Rating:
9.2
Vektor - Black Future
17 November 2009


01. Black Future
02. Oblivion
03. Destroying The Cosmos
04. Forests Of Legend
05. Hunger For Violence
06. Deoxyribonucleic Acid
07. Asteroid
08. Dark Nebula
09. Accelerating Universe


This band rocked my world sometime in mid-February. I tried making some noise about their brilliant creation called Black Future but nothing less than a review will do justice to this thrash combo from Arizona. Vektor made an album that combines heaviness and melody in a new, fresh way. The dudes can shred (oh yes!), but it's not wankery. They can play beautiful acoustic passages and incorporate ambient breaks, and not for one second do they sound boring. They throw in prog and black, and their thrash is so natural and unpretentious, it's hard to believe. And the vocals… are… sick. David Disanto mixes classic black metal singing with some occasional unearthly high-pitched screams making his voice undeniably recognizable.

I wouldn't go ahead and call Black Future a progressive thrash album but this is definitely some original thrash. Not only there are tons of riffs and solos but the album possesses the epic feel about it - grandiose at times but not cheesy to any extent; something like Dissection. Speaking of which, there are ten seconds on the song "Dark Nebula" which sound almost like the main riff of Dissection's "Unhallowed." Anyway, this album is like an exciting journey on which you don't know where the next turn is going to take you. Nevertheless, there is no unnecessary hypercomplexity. Time signature-wise, it is pretty simple and to the point; you don't find any abrupt riff changes or anything like that but the contents make it stand out. Every instrument is played so well and with such degree of accuracy and technicality that this album is just a new benchmark in the world of thrash. The main thing though is that Vektor don't try to copy any thrash legends in an attempt to sound old school and actually it makes all the sense in the world if you consider how variegated their influences are. After all, the music on this album is just so much more than thrash.

From whatever side you look at this album, it is basically perfect and all elements fit. Production is clear enough to let us hear all the intricacies and much better than on the previous record Demolition which sounds more like a demo compared to Black Future. The guitars sound appropriately epic and "cosmic" sometimes crossing the black metal territory to envelop the tragic feel of the obscure sci-fi lyrical themes and the drums are not the last reason to overplay this album.

Don't wait, go out there and buy this masterpiece as this baby is filled with so much breathtaking material that it will keep you hooked for weeks, if not months!

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Vektor
Album: Black Future


 


written by K†ulu | 02.07.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Mattybu

Rating:
N/A
Yawn. Nothing here we haven't seen on Puppets Sell, But Who's Reigning? Exodus did all this way better 70 years ago. I say that because Vektor are beating the proverbial thrash metal horse to death.

Or are they?

Read more ››
published 17.08.2013 | Comments (0)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 200  
Search this topic:  


oroboros - 03.07.2010 at 09:31  
I luv this album..the vocals are weirdly awesome..
Daggon - 05.07.2010 at 00:24  
You perfectly summed it up in this review,

Quote:
Not only there are tons of riffs and solos but the album possesses the epic feel about it - grandiose at times but not cheesy to any extent


I could not said it better than you. this album blew me on 2009, it is really really good, innovative, aggressive, thrashy, proggy, epic, unexpected, unpredictable, call it what you want, this album totally blows!
K†ulu - 05.07.2010 at 00:32  
Written by Daggon on 05.07.2010 at 00:24

You perfectly summed it up in this review,

Quote:
Not only there are tons of riffs and solos but the album possesses the epic feel about it - grandiose at times but not cheesy to any extent


I could not said it better than you. this album blew me on 2009, it is really really good, innovative, aggressive, thrashy, proggy, epic, unexpected, unpredictable, call it what you want, this album totally blows!


Thanks a lot! I think the review by autothrall at Metal Archives kicks ass. Read it. http://www.metal-archives.com/review.php?id=253272
Novas - 20.07.2010 at 09:12  
I just came across this when i was searching thru the tours on the left side here & saw a band called, Vektor...

saw the genre being thrash, my fav genre, look into them...
BLOWN THE FUCK AWAY

blending prog, black, thrash, & tech. they change the style so much that u have to keep hearing the song over & over again to know if its still the same song, like the 10 minute epic "Forests of Legend"

im getting this album if i can, in the meantime...ITUNES !!!
Moose - 26.08.2010 at 15:32  
Deserves a top 5 spot for 09 for sure....so fucken good!
K†ulu - 26.08.2010 at 21:55  
Written by Moose on 26.08.2010 at 15:32

Deserves a top 5 spot for 09 for sure....so fucken good!

Right you are. It's #4 on my list.
Deadmeat - 31.08.2010 at 21:22  
Ive not heard yet the album but after listening to their debut i can totally agree with your review in: ORIGINALITY 10! this band looks like they came from another planet, like they play never played music and it is amazing... i hope i never discover any band that has played the same way before them...
Deadmeat - 28.11.2010 at 21:42  
Well, now that i listened to the album i can say: great review, this album is just awesome. in i where you i would find it difficult not to mention separately most of the songs... i just love this band. the solo on DESTROYING THE COSMOS is probably my favorite music solo! or at least among the best...
K†ulu - 28.11.2010 at 23:14  
Written by Deadmeat on 28.11.2010 at 21:42

Well, now that i listened to the album i can say: great review, this album is just awesome. in i where you i would find it difficult not to mention separately most of the songs... i just love this band. the solo on DESTROYING THE COSMOS is probably my favorite music solo! or at least among the best...


I didn't include any specific song descriptions almost on purpose. It's a great album overall, so I described it as overall consistently amazing .
Deadmeat - 29.11.2010 at 00:34  
Written by K†ulu on 28.11.2010 at 23:14

Written by Deadmeat on 28.11.2010 at 21:42

Well, now that i listened to the album i can say: great review, this album is just awesome. in i where you i would find it difficult not to mention separately most of the songs... i just love this band. the solo on DESTROYING THE COSMOS is probably my favorite music solo! or at least among the best...


I didn't include any specific song descriptions almost on purpose. It's a great album overall, so I described it as overall consistently amazing .

yeah i understand! but what i love in this album is that every song differs a lot from the others. it is like we have 9 different little stories in one great book!
Whoblehwah - 02.06.2011 at 07:34  
Honestly, I wasn't a big fan of their first album because of the vocals, but on this album they're much better. This is probably one of the best thrash metal albums to comes out in the past few years.
K†ulu - 02.06.2011 at 09:23  
Written by Whoblehwah on 02.06.2011 at 07:34

This is probably one of the best thrash metal albums to comes out in the past few years.

Spoken like a true prodigy.
BloodFireDeath - 23.09.2013 at 19:04  
This album is fucking porn for the ears.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Vektor - Black Future 6 24.12.2009 by Dangerboner
Reviews Between The Buried And Me - The Parallax II: Future Sequence 4.5 27.05.2013 by Zaphod
Reviews Adagio - Archangels In Black 4.5 01.08.2010 by DrM
Reviews Destroying Divinity - Dark Future 2.5 10.08.2011 by Marcus
Extreme metal forum Petrychor 1.5 28.06.2011 by The Turbanator



Hits total: 6031 | This month: 79