Rating:
9.0
Devin Townsend - Addicted
13 November 2009


01. Addicted!
02. Universe In A Ball!
03. Bend It Like Bender!
04. Supercrush!
05. Hyperdrive!
06. Resolve!
07. Ih-Ah!
08. The Way Home!
09. Numbered!
10. Awake!!


Devin Townsend is back in all his original, fruity and experimental bald headed glory. Addicted is Devin's second album of the year, and true to his word it is heavier than predecessor Ki. Devin is a man of music and is now also a clean man giving alcohol and other addictions the kick. Along with Ki, Addicted is the clearest and most stable music the man has ever put out, and now with this latest edition to the catalogue Devin is once again up to his tricks breaking down the walls of music.

Addicted is quite simply the sweetest and most addictive album Devin has ever released. Along with the aid of The Gathering's Anneke, the duo sing their way through a diverse array of bold songs that will leave you both bemused and giddy. "Universe In A Ball" is a super-heavyweight, bass bash perplexing slap in the face destined for any good night club, where "Bend It Like Bender" takes things to the next level in almost Euro-dance music fashion with an ultra catchy, bopping chorus complete with Anneke's smooth vocals. Ziltoid's sci-fi-ish "Hyperdrive" is revisited with Anneke taking main vocal duties, and the soothing "In-Ah" is the closest Devin is going to get to cheesy pop music while still tastefully pulling it all off.

This is the biggest feel-good and consistently complete album the man has ever put to disc. You won't find a weak track on this blaringly colourful album. Devin and Anneke both do a fantastic job through a heavy and quite electronic, bordering on spacey at times, album that flows effortlessly from song to song to the unfortunate end.

Catchy, addictive and very melodic, Addicted will have you hooked, craving for more. You won't find anything so infatuating as this through the whole year, only time will tell how long its spellbinding charm will last.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Devin Townsend
Album: Addicted


 



Written on 15.11.2009 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 49  
Users visited: 429  
Search this topic:  


Introspekrieg - 15.11.2009 at 20:10  
Very addictive... some of the best tracks the man has ever recorded.

I'm still trying to get into "Ih-Ah!"

and "Bend It Like Bender!" - regarding which Devin states on his MySpace:

Quote:
Oh ok...here it is. 'Bend It Like Bender' (You! ...in the Nasum shirt! ...look away!!!)
I know...I know...it's a pretty bippy-boppy-Euro-type dance track, but you know? guilty as charged when it comes to loving that stuff. I remember hearing The Vengaboys 'We Like To Party' back when it came out and it nearly brought me to tears (I was cutting onions at the time...) something about EASY, FUN music that takes very little effort to enjoy...or detest as the case may well end up being .

So yeah, I wrote a song like that. ppppttthhhhhhhhhpppppppphhhhhhhh.....

I'm working on album three of the DTP quartet right now, Deconstruction. And it's such brained out, complicated nonsense, that while I was writing it (all 4 albums were written during the same period) I remember just finishing the track 'Traestorz' (Deconstruction) and my brain was reeling. Super complicated metal madness, and I was like, 'ENOUGH!!!' and threw my lube down in revulsion and laid into Bender with a 'phat ass beat' y'all.

Whats it about? Ah, indeed young knave, gather ye round and I shall despense the benevolent meaning of this cosmic conundrum upon thee:

ready..?

It's a play on the title 'Bend It Like Beckham' and the robot from Futurama named 'Bender', because he's into partying, and the records called 'Addicted'. Yup. Oh...and 'Bender' and 'Beckham' both start with the letter 'B'.

Anneke VanGeirbergen ladies and Germs...Anneke VanGeirbergen. Did I mention I love Abba as well? Well I do. AND we're still metal.

Again, all 4 records were written together...which was good for me, because when I would get all antsy with Ki, I would unload with Deconstruction, then get offended by my own pretension and rock some good vibes with Addicted, then when I would feel like it was ALL stupid, I'd write for Ghost, and make some dead country voices.

So yeah, enjoy. Or don't. I do.

Lastly, There's a time and a place for fat, shirtless men with head tattoos to bump into each other and yell, and a time and a place for women to move like the beautiful creatures they are.

...just sayin'

dev



Awesome review on an album that may give Riverside competition for best progressive metal album of the year.
Derwood - 15.11.2009 at 21:03  
I'm glad Devin realizes how easy it is to detest "Bend It Like Bender" because I got to that track and nearly wretched. It's a horrendous blight on an otherwise stellar album. "...pretty bippy-boppy-Euro-type dance..." is, in my never humble opinion, the worst type music ever made.

But the rest of the album slays.
Darkside Momo - 15.11.2009 at 22:07  
At first listen, I found it very good, catchy ASO... but less original than most of what he's done before.
But I'll sure listen to it again to have a better opinion.
arj - 15.11.2009 at 22:42  
The album is very very good
Fat & Sassy! - 16.11.2009 at 01:14  
I can't wait until I get this album... and then see him live in Jan. :O
LeChron James - 16.11.2009 at 02:04  
Soooooo funny that all the song titles have exclamation marks. definitely checking this out fo sho.
Raiden - 16.11.2009 at 06:17  
I heard samples of tracks on this album and they sounded great. Glad to hear the whole album follows the same line of goodness. Really looking forward to hearing this one!
Daggon - 16.11.2009 at 07:01  
This album is surely not for everyone, but I like it, I find it kinda short, but I like that, and it's very different from "Ki", but again I like it seems like Devin is having a great time doing this.

IMO Anneke's voice fits perfect in this album.
dEAthB3D - 16.11.2009 at 08:28  
Universe in a ball slapped my head away!!!!!! great song!
bend it like bender is somewhat unique but i really can't get into it since it's really weird and annoying sometimes (or all the times lol)...
btw good review mr anderson..
BloodTears - 16.11.2009 at 14:07  
Definitely listening to this, if not for anything else because I'm curious.
Ag Fox - 16.11.2009 at 14:48  
Gonna check it out despite "Ki" being such a big letdown
HardSide - 16.11.2009 at 18:17  
Written by Ag Fox on 16.11.2009 at 14:48

Gonna check it out despite "Ki" being such a big letdown


If you did not like KI you will not like this album, Devin is making a 3 album saga starting with KI, the first 2 are non-metal albums, the last one will be a "heavy" album as per Devin.
Elio - 16.11.2009 at 18:26  
Written by HardSide on 16.11.2009 at 18:17

Written by Ag Fox on 16.11.2009 at 14:48

Gonna check it out despite "Ki" being such a big letdown


If you did not like KI you will not like this album, Devin is making a 3 album saga starting with KI, the first 2 are non-metal albums, the last one will be a "heavy" album as per Devin.


The fact that Ki and Addicted! are both "non-metal" doesn't mean that he won't like this. Ki was a letdown in my opinion too and from an objective point of view, it wasn't that good. Now we have this new album, Addicted! for sure better than Ki. Silver_foxy may not like this one either but your statement was kinda weak imo.
ExtremeX - 16.11.2009 at 18:53  
Written by HardSide on 16.11.2009 at 18:17

Written by Ag Fox on 16.11.2009 at 14:48

Gonna check it out despite "Ki" being such a big letdown


If you did not like KI you will not like this album, Devin is making a 3 album saga starting with KI, the first 2 are non-metal albums, the last one will be a "heavy" album as per Devin.


No, the Devin Townsend Project is 4 albums: Ki, Addicted, Deconstruction (originally titled Deconstruction of a Cheeseburger), and Ghost. And yes, Devin said that Deconstruction is going to be the heaviest and most technical stuff he's ever put out.
Fat & Sassy! - 16.11.2009 at 23:00  
Written by HardSide on 16.11.2009 at 18:17

Written by Ag Fox on 16.11.2009 at 14:48

Gonna check it out despite "Ki" being such a big letdown


If you did not like KI you will not like this album, Devin is making a 3 album saga starting with KI, the first 2 are non-metal albums, the last one will be a "heavy" album as per Devin.


What? This album *IS* heavy as shit (except Ih-Ah!).

Just got done with my first listen, and I'd have to say for obviously being an intentionally more accessible Dev album, this blows Physicist out of the water.
jupitreas - 17.11.2009 at 00:27  
Devin Townsend records from this decade are all somewhat hit or miss affairs, with some tracks being highly impressive and otheres ing filler (that includes SYL).

This album has some very pretty melodies and catchy songs, nevertheless, I find that whenever Anneke isn't singing, it gets kinda boring. Conclusion - Anneke needs to sing instead of him in his band
Introspekrieg - 17.11.2009 at 00:43  
Devin's vibrato on "Awake!" is amazing...
jupitreas - 17.11.2009 at 02:18  
Written by Introspekrieg on 17.11.2009 at 00:43

Devin's vibrato on "Awake!" is amazing...


No argument, Devin is a great vocalist and this album might have some of his most impressive vocals. Nevertheless, I think Anneke really wipes the floor with poor ol' Dev here
Ag Fox - 17.11.2009 at 19:45  
Written by Elio on 16.11.2009 at 18:26

Written by HardSide on 16.11.2009 at 18:17

Written by Ag Fox on 16.11.2009 at 14:48

Gonna check it out despite "Ki" being such a big letdown


If you did not like KI you will not like this album, Devin is making a 3 album saga starting with KI, the first 2 are non-metal albums, the last one will be a "heavy" album as per Devin.


The fact that Ki and Addicted! are both "non-metal" doesn't mean that he won't like this. Ki was a letdown in my opinion too and from an objective point of view, it wasn't that good. Now we have this new album, Addicted! for sure better than Ki. Silver_foxy may not like this one either but your statement was kinda weak imo.

It turns out that i really enjoyed it (=
K†ulu - 17.11.2009 at 20:52  
I didn't really like this album. Weird music. Too "happy" for me.
MetalManic_Joel - 18.11.2009 at 20:15  
Written by Ag Fox on 16.11.2009 at 14:48

Gonna check it out despite "Ki" being such a big letdown


Letdown? Wow
3dd - 19.11.2009 at 18:56  
Really shitty album. This is some kind of pop experimental? WTF this is doing in Metal Storm at all?

...I wonder why people like it.
Introspekrieg - 19.11.2009 at 20:47  
Written by 3dd on 19.11.2009 at 18:56

Really shitty album. This is some kind of pop experimental? WTF this is doing in Metal Storm at all?

...I wonder why people like it.


The key word is experimental... something most progressive metal seems to have forgotten anymore.
Almost every other track on Addicted is heavier than Katatonia and Diablo Swing Orchestra combined... did you just listen to "Bend It Like Bender"?
Fat & Sassy! - 19.11.2009 at 22:36  
Written by Introspekrieg on 19.11.2009 at 20:47

Written by 3dd on 19.11.2009 at 18:56

Really shitty album. This is some kind of pop experimental? WTF this is doing in Metal Storm at all?

...I wonder why people like it.


The key word is experimental... something most progressive metal seems to have forgotten anymore.
Almost every other track on Addicted is heavier than Katatonia and Diablo Swing Orchestra combined... did you just listen to "Bend It Like Bender"?


Agreed. I think why some people find this album distasteful is that it has a very bright and happy aesthetic (With pop influences and whatnot)... For some reason, I suppose this would not validate it as "metal"... Which is utter bullshit.

Also, I am getting SO FUCKING TIRED of people claiming shit as not "real metal" or whatever. If you want to see a huge plethora of ignorance, check out some of these comments on this somewhat recent article.

http://www.metalstorm.ee/events/news_comments.php?news_id=9633&page=&message_id=
Elio - 19.11.2009 at 23:28  
Written by 3dd on 19.11.2009 at 18:56

Really shitty album. This is some kind of pop experimental? WTF this is doing in Metal Storm at all?

...I wonder why people like it.


I'd prefer to listen to this album than your boring crappy arguments anytime of the day.
Pétur - 20.11.2009 at 00:12  
Written by 3dd on 19.11.2009 at 18:56

Really shitty album. This is some kind of pop experimental? WTF this is doing in Metal Storm at all?

...I wonder why people like it.

Having fun creating clone accounts to downrate an album you don't like? pathetic loser.
3dd - 20.11.2009 at 18:50  
Written by Introspekrieg on 19.11.2009 at 20:47

Written by 3dd on 19.11.2009 at 18:56

Really shitty album. This is some kind of pop experimental? WTF this is doing in Metal Storm at all?

...I wonder why people like it.


The key word is experimental... something most progressive metal seems to have forgotten anymore.
Almost every other track on Addicted is heavier than Katatonia and Diablo Swing Orchestra combined... did you just listen to "Bend It Like Bender"?

You can't compare Katatonia with that. Yes, I had, dind't like it, sorry. Diablo Swing Orchestra had something really different, and similar, but with good (and fun) taste of music.

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 19.11.2009 at 22:36

Agreed. I think why some people find this album distasteful is that it has a very bright and happy aesthetic (With pop influences and whatnot)... For some reason, I suppose this would not validate it as "metal"... Which is utter bullshit.

Also, I am getting SO FUCKING TIRED of people claiming shit as not "real metal" or whatever. If you want to see a huge plethora of ignorance, check out some of these comments on this somewhat recent article.

http://www.metalstorm.ee/events/news_comments.php?news_id=9633&page=&message_id=

And that's the point, and the problem: "very bright and happy aesthetic With pop influences"

Written by Elio on 19.11.2009 at 23:28

I'd prefer to listen to this album than your boring crappy arguments anytime of the day.


Then don't read and leave.
Fat & Sassy! - 20.11.2009 at 22:40  
Written by 3dd on 20.11.2009 at 18:50

And that's the point, and the problem: "very bright and happy aesthetic With pop influences"


So, let me get this right. You are judging the album based off of *one* song that Introspekrieg mentioned? Also, any sort of metal with modern pop influences isn't metal? And since it doesn't qualify to you as "metal", it deserves a rating of "worst ever"?
3dd - 21.11.2009 at 12:32  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 20.11.2009 at 22:40

Written by 3dd on 20.11.2009 at 18:50

And that's the point, and the problem: "very bright and happy aesthetic With pop influences"


So, let me get this right. You are judging the album based off of *one* song that Introspekrieg mentioned? Also, any sort of metal with modern pop influences isn't metal? And since it doesn't qualify to you as "metal", it deserves a rating of "worst ever"?

No man, it's about he whole album. But hey, everyone have different opinions, there's no point talking more about it, arguing why it sucks or not.
Fat & Sassy! - 21.11.2009 at 15:43  
Written by 3dd on 21.11.2009 at 12:32

No man, it's about he whole album. But hey, everyone have different opinions, there's no point talking more about it, arguing why it sucks or not.


I believe that's why these discussion boards are here, but alright...
BloodTears - 21.11.2009 at 17:36  
I'm Addicted to this album, isn't that ironic? lol

I have listened to it 5 times at least, in the last few days and I don't think I'm stoping. I never thought the Townsend + Anneke duo would work so well. I think I like this album because it is so different from what I normally go for, and yes it is commercial and catchy, and why would that make it bad? Not for me.

Good music is good music, as far as I'm concerned. My taste in metal speaks for myself, I don't stick to whatever is not "pop" to define my favourite bands. And I'm open, I'm glad I had that attitude, otherwise I would've never listened to this great album.
Array - 21.11.2009 at 19:00  
Why Anneke wants to be a part of this boring recording after her great work at the gathering.
Fat & Sassy! - 21.11.2009 at 19:23  
Written by BloodTears on 21.11.2009 at 17:36

I'm Addicted to this album, isn't that ironic? lol

I have listened to it 5 times at least, in the last few days and I don't think I'm stoping. I never thought the Townsend + Anneke duo would work so well. I think I like this album because it is so different from what I normally go for, and yes it is commercial and catchy, and why would that make it bad? Not for me.


I agree. I think the catchy-ness of the album was an obvious choice by Dev when regarding the concept. I've listened to the album 2+ times each of the last few days. I don't do that often with any albums. The songs and album as a whole are the *perfect* length for the kind of music this is. Also, I've noticed that it may seem that this album and Ki are two different albums that shows very different sides of Dev's music. Ki being a more peaceful side, and Addicted showing the more poppy, accessible side of his music.
BloodTears - 21.11.2009 at 19:30  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 21.11.2009 at 19:23

Written by BloodTears on 21.11.2009 at 17:36

I'm Addicted to this album, isn't that ironic? lol

I have listened to it 5 times at least, in the last few days and I don't think I'm stoping. I never thought the Townsend + Anneke duo would work so well. I think I like this album because it is so different from what I normally go for, and yes it is commercial and catchy, and why would that make it bad? Not for me.


I agree. I think the catchy-ness of the album was an obvious choice by Dev when regarding the concept. I've listened to the album 2+ times each of the last few days. I don't do that often with any albums. The songs and album as a whole are the *perfect* length for the kind of music this is. Also, I've noticed that it may seem that this album and Ki are two different albums that shows very different sides of Dev's music. Ki being a more peaceful side, and Addicted showing the more poppy, accessible side of his music.


I'm still yet to listen to KI, but I will this week. I heard samples and they all sounded like my cup of tea. It seems like "Deconstruction" will be the heavier album, according to Devin. It would be amazing if he could succeed in all of his musical directions, it's very unusual to say the least.
Fat & Sassy! - 21.11.2009 at 19:33  
Written by BloodTears on 21.11.2009 at 19:30

I'm still yet to listen to KI, but I will this week. I heard samples and they all sounded like my cup of tea. It seems like "Deconstruction" will be the heavier album, according to Devin. It would be amazing if he could succeed in all of his musical directions, it's very unusual to say the least.


Ki is not *nearly* as accessible as this album. It took awhile to grow on me, but it's a pretty damn solid album in my opinion. And yes, I hope he succeeds too. It would be AWESOME to listen to all 4 albums in a row when they are done if they're as good as Ki and Addicted. :O
JohnDoe - 25.11.2009 at 16:53  
I enjoyed this album and I was blown away by Anneke's vocal performance; Devin is great on vocals as well. I agree this is his most accessible work, but still, the music is well done and interesting, it's catchy and yet complex, there's a balance all throughout the album - heavy-ness (if I may say so ), melody and complexity. Devin is still the unpredictible songwriter that surprises with every new release.
BloodTears - 27.11.2009 at 16:37  
Written by Guest on 27.11.2009 at 13:30

Written by BloodTears on 21.11.2009 at 19:30

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 21.11.2009 at 19:23

Written by BloodTears on 21.11.2009 at 17:36

I'm Addicted to this album, isn't that ironic? lol

I have listened to it 5 times at least, in the last few days and I don't think I'm stoping. I never thought the Townsend + Anneke duo would work so well. I think I like this album because it is so different from what I normally go for, and yes it is commercial and catchy, and why would that make it bad? Not for me.


I agree. I think the catchy-ness of the album was an obvious choice by Dev when regarding the concept. I've listened to the album 2+ times each of the last few days. I don't do that often with any albums. The songs and album as a whole are the *perfect* length for the kind of music this is. Also, I've noticed that it may seem that this album and Ki are two different albums that shows very different sides of Dev's music. Ki being a more peaceful side, and Addicted showing the more poppy, accessible side of his music.


I'm still yet to listen to KI, but I will this week. I heard samples and they all sounded like my cup of tea. It seems like "Deconstruction" will be the heavier album, according to Devin. It would be amazing if he could succeed in all of his musical directions, it's very unusual to say the least.


See, you're becoming a Devin's fan bit by bit


I'm still far away from that. My definition of fan is quite different. I am a fan when I know all the works a band released and like the majority of it full-heartedly and think the albums were important in some way, that's when I'm a fan. Right now, I can say I LIKE Townsend, we'll see what happens next.
Usurpus - 29.11.2009 at 14:26  
At the end of a day you even like this album or you don't. Personally I like this album, true its lighter than what we're used to from Devy but its a good album and its great that Devy's never been afraid to experiment. I even like Bend It Like Bender. can't wait to listen to Deconstruction
Fat & Sassy! - 08.12.2009 at 00:57  
After listening to this album a ba-zillion times, I'm confident in saying that it's the best album I've heard all year.
Kalt.Dunkelheit - 10.12.2009 at 19:18  
The whole albums was great, mostly the "Addicted" track. 9.0 rating is fair
Darkside Momo - 10.12.2009 at 19:48  
Written by K†ulu on 17.11.2009 at 20:52

I didn't really like this album. Weird music. Too "happy" for me.

The happy part is really what Devin had in mind for this album, according to an interview in Rock Hard France - not that I'm surprised, as this album is overflowing with positive feelings.
I generally don't like it, but it's OK on this album for me. Really.
Written by jupitreas on 17.11.2009 at 02:18

No argument, Devin is a great vocalist and this album might have some of his most impressive vocals. Nevertheless, I think Anneke really wipes the floor with poor ol' Dev here

I agree with all your points here.
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 21.11.2009 at 19:33

Ki is not *nearly* as accessible as this album. It took awhile to grow on me, but it's a pretty damn solid album in my opinion. And yes, I hope he succeeds too. It would be AWESOME to listen to all 4 albums in a row when they are done if they're as good as Ki and Addicted. :O

Yeah!
Regarding Ki, I agree it's great, no doubt about that, but it's too mellow for me to completely appreciate it now - except Trainfire, of course.
Pétur - 10.12.2009 at 20:38  
This album makes me feel all fuzzy and gay, I love it - great review. BEND IT LIKE A BENDER!!!!
Fat & Sassy! - 10.12.2009 at 21:58  
Written by Darkside Momo on 10.12.2009 at 19:48

Yeah!
Regarding Ki, I agree it's great, no doubt about that, but it's too mellow for me to completely appreciate it now - except Trainfire, of course.


Yeah, I really like Trainfire too. Especially the end when it sounds like a contemporary acoustic-pop song with the soft, sexy female vocals. Why is there no review for that album? :O
Darkside Momo - 10.12.2009 at 23:55  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 10.12.2009 at 21:58

Yeah, I really like Trainfire too. Especially the end when it sounds like a contemporary acoustic-pop song with the soft, sexy female vocals. Why is there no review for that album? :O

Dunno. No one, whether staff or guest, wrote anything, so... Why not you?
-DC-002- - 26.12.2009 at 10:21  
What a positive album. I bet he had a good time writing this.
Paradox0 - 22.01.2010 at 09:16  
Interesting work, but just too bubble-gummy happy poppy for my taste.
Fëanor - 10.06.2010 at 16:41  
The Devin Townsend Project is looking good so far... first Ki, now Addicted!... Deconstruction and Ghost are promising. I have high hopes, but at least with Devin I know I will never be disappointed.

I can see how some people who can't look past a purely metal formula can't appreciate this album... it's a shame really, but hey it's not for everyone. All I know is I love it, as do many others. That alone makes it worthwhile.

To the people who go out of their way to insult this music, let me just quote a motivational poster: "Devin Townsend - He has more talent in his little toe than you have in your entire body."
Necrodamus - 06.08.2010 at 20:47  
Great review Baz. This is one of the greatest pop metal albums I've ever heard, and Devin's writing proves to be as ingenious as ever yet again. I can't wait for Decon and Ghost, 2011 looks to be a great year for the inventor of Devy metal.
Evil Chip - 29.09.2012 at 00:36  
Anneke makes every song better. Very enterteining and easy album to listen.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Devin Townsend - Epicloud 9 18.09.2012 by IronAngel
Articles Devin Townsend - Acoustic Show - Sheffield, England, 16th November 2011 8 17.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Albums Devin Townsend - Addicted 6 24.08.2011 by musicalkaratekid
Reviews Splattered Mermaids - Stench Of Flesh 4.5 09.04.2009 by BitterCOld
Reviews Tenet - Sovereign 4.5 12.10.2009 by Daggon



Hits total: 13525 | This month: 45