Rating:
5.5
Edguy - Fucking With F*** - Live [Live]
2 May 2009


Disc I
01. Catch Of The Century
02. Sacrifice
03. Babylon
04. Lavatory Love Machine
05. Vain Glory Opera
06. Land Of The Miracle
07. Fucking With Fire

Disc II
01. Superheroes
02. Save Me
03. Tears Of A Mandrake
04. Mysteria
05. Avantasia
06. King Of Fools
07. Out Of Control


Heavy metal / Power metal
Nuclear Blast
Germany
Length: CD1 47:46 / CD2 50:20


Edguy have grown over the years from being a young metal band, to one of the best power metal bands in the world, to a band with a frontman with a huge ego that thinks anything with the Edguy name on it will be lapped up like gold dust. Fucking With F*** is certainly no gold dust.

This is a double live album recorded in São Paulo, Brazil and showcases absolutely no good side of Edguy at all. The band have recently put out two bland, mediocre albums, but Fucking With F*** was recorded after the Rocket Ride album. It contains a lot of songs from that album, but also frustratingly the songs from the better albums are the blandest ones from them.

The band play well, although Tobi's vocals do seem to waver in a few places, and certainly before the end of the hour and forty minute marathon his voice does start to become terribly tedious. This is not helped by in between each song he is making the audience cheer and follow his lead and all the other tricks that have been done by Rob Halford and many before for years and years. It's always good to hear the audience, and they are certainly in fine voice here, but Tobi never sounds comfortable on stage. He always sounds desperate to keep the noise rolling for the live recording, as if the louder they shout the more sales the album will rake in. Power metal is supposed to be fun with all the sing-alongs, but it seems like each song the audience are being hounded into doing something.

If an Edguy fan was set the task of writing up a live setlist, it would look nothing like this. Normally you can say Album X is still one that will please the fanatics, but even the most hardcore Edguy fans will probably have a hard time making themselves like Fucking With F***. There is simply too much of it. One disc would have been enough with less fooling around with the audience and just a selection of the strongest songs.

Okay, so there are some good songs on here such as "Babylon" and "Tears Of A Mandrake", but have a look at this list of songs and try not to wonder why they missed out some of your favourites. Looking over the last few years, it seems Edguy have moved away from power metal into bland mediocrity, and this is most evident on this live recording here.


Band profile: Edguy
Album: Fucking With F*** - Live


 



Written on 02.09.2009 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 49  
Users visited: 262  
Search this topic:  


Ellrohir - 02.09.2009 at 17:58  
"look at this list of songs and try not to wonder why they missed out some of your favourites"

they missed none of MY favorites
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.09.2009 at 18:12  
What a stupid pathetic album title btw
Vitriolic Hate - 02.09.2009 at 18:34  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.09.2009 at 18:12

What a stupid pathetic album title btw

indeed! & they act gay on stage unfortunately I saw them on MMD 2008...
BloodTears - 02.09.2009 at 18:48  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.09.2009 at 18:12

What a stupid pathetic album title btw


That was the first thing I thought when I saw this title.
Uirapuru - 02.09.2009 at 19:01  
I like the tracklist, only my fav songs... but Im not getting close to this, hate live albuns.
Mr. Doctor - 02.09.2009 at 19:04  
Jejeje.. Looks like I'm not the only one who dislikes to overuse the F word.
floydiac - 02.09.2009 at 20:41  
I actually liked the album, though the vocals to get a tad much.

Tobi's manner on stage is the same as it is at any other concert. I think the tracklist is grand, and all this ego stuff is crap. They are doing their own thing musically, and their larger than life persona is supposed to be humerous.
The Shape 1973 - 02.09.2009 at 21:00  
Good review, I think they have outstayed their welcome now. Their early to mid career stuff was very strong leading on to the first two Avantasia albums. But now Tobi's head has become stuck up his own arse. Rocket Ride sounded like Bon Jovi and Tinnitus Sanctus was only marginally better.

Although I did not dislike The Scarecrow, when you compare it to The Metal Opera, they have moved a long way from their original sound and not in the right direction if you ask me.

If Tobi enjoys himself with the newer sound then fine, but at what point will all of the fans say godbye. Is it correct to please yourself over the fans who paid for your big house? I don't know, you could say the same about Sonata Arctica after Unia.
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.09.2009 at 22:10  
Written by Csuvog on 02.09.2009 at 21:50

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.09.2009 at 18:12

What a stupid pathetic album title btw

And just what would be appropriate? This is a great title for a live album. What are you a f*cking black metal fan with no f*cking humor? What should it be called the darkest night when Satan strangled a gardener with his guts? Or the Epic battle between two dragons of steel glory pride and warriors? Are you insane? I assume you don't like the title of the Gamma Ray live dvd either. I think you don't even like power metal. Then why the comment? You just wanted to show off. Great Job you did it Cheers! D*ck. You're Pathetic!
About the review:
I agree it isn't their best live performance and that Tobi's voice is not the best here but 5.5 come on man. I'v seen shit much worse here...
You are also right about Tobi being a gay f*ck in the recent past and ruining Edguy with this new "style". But 6.7 at least!
About the song selection i agree with Ellrohir. I also liked those songs. So thats a thing of taste.
Thats that.
Oh and Vitriolic Hate, Marcel Hubregtse and BloodTears. GET SOME F*CKING HUMOR!!! You need it... really.



Seems like the fanboy got his panties in a knot.
The Gamma Ray dvd had a decent title nothing wrong there.
But calling your album Fucking With F*** is just juvenile pathetic and not even humourous, unless you think jokes about fucking, piss and shit are the epitome of humour.
I don't like power metal in general that's true, but that has nothing to do with it. I DO like US Power and even a lot of Edguy's old stuff. But me not liking an album title has nothing to do with that.
By the way you blew your head off just now it seems like you're the one who needs a sense of humour.
Fat & Sassy! - 02.09.2009 at 22:35  
Written by Csuvog on 02.09.2009 at 21:50

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.09.2009 at 18:12

What a stupid pathetic album title btw

And just what would be appropriate? This is a great title for a live album. What are you a f*cking black metal fan with no f*cking humor? What should it be called the darkest night when Satan strangled a gardener with his guts? Or the Epic battle between two dragons of steel glory pride and warriors? Are you insane? I assume you don't like the title of the Gamma Ray live dvd either. I think you don't even like power metal. Then why the comment? You just wanted to show off. Great Job you did it Cheers! D*ck. You're Pathetic!
About the review:
I agree it isn't their best live performance and that Tobi's voice is not the best here but 5.5 come on man. I'v seen shit much worse here...
You are also right about Tobi being a gay f*ck in the recent past and ruining Edguy with this new "style". But 6.7 at least!
About the song selection i agree with Ellrohir. I also liked those songs. So thats a thing of taste.
Thats that.
Oh and Vitriolic Hate, Marcel Hubregtse and BloodTears. GET SOME F*CKING HUMOR!!! You need it... really.


I am nominating this post for the Fail of the Week Award... We have one of those right? >:[
Thryce - 02.09.2009 at 22:47  
Written by Csuvog on 02.09.2009 at 21:50

You're Pathetic! (...) GET SOME F*CKING HUMOR!!! You need it... really.

You want to know what's even more pathetic? Writing "F*ck" when you mean "Fuck". If you want to swear, do it properly or not at all. Just in case you haven't noticed, this isn't MTV.

On topic: "Fucking With F*** - Live" is indeed a non-humorous album title.

End of story. Roll credits.
Elio - 02.09.2009 at 22:52  
*coughs* Hello fucking everybody, my fucking name's Elio and I'm fucking here to say the fucking title doesn't fucking sucks. Fuck. It is so fucking fun to say fuck. Why don't you fucking people get some fucking humor?
Ellrohir - 02.09.2009 at 23:15  
Hey, all you cool guys here, i have a message directly from Tobias





live with it, anti-flower metal crusaders
Maelgron - 02.09.2009 at 23:16  
The first thing I thought when I heard this was "This guy really needs to visit a psychologist". But well, most of the people (and bands) who are successful at a young age start behaving like little kids when they grow older. Take a look at Children of Bodom nowadays and you'll understand what I'm talking about.

Btw, I don't care about the title as long as the music is good.
silenius - 02.09.2009 at 23:23  
Written by Csuvog on 02.09.2009 at 23:06

I see you people don't seem to get the point.It's not about the word f*ck being funny or not or using it cool or not. Damn. Am i the only one here who thinks it's a bit indecent to just call something pathetic or stupid that some other people might like?


everyone can express whatthey feel, they dont have to give a flying rats ass about what youre point of view is, if you ask me, its a pathetic name for an album and no, i dont hate power metal, pretantious fucks i hate, but not power metal, so pull that big stick out of youre as and deal with the opinions other people have.
Ellrohir - 02.09.2009 at 23:43  
The problem is, boys from Edguy dont mean it at all unlike some other bands...but some people here are too serious for funny bands...
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.09.2009 at 23:47  
Written by Ellrohir on 02.09.2009 at 23:43

The problem is, boys from Edguy dont mean it at all unlike some other bands...but some people here are too serious for funny bands...


Although they try to be funny they are not funny. Please a song such as Lavatory Love Machine is totally not funny.
Loads of bands try to be funny but as it turns out they are musicians and not comedians. And this espcially refers to Germans."
There is a universal riddle/joke which holds a lot of truth to it. "Question: What is the thinnest book of humour in the world? Answer: The German book of humour."

Zimmershole, however, now they ARE funny.
Fat & Sassy! - 03.09.2009 at 00:06  
Looks like SOMEONE was embarrassed by their ridiculous posts. :/
Ellrohir - 03.09.2009 at 00:22  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.09.2009 at 23:47

Although they try to be funny they are not funny.

in your eyes maybe...
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.09.2009 at 00:23  
Written by Ellrohir on 03.09.2009 at 00:22

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.09.2009 at 23:47

Although they try to be funny they are not funny.

in your eyes maybe...


Not only in mine Actually, in the eyes of many people, and I am also talking about people who like this sort of power metal.
Ellrohir - 03.09.2009 at 00:26  
Well, be it then...but for me Edguy are fine, their music is fine and title of this album is fine...end of discussion
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.09.2009 at 00:28  
Written by Ellrohir on 03.09.2009 at 00:26

Well, be it then...but for me Edguy are fine, their music is fine and title of this album is fine...end of discussion


Looking at the title over and over again, it doesn't even make sense on semantic level.
Ellrohir - 03.09.2009 at 01:04  
I believe this "F***" stands for "Fire"...and try to argue with me on that
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.09.2009 at 01:08  
Written by Ellrohir on 03.09.2009 at 01:04

I believe this "F***" stands for "Fire"...and try to argue with me on that


it can also stand for "Fans"
Ellrohir - 03.09.2009 at 01:18  
But i dont know many Edguy fans who have problem with this DVD
insanity.peppers - 03.09.2009 at 05:12  
I love Edguy. They don't themselves seriously. Fans don't take them seriously. The only people who do are the people who hate them.

But live albums usually suck so I'm not touching this. Thanks mr reviewer!
Daggon - 03.09.2009 at 07:14  
Written by Elio on 02.09.2009 at 22:52

*coughs* Hello fucking everybody, my fucking name's Elio and I'm fucking here to say the fucking title doesn't fucking sucks. Fuck. It is so fucking fun to say fuck. Why don't you fucking people get some fucking humor?


Shhh, they will hear you, remember the staff doesn't like the F word, they will come for you

On topic: I lost confidence in Edguy a long time ago, nothing like their first album, THAT was Power Metal. They just lost their touch, at least IMO.

BTW, I found the name hilarious, yes, I'm simple as that.

@Ellrohir: You made my day with those pics hahaha
Doc Godin - 03.09.2009 at 09:52  
Wow Baz, you seem to be really sour lately...or do you just keep getting bad albums?
Baz Anderson - 03.09.2009 at 12:59  
Written by Doc Godin on 03.09.2009 at 09:52

Wow Baz, you seem to be really sour lately...or do you just keep getting bad albums?

Hahaha, I wondered if anyone would think that. The last reviews are just the ones that I'd had lying around for a while, I'm all up to date now.
My next reviews will be generally positive (with the odd exception). I don't know how many people actually know about the reviews queue we have going, but you can see the upcoming albums I have in my hands to review here.
Needled - 03.09.2009 at 13:24  
Dudes.. I facepalmed so many times at people who discuss the album title, even showed it to a friend - he didn't get the fucking joke and said 'how are they so dumb to put such an album title'. I don't really think its so funny but hell how can anyone find it offensive? So I explained it to him - the censored word is "fire" and the >funny< thing is that they censored "fire" but not "fucking". Damn it I can't fucking explain it to myself - how can a person think they actually meant "fucking with fuck" -.-
Ellrohir - 03.09.2009 at 13:41  
Written by Needled on 03.09.2009 at 13:24

how can a person think they actually meant "fucking with fuck" -.-

i asked the same...
Pétur - 03.09.2009 at 16:20  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.09.2009 at 23:47

Written by Ellrohir on 02.09.2009 at 23:43

The problem is, boys from Edguy dont mean it at all unlike some other bands...but some people here are too serious for funny bands...


Although they try to be funny they are not funny. Please a song such as Lavatory Love Machine is totally not funny.
Loads of bands try to be funny but as it turns out they are musicians and not comedians. And this espcially refers to Germans."
There is a universal riddle/joke which holds a lot of truth to it. "Question: What is the thinnest book of humour in the world? Answer: The German book of humour."


I have to agree with you there. Edguy once again stereotypes that Germans have a terrible sense of humor. The band name already is terrible "Edguy" really?
BitterCOld - 03.09.2009 at 20:49  
I only ventured in as the album title was so incredibly lame... pretty funny to see people defending lame, let alone flying off the handle about it.

personally, i think it's "Fucking with FAIL."
Ellrohir - 03.09.2009 at 21:46  
No matter how much shit you will put on them here or in other topics, i will still love Edguy
iMorphball - 04.09.2009 at 01:55  
Meh, everyone has their own opinion. I actually loved the DVD, and the last two albums released by Edguy.
BitterCOld - 04.09.2009 at 02:13  
Written by Ellrohir on 03.09.2009 at 21:46

No matter how much shit you will put on them here or in other topics, i will still love Edguy


your commitment and conviction is every bit as admirable as your taste in music is not.
Ellrohir - 04.09.2009 at 10:13  
It is so annoying, when other people have different tastes than you, isnt it?
BlankFile - 04.09.2009 at 22:45  
Nowdays Edguy sucks really...
juanopereira - 05.09.2009 at 00:41  
What about "Down to the Devil", "All the Clowns", The Headless Game", "Hallowed", "Falling Down", "Out of Control", "Walk on Fighting", etc???
Are those songs forgotten by Tobias?
Ellrohir - 05.09.2009 at 01:26  
Have you ever heard each concert has limited setlist?

unless it is Manowar's Guiness World Record breaking attempt with 8 hours or what lasting gig
Baz Anderson - 05.09.2009 at 04:24  
Limited setlist... bloody hell they could come up with better than that!!
Ellrohir - 05.09.2009 at 09:27  
Well for instance i only missing Kingdom and Pharaoh (yes, those mentioned by juanopereira are good, but i can live without them), while both those songs are a bit long for live performances (though they played Pharaoh in February in Prague)...i find the setlist very good - Vain Glory Opera (best song) is there, Land Of The Miracle (best ballad) is there, Tears Of A Mandrake is there...if I blame something from this DVD, it would be sound (sounds somehow "artificial" to me - from youtube videos i have watched)

but what i have noticed from vids (and from the live performance i have seen) what i love - i would swear Tobi's eyes are glittering every time, when he summons crowd and they respond...and i strongly believe this is the meaning of doing music - enjoy it by whole heart and have good feeling from it...not to earn money, not to create "intelectual" music at all costs...
krystal-moon - 06.05.2010 at 03:26  
You know what? I completely agree with this review. When I heard Rocket Ride I didn't know if to laugh or cry, and it's getting worse and worse. Not knowing how to crash the American market, they've dumped their European fan base (and from an interview I caught, Tobsboy couldn't give rats arse about it) and gone all Kyoto blooming Motel. This is probably the only way they could even dream of having a chance in the US. So here comes the make up and hair ironed at 90°C, in come the screaming 14 year old girls (and their screamo hormones) and buckets of money. The only thing Toby is screwing is his ego and his bank account...Fucking with Fire...right...he's probably terrified of a candle flame, worried about his make up slipping off if he sweats...
Fat & Sassy! - 18.05.2010 at 00:20  
Written by krystal-moon on 06.05.2010 at 03:26

You know what? I completely agree with this review. When I heard Rocket Ride I didn't know if to laugh or cry, and it's getting worse and worse. Not knowing how to crash the American market, they've dumped their European fan base (and from an interview I caught, Tobsboy couldn't give rats arse about it) and gone all Kyoto blooming Motel. This is probably the only way they could even dream of having a chance in the US. So here comes the make up and hair ironed at 90°C, in come the screaming 14 year old girls (and their screamo hormones) and buckets of money. The only thing Toby is screwing is his ego and his bank account...Fucking with Fire...right...he's probably terrified of a candle flame, worried about his make up slipping off if he sweats...


Wow, that was spot-on and well said. Band history summed up in one paragraph! XD
krystal-moon - 18.05.2010 at 03:04  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 18.05.2010 at 00:20

Written by krystal-moon on 06.05.2010 at 03:26

You know what? I completely agree with this review. When I heard Rocket Ride I didn't know if to laugh or cry, and it's getting worse and worse. Not knowing how to crash the American market, they've dumped their European fan base (and from an interview I caught, Tobsboy couldn't give rats arse about it) and gone all Kyoto blooming Motel. This is probably the only way they could even dream of having a chance in the US. So here comes the make up and hair ironed at 90°C, in come the screaming 14 year old girls (and their screamo hormones) and buckets of money. The only thing Toby is screwing is his ego and his bank account...Fucking with Fire...right...he's probably terrified of a candle flame, worried about his make up slipping off if he sweats...


Wow, that was spot-on and well said. Band history summed up in one paragraph! XD



I've had that lodged in my throat for quite a while now. Thanks for the quote and comment, though I really wish I was wrong...
Cheers and keep the Metal up
Fat & Sassy! - 18.05.2010 at 07:31  
Written by krystal-moon on 18.05.2010 at 03:04

I've had that lodged in my throat for quite a while now. Thanks for the quote and comment, though I really wish I was wrong...
Cheers and keep the Metal up


Indeed. I was just really surprised, because most people just mindlessly bitch about stuff like that, but your rant was concise but said a whole lot in an almost poetic way. ;P Cheers and then some.
krystal-moon - 18.05.2010 at 14:30  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 18.05.2010 at 07:31

Indeed. I was just really surprised, because most people just mindlessly bitch about stuff like that, but your rant was concise but said a whole lot in an almost poetic way. ;P Cheers and then some.



My Poetic Ranting and Ladylike Bitching...HA! Move aside Mister John Keats!
Thanks for the laugh
Fat & Sassy! - 18.05.2010 at 20:53  
Written by krystal-moon on 18.05.2010 at 14:30

My Poetic Ranting and Ladylike Bitching...HA! Move aside Mister John Keats!
Thanks for the laugh


Pestilence - 13.04.2011 at 02:36  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.09.2009 at 23:47

Written by Ellrohir on 02.09.2009 at 23:43

The problem is, boys from Edguy dont mean it at all unlike some other bands...but some people here are too serious for funny bands...


Although they try to be funny they are not funny. Please a song such as Lavatory Love Machine is totally not funny.
Loads of bands try to be funny but as it turns out they are musicians and not comedians. And this espcially refers to Germans."
There is a universal riddle/joke which holds a lot of truth to it. "Question: What is the thinnest book of humour in the world? Answer: The German book of humour."

Zimmershole, however, now they ARE funny.


I love Lavatory Love Machine. Sure, a 6 year old come have made those jokes, but I still enjoy it.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Edguy - Age Of The Joker 7.5 06.10.2011 by Darklands
Articles Edguy - Nottingham, England, 19th March 2010 7 22.03.2010 by Ellrohir
Reviews Journey - Live In Manila 6 01.03.2010 by LeChron James
Reviews Exodus - Shovel Headed Tour Machine (Live At Wacken And Other Assorted Atrocities) 6 05.01.2010 by Baz Anderson
Photo galleries Edguy - Nottingham, England, 19th March 2010 5 22.03.2010 by The Shape 1973



Hits total: 5734 | This month: 36