Rating:
8.9
Candlemass - Death Magic Doom
3 April 2009


Disc I [CD]
01. If I Ever Die
02. Hammer Of Doom
03. The Bleeding Baroness
04. Demon Of The Deep
05. House Of 1000 Voices
06. Dead Angel
07. Clouds Of Dementia
08. My Funeral Dreams
09. Lucifer Rising [US/Limited Edition bonus]
10. White God [bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [Limited Edition bonus]
+ Studio & Tour Report


Throughout their lengthy career, Candlemass has shown various faces. Well, what do you expect when your sound is very vocal-driven and you change vocalist on numerous occasions in your career? When Messiah left/got kicked out of the band in '06, they quickly introduced the -other- guy with the dazzling voice - Robert Lowe. Known for his works with the long-running Solitude Aeturnus, there were no doubts concerning his skills, but still their first album together felt a little uncomfortable and lacking in chemistry.

That, my doomed companions, is now no longer an issue. With their second album together "Death Magic Doom", and the tenth full-length album in Candlemass' life, both parties have found each other in a magnificent album. What Candlemass is today is a groovy, doomy and relentless killing machine. The characteristic despairing wails of Messiah have been replaced with Lowe's angry, bellowing lines. Still, the biggest change that this band went through in recent times has to do with the riffs. Where they used to be lead-heavy and pummelling, they are now fast(er) and full of catchy firework (especially the solos). This band has matured a lot, despite how superfluous and meaningless such a term actually is.

As opposed to the previous vocalists of Candlemass, who peaked early in their Candlemass-career, Lowe seems to work the other way around. "Death Magic Doom" is a definite step-up from their previous album and a very accessible, but nonetheless very enjoyable album. At times, they even sound more like a US Power metal act than a Traditional Doom metal one, with "If I Ever Die" as best example. Don't fear though, only on a few occasions and well, the band has always possessed a fair amount of cheese, right? Besides, the opener is compensated by the jaw dropping "Hammer Of Doom", with its stunning vocal performance and ditto main riff. And when the riffs are subtly accentuated by the keyboard in the background, things get even better (House Of Thousand Voices). Not every song is worth its weight in gold, but there are certainly no below-average tracks on this. Hell, "My Funeral Dreams" and "Clouds Of Dementia" are my least favourite songs on this album but they still kick the ass of a ton of Doom bands out there.

Lowe brought a significant amount of change and keeps the band fresh and vibrant, however paradoxical that may sound. "Death Magic Doom" is another great release from this highly prolific and important band. I personally think it is amazing how this band manages to maintain an interesting sound, even if the changes were forced upon them and Lowe is certainly not my favourite of the Candlemass vocalists. And truth be told: no Doom metal lover will be able to resist this baby. Swinging The Hammer Of Doooooooooooom!

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Candlemass
Album: Death Magic Doom


 



Written on 15.04.2009 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 74  
Users visited: 351  
Search this topic:  


Ask - 15.04.2009 at 11:48  
Solid review but I found this album mind-numbingly boring. Both Candlemass and MDB really struck out this year with their new albums. The only doom album I've been really impressed with has been Isole's Silent Ruins.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.04.2009 at 12:03  
I agree with you totally on this review, Lucas.

But... just to set you straight... this is their 10th full-length
Clint W. - 15.04.2009 at 16:44  
Sounds good. I do enjoy Robert Lowe a lot, but I'm surprised that Messiah is so quickly glossed over, especially after he just left and is the voice of Candlemass, but that is past. While I haven't heard this in full, it's a Candlemass record, so it's surely for the win.
ioannisk - 15.04.2009 at 16:48  
I really LOVED the previous one, and to be honest this one is very mediocre. The hammer of doom is one of the most boring songs i've heard and generally traditional doom bores me easily. But Candlemass always managed to be catchy. That's the thing that lacks this album catchiness and originality. If you are new to Candlemass you will be probably excited but unfortunantely i'm not...But still Messiah fits more
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.04.2009 at 17:09  
Written by ioannisk on 15.04.2009 at 16:48

. That's the thing that lacks this album catchiness and originality. If you are new to Candlemass you will be probably excited but unfortunantely i'm not...But still Messiah fits more


Lacking catchiness? This album is catchy as hell, I would even dare to say it is their catchiest to date. Originality it does lack but then again where is the originality in metal as a whole (and doom more specifically?)

Nope, I am not new to Candlemass, I have been into them and following them ever since they released Epicus Doomicus Metallicus.

Messiah fitting more is a matter of taste. I still think that Johan Lanqvist is the best vocalist they ever had. And Messiah not being in the band anymore is a good thing. Now he won't be a pain in the ass anymore and won't be able to hold back the band recording. It's no wonder he was kicked out.
munson - 15.04.2009 at 17:27  
Pretty solid review, and great album. I miss Messiah, but Robert Lowe can really deliver. His performance on "If I Ever Die" was simply awesome.
Stigmatized - 15.04.2009 at 17:37  
On first listen it sounds like a solid album. I still prefer Messiah in Candlemass, but Rob Lowe is still a great vocalist who is good with their sound.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 15.04.2009 at 17:48  
Nice review with a better rating. but Im not so agree with the term used for this album, "US Power metal", cause its sounds a little like power metal, but its a traditonal doom for sure and it has nothing with us power metal.
ioannisk - 15.04.2009 at 18:00  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.04.2009 at 17:09

Written by ioannisk on 15.04.2009 at 16:48

. That's the thing that lacks this album catchiness and originality. If you are new to Candlemass you will be probably excited but unfortunantely i'm not...But still Messiah fits more


Lacking catchiness? This album is catchy as hell, I would even dare to say it is their catchiest to date. Originality it does lack but then again where is the originality in metal as a whole (and doom more specifically?)

Nope, I am not new to Candlemass, I have been into them and following them ever since they released Epicus Doomicus Metallicus.

Messiah fitting more is a matter of taste. I still think that Johan Lanqvist is the best vocalist they ever had. And Messiah not being in the band anymore is a good thing. Now he won't be a pain in the ass anymore and won't be able to hold back the band recording. It's no wonder he was kicked out.

i speak generally that if someone (not you ) is new to candlemass wiil apreciate the album more. i don't say it is bad, i just think that the previous one was way better..think for example of the song of stars and of smoke: the riff is simple and not very original but the chorus is simply great! i tried to listen this album more than one time but has failed so far to change my opinion...sorry...i made the comment while i was amazed how everyone was giving such high rates!! in the end i might be wrong or time will tell otherwise!!
BitterCOld - 15.04.2009 at 20:18  
Liked the review, really looking forward to the eventual Stateside release of this album...
Lucas - 15.04.2009 at 20:46  
Grr I hate mistakes like that, Marcel.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.04.2009 at 20:49  
Written by Lucas on 15.04.2009 at 20:46

Grr I hate mistakes like that, Marcel.


So do I, so do I,
Bad English - 15.04.2009 at 22:21  
Well I forgot sad maybe As I Die oisnt best song and is not doom, but its damn good us power metal song seems band mistace was put in like first , my vaf is The Bleeding Baroness and My Funeral Dreams, Hammer Of Doom is good to

I hope they will realise same next one whit this vocalist hope it wont be one album magic
Pétur - 15.04.2009 at 23:02  
The Bleeding Baroness is one hell of a song
Glen_Doom - 16.04.2009 at 01:14  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.04.2009 at 17:09

I still think that Johan Lanqvist is the best vocalist they ever had


I love you !! Had innumerable debates with other candlemass lovers who criticized my statement regarding Lanqvist being their best vocalist

And Death Magic Doom is in my opinion way better than King of the Grey Islands, although have to say that I never fully liked Lowe's voice.
Baz Anderson - 16.04.2009 at 14:09  
Thanks for doing this. I've had a few listens to it now, and for a genre I am least versed in, I quite enjoy the album.
Talvi - 16.04.2009 at 15:20  
One of their best albums!
Passenger - 17.04.2009 at 21:34  
If you don't like Candlemass you don't like Metal. Death Magic Doom!
Ragana - 17.04.2009 at 22:10  
Written by Passenger on 17.04.2009 at 21:34

If you don't like Candlemass you don't like Metal. Death Magic Doom!

Yeah, that's VERY objective bullshit.

Can't see the problem with the song 'If I Ever Die', well, at least for me - not a fan of Candlemass it worked, so I continued to check the album. Pretty strange doom metal, I used to listen to more... gothic (?) and death/doom metal, I suppose. Though I have heard Candlemass before, they didn't surprise me much - to me this is just an ordinary album.
Mr. Doctor - 17.04.2009 at 22:22  
Written by Ragana on 17.04.2009 at 22:10

Can't see the problem with the song 'If I Ever Die', well, at least for me


Because it's just not Doom Metal... That's why. It's like if the first song of a Cannibal Corpse album was ... I don't know, Black Metal. It just doesn't seem right.

I actually don't understand why it can be strange... That would appeal to Funeral, drone or sludge, but this is traditional doom... It can't be that strange xP

And about the album. Yeah I think all the people here agree that the firsts albums still kick more asses, but I understand why this album is good... I mean, I haven't listened to something as Powerful as the song Hammer Of Doom in a long time now. The ending of that song is fucking sick.
The firsts albums are really specials since nothing like that came at that time.
It's like Reign In Blood, I doesn't make people like this : O____O

But at the time it was realised... I'm sure that everybody shited bricks.
Ragana - 17.04.2009 at 22:31  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 17.04.2009 at 22:22

Written by Ragana on 17.04.2009 at 22:10

Can't see the problem with the song 'If I Ever Die', well, at least for me

Because it's just not Doom Metal... That's why. It's like if the first song of a Cannibal Corpse album was ... I don't know, Black Metal. It just doesn't seem right.

If Cannibal corpse at last produced something good, it would be fine with me, lol. However, you can't blame authors about this - the rest of album is doom, right?
Mr. Doctor - 18.04.2009 at 00:08  
Written by Ragana on 17.04.2009 at 22:31

However, you can't blame authors about this

the rest of album is doom, right?


Didn't understand the first thing... But yeah the rest of the album is solid Traditional Doom Metal. It's only the first songs that sounds like a flower metal thing...
Passenger - 18.04.2009 at 17:45  
Written by Ragana on 17.04.2009 at 22:10

Written by Passenger on 17.04.2009 at 21:34

If you don't like Candlemass you don't like Metal. Death Magic Doom!

Yeah, that's VERY objective bullshit.

Can't see the problem with the song 'If I Ever Die', well, at least for me - not a fan of Candlemass it worked, so I continued to check the album. Pretty strange doom metal, I used to listen to more... gothic (?) and death/doom metal, I suppose. Though I have heard Candlemass before, they didn't surprise me much - to me this is just an ordinary album.

Ha, objectivity.

Haha!
iceland_Norway - 21.04.2009 at 01:42  
Passenger it's only a true fan of Candlemass

I liked this new Album, but little bored with some songs.

I love Nightfall and Epicus (the best albums ever) and Ancient Dreams (that have the same problems about sound, songs listenability).

I liked too much the predecessor King of the Grey Island that was better than the last one.
Abattoir - 24.04.2009 at 21:25  
Well, it is a pretty cool staff...I'm very pleased with the whole sound. For now I cannot say anything more as I am not realy so familiar to doom metal...for now
BitterCOld - 28.04.2009 at 22:26  
Written by BitterCOld on 15.04.2009 at 20:18

Liked the review, really looking forward to the eventual Stateside release of this album...


... and still looking forward to the release of this album.
Darkside Momo - 30.04.2009 at 00:07  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 17.04.2009 at 22:22

Written by Ragana on 17.04.2009 at 22:10

Can't see the problem with the song 'If I Ever Die', well, at least for me


Because it's just not Doom Metal... That's why. It's like if the first song of a Cannibal Corpse album was ... I don't know, Black Metal. It just doesn't seem right.

Well, it's not the first time Candlemass does this. Black Dwarf on the 2005 release has just the same vibe to it (a bit slower maybe?)
Mr. Doctor - 30.04.2009 at 13:23  
Written by Darkside Momo on 30.04.2009 at 00:07

Well, it's not the first time Candlemass does this. Black Dwarf on the 2005 release has just the same vibe to it (a bit slower maybe?)


Well.. maybe it was like you said... A little bit slower while If I ever Die was waaaay more power.
dismaleuphony - 14.05.2009 at 02:49  
It's been quite some time since I've enjoyed a Candlemass album this much. Really, I'd say this one ranks second behind "Nightfall" for me. Hammer of Doom is just monstrous!
Valentin B - 22.05.2009 at 18:17  
Haven't listened to very much of this album but i believe it's pretty good from what i've heard so far. my fav track is "The Bleeding Baroness" partly because i believe it's about Erszebet Bathory. also i love how this band has so many dimensions to their sound: they're catchy as fuck, epic as fuck, dramatic as fuck, the guitar tone is really great, brutal and bassy and the riffs are rad. definitely looking forward to hearing some tracks off this album when i'll be seeing them at the Rock City fest.
Heart_of_METAL - 30.05.2009 at 20:33  
This album is goddamned great a bit better than previous 'King of the Grey Island' and Mr.Lowe is fuckin´ good vocalist, really.
Elio - 30.05.2009 at 20:39  
I relistened to this after some time and it is good as the first lsiten. If I Ever Die is a bit generic but the rest is great. Gratz to Candlemass.
sraekman - 03.06.2009 at 15:00  
It s a good work I enjoyed it from the first listening...
Hamird - 13.10.2009 at 18:18  
As a person who have listened to a very small number of Doom Metal albums, I'm glad about one thing, that's whenever I listened to Candlemass it hadn't let me down..
This one it became to my favorite list.. It's hard for a Doom Metal album to take place in my favorite list, but Death Magic Doom has done it.. And it's been the second favorite Doom Metal album, after Watching From Distance..
I liked it much more than their famous Epicus Doomicus Metallicus which always people recommended to me as a great Doom Metal album.. 9/10 will be a fair rating for my taste..
Uirapuru - 27.01.2010 at 11:50  
The hammer of DOOOOOOOOM. Great song.

Still miss Messiah as the vocalist thou : /
Apothecary - 21.03.2011 at 12:46  
It was a pretty good album, but part of me will never be able to get over the fact that Messiah's not their singer anymore
He was definitely my fav Candlemass singer, and I think one of the best vocalists in metal as a whole. He deserves a lot more credit than he gets.
Mr. Doctor - 21.03.2011 at 13:12  
Written by Apothecary on 21.03.2011 at 12:46

It was a pretty good album, but part of me will never be able to get over the fact that Messiah's not their singer anymore
He was definitely my fav Candlemass singer, and I think one of the best vocalists in metal as a whole. He deserves a lot more credit than he gets.


He is a great singer al right, but I don't miss him at all since this cd and the previous one would sound horrible if Messiah was singing instead of lowe, it wouldn't fit at all.
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.03.2011 at 13:30  
Written by Apothecary on 21.03.2011 at 12:46

It was a pretty good album, but part of me will never be able to get over the fact that Messiah's not their singer anymore
He was definitely my fav Candlemass singer, and I think one of the best vocalists in metal as a whole. He deserves a lot more credit than he gets.

True story. Candlemass hasn't been worth the time without him in my opinion. I'm not usually so concrete about stuff like this but Lowe belongs in Solitude Aeturnus, not Candlemass. Not to mention the fact Candlemass have lost the ability to write good doom songs, their new stuff is rife with hit and miss tracks. I prefer Isole these days.

I know everyone and their dog will disagree about modern Candlemass but it shows how everyone can be wrong all at the same time :}
Mr. Doctor - 21.03.2011 at 17:04  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2011 at 13:30

it shows how everyone can be wrong all at the same time :}


What? Since when an opinion about liking or not liking something is right or wrong?
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.03.2011 at 18:36  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.03.2011 at 17:04

What? Since when an opinion about liking or not liking something is right or wrong?

When that opinion comes from someone other than me of course ;]

Though being a solipsist, all your opinions are mere extensions of my own.
Mr. Doctor - 21.03.2011 at 18:57  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2011 at 18:36

Though being a solipsist, all your opinions are mere extensions of my own.

By that way of thinking... You like the latest Candlemass since I like their latest two albums and since it's just a mere extensions of your thoughts, you like them as well

Oh, and you like thrash and heavy metal just like everybody else.
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.03.2011 at 19:06  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.03.2011 at 18:57

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2011 at 18:36

Though being a solipsist, all your opinions are mere extensions of my own.

By that way of thinking... You like the latest Candlemass since I like their latest two albums and since it's just a mere extensions of your thoughts, you like them as well

Oh, and you like thrash and heavy metal just like everybody else.

That's one way of looking at it, or perhaps I create antitheses of myself to help definite the boundaries of my personality O.o Ooooooh.... or something.
Mr. Doctor - 21.03.2011 at 19:11  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2011 at 19:06

That's one way of looking at it, or perhaps I create antitheses of myself to help definite the boundaries of my personality O.o Ooooooh.... or something.


Nah, that's bullshit and you know it. You're just afraid to admit that you're such an Iron Maiden fanboy.

You lost the argument... But then again... You just lost the an argument between you and another extension of yourself. You just lost to yourself, that's pathetic, you might just kill yourself now Use some cheesy Stratovarious soap opera ballad for your suicide, since I know you like them because many people (many of your extensions that is) love them.
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.03.2011 at 19:22  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.03.2011 at 19:11

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2011 at 19:06

That's one way of looking at it, or perhaps I create antitheses of myself to help definite the boundaries of my personality O.o Ooooooh.... or something.


Nah, that's bullshit and you know it. You're just afraid to admit that you're such an Iron Maiden fanboy.

You lost the argument... But then again... You just lost the an argument between you and another extension of yourself. You just lost to yourself, that's pathetic, you might just kill yourself now Use some cheesy Stratovarious soap opera ballad for your suicide, since I know you like them because many people (many of your extensions that is) love them.

You do realise that everything you're saying was preordained by me? I have to say you're an amusing facet of my being.
Mr. Doctor - 21.03.2011 at 19:26  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2011 at 19:22

You do realise that everything you're saying was preordained by me? I have to say you're an amusing facet of my being.

What makes me laugh is that you don't know for sure you aren't an extension of someone else... Maybe you are just an extension that happens to be an arrogant one and thinks he is the original.
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.03.2011 at 19:27  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.03.2011 at 19:26

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2011 at 19:22

You do realise that everything you're saying was preordained by me? I have to say you're an amusing facet of my being.

What makes me laugh is that you don't know for sure you aren't an extension of someone else... Maybe you are just an extension that happens to be an arrogant one and thinks he is the original.

I knew you were gonna say that.....






xD
Mr. Doctor - 21.03.2011 at 19:29  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2011 at 19:27

I knew you were gonna say that.....
xD


We are connected baby, oh yeah....

Also... Maybe you are the extension that loves 2001 while the original mind don't see it as a movie.
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.03.2011 at 19:57  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.03.2011 at 19:29

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2011 at 19:27

I knew you were gonna say that.....
xD


We are connected baby, oh yeah....

Also... Maybe you are the extension that loves 2001 while the original mind don't see it as a movie.

That's a horrible notion ¬_¬ I do not approve of that way of thinking, other me.
Lucas - 21.03.2011 at 20:02  
Get the fuck out of my review, bitches.
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.03.2011 at 20:09  
Written by Lucas on 21.03.2011 at 20:02

Get the fuck out of my review, bitches.

Be quiet, aggressive, sarcastic side of me.

Ok I'm gonna stop this now. Scouts honour.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Candlemass - Death Magic Doom 7.5 05.06.2012 by The Melting Snow
Reviews Brown Jenkins - Death Obsession 4.5 13.12.2009 by Bas
Reviews Bathory - Blood Fire Death 4.5 14.11.2008 by Katatronik
Reviews Silencer - Death - Pierce Me 4.5 05.10.2008 by Trinity Blood
Melodic metal forum Candlemass 4.5 17.05.2006 by Valar



Hits total: 9117 | This month: 58