Rating:
8.9
Eibon - Entering Darkness
6 June 2010


01. Through The Eyes
02. Entering Darkness
03. Convulse To Reign
04. Substance
05. These Chains
06. Path To Oblivion


France's Eibon is a Sludge Doom band that likes to take things nice and easy and post-rocky. Their self-titled EP was a smooth Sludge Doom ride, with titbits of Post-Rock and shizzle mixed in, creating an altogether wonderful scenery. A new opus dubbed Entering Darkness is now out. And you must check it out.

Why?

Well, let me tell you why. Eibon guarantees a smooth Sludge Doom ride, with titbits of Post-Ro---- whoops… already used that line. Ok, well, there's more. Entering Darkness frequently makes use of the 'capture and release' song writing scheme, alternating pulsing bass and shrieks plus feedback-squealing guitar intensity with soft instrumental sections and whispered vocals. It often sounds very catchy, due to the easy-to-follow lead guitars and melodies. It's surprising how 'soft' this sounds given its heavy rhythms and production. If you've heard their first full-length, you can guess what this sound likes. If not, check this the %^&* out already!

When spinning this baby, you'll often find yourself zoning out. Eibon has created an album that combines darkness, aggression and melody in one long captivating ride. I honestly rarely notice one song ending and the next one starting (even though there are obvious patches of silence in between) because its simply to relaxing. Another release in the Mental Massage Metal genre? Fuck yeah!

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Eibon
Album: Entering Darkness


 



Written on 13.07.2010 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 177  
Search this topic:  


S.K.Ø.M - 13.07.2010 at 22:56  
A good review for a good band ,, i checked there EP before and it seems i need to the album now ..
Lucas - 13.07.2010 at 22:56  
Whoops, forgot to rate it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.07.2010 at 23:27  
Sounds good indeed. And kudos on the use of the word shizzle.
Thryce - 13.07.2010 at 23:40  
Mucho thanks for the recommendation!
BitterCOld - 13.07.2010 at 23:46  
Agreed, will be sure to check it out.
Got Mayhem? - 14.07.2010 at 03:51  
This sounds like something I want to hear. Thank you.
oroboros - 14.07.2010 at 18:34  
Boy..this is awesome..goes very nicely with narcotics
Thanntos - 19.07.2010 at 02:42  
This is a good album. Great mix of Doom and Sludge well put together. Wouldn't give it close to a 9 though.
InnerSelf - 25.07.2010 at 22:20  
While reading the review I thought that this album would be perfect for me and I went on and got it a couple of days ago and know it won't stop playing ... sounds great varied and heavy a lot
and the way the album kicks off and ends is just perfect
A solid release
Ag Fox - 25.08.2010 at 00:16  
Oh wow, listening to it right now and I really like it. Thanks for your awesome reviews as usual!
BitterCOld - 26.08.2010 at 23:09  
This is a really enjoyable album. once again lucas shines some light on gems hidden in the dark.
Axe Argonian - 04.02.2011 at 02:26  
This album was not what I had expected when I first learned of Eibon. Initially I was expecting boring, "run-of-the-mill" sludge doom, but Entering Darkness's blackened atmospheres, mucky vocals, and reassuring feeling that the listener is about to die a very horrible, miserable death proved me a fool in my initial expectations. Granted, this is not at all accessible music to get into; on the contrary Entering Darkness requires much patience and meticulous attention to be fully enjoyed. But even a neophyte in doom music can't help but get the feeling that what he is listening to is something special.

I'm definitely keeping my eyes on Eibon.
Maxx666 - 17.05.2011 at 22:30  
Written by BitterCOld on 26.08.2010 at 23:09

This is a really enjoyable album. once again lucas shines some light on gems hidden in the dark.

+1 same here

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Eibon - Entering Darkness 6 16.02.2011 by DevilishSong
Reviews Eibon - Eibon 6 28.02.2011 by BitterCOld
Albums Eibon - II 3 09.04.2013 by Alex Fenger
Reviews Inquisition - Ominous Doctrines Of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm 3 14.11.2010 by Ag Fox
Reviews Agrypnie - Exit 3 30.06.2010 by lord artan



Hits total: 5932 | This month: 52