Rating:
8.9
Metallica - ...And Justice For All
25 August 1988


01. Blackened
02. ...And Justice For All
03. Eye Of The Beholder
04. One
05. The Shortest Straw
06. Harvester Of Sorrow
07. The Frayed Ends Of Sanity
08. To Live Is To Die
09. Dyers Eve
10. The Prince [Japanese bonus]
11. One [live] [digital reissue bonus]
12. ...And Justice For All [live] [digital reissue bonus]


Metallica! Need we say anything more about this band? They are the biggest Heavy Metal band ever to have existed, sold more records than any other Metal band and have performed in almost all the countries on the planet. They are the fathers of Thrash Metal and are one of the most influential bands of all time. Most of you know a great deal about them so I won't be elaborating anymore.

...And Justice For All was released in 1988 and was the first to feature Jason Newsted on bass following the tragic death of their original bassist Cliff Burton.

This album is an enigma of sorts as on hearing it you get the feeling that it is more of a Progressive Thrash record rather than a full-on Thrash record and I have a good reason to back my claim as ...And Justice For All featured long, complex songs dominated almost completely by the rhythm-guitar parts. The drums occupied a relatively high frequency range, with the kick drum given a top edge that was unusual for the day and most infamously the bass guitar was almost completely mixed out. Staying on the topic of bass guitar it may have been because of the fact that Newsted was the new guy and the other 3 guys had still not completely gotten over Cliff's death and the only way for them to deal with it was to bring it out Jason Newsted.

The album opens with "Blackened" which has that classic introductory riff and now it is, more often than not, the opening song in most Metallica concerts . The album also features the epic "One" which is, atleast in my opinion, the best Metallica song ever and also their best song while performing live. "To Live Is To Die" is the customary instrumental number. "Harvester Of Sorrow" is another chestnut from that album and sounds even better when performed live.

Metallica was it's creative peak at that time and all it's members were at their peak form. James Hetfield was at his sublime best with the rhythm guitar and it is not wrong to consider him as the greatest rhythm guitarist ever, his rhythm pickings are razor sharp in precision and he has inspired a whole new generation of guitar players . James' machine-gun like picking in "One" is nothing but extraordinary. Kirk Hammett was great with his solos. Lars Ulrich gave his best ever drumming performance in "Dyers Eve". Jason Newsted's bass-lines were sadly muted out .

The production was not good but in a way it made the album sound even heavier! Even though ...And Justice For All hasn't done much justice to the bass guitar it is still a bona fide classic.

This was the last classic Thrash album made by Metallica before they went sell-out with their self-titled album in 1991.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 6


Band profile: Metallica
Album: ...And Justice For All


 


written by Hermann Langke | 04.07.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Joey Jo Jo

Rating:
5.0
Hmmm, so this is the last "true" Metallica classic? Let me start off by saying a lot of fans consider this to be their "progressive" album, while after hearing it through, the only thing I can point out that has "progressed" is the band's ability to bore the listener into a deep coma after a couple tracks.

Read more ››
published 05.08.2005 | Comments (88)

Guest review by
Powerslave16

Rating:
9.0
When I came across Aguirre's review of Metallica's '...And Justice For All', I immediately spewed Coca-Cola everywhere and threatened the non-stickiness of my keyboard. I didn't see it coming, I guess. Aguirre is entitled to his opinion, but what follows is my review of Metallica's 'last great' and 'progressive' album.

Read more ››
published 29.09.2007 | Comments (39)

Guest review by
!Mac!

Rating:
8.0
It can easily be said that music is a photo in time. A fragment in where society is once shot, forever leaving the remembrance of where and who we were. This translates directly and more so intently to an artist or band, and where they were in their lives and careers when a piece of work was released. For Metallica in 1988, two-years removed from a loss of a brother, a friend and a band mate, bassist Cliff Burton, they showed their scars in an album that I can only help but adore. "…And Justice For All" is a long, (65-minutes long, 10 less than the maximum) drawn out, epic, loud, angry, and emotionally charged record that sweeps its listeners up into its messages and endless musicianship.

Read more ››
published 03.12.2008 | Comments (4)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 142  
Search this topic:  


Hermann Langke - 04.07.2010 at 15:58  
Thanks to the staff for bearing with me and encouraging me. I am indebted!
Thanks to them!
In Bone Factory - 04.07.2010 at 16:43  
Great review and to me this Album is one of the best albums ever.
Hermann Langke - 04.07.2010 at 16:48  
Written by In Bone Factory on 04.07.2010 at 16:43

Great review and to me this Album is one of the best albums ever.

Thanks Bro. ! This is also my personal best from Metallica.
K†ulu - 04.07.2010 at 17:43  
The fourth review of this freaking album??? One more and it will beat Wintersun.

Mostly agree with everything, especially with "Harvester" sounding better live, that is a fact! But dude, "To Live is to Die" is a "customary instrumental number?" Are you kidding me? That song is one of the most emotional and passionate in their discography. And it's epic!

P.S. Where is Marcel whining about how sucky this album is?
Angelic Storm - 04.07.2010 at 18:08  
This was my first taste of Metallica, and of more extreme music. Before anyone laughs, bear in mind that the 'heaviest' things Id been exposed to at that point were Jovi, Leppard, and Crue.

For me, this is a total classic, and one of the all time great metal albums. And definitely up there with Metallica's 3 earlier defining albums. Only the production, the lack of bass especially, letting it down a bit. Definitely a genre defining thrash/prog classic, like Rust In Peace.
In Bone Factory - 04.07.2010 at 18:45  
Riffs of the song "Eye Of The Beholder" was one of those reasons which made me loving metal music.
Daggon - 04.07.2010 at 21:20  
Quote:
Metallica! Need we say anything more about this band?

End of the review.

Seriously talking, another "Justice" review? Well, I'm not complaining, I just think that everything that has to be said about this album is in the other 3 reviews already posted in MS.

Written by K†ulu on 04.07.2010 at 17:43

P.S. Where is Marcel whining about how sucky this album is?


I was actually thinking the same Don't worry, he'll come anytime for sure
Hermann Langke - 05.07.2010 at 09:11  
Written by Angelic Storm on 04.07.2010 at 18:08

This was my first taste of Metallica, and of more extreme music. Before anyone laughs, bear in mind that the 'heaviest' things Id been exposed to at that point were Jovi, Leppard, and Crue.

For me, this is a total classic, and one of the all time great metal albums. And definitely up there with Metallica's 3 earlier defining albums. Only the production, the lack of bass especially, letting it down a bit. Definitely a genre defining thrash/prog classic, like Rust In Peace.

Even I was a Bon Jovi and Lep fan but now I have moved beyond it
CreeperDeath - 05.07.2010 at 09:11  
"Metallica! Need we say anything more about this band?"

Then why writing another (another..) review ? What you said here is nothing new to me...

PRE-EDIT: Daggon advanced me !
Hermann Langke - 05.07.2010 at 09:15  
Written by Daggon on 04.07.2010 at 21:20

Quote:
Metallica! Need we say anything more about this band?

End of the review.

Seriously talking, another "Justice" review? Well, I'm not complaining, I just think that everything that has to be said about this album is in the other 3 reviews already posted in MS.

Written by K†ulu on 04.07.2010 at 17:43

P.S. Where is Marcel whining about how sucky this album is?


I was actually thinking the same Don't worry, he'll come anytime for sure

I just wanted to pour my heart on it.
Hermann Langke - 05.07.2010 at 09:17  
Written by CreeperDeath on 05.07.2010 at 09:11

"Metallica! Need we say anything more about this band?"

Then why writing another (another..) review ? What you said here is nothing new to me...

PRE-EDIT: Daggon advanced me !

I have said earlier I wanted to pour my heart out bro.
JohnDoe - 05.07.2010 at 09:37  
Written by K†ulu on 04.07.2010 at 17:43


But dude, "To Live is to Die" is a "customary instrumental number?" Are you kidding me? That song is one of the most emotional and passionate in their discography. And it's epic!



I couldn't agree more, To live Is to Die is one of the gems of this album and one of the best song Metallica ever wrote. In my opinion obviously. Customary? OMFG!!
Hermann Langke - 05.07.2010 at 14:44  
Written by JohnDoe on 05.07.2010 at 09:37

Written by K†ulu on 04.07.2010 at 17:43


But dude, "To Live is to Die" is a "customary instrumental number?" Are you kidding me? That song is one of the most emotional and passionate in their discography. And it's epic!



I couldn't agree more, To live Is to Die is one of the gems of this album and one of the best song Metallica ever wrote. In my opinion obviously. Customary? OMFG!!

By customary I meant that their earlier records also had instrumental numbers. And I love it!
Daggon - 06.07.2010 at 05:58  
Written by Hermann Langke on 05.07.2010 at 09:15

I just wanted to pour my heart on it.


That's ok for me, I just wanted to express my opinion about it
Hermann Langke - 06.07.2010 at 08:58  
Written by Daggon on 06.07.2010 at 05:58

Written by Hermann Langke on 05.07.2010 at 09:15

I just wanted to pour my heart on it.


That's ok for me, I just wanted to express my opinion about it

Fine bro. besides I believe this was the last of Metallica at its best
vezzy - 10.07.2010 at 15:21  
Good album, but I'm getting sick of Metallica reviews. XD
Panterica - 15.07.2010 at 16:16  
Written by vezzy on 10.07.2010 at 15:21

Good album, but I'm getting sick of Metallica reviews. XD


Same here.
Damage inc. - 31.07.2010 at 22:35  
Good album kicks ass
Mr. Sizzle - 13.09.2010 at 02:12  
I have to say... this review... is fair. At first I thought you're being a bit generous, but no. You're right. The review is pretty accurate (although the statement about One still tests my patience...) and you did a good job.
Iluvatar - 20.01.2011 at 00:56  
"They are the biggest Heavy Metal band ever to have existed, ...." LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL
Daniell - 14.12.2012 at 12:04  
Quote:
This was the last classic Thrash album made by Metallica before they went sell-out with their self-titled album in 1991.


That's funny because the black album is actually a bit better than this one.
Ozman - 14.12.2012 at 13:15  
Written by Daniell on 14.12.2012 at 12:04

Quote:
This was the last classic Thrash album made by Metallica before they went sell-out with their self-titled album in 1991.


That's funny because the black album is actually a bit better than this one.


and there I disagree, Metallica is far worse than this one to me
Daniell - 14.12.2012 at 15:21  
Quote:
Written by Ozman on 14.12.2012 at 13:15

That's funny because the black album is actually a bit better than this one.


and there I disagree, Metallica is far worse than this one to me


At least it has focused songs that don't meander like the Yangtse river.
Void Eater - 14.12.2012 at 17:34  
Oh look people are reviving old Metallica reviews again. Frayed Ends Of Sanity is among Metallica's best songs and needs to be played live. The harmonized guitar lines at 3:42 and that riff at 4:05=some of Metallica's best moments.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Metallica - ...And Justice For All 10 30.07.2006 by Fane
Reviews Metallica - ...And Justice For All 10 15.12.2008 by Mindheist
Reviews Metallica - ...And Justice For All 10 29.09.2007 by Syk
Albums Metallica - ...And Justice For All 9 20.03.2010 by
News Metallica - ...And Recording For All 7.5 15.03.2007 by Syk



Hits total: 4185 | This month: 44