Candlemass - Death Magic Doom review



Reviewer:
8.9

315 users:
8.29
Band: Candlemass
Album: Death Magic Doom
Release date: April 2009


Disc I [CD]
01. If I Ever Die
02. Hammer Of Doom
03. The Bleeding Baroness
04. Demon Of The Deep
05. House Of 1000 Voices
06. Dead Angel
07. Clouds Of Dementia
08. My Funeral Dreams
09. Lucifer Rising [US/Limited Edition bonus]
10. White God [bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [Limited Edition bonus]
+ Studio & Tour Report


Throughout their lengthy career, Candlemass has shown various faces. Well, what do you expect when your sound is very vocal-driven and you change vocalist on numerous occasions in your career? When Messiah left/got kicked out of the band in '06, they quickly introduced the -other- guy with the dazzling voice - Robert Lowe. Known for his works with the long-running Solitude Aeturnus, there were no doubts concerning his skills, but still their first album together felt a little uncomfortable and lacking in chemistry.

That, my doomed companions, is now no longer an issue. With their second album together "Death Magic Doom", and the tenth full-length album in Candlemass' life, both parties have found each other in a magnificent album. What Candlemass is today is a groovy, doomy and relentless killing machine. The characteristic despairing wails of Messiah have been replaced with Lowe's angry, bellowing lines. Still, the biggest change that this band went through in recent times has to do with the riffs. Where they used to be lead-heavy and pummelling, they are now fast(er) and full of catchy firework (especially the solos). This band has matured a lot, despite how superfluous and meaningless such a term actually is.

As opposed to the previous vocalists of Candlemass, who peaked early in their Candlemass-career, Lowe seems to work the other way around. "Death Magic Doom" is a definite step-up from their previous album and a very accessible, but nonetheless very enjoyable album. At times, they even sound more like a US Power metal act than a Traditional Doom metal one, with "If I Ever Die" as best example. Don't fear though, only on a few occasions and well, the band has always possessed a fair amount of cheese, right? Besides, the opener is compensated by the jaw dropping "Hammer Of Doom", with its stunning vocal performance and ditto main riff. And when the riffs are subtly accentuated by the keyboard in the background, things get even better (House Of Thousand Voices). Not every song is worth its weight in gold, but there are certainly no below-average tracks on this. Hell, "My Funeral Dreams" and "Clouds Of Dementia" are my least favourite songs on this album but they still kick the ass of a ton of Doom bands out there.

Lowe brought a significant amount of change and keeps the band fresh and vibrant, however paradoxical that may sound. "Death Magic Doom" is another great release from this highly prolific and important band. I personally think it is amazing how this band manages to maintain an interesting sound, even if the changes were forced upon them and Lowe is certainly not my favourite of the Candlemass vocalists. And truth be told: no Doom metal lover will be able to resist this baby. Swinging The Hammer Of Doooooooooooom!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 15.04.2009 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments

Comments: 75   Visited by: 376 users
15.04.2009 - 11:48
Ask
Solid review but I found this album mind-numbingly boring. Both Candlemass and MDB really struck out this year with their new albums. The only doom album I've been really impressed with has been Isole's Silent Ruins.
Loading...
15.04.2009 - 12:03
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
I agree with you totally on this review, Lucas.

But... just to set you straight... this is their 10th full-length
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
15.04.2009 - 16:44
Clintagräm
J.U.N.K.E.R.
Sounds good. I do enjoy Robert Lowe a lot, but I'm surprised that Messiah is so quickly glossed over, especially after he just left and is the voice of Candlemass, but that is past. While I haven't heard this in full, it's a Candlemass record, so it's surely for the win.
----
The force will be with you, always.
Loading...
15.04.2009 - 16:48
ioannisk
I really LOVED the previous one, and to be honest this one is very mediocre. The hammer of doom is one of the most boring songs i've heard and generally traditional doom bores me easily. But Candlemass always managed to be catchy. That's the thing that lacks this album catchiness and originality. If you are new to Candlemass you will be probably excited but unfortunantely i'm not...But still Messiah fits more
Loading...
15.04.2009 - 17:09
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by ioannisk on 15.04.2009 at 16:48

. That's the thing that lacks this album catchiness and originality. If you are new to Candlemass you will be probably excited but unfortunantely i'm not...But still Messiah fits more


Lacking catchiness? This album is catchy as hell, I would even dare to say it is their catchiest to date. Originality it does lack but then again where is the originality in metal as a whole (and doom more specifically?)

Nope, I am not new to Candlemass, I have been into them and following them ever since they released Epicus Doomicus Metallicus.

Messiah fitting more is a matter of taste. I still think that Johan Lanqvist is the best vocalist they ever had. And Messiah not being in the band anymore is a good thing. Now he won't be a pain in the ass anymore and won't be able to hold back the band recording. It's no wonder he was kicked out.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
15.04.2009 - 17:27
munson
Pretty solid review, and great album. I miss Messiah, but Robert Lowe can really deliver. His performance on "If I Ever Die" was simply awesome.
----
http://www.last.fm/user/munson3210
http://www.theheaviestmatteroftheuniverse.com
Loading...
15.04.2009 - 17:37
Stigmatized
..........
On first listen it sounds like a solid album. I still prefer Messiah in Candlemass, but Rob Lowe is still a great vocalist who is good with their sound.
Loading...
15.04.2009 - 17:48
THE_BLACK_GOD
Account deleted
Nice review with a better rating. but Im not so agree with the term used for this album, "US Power metal", cause its sounds a little like power metal, but its a traditonal doom for sure and it has nothing with us power metal.
Loading...
15.04.2009 - 18:00
ioannisk
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.04.2009 at 17:09

Written by ioannisk on 15.04.2009 at 16:48

. That's the thing that lacks this album catchiness and originality. If you are new to Candlemass you will be probably excited but unfortunantely i'm not...But still Messiah fits more


Lacking catchiness? This album is catchy as hell, I would even dare to say it is their catchiest to date. Originality it does lack but then again where is the originality in metal as a whole (and doom more specifically?)

Nope, I am not new to Candlemass, I have been into them and following them ever since they released Epicus Doomicus Metallicus.

Messiah fitting more is a matter of taste. I still think that Johan Lanqvist is the best vocalist they ever had. And Messiah not being in the band anymore is a good thing. Now he won't be a pain in the ass anymore and won't be able to hold back the band recording. It's no wonder he was kicked out.

i speak generally that if someone (not you ) is new to candlemass wiil apreciate the album more. i don't say it is bad, i just think that the previous one was way better..think for example of the song of stars and of smoke: the riff is simple and not very original but the chorus is simply great! i tried to listen this album more than one time but has failed so far to change my opinion...sorry...i made the comment while i was amazed how everyone was giving such high rates!! in the end i might be wrong or time will tell otherwise!!
Loading...
15.04.2009 - 20:18
BitterCOld
Gringo
Liked the review, really looking forward to the eventual Stateside release of this album...
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
15.04.2009 - 20:46
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Grr I hate mistakes like that, Marcel.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
15.04.2009 - 20:49
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Lucas on 15.04.2009 at 20:46

Grr I hate mistakes like that, Marcel.


So do I, so do I,
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
15.04.2009 - 22:21
Bad English
Masterchief
Well I forgot sad maybe As I Die oisnt best song and is not doom, but its damn good us power metal song seems band mistace was put in like first , my vaf is The Bleeding Baroness and My Funeral Dreams, Hammer Of Doom is good to

I hope they will realise same next one whit this vocalist hope it wont be one album magic
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
15.04.2009 - 23:02
VPeter
The Bleeding Baroness is one hell of a song
Loading...
16.04.2009 - 01:14
Glen_Doom
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.04.2009 at 17:09

I still think that Johan Lanqvist is the best vocalist they ever had


I love you !! Had innumerable debates with other candlemass lovers who criticized my statement regarding Lanqvist being their best vocalist

And Death Magic Doom is in my opinion way better than King of the Grey Islands, although have to say that I never fully liked Lowe's voice.
----
Spitting in the face of mainstream music !!!
Loading...
16.04.2009 - 14:09
Baz Anderson
Thanks for doing this. I've had a few listens to it now, and for a genre I am least versed in, I quite enjoy the album.
Loading...
16.04.2009 - 15:20
Talvi
One of their best albums!
----
My account on other musical pages:
http://www.last.fm/user/Pozito/
http://rateyourmusic.com/~Talvi
Loading...
17.04.2009 - 21:34
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
If you don't like Candlemass you don't like Metal. Death Magic Doom!
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
17.04.2009 - 22:10
Ragana
Rawrcat
Written by Passenger on 17.04.2009 at 21:34

If you don't like Candlemass you don't like Metal. Death Magic Doom!

Yeah, that's VERY objective bullshit.

Can't see the problem with the song 'If I Ever Die', well, at least for me - not a fan of Candlemass it worked, so I continued to check the album. Pretty strange doom metal, I used to listen to more... gothic (?) and death/doom metal, I suppose. Though I have heard Candlemass before, they didn't surprise me much - to me this is just an ordinary album.
Loading...
17.04.2009 - 22:22
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Ragana on 17.04.2009 at 22:10

Can't see the problem with the song 'If I Ever Die', well, at least for me


Because it's just not Doom Metal... That's why. It's like if the first song of a Cannibal Corpse album was ... I don't know, Black Metal. It just doesn't seem right.

I actually don't understand why it can be strange... That would appeal to Funeral, drone or sludge, but this is traditional doom... It can't be that strange xP

And about the album. Yeah I think all the people here agree that the firsts albums still kick more asses, but I understand why this album is good... I mean, I haven't listened to something as Powerful as the song Hammer Of Doom in a long time now. The ending of that song is fucking sick.
The firsts albums are really specials since nothing like that came at that time.
It's like Reign In Blood, I doesn't make people like this : O____O

But at the time it was realised... I'm sure that everybody shited bricks.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
17.04.2009 - 22:31
Ragana
Rawrcat
Written by Mr. Doctor on 17.04.2009 at 22:22

Written by Ragana on 17.04.2009 at 22:10

Can't see the problem with the song 'If I Ever Die', well, at least for me

Because it's just not Doom Metal... That's why. It's like if the first song of a Cannibal Corpse album was ... I don't know, Black Metal. It just doesn't seem right.

If Cannibal corpse at last produced something good, it would be fine with me, lol. However, you can't blame authors about this - the rest of album is doom, right?
Loading...
18.04.2009 - 00:08
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Ragana on 17.04.2009 at 22:31

However, you can't blame authors about this

the rest of album is doom, right?


Didn't understand the first thing... But yeah the rest of the album is solid Traditional Doom Metal. It's only the first songs that sounds like a flower metal thing...
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
18.04.2009 - 17:45
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Written by Ragana on 17.04.2009 at 22:10

Written by Passenger on 17.04.2009 at 21:34

If you don't like Candlemass you don't like Metal. Death Magic Doom!

Yeah, that's VERY objective bullshit.

Can't see the problem with the song 'If I Ever Die', well, at least for me - not a fan of Candlemass it worked, so I continued to check the album. Pretty strange doom metal, I used to listen to more... gothic (?) and death/doom metal, I suppose. Though I have heard Candlemass before, they didn't surprise me much - to me this is just an ordinary album.

Ha, objectivity.

Haha!
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
21.04.2009 - 01:42
Iceland_Norway
Passenger it's only a true fan of Candlemass

I liked this new Album, but little bored with some songs.

I love Nightfall and Epicus (the best albums ever) and Ancient Dreams (that have the same problems about sound, songs listenability).

I liked too much the predecessor King of the Grey Island that was better than the last one.
----
Føroyar mítt land

Tú alfagra land mítt

Føroyar mín Móðir
Loading...
24.04.2009 - 21:25
Abattoir
Well, it is a pretty cool staff...I'm very pleased with the whole sound. For now I cannot say anything more as I am not realy so familiar to doom metal...for now
Loading...
28.04.2009 - 22:26
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by BitterCOld on 15.04.2009 at 20:18

Liked the review, really looking forward to the eventual Stateside release of this album...


... and still looking forward to the release of this album.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
30.04.2009 - 00:07
Darkside Momo
Retired
Written by Mr. Doctor on 17.04.2009 at 22:22

Written by Ragana on 17.04.2009 at 22:10

Can't see the problem with the song 'If I Ever Die', well, at least for me


Because it's just not Doom Metal... That's why. It's like if the first song of a Cannibal Corpse album was ... I don't know, Black Metal. It just doesn't seem right.

Well, it's not the first time Candlemass does this. Black Dwarf on the 2005 release has just the same vibe to it (a bit slower maybe?)
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
30.04.2009 - 13:23
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Darkside Momo on 30.04.2009 at 00:07

Well, it's not the first time Candlemass does this. Black Dwarf on the 2005 release has just the same vibe to it (a bit slower maybe?)


Well.. maybe it was like you said... A little bit slower while If I ever Die was waaaay more power.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
14.05.2009 - 02:49
Jason W.
Razorbliss
It's been quite some time since I've enjoyed a Candlemass album this much. Really, I'd say this one ranks second behind "Nightfall" for me. Hammer of Doom is just monstrous!
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
22.05.2009 - 18:17
Valentin B
Iconoclast
Haven't listened to very much of this album but i believe it's pretty good from what i've heard so far. my fav track is "The Bleeding Baroness" partly because i believe it's about Erszebet Bathory. also i love how this band has so many dimensions to their sound: they're catchy as fuck, epic as fuck, dramatic as fuck, the guitar tone is really great, brutal and bassy and the riffs are rad. definitely looking forward to hearing some tracks off this album when i'll be seeing them at the Rock City fest.
----
Sing me a song, you're a singer
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
Loading...

Hits total: 11306 | This month: 43