Rating:
9.8
Devil Doll - The Girl Who Was... Death
1989


01. The Girl Who Was... Death


Do you happen to like Progressive Rock? Or maybe Symphonic Rock? What about Gothic Rock then? Okay, I guess you probably enjoy music from horror films too? Did you answer "yes" on all four questions? Great, then here's an album for you! Or maybe I should say song? That's right. The album only has one single song. 66.06 minutes long! Isn't that the most metal thing you've ever heard? But Mr. Doctor (the artist and front man of this band) is actually cheating, I'll come back to that later.

Every note and all the lyrics of the song are written by the Doctor himself. Based on "The Prisoner", an old television series if you didn't know that. Okay, it's not that interesting really. I'm here to tell you about one of the most original, haunting and greatest albums of all time: "The Girl Who Was...Death".

After you've pressed the "Play" button you'll hear a quiet, shy and careful melody which instantly grabs your attention. No electrical instruments, just an orchestra which slowly builds up to a more majestic sound. We hear choirs in the background and more and more instruments decide to join in. There's no way you can think of anything else than an old black-and-white horror movie during this. After one of the most powerful intros ever the music breaks down and in comes Mr. Doctor. Right away you'll react to his vocal style (sprechgesang). Every note he hits, every whisper and every breath he takes will amaze you. After his vocal solo accompanied by a lonely piano comes my favourite part of the whole Devil Doll discography. I don't know how many times I've listened to that beautiful guitar melody and those lyrics can't leave my head. But that's not the end of it, we also get to hear the most amazing violin solo of all time.

The song continues this way. Some instrumental parts either with or without vocals followed by vocal solos by Mr. Doctor (but always that piano in the background). Here and there we have some tracks for the choir to sing. It may sound boring, but this is music that's impossible to describe, you have to hear it for yourself.

Oh, I almost forgot the "cheating" part. 66.06 minutes? Yeah right! After around 40 minutes it's completely silent for over 20 minutes. Just at the end we get to hear a sample from "The Prisoner". Every Iron Maiden fan will cheer when they recognise those quotes.

Give this album one chance, that's enough. At least talking out of my own experience. It was love at first note. The album may be hard to find, even impossible for some. All the Devil Doll albums were released in limited editions on small labels. Today the fan club owns all the rights to the material and they don't really release large amounts of the albums. Do I have to say it's one of my most beloved albums in my collection?

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Devil Doll
Album: The Girl Who Was... Death


 


written by Warman | 04.09.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 105  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 06.12.2008 at 19:38  
Jejeje... I didn't have an idea that you wrote a review about this album.

God... I still remember the first time I heard it, I just couldn't believe that it was that good and I couldn't do a thing but lying on my bed with an open mouth.

Well... I don't think I need to say how much The Doc changed my view of music and I don't give a shit of what everyone says, The Doc is a genius and he will remain as one of my favorite composers/vocalists ever.

I just have to get this album... My sis has it and I have Sacrilegium and Eliogabalus... I need the entire discography!
Elio - 27.01.2009 at 18:46  
Definitely not a 9.8 album. To me gets boring after a while and it alternates sparks of great music with many minutes of crap.
Slayer666 - 14.05.2009 at 23:28  
Jeeez, how large of a review can one write about a single song... No matter how long it is. Now I have to hear it! How did you get your copy of it, Warman?
Mr. Doctor - 15.05.2009 at 16:57  
Written by Elio on 27.01.2009 at 18:46

Definitely not a 9.8 album. To me gets boring after a while and it alternates sparks of great music with many minutes of crap.


I agree with you. Eliogabalus is for me the best album. Way superior than this one. Then again, The rate is the least important thing in the review

Written by Slayer666 on 14.05.2009 at 23:28

Jeeez, how large of a review can one write about a single song... No matter how long it is. Now I have to hear it! How did you get your copy of it, Warman?


I remember how Lucky I was when I was in town and there was a summer festival. And I saw a lot of small stores that came from I don't know where. But they had 4 of the 5 cds. Amazing moment XD.
Anyway, I just know one swedish site... I don't know if it'll work for you. But here it is anyway:
http://www.tpl.se/
Warman - 18.05.2009 at 00:07  
Written by Slayer666 on 14.05.2009 at 23:28

Jeeez, how large of a review can one write about a single song... No matter how long it is. Now I have to hear it! How did you get your copy of it, Warman?

I just took a chance and searched for it at swedenrockshop.com. And there it was to my surprise!
Ellrohir - 18.09.2009 at 11:17  
I was more fascinated with "Sacrilege Of Fatal Arms", but this great album too
Warman - 18.09.2009 at 12:41  
Written by Ellrohir on 18.09.2009 at 11:17

I was more fascinated with "Sacrilege Of Fatal Arms", but this great album too

It's almost just as good in my opinion. "The Girl" is more horror than the other releases (and I love that), while "Sacrilege" is probably the most theatrical.
ylside - 12.11.2009 at 12:02  
Great album, I juts discovered this band and I'm liking it !
In Bone Factory - 14.11.2009 at 09:54  
Great album, better to say great song.completely distinguished and unique.it contains all the genres I adore.
Fat & Sassy! - 30.11.2009 at 18:48  
The 20 minutes of silence really irritates me... I mean, what's the point? Great song, none-the-less though.
Mr. Doctor - 30.11.2009 at 22:24  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 30.11.2009 at 18:48

The 20 minutes of silence really irritates me... I mean, what's the point? Great song, none-the-less though.


If I get the chance someday... I will slap Mr. Doctor in the back of his head and say:

"Dude... I don't give a fuck about how cool it might be to have an album with 60/6/6 as the total playing time, it's friggin pointless and the intro for the prisioner is cool so I don't want to press ">>" all the friggin time."

But yeah, I still love this band.
Fat & Sassy! - 30.11.2009 at 22:30  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.11.2009 at 22:24

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 30.11.2009 at 18:48

The 20 minutes of silence really irritates me... I mean, what's the point? Great song, none-the-less though.


If I get the chance someday... I will slap Mr. Doctor in the back of his head and say:

"Dude... I don't give a fuck about how cool it might be to have an album with 60/6/6 as the total playing time, it's friggin pointless and the intro for the prisioner is cool so I don't want to press ">>" all the friggin time."

But yeah, I still love this band.


I take it this guy doesn't make anymore music?
Mr. Doctor - 30.11.2009 at 22:42  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 30.11.2009 at 22:30

I take it this guy doesn't make anymore music?


He's alive as far as I know... But no, I don't know nothing more than that, it has been a long time. I don't really think he will do anything more.
Fat & Sassy! - 30.11.2009 at 22:44  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.11.2009 at 22:42

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 30.11.2009 at 22:30

I take it this guy doesn't make anymore music?


He's alive as far as I know... But no, I don't know nothing more than that, it has been a long time. I don't really think he will do anything more.


It's a shame. He's probably out auditioning for creepy parts on Broadway.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Devil Doll - Eliogabalus 7.5 25.01.2009 by Elio
Albums Devil Doll - The Sacrilege Of Fatal Arms 6 23.02.2013 by Góral
Albums Stormtroopers Of Death - Bigger Than The Devil 4.5 08.06.2010 by vezzy
Reviews Iron Maiden - Dance Of Death 4 19.12.2006 by
News Cannibal Corpse - To Join Forces With Napalm Death And Immolation For The Decibel Magazine Tour 3 23.01.2013 by GoldenGod2112



Hits total: 4149 | This month: 65