Rating:
9.4
Reverorum Ib Malacht - What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas? [Demo]
July 2005


01. What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas?
02. ...And Bathe In Cold Holy Water


Pt. I - What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas? - In five parts an exegis of the prophets, Messiah and the Crucifixion.

Pt. II - ...And Bathe In Cold Holy Water - A four piece meditation on the Divine Presence and the Mysteries of Darkness and.
Death.


Our precious genre of 'Heavy Metal' is now, say, about forty years old. In these forty years there have been quite a few bands that tried to scare us. From Black Sabbath through Demilich to Darkspace and Esoteric. Occult symbolism, harsh noise, whirlwinds and sandstorms, underground caves, mad monks, labyrinths and cosmic terrors, we've seen much and by now we're used to much. Right?

Well, if you're really all that tough and masculine, and want to prove yourself, allow me to introduce you to Reverorum Ib Malacht. Or more in particular, their first demo What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas? (from now on referred to as Judas). Sounds tacky? Think again...

Judas opens up with howling winds and screaming voices. But soon enough an ardent stream envelops you. Within seconds your cosy living room has disappeared and you find yourself in the catacombs of an ancient abandoned monastery, where monks that once resided there suddenly disappeared seemingly without reason, until rumours of an allegiance with the Devil spread in the surrounding villages. It is the production that is largely responsible for the eerie vibe, as it is cataclysmic at the very least. The guitars, keyboards and drums are running rampant, but they're largely indistinguishable. They're morphed into one single stream, one smooth flow of sounds because of the awful (yet amazing) way it is all produced. It's as if every sound echoes through the infinite labyrinths of madness, forever and ever.

"...And Bathe In Cold Holy Water" continues the devilish insanity portrayed in "Judas" and tops it. What a breathtakingly delusional hymn! A beautiful intro slowly dissolves into harsh noise until the hellish stream-of-consciousness takes over again. One last element remains to be described: the vocals. No screams, no shrieks, no growls. No, only hallow, distant and hymnic vocals. Vocals with a confusing warmth to them, all the while remaining eerily estranging, utterly fanatic and despaired beyond words. There are no words.

Judas is Black metal in essence, but Black metal morphed beyond recognition. Amidst the large, ambient walls short bursts of rage spawn and dissolve. These burst seem largely improvised due to their chaotic, sloppy nature and their inconsistent appearances. Still, all the hellish, haunting and horrifying elements of Black metal are kept, intensified by evil Dark Ambient.

So, What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas? I have no choice but to fear and worship him. Unique. Breathtaking. Horrific. Fanatically fantastic.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


 



Written on 24.12.2009 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 77  
Users visited: 215  
Search this topic:  


ylside - 11.01.2010 at 00:48  
Written by Guest on 25.12.2009 at 04:43

When Lucas gives such a vote in his review it means I have to try it. but there is question for me, what is that jewish thing about? (the holder of the flames). in this photo of the artwork you cant see it but take a look at here:
what is the relations btw judas and this? I mean if this is a jewish band or not?

Well the band seems to have some sort of esoteric theming, and jewish mysticism (Kabbala) seems to be embraced by another band from Uppsala, Therion - there might be a link there . Also the label is named "The Ajna Offensive", and the ajna refers to the third eye chakra in hindi (or indian in general ?) mysticism I think.

Well I didnt comment here just for that, but I did like this demo surprinsingly. Totally shit production that reminds me of the last time I heard these black metal "derivatives" as in... Moevot. Nice atmospheric ambiance..

MAN these drums are....
THE_BLACK_GOD - 11.01.2010 at 08:33  
Written by ylside on 11.01.2010 at 00:48

Written by Guest on 25.12.2009 at 04:43

When Lucas gives such a vote in his review it means I have to try it. but there is question for me, what is that jewish thing about? (the holder of the flames). in this photo of the artwork you cant see it but take a look at here:
what is the relations btw judas and this? I mean if this is a jewish band or not?

Well the band seems to have some sort of esoteric theming, and jewish mysticism (Kabbala) seems to be embraced by another band from Uppsala, Therion - there might be a link there . Also the label is named "The Ajna Offensive", and the ajna refers to the third eye chakra in hindi (or indian in general ?) mysticism I think.

true said, it was my fault cause I thought they are satanist or something then I found they are a religious band.
ylside - 11.01.2010 at 17:15  
Written by Guest on 11.01.2010 at 08:33

true said, it was my fault cause I thought they are satanist or something then I found they are a religious band.

Spiritual most probably, not religious. There's quite a difference
THE_BLACK_GOD - 11.01.2010 at 19:08  
Written by ylside on 11.01.2010 at 17:15

Written by Guest on 11.01.2010 at 08:33

true said, it was my fault cause I thought they are satanist or something then I found they are a religious band.

Spiritual most probably, not religious. There's quite a difference

I know what is Spiritual but I think Ive read that they are religious. anyway.
Lucas - 11.01.2010 at 19:16  
They're Christian actually, that's what I heard.
Got Mayhem? - 15.05.2010 at 17:47  
Well, if it's true, then this is the best Christian music I've ever heard.
Götter - 02.06.2010 at 08:56  
Well, I discovered this only now, and it's awesome! Totally something to listen to until old Abruptum is reformed and IT starts making music again.
InnerSelf - 05.06.2010 at 11:34  
Honestly this is one of the greatest reviews I have ever read in MS "after Jupitears masterpiece For Lies I Sire of course "
anyway it got my attention from the beginning and through out the review it felt like the only thing that I want right now is to listen to this album for it is "as you described" Mystic , and actually the first thing that went through my mind was The Ruins of Beverast "I don't know if there is any similarity" I hope this album creates the same atmosphere that Unlock The Shrine does

A great review ,thx man
Lucas - 05.06.2010 at 11:45  
Written by InnerSelf on 05.06.2010 at 11:34

Honestly this is one of the greatest reviews I have ever read in MS "after Jupitears masterpiece For Lies I Sire of course "
anyway it got my attention from the beginning and through out the review it felt like the only thing that I want right now is to listen to this album for it is "as you described" Mystic , and actually the first thing that went through my mind was The Ruins of Beverast "I don't know if there is any similarity" I hope this album creates the same atmosphere that Unlock The Shrine does

A great review ,thx man


Thanks for the kind words man.

As for The Ruins Of Beverast... the resemblence in vibe/sound is minimal, but I'd say that if you like the one, you'll most likely like the other.
Maxx666 - 07.07.2010 at 21:26  
Oh! MAN!!!
Lucas - 07.07.2010 at 22:37  
Written by Maxx666 on 07.07.2010 at 21:26

Oh! MAN!!!


Like it?
Maxx666 - 08.07.2010 at 09:56  
Written by Lucas on 07.07.2010 at 22:37

Written by Maxx666 on 07.07.2010 at 21:26

Oh! MAN!!!


Like it?


Of course man. I love it!! it surpassed my expectation. and awesome review !!! you truly describe the essential atmosphere that this album creates!!!
InnerSelf - 19.08.2010 at 01:52  
Got it today and ..... well Heck I am too scared to talk
still have to let it soak though , will get back here later
Lucas - 30.06.2011 at 21:37  
Written by InnerSelf on 19.08.2010 at 01:52

Got it today and ..... well Heck I am too scared to talk
still have to let it soak though , will get back here later


Are you alright?
Mr. Doctor - 30.06.2011 at 21:58  
Written by Lucas on 30.06.2011 at 21:37

Written by InnerSelf on 19.08.2010 at 01:52

Got it today and ..... well Heck I am too scared to talk
still have to let it soak though , will get back here later


Are you alright?


I remember when you send me that shit... I still can't listen to the second track too much.
That noisy and ear-piercing moment always makes me feel unconfortable.
(((O))) - 30.06.2011 at 23:52  
Is this really THAT scary? I've listened to one of the tracks on YT with headphones and it wasn't very scary at all, the atmosphere is good though, those chanting vocals and the raw (shitty) production works perfect but I wouldn't call it scary.
Mr. Doctor - 01.07.2011 at 02:57  
Written by (((O))) on 30.06.2011 at 23:52

Is this really THAT scary? I've listened to one of the tracks on YT with headphones and it wasn't very scary at all, the atmosphere is good though, those chanting vocals and the raw (shitty) production works perfect but I wouldn't call it scary.


Depends on the people... That album caught me out of guard on a very very specific day when I was totally alone and not in a very bright mood.
Also... the differencebetween us here seems to be that I didn't knew shit about this music before listening to it you already got quite spoiled about it. Lucas just flat out sended it to me saying "this is sick shit" and that statement can be used to pretty much a lot of shit that I listen to so I didn't expect this AT ALL.
InnerSelf - 01.07.2011 at 14:31  
Written by Lucas on 30.06.2011 at 21:37

Written by InnerSelf on 19.08.2010 at 01:52

Got it today and ..... well Heck I am too scared to talk
still have to let it soak though , will get back here later


Are you alright?


hehehehe
on certain days and when I'm in the right mood for such stuff there is nothing like it ever , maybe just The Ruins of Beverast debut

EDIT : and Darkspace
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.07.2011 at 16:35  
Pretty average band this if you ask me. Not really scary, more like a pastiche of dark ambient textures that suckles at the teat of the masters.
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.07.2011 at 17:34  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.07.2011 at 16:35

Pretty average band this if you ask me. Not really scary, more like a pastiche of dark ambient textures that suckles at the teat of the masters.


Thank God I am not the only one who finds them average and not scary at all.
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.07.2011 at 19:10  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.07.2011 at 17:34

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.07.2011 at 16:35

Pretty average band this if you ask me. Not really scary, more like a pastiche of dark ambient textures that suckles at the teat of the masters.


Thank God I am not the only one who finds them average and not scary at all.

Yep, Lucas definitely dropped the ball on tis one
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.07.2011 at 19:26  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.07.2011 at 19:10

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.07.2011 at 17:34

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.07.2011 at 16:35

Pretty average band this if you ask me. Not really scary, more like a pastiche of dark ambient textures that suckles at the teat of the masters.


Thank God I am not the only one who finds them average and not scary at all.

Yep, Lucas definitely dropped the ball on tis one


Accroding to me he also dropped it on Oranssi Pazuzu
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.07.2011 at 19:31  
Nah Orange whatsit are actually pretty good, but I knew about them before Lucas reviewed it so I wouldn't count that under his fails anyway ;]
Mr. Doctor - 01.07.2011 at 21:28  
Meh guys, I can agree with you that this album shouldn't make the cut for best ofthe decade but it ain't bad at all. The scary part is just subjective though. Even without that factor the music is still kind of neat.
Lucas - 02.07.2011 at 10:13  
Oh lord, Marcel and Joe teaming up on me... that's new.
Mr. Doctor - 02.07.2011 at 12:56  
Written by Lucas on 02.07.2011 at 10:13

Oh lord, Marcel and Joe teaming up on me... that's new.


They both secretly love you, that is obvious.
spirit_inblack - 22.10.2011 at 05:50  
Oi, new release on Ajna soon!
http://www.theajnaoffensive.com/

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Reverorum Ib Malacht - What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas? [Demo] 18 21.05.2010 by Got Mayhem?
Reviews Reverorum Ib Malacht - Likpredikan 7.5 09.08.2010 by Mr. Doctor
Alternative metal forum What do you think about the new StoneSour Album? 6 13.08.2006 by marinBG
General metal forum What do you think about the term "Sold Out"? 6 19.08.2007 by selken
General forum What do you think about Purgatory 4.5 23.04.2008 by ArtiA



Hits total: 7117 | This month: 45