On Thorns I Lay - Threnos review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.0

160 users:
8.38
Band: On Thorns I Lay
Album: Threnos
Release date: February 2020


01. The Song Of Sirens
02. Ouranio Deos
03. Cosmic Silence
04. Erynies
05. Misos
06. Threnos
07. Odysseia


After the return to form that was Aegean Sorrow, On Thorns I Lay insist on fusing the seemingly clashing concepts of catchy melodies and mournful soundscapes by unleashing Threnos upon us.

On Thorns I Lay started as a gothic death doom band in the '90s and they mention The Gathering, Celestial Season , and Anathema as their main influences. During the early '00s they incorporated an alternative rock sound but unfortunately disappeared in 2004 while recording the follow up to Egocentric. In 2014 they came back together and subsequently released Eternal Silence, which featured a lot of the material that had been abandoned about a decade before. The real comeback album for On Thorns I Lay was Aegean Sorrow in 2018, a return to their death doom roots with a sound closer to the - now classic - Orama.

Threnos (Lament) expands the sound and atmosphere of its predecessor, being a wonderful mix of My Dying Bride, Insomnium and Opeth. The album is inspired by Greek mythology, as is evident from the song titles and the album artwork (depicting Orestes Pursued by the Furies), which always adds some extra tragic component. The music is melodic death doom with a gothic and bleak atmosphere and the band manages to bring forward the bittersweet darkness in a heavier and more depressing fashion. Death metal vocals growl their way into wrist-slitting guitar melodies, while heartfelt violin passages cut through the mournful air and fragile piano parts embrace woe in all its forms.

The album starts in a very melodic yet doleful fashion on the first couple of tracks, and introduces some more aggressive riffing for the first time on "Cosmic Silence", which also features some unforgettable violin playing. The next one, "Erinyes" (The Furies), is my favourite track because it blends the sorrowful arpeggios, the groovy chugs, and the Hammond organ in an absolutely expert way. "Misos" (Hatred) is aptly named because it is the most hard-hitting cut on Threnos and sounds very Opeth-ian, an influence that can also be heard on the title track and especially its outro. The closer "Odysseia" (Odyssey, duh) is the longest and possibly the most melancholic song on the album, thanks to the valse between violin and piano, the wailing lead guitar, and the dramatic drum beating beneath the agonizing female vocals.

So there you have it; On Thorns I Lay have created a totally captivating album, without doing anything particularly novel. Threnos is just ridiculously well made and performed, wrapped in beauty and despair, and if you are a fan of any of the bands I've already mentioned in this review it will keep you very good company.

"My soul begs for freedom
My heart wants peace
A last breath in sadness
A last fear in sorrow..."


 



Written on 27.03.2020 by Only way to feel the noise is when it's good and loud!


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 111 users
27.03.2020 - 11:13
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Turns out Greeks can actually do more than black and thrash metal, who would've thought?

Aegean Sorrow was indeed one of the best comebacks I've heard, but I think I like this one even more.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 11:16
nikarg
Mod
Written by RaduP on 27.03.2020 at 11:13

Turns out Greeks can actually do more than black and thrash metal, who would've thought?

I also have some pretty good death and heavy lined up


And a quiz: which other band has the same theme on the cover artwork?
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 11:57
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 27.03.2020 at 11:16

I also have some pretty good death and heavy lined up

Yeah, I can always see your queue getting bigger, how are you gonna clear that up unless you do my good ol' 7 reviews in 7 days?
Written by nikarg on 27.03.2020 at 11:16

And a quiz: which other band has the same theme on the cover artwork?

I'll go with my gut and say Lotus Thief
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 12:15
nikarg
Mod
Written by RaduP on 27.03.2020 at 11:57

Yeah, I can always see your queue getting bigger, how are you gonna clear that up unless you do my good ol' 7 reviews in 7 days?

You are a bot, I am human. And you have done the unthinkable; ten reviews in one day, which pretty much proves my point of you being a bot. I have completely given up hope on the possibility of my reviews-to-be-done queue ever clearing up.


Written by RaduP on 27.03.2020 at 11:57

I'll go with my gut and say Lotus Thief

Nope. No Lotus Thief album has "Orestes Pursued by the Furies" on the cover.
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 12:19
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 27.03.2020 at 12:15

Written by RaduP on 27.03.2020 at 11:57

Yeah, I can always see your queue getting bigger, how are you gonna clear that up unless you do my good ol' 7 reviews in 7 days?

You are a bot, I am human. And you have done the unthinkable; ten reviews in one day, which pretty much proves my point of you being a bot. I have completely given up hope on the possibility of my reviews-to-be-done queue ever clearing up.

I published 10 in a day, I wrote them over the week. C'mon, I believe in you.

Written by nikarg on 27.03.2020 at 12:15

Written by RaduP on 27.03.2020 at 11:57

I'll go with my gut and say Lotus Thief

Nope. No Lotus Thief album has "Orestes Pursued by the Furies" on the cover.

OH OH OH

It's Internal Rot
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 13:11
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Good review, band has good influences, I enjoyed this a lot, its good album, a lot of mid 90's influences, many same genre bands use modern waves, this band dug old school, its like Zeus was pisses and swallowed her wife and unborn child. Pure blast came out from Tartaros whit this album.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 13:39
nikarg
Mod
Written by Bad English on 27.03.2020 at 13:11

its like Zeus was pisses and swallowed her wife and unborn child. Pure blast came out from Tartaros whit this album.

Cool description.
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 13:46
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by nikarg on 27.03.2020 at 13:39

Written by Bad English on 27.03.2020 at 13:11

its like Zeus was pisses and swallowed her wife and unborn child. Pure blast came out from Tartaros whit this album.

Cool description.

well he did weird things whit women as animal, as human ....
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 15:02
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 27.03.2020 at 13:46

well he did weird things whit women as animal, as human ....

Most of Greek mythology is Zeus sticking it where it doesn't belong
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 15:18
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by RaduP on 27.03.2020 at 15:02

Written by Bad English on 27.03.2020 at 13:46

well he did weird things whit women as animal, as human ....

Most of Greek mythology is Zeus sticking it where it doesn't belong


Well its better as Spanish or Argentinian gods try make conact whit perun or Odin in folk metal scene
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 02:00
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Written by nikarg on 27.03.2020 at 11:16

And a quiz: which other band has the same theme on the cover artwork?


Amirite?
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 14:31
nikarg
Mod
Written by Starvynth on 28.03.2020 at 02:00

Amirite?

Loading...
28.03.2020 - 15:15
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by nikarg on 28.03.2020 at 14:31

Written by Starvynth on 28.03.2020 at 02:00

Amirite?



Ms or ma Link, cant find it
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 15:19
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 28.03.2020 at 15:15

Ms or ma Link, cant find it

Newest Kawir
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 15:23
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by RaduP on 28.03.2020 at 15:19

Written by Bad English on 28.03.2020 at 15:15

Ms or ma Link, cant find it

Newest Kawir
shit i thought is some band, Funny album search did not worked in ms n ma
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 16:18
nikarg
Mod
Quote:
Written by Bad English on 28.03.2020 at 15:23

Newest Kawir
shit i thought is some band, Funny album search did not worked in ms n ma

Not the newest, the previous one, Exilasmos
Loading...
28.04.2020 - 08:33
metalbrat
I liked 'Ouranio Deos' and then it seemed to me rest of the album is all same. Nice to listen in the background which takes you to a trip but I am sad that there isn't any stand out track. Bit disappointed.
Loading...

Hits total: 1396 | This month: 97