream

I'm the Agent of Steel.
Loading...
06.11.2017 - 01:01
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 05.11.2017 at 23:36

15 times? That's dedication. Usually I listen to an album 4-7 times for a review.

I tried really hard to like it
Jokes aside, I usually listen to an album at least 10 times before writing about it. Unless it's something really awful, for example everything Geoff Tate has done during this decade; in this case a couple of spins is enough before the recycle bin.
----
on and on south of heaven

Loading...
06.11.2017 - 01:25
flightoficarus
Stamp Tramp
I actually really enjoyed both this and A Skeletal Domain. Coming from an upbringing more grounded in melodeath, I hear more elements of that leaking in and it just speaks to me more than the pure brutal death style.
----
Daily underground metal recommendations at Metal Trenches.
Loading...
06.11.2017 - 18:15
Aquad
Written by Coconut Racecar on 05.11.2017 at 12:45


I honestly think better production would have helped a lot. The sound of this album just makes everything blend together.


Can't agree with that. The production is the best they ever had. Take some good headphones, and listen to a few seconds from every album since 2006 till now right after each other. You will clearly notice the raise of sound quality, as well as better mixing and masterering with every album. If you take Skeletal Domain aside, which had a different producer (but sounded great anyway), listen to the step from Torture to Red Before Black. There are WORLDS between the sound of those albums. On RBB, you can clearly listen to each instrument seperatly without any problems, the vocals blend in nicely without beeing to thin or to present. The overall balance is just on another level. Torture sounds quite mashed together in direct comparison.
Loading...
07.11.2017 - 15:42
Neoxx07
Isn't that bad, but for me torture and skeletal were better.
Loading...
07.11.2017 - 17:45
Bad English
Masterchief
I like your revievs, I like a fact you add some artistic values into it such as, part of song lyric quotes in to end, its original(not 21) idea. I like it, its awesome.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
10.11.2017 - 19:52
dimmu429
Fast, catchy, loved the thrash elements. Overall great album.
Loading...
10.11.2017 - 21:03
Metal Ern
This feels more thrashy than anything they have done in a long time. Less blasting, though still death metal. It doesn't sound like Torture or the other recent albums from this lineup. A solid 8 after a few listens.
Loading...
16.11.2017 - 10:34
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Written by nikarg on 06.11.2017 at 01:01

Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 05.11.2017 at 23:36

15 times? That's dedication. Usually I listen to an album 4-7 times for a review.

I usually listen to an album at least 10 times before writing about it.


In my case, it depends. I follow a simple flow chart which as follows -

If I liked the record, it continuously goes on for many days. But if I don't, I shut it up in 3-4 listens. For writing, I get an essence in 6-7 spins.
----
Loading...

Hits total: 3110 | This month: 3110