Advertise on Metal Storm
Faster Pussycat - Wake Me When It's Over review


10 users:
Band: Faster Pussycat
Album: Wake Me When It's Over
Release date: September 1989

01. Where There's A Whip, There's A Way
02. Little Dove
03. Poison Ivy
04. House Of Pain
05. Gonna Walk
06. Pulling Weeds
07. Slip Of The Tongue
08. Cryin' Shame
09. Tattoo
10. Ain't No Way Around It
11. Arizona Indian Doll
12. Please Dear

After a successful self-titled debut album Faster Pussycat returned one year later way more mature, showing from what they're made of, glam! Everything seems more mature, the song-writing, the quality of the compositions, the instrumentation, the variety of emotions, the variety of ideas, everything!

The title of their second work is "Wake Me When It's Over", yet, I find this title ironic simply because once this album starts playing you don't want it to be over, you don't want to wake up and you wish it would last forever simply because it manages to amaze you in many different ways! This is an album to glam your universe in any possible and impossible way, you just press the "play" button and you lose yourself in the neon lights of a sleazy boulevard!

It's obvious that the guitar work is far better and way more mature than the really good guitars on the dirtier "Faster Pussycat" and it's a really big plus on the album! The riffing is better and the solos more sophisticated, remaining poser and dirty, and they make the whole rolling feeling more intense for sure! The rhythm section is always there doing what it has to in the most ideal way, keeping the groove and the uplifting sense alive! The bass lines lend their "kickstart my heart" pulse in an unerring and naughty way whereas the drumming shines in it's very own boogie way! The vocals are more mature, they seem perfect to my ears, they pace with the maturity of the album! Whether they sound dirty or more emotional they are flawless and utterly expressive with Downe showing what a fabulous interpreter he is! The piano passages are wonderful, well-conceived and well-executed with Greg Steele, guitarist of the band, showing a hidden talent in the most beautiful way! Of course some harmonica passages are always welcome and they make the whole feeling more alive!

Ha! You would like me to mention some highlights, right? It's difficult, you know, but I will give it a try! Don't forget to listen to the great opener "where There's A Whip There's A Way", the brilliant ballad "House Of Pain", the groovy "Poison Ivy" with the orgasmic piano passages, the ultra dirty "Slip Of The Tongue", the really sweet rock n' roll hymns "Cryin' Shame" and "Tattoo" and the saloon-like piano-driven obscure "Arizona Indian Doll"!

Are you a glam fan? You must have it, without any second thought!


Written on 18.02.2006 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."

Hits total: 3957 | This month: 59