Rating:
N/A
Sunn O))) - Black One
17 October 2005


Disc I
01. Sin Nanna
02. It Took The Night To Believe
03. Cursed Realms (Of The Winterdemons) [Immortal cover]
04. Orthodox Caveman
05. CandleGoat
06. Cry For The Weeper
07. Báthory Erzsébet

Disc II [Solstitium Fulminate] [limited edition bonus]
01. Wine & Fog [Live at Roskilde 2005]
02. Vlad Tepes [Live at Roskilde 2005]


How can a band be as elitist as Sunn 0)))? that clichéd phrase "love it or hate it" truly reaches a meaning when it comes to this band; albums passed by smoothly and all of a sudden everyone who claimed being grim and depressing was hearing Sunn 0)))'s "White 1" album, one of the most disturbing and experimental pieces in dark music as far as they thought, well…"Black 1" grows in the same line, and actually is even darker than White 1 and 2 combined, a dark offering only suitable for the band's fanatics.

I say only for their fanatics as the rest of the people never understood this band's intention and never will, even aficionados will be playing this only in the background while doing something else, the album is that hard to digest to be honest. This being said I can only assume that the people into Sunn 0))) will be intensely freaked and pleased by this piece, the band did things with a more shivering feeling towards the music and songwriting (if there's any whatsoever), so I can see why their loyal fans are already building altars for this CD.

Apparently the vocals of the last track were recorded by Malefic (Xasthur) inside a closed casket, just imagine the vibe of this thing, not for the weak that's for sure. In the end this album delivers what Sunn 0))) has been throwing since they arrived to our beloved metal scene, scary atmospheres with a slight (very slight) touch of doom.

A shivering piece, the darkest one available, if you can take more than one hour of drone, repetitive chords, muted ambience, insanely low bass-lines and the world's most distressing vocals, "Black One" is just for you.


Band profile: Sunn O)))
Album: Black One


 


written by Herzebeth | 18.04.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 161  
Search this topic:  


Brother Of Steel - 18.04.2007 at 03:25  
Hard to digest indeed, even harder to understand it... like in your review on White 2. a classification can't be found as well on Black. great review by the way
Nèst - 18.04.2007 at 04:17  
I made a song by song review a lot of time ago... It was refused of course... I remember I pointed the same things as you "More darker, more doom, more freaking... But at the same time, a unique piece. best Sunn O)) release by far
Lokomotiv - 18.04.2007 at 05:50  
a 10/10 masterpiece... this is my favourite Sunn O))) album, a terrifying, shocking masterpiece that grows a lot with time

With I had to make my list of the best albums of 2005, I didn't doubt to mark Black One in the first place.
Linak - 18.04.2007 at 07:52  
*shivers* I love your reviews, but not even that would get me to try this album, call me close minded or just a slutty slutty slut but I've learnt that sitting in the dark while listening to this kind of music is -BAD- for sleep, so I will just trust your word this is a scary one.
domz - 18.04.2007 at 13:33  
this album gives me the chills.. I love it.. That is pure art.. a pure masterpiece according to me. nice nice review
Zombie, M.D. - 18.04.2007 at 13:37  
I never understood people who say this album was the most accessible album by Sunn O))), its a pretty challenging listen as you implied. If I actually focus on the music when playing the cd, rather than listening to it in the background, Im exhausted by the end. One hell of a negative experience, I love it.

P.S - In the bottom of your review it says "Black 1". The album title is "Black One" though, as in "The Black One" rather than a number.
Herzebeth - 18.04.2007 at 18:26  
Written by Zombie, M.D. on 18.04.2007 at 13:37


P.S - In the bottom of your review it says "Black 1". The album title is "Black One" though, as in "The Black One" rather than a number.


Fixed, thanks
Dane Train - 18.04.2007 at 19:04  
Good review. Short, but right to the point. Sunn O))) is a band that words really can not begin to describe. Same can be said for most bands in this vein of music like Boris, Earth, etc.
Basso - 18.04.2007 at 20:53  
This is a good album. Have never been a fan of Drone though... Only band I really enjoy within the genre is Boris.
Hyvaarin - 19.04.2007 at 04:14  
"that clichéd phrase "love it or hate it" truly reaches a meaning when it comes to this band; albums passed by smoothly and all of a sudden everyone who claimed being grim and depressing was hearing Sunn 0)))'s "White 1" album, one of the most disturbing and experimental pieces in dark music as far as they thought, well…"Black 1" grows in the same line, and actually is even darker than White 1 and 2 combined, a dark offering only suitable for the band's fanatics." is one long fucking sentence...
Lily_Lazer - 19.04.2007 at 13:42  
Written by Hyvaarin on 19.04.2007 at 04:14

"that clichéd phrase "love it or hate it" truly reaches a meaning when it comes to this band; albums passed by smoothly and all of a sudden everyone who claimed being grim and depressing was hearing Sunn 0)))'s "White 1" album, one of the most disturbing and experimental pieces in dark music as far as they thought, well…"Black 1" grows in the same line, and actually is even darker than White 1 and 2 combined, a dark offering only suitable for the band's fanatics." is one long fucking sentence...


This could be splitted into many many smaller ones =P
Dub - 23.04.2007 at 15:59  
Might be worth mentioning its completely different to anything the band have ever done before...I mean It Took All Night to Believe has tremelo picking!!11 SHREDDING ON A SUNN O))) ALBUM?!?!?!

Definatly has a more distinct black metal element to it. What with Wrest and Malefic being added to the mix this time.

Nice review though and a brilliant album.
Empty Spaces - 24.03.2008 at 00:14  
Great review man! I love this album! I have fallen asleep while listening to this in the night, it's a very strange thing.... hahaha!
Uirapuru - 18.12.2009 at 17:17  
Great review. And this album really is a grower... it took me the night to believe One of Sunn O)))'s best.
JD - 25.12.2011 at 21:25  
I totally agree with everything you said in your review.
Boxcar Willy - 08.05.2012 at 22:30  
I love this album, and review. Nice Job Herz (even though you won't see this)
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.05.2012 at 22:48  
Decent Sunn O))) album but still amongst my least favourite. It's quite inconsistent and the black metal elements are forcibly introduced here which doesn't always work for me. Not to mention the gimmicky side of Wrest and Malefic's inclusion, the Immortal cover, silliness with the coffin. Kinda screams acceptance from the infinitely more popular black metal community.

It Took The Night To Belive is a great song though.
Mr. Doctor - 08.05.2012 at 22:52  
Meh. I really like it. Like I give a shit if they wants acceptance from a group or not. To me it doesn't feel that forced. It's a great album

Damn I still don't own any of their albums. They aren't really cheap here.
Mr. Doctor - 15.08.2012 at 03:03  
Quote:
Damn I still don't own any of their albums. They aren't really cheap here.


...and I got it a few months ago and finally was able to give it the listen that I always wanted. With all the lights out and computer off at midnight.

Such a haunting and negative experiencie. Love it.
Jaeryd17‍ - 06.09.2012 at 12:14  
I'm just gonna copy and paste what I wrote on the front album page:

I wanted to rate this an 8, but drone isn't really my thing and sometimes it was pushed a little too far, a little too long. Still, it was fucking awesome. "It Took the Night to Belive", "Cursed Realms (of the Winter Demons)", and "Bathory Erzsebet" are all awesome tracks. They made me feel nervous, paranoid, claustrophobic, entranced, and a little nyctophobic. Real evil vibe in this disc. Bathory Erzsebet is definitely my favorite of the whole album.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Sunn O))) - White 2 6 26.06.2006 by sev7en77
Albums Sunn O))) - Black One 6 12.02.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Sunn O))) & Boris - Altar 6 16.01.2007 by
Reviews Beherit - The Oath Of Black Blood 4.5 28.09.2007 by NECURATU
Reviews The Black Dahlia Murder - Unhallowed 4.5 29.05.2006 by Endoftherainbow



Hits total: 3491 | This month: 37