Departure Chandelier - Antichrist Rise To Power review



Reviewer:
N/A

12 users:
7.08
Band: Departure Chandelier
Album: Antichrist Rise To Power
Release date: February 2019


01. Intro (Napoleon's Sword)
02. Life Escaping Through The Candle's Smoke
03. Forever Faithful To The Emperor
04. Catacombs Beneath The Castle Of The Marquis
05. Departure Chandelier
06. A Sacrifice To The Corsica Antichrist
07. Re-Establish The Black Rule Of France
08. Outro (Exile On The Jagged Cliffs Of Saint Helena)


As big a fan I am of history-based albums, there are certain topics within this realm that have been hammered out virtually to death in the metal community. But a black metal concept album about Napoleon? Now there's something you don't get every day.

Departure Chandelier are an international black metal band, with members split between New York and Canada. Although Antichrist Rise To Power, their full length debut, is a 2019 release, it has much earlier roots, being recorded about a decade ago and thus even preceding their 2011 demo. As a quick glance at the album's cover and track titles would suggest, here Departure Chandelier have crafted, as their Bandcamp page for the release puts it "a violent declaration of allegiance to the Emperor's dominion." This manifests in epic tales of Mr. Bonaparte's triumphs and death in isolation, complemented by a mostly midtempo black metal delivery further enhanced by a simple yet effective use of synths.

Overall Antichrist Rise To Power is more original for its thematic concept than for the music itself, but what the compositions may lack in the creativity department they more than make up for in the catchiness factor. Indeed, the more moderate tempo throughout the bulk of the album opens the door for quite a satisfying sense of rhythm and groove entering the picture. Perhaps not to the point of a band such as, say, Melechesh, but at least to the point where you're likely to get some of the riffs here stuck in your head for a few days after listening ("Life Escaping Through The Candle's Smoke" and "Re-Establish The Black Rule Of France" are particularly satisfying). Additionally, the use of synths adds an almost neoclassical sense of melody to the compositions that not only keeps Departure Chandelier from becoming "just another raw black metal band," but that also serves as a great reinforcer of the whole French/Napoleon theme.

While it likely isn't about to shake up the black metal scene with any groundbreaking new ideas, Antichrist Rise To Power is nonetheless a very well written and memorable album, one that may deceive with its relative simplicity on the first listen, as there's far more going on to the compositions and concept here than may initially meet the eye (err...ear). My only real complaint with this album, as a nerd for history, is that with a theme so grandiose and interesting as the life of Napoleon, the band hasn't included lyrics anywhere (at least to my present knowledge). So as something of a personal note to Departure Chandelier, please keep up the great work and if you all continue to go in the direction of French history, this guy would definitely welcome a lyrics booklet with the next release!

Entrer au Palais Bonaparte.


 



Written on 09.04.2019 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 10   [ 1 ignored ]   Visited by: 219 users
09.04.2019 - 20:15
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Damn I remember playing the Napoleon campaign in Rise Of Nations: Thrones And Patriots
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
09.04.2019 - 20:19
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
If only there was a subgenre of black metal dedicated to praising an European ruler who took over most of Europe but not the British Isles and made the mistake of invading Russia
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
09.04.2019 - 20:20
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 09.04.2019 at 20:15

Damn I remember playing the Napoleon campaign in Rise Of Nations: Thrones And Patriots

It'd be really cool to see more bands tackling historical themes from around that time period on their albums. Seems like with history-themed metal albums the focus is either on ancient history or contemporary history. Coverage of that space in between seems a lot harder to come by, which is probably a big part of why I'm enjoying this so much.
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
09.04.2019 - 22:22
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
Written by RaduP on 09.04.2019 at 20:19

If only there was a subgenre of black metal dedicated to praising an European ruler who took over most of Europe but not the British Isles and made the mistake of invading Russia

Yeah, total history-based black metal that would be. I bet Che would like that subgenre a lot!
----
2016 - 2017
2018 - 2019
Loading...
09.04.2019 - 23:27
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Karlabos on 09.04.2019 at 22:22

Yeah, total history-based black metal that would be. I bet Che would like that subgenre a lot!

You bet your ass I would
I dunno, the Meads already do a pretty great job at scratching that itch for me, but other BM bands that do too are always welcome!
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
10.04.2019 - 02:46
nikarg
Old Nick
The theme is definitely original while the music clearly isn't.

However, I get much Burzum vibe (potato production, mid-paced hypnotic riffs going on forever, synths thrown in to enhance the atmosphere), and being the Varg fanboy that I am, I simply cannot get tired of this type of music. If the songwriting is good -and here it surely is- I don't care at all if I have heard the style before. Nice find, I probably enjoyed this even more than you did!
----
Instagram
Loading...
10.04.2019 - 10:26
Bad English
Masterchief
Wow its awesome lyric concept. Its amazing, but band needs img, and proper info to be perfect.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
10.04.2019 - 18:16
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by RaduP on 09.04.2019 at 20:19

If only there was a subgenre of black metal dedicated to praising an European ruler who took over most of Europe but not the British Isles and made the mistake of invading Russia

There is it calls nsbm even AF mistace was helping musollini in greece, he could win 3 weeks whit good wather and german Boys would win in moda russa, but... Then ms Never would existed
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
11.04.2019 - 21:51
I get a slight Gehenna vibe, actually. I enjoyed listening to it.
Loading...
12.04.2019 - 07:02
Malignar
Not good.
Loading...

Hits total: 2877 | This month: 114