Dimmu Borgir - Spiritual Black Dimensions review



Reviewer:
9.2

565 users:
8.20
Band: Dimmu Borgir
Album: Spiritual Black Dimensions
Release date: 1999


01. Reptile
02. Behind The Curtains Of Night-Phantasmagoria
03. Dreamside Dominions
04. United In Unhallowed Grace
05. The Promised Future Aeons
06. The Blazing Monoliths Of Defiance
07. The Insight And The Catharsis
08. Grotesquery Conceiled (Within Measureless Magic)
09. Arcane Lifeforce Mysteria
10. Masses For The New Messiah [bonus]
11. Stormblast [live][bonus]
12. Master Of Disharmony [live][bonus]
13. In Death's Embrace [live][bonus]


Honestly, I missed out the Dimmu Borgir phenomenon and I am just now catching up with it. But man, is that ever worth it! While 'Stormblast' is considered as the cornerstone of the Norwegian band discography, 'Spiritual Black Dimensions' has to be regarded as another important album for them.

Fist of all, this is their first album with such a good production, which might have offended Black Metal purists but made Dimmu Borgir more popular than they ever were. But the main enhancement on "Spiritual Black Dimensions" is the dynamics that reign with an iron fist on the music. It's an ever-challenged atmosphere, with blasting drums, enthralling keys and grinding guitar riffs. And what about Shagrath's vocals? They are simply like another instrument, adding a layer of complexity to the compositions.

Tracks such as 'Dreamside Dominions' and 'The Promised Future Aeons' demonstrate how to play melodic yet aggressive Black Metal. 'Behind The Curtains Of Night - Phantasmagoria' is another perfect example of how to use a keyboard to turn any song into an insane piece of genius. Even though I am not a big fan of their background vocals, Shagrath vocal work is really pulling everything together, just check out the opener 'Reptile' or 'The Insight And The Catharsis'.

The cult track is this album is, of course, 'Arcane Lifeforce Mysteria', a 7-minute plus track of genuine talent.

1999's 'Spiritual Black Dimensions' ranks as one of the best albums of the year, and that's no mistake. The solid base of guitars and drums are truly transformed into something out of this world by Shagrath's vocals and Mustis' keys.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9


 



Written on 04.11.2006 by Bringing you reviews of quality music and interesting questions such as:

"A picture is worth a thousand words. How many words is a song worth?"

I have only got so much patience and skills, you do the math.

Guest review by
thewaytonever
Rating:
9.7
When I was 14 I was given this album by a German foreign exchange student. On first listen I considered it to be just a load of noise as all other music she had given me. I was a young American who had not yet learned to appreciate non-mainstream, well produced, MTV-loved "metal." A few years later I popped this album in to reminisce the old high school days and what came out of my radio surprised me. My ear was trained on picking up the murkiness of the likes of Darkthorne and other early black metal. Though this album is in no way as murky in its production quality as the early black metal albums were, it still had an overload of sound that needed to be listened to in each individual instrument's sector.

Read more ››
published 27.01.2012 | Comments (4)


Comments

Comments: 22   Visited by: 158 users
04.11.2006 - 15:23
Katatronik
Angel of Lust
Yeah good review, great work!
An excellent album with a good production that exalts their quality (black-metal purists, come on become angry!) and amazing killer songs!
----

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear,
and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown."
Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Loading...
18.03.2007 - 19:57
Major
Good review, great album.
Loading...
19.03.2007 - 01:05
Dangerboner
:D
Great album...Shagrath's vocals sound especially strong and powerful.
Loading...
19.03.2007 - 02:43
Ernis
狼獾
Yeh...it's a good review it is...to a good album....I have an original at home and I'm proud of it....besides...this album was the first to feature ICS Vortex...Dimmu's music became even richer...
----
Go ahead, make my day...
Loading...
20.03.2007 - 17:54
Basso
Account deleted
I find this Dimmu Borgirs weakest albums ever. Quite strange but I enjoy DCA and even the very boring In Sorte Diaboli more than this one.
Loading...
29.03.2007 - 17:43
|Angela|
Account deleted
Of most of their newer albums, I liked this one the most. Even more than PEM. Its a good album but the rating is a bit too high for my tastes.
Loading...
16.06.2007 - 20:11
Warman
Erotic Stains
Best Dimmu Borgir album, one of the best Black Metal albums, one of the best albums ever!
----
Loading...
16.06.2007 - 22:06
Arian Totalis
The Philosopher
I dunno about best albums ever, but it sure does kick alot of ass. That's a good review, I own this album. The only track that gets dry for me is "Reptile" because the background vocals just drag to much for me. Other than that, I love every minute of the album.
----
"For the Coward there is no Life
For the hero there is No Death"
-Kakita Toshimoko

"The Philosopher, you know so much about nothing at all." _Chuck Schuldiner.
Loading...
26.12.2007 - 20:05
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
I did't like it...
Don't know why
It just... something is missing here.
Is not the same type of music like in EDT...
Some songs are very good anyway and the performance of the band is exelent, Dreamside Dominions must be my favorite song of the album.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
28.12.2007 - 17:46
Moreheru
Account deleted


this is quite funny. It is specific with this album, and also with Shagrath's vocal on it, that some people really like it and some really hate it. I read a lot of reviews on "Spiritual black dimension" on a lot of metal sites. And it is always a same story. Some consider this the best Dimmu Borgir album, and Shagrath's vocal strong, and some say that it is their worst album, and Shagrath's vocal childish.

I think that's because this is their most symphonic album till now. Some like that, some not.

I do like it, and i do consider this their best album, especially songs Reptile, Grotesquery Conceiled and Arcane Lifeforce Mysteria

And yes... Demonic Tutor, very nice review
Loading...
28.12.2007 - 17:57
Warman
Erotic Stains
Okay, not as good as I used to think. Still a very very good album!
----
Loading...
29.12.2007 - 19:20
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
I have to accept that the vocal work is the best...
But when it comes to music... EDT kick ass easily
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
17.01.2008 - 04:11
Stille Haer
This album have greats keyboards... the first time I heard the SBD... I was amazed... I still amazed yet...

The sound was very diferent to the EDT... but... geniale...
Loading...
30.03.2008 - 10:47
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Exellent work, just classic songs from symphonic gothic black. The Insight and the Catharsis is an epic. The Promisied Future Aeons and Reptile makes this album the best of Dimmu's works. 8.1/10
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
30.03.2008 - 18:40
W-Lash
Metal Master
"Dreamside Dominions" is one really underrated song.
Loading...
25.05.2008 - 22:03
stygian
yeah great album, the strange thing is, that in the booklet, vortex is absent... i just realised...
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 09:34
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
Nice album by DB. I would like it in a bit faster tempo.. And more aggressive. But the atmosphere is very good! I also believe the production takes it a step down..
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 21:39
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by W-Lash on 30.03.2008 at 18:40

"Dreamside Dominions" is one really underrated song.


I agree... It's my favorite song from this album and I don't remember that people talk about it. It's just amazing. I love the part when Shagrath and Vortex sing at the same time... Epic feeling.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
16.12.2009 - 03:38
SatyriconChick
Amazing album! My favorite tracks are "Reptile" and "The Insight and the Catharsis." This band doesn't have a bad release!

I had to add that I've been listening to this album quite a lot lately, and I'm absolutely becoming ADDICTED to "Grotesquery Conceiled." I can't get enough of that song, especially the keyboard melodies. I LOVE it! Wow!
Loading...
29.07.2010 - 01:28
DreadfulYgg
Written by stygian on 25.05.2008 at 22:03

yeah great album, the strange thing is, that in the booklet, vortex is absent... i just realised...


It's because at the time this album was recorded he wasn't part of the band, just a guest vocalist.
Loading...
13.09.2010 - 04:39
I_Die_Often
I've had this for years and FINALLY got to really listen to it properly (ex-wife... long story... I have my own house now!)
I like it more than I ever did before, changed my rating form 7 to 9.
----
Old enough to be your Daddy... speaking of which... you look familiar... do I know your mother???
Loading...
09.08.2011 - 02:05
xjules
The absolutely best album from Dimmu!
Loading...

Hits total: 9004 | This month: 41