Reverorum Ib Malacht - What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas? review



Reviewer:
9.4

11 users:
6.73
Band: Reverorum Ib Malacht
Album: What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas?
Release date: July 2005


01. What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas?
02. ...And Bathe In Cold Holy Water


Our precious genre of 'Heavy Metal' is now, say, about forty years old. In these forty years there have been quite a few bands that tried to scare us. From Black Sabbath through Demilich to Darkspace and Esoteric. Occult symbolism, harsh noise, whirlwinds and sandstorms, underground caves, mad monks, labyrinths and cosmic terrors, we've seen much and by now we're used to much. Right?

Well, if you're really all that tough and masculine, and want to prove yourself, allow me to introduce you to Reverorum Ib Malacht. Or more in particular, their first demo What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas? (from now on referred to as Judas). Sounds tacky? Think again...

Judas opens up with howling winds and screaming voices. But soon enough an ardent stream envelops you. Within seconds your cosy living room has disappeared and you find yourself in the catacombs of an ancient abandoned monastery, where monks that once resided there suddenly disappeared seemingly without reason, until rumours of an allegiance with the Devil spread in the surrounding villages. It is the production that is largely responsible for the eerie vibe, as it is cataclysmic at the very least. The guitars, keyboards and drums are running rampant, but they're largely indistinguishable. They're morphed into one single stream, one smooth flow of sounds because of the awful (yet amazing) way it is all produced. It's as if every sound echoes through the infinite labyrinths of madness, forever and ever.

"...And Bathe In Cold Holy Water" continues the devilish insanity portrayed in "Judas" and tops it. What a breathtakingly delusional hymn! A beautiful intro slowly dissolves into harsh noise until the hellish stream-of-consciousness takes over again. One last element remains to be described: the vocals. No screams, no shrieks, no growls. No, only hallow, distant and hymnic vocals. Vocals with a confusing warmth to them, all the while remaining eerily estranging, utterly fanatic and despaired beyond words. There are no words.

Judas is Black metal in essence, but Black metal morphed beyond recognition. Amidst the large, ambient walls short bursts of rage spawn and dissolve. These burst seem largely improvised due to their chaotic, sloppy nature and their inconsistent appearances. Still, all the hellish, haunting and horrifying elements of Black metal are kept, intensified by evil Dark Ambient.

So, What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas? I have no choice but to fear and worship him. Unique. Breathtaking. Horrific. Fanatically fantastic.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


 



Written on 24.12.2009 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments page 3 / 3

Comments: 77   Visited by: 222 users
07.07.2010 - 22:37
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Maxx666 on 07.07.2010 at 21:26

Oh! MAN!!!


Like it?
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
08.07.2010 - 09:56
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Written by Lucas on 07.07.2010 at 22:37

Written by Maxx666 on 07.07.2010 at 21:26

Oh! MAN!!!


Like it?


Of course man. I love it!! it surpassed my expectation. and awesome review !!! you truly describe the essential atmosphere that this album creates!!!
Loading...
19.08.2010 - 01:52
InnerSelf
proofread free
Got it today and ..... well Heck I am too scared to talk
still have to let it soak though , will get back here later
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
30.06.2011 - 21:37
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by InnerSelf on 19.08.2010 at 01:52

Got it today and ..... well Heck I am too scared to talk
still have to let it soak though , will get back here later


Are you alright?
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
30.06.2011 - 21:58
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Lucas on 30.06.2011 at 21:37

Written by InnerSelf on 19.08.2010 at 01:52

Got it today and ..... well Heck I am too scared to talk
still have to let it soak though , will get back here later


Are you alright?


I remember when you send me that shit... I still can't listen to the second track too much.
That noisy and ear-piercing moment always makes me feel unconfortable.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
30.06.2011 - 23:52
(((O)))
Is this really THAT scary? I've listened to one of the tracks on YT with headphones and it wasn't very scary at all, the atmosphere is good though, those chanting vocals and the raw (shitty) production works perfect but I wouldn't call it scary.
Loading...
01.07.2011 - 02:57
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by (((O))) on 30.06.2011 at 23:52

Is this really THAT scary? I've listened to one of the tracks on YT with headphones and it wasn't very scary at all, the atmosphere is good though, those chanting vocals and the raw (shitty) production works perfect but I wouldn't call it scary.


Depends on the people... That album caught me out of guard on a very very specific day when I was totally alone and not in a very bright mood.
Also... the differencebetween us here seems to be that I didn't knew shit about this music before listening to it you already got quite spoiled about it. Lucas just flat out sended it to me saying "this is sick shit" and that statement can be used to pretty much a lot of shit that I listen to so I didn't expect this AT ALL.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
01.07.2011 - 14:31
InnerSelf
proofread free
Written by Lucas on 30.06.2011 at 21:37

Written by InnerSelf on 19.08.2010 at 01:52

Got it today and ..... well Heck I am too scared to talk
still have to let it soak though , will get back here later


Are you alright?


hehehehe
on certain days and when I'm in the right mood for such stuff there is nothing like it ever , maybe just The Ruins of Beverast debut

EDIT : and Darkspace
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
01.07.2011 - 16:35
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Pretty average band this if you ask me. Not really scary, more like a pastiche of dark ambient textures that suckles at the teat of the masters.
Loading...
01.07.2011 - 17:34
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 01.07.2011 at 16:35

Pretty average band this if you ask me. Not really scary, more like a pastiche of dark ambient textures that suckles at the teat of the masters.


Thank God I am not the only one who finds them average and not scary at all.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
01.07.2011 - 19:10
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.07.2011 at 17:34

Written by Guest on 01.07.2011 at 16:35

Pretty average band this if you ask me. Not really scary, more like a pastiche of dark ambient textures that suckles at the teat of the masters.


Thank God I am not the only one who finds them average and not scary at all.

Yep, Lucas definitely dropped the ball on tis one
Loading...
01.07.2011 - 19:26
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 01.07.2011 at 19:10

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.07.2011 at 17:34

Written by Guest on 01.07.2011 at 16:35

Pretty average band this if you ask me. Not really scary, more like a pastiche of dark ambient textures that suckles at the teat of the masters.


Thank God I am not the only one who finds them average and not scary at all.

Yep, Lucas definitely dropped the ball on tis one


Accroding to me he also dropped it on Oranssi Pazuzu
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
01.07.2011 - 19:31
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Nah Orange whatsit are actually pretty good, but I knew about them before Lucas reviewed it so I wouldn't count that under his fails anyway ;]
Loading...
01.07.2011 - 21:28
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Meh guys, I can agree with you that this album shouldn't make the cut for best ofthe decade but it ain't bad at all. The scary part is just subjective though. Even without that factor the music is still kind of neat.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
02.07.2011 - 10:13
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Oh lord, Marcel and Joe teaming up on me... that's new.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
02.07.2011 - 12:56
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Lucas on 02.07.2011 at 10:13

Oh lord, Marcel and Joe teaming up on me... that's new.


They both secretly love you, that is obvious.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
22.10.2011 - 05:50
spirit_inblack
harshhead
Oi, new release on Ajna soon!
http://www.theajnaoffensive.com/
Loading...

Hits total: 8039 | This month: 21