Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.0
I Shalt Become - Poison
21 June 2010


01. Like A Lamb To The Slaughter...
02. Black Swan Events
03. Harlow's Vertical Chamber Apparatus
04. No Quarter At The Somme
05. Ghosts
06. Leaving Watership Down
07. The Swarming Of The Locusts
08. Doubt
09. The Finest Cut Of The Scalpel
10. Absolve Me


Atmospheric / symphonic black metal
United States
Moribund Records

Line-up on the CD:
S. Holliman - vocals, all instruments


I Shalt Become first turned heads more than a decade ago with the release of Wanderings, a prodigious album "called out" for its arrant Burzum worship. After its release, Holliman apparently laid his work to rest, leaving many in the metal community with a familiar bittersweet feeling.

Nearly 15 years pass before I Shalt Become is resurrected; Holliman then begins releasing a new album each year with refreshing consistency. The metal community rejoices...sort of. In truth, most jaded listeners judged Holliman's new works as menial and void of energy, specifically Poison. I, however, welcome this album for its prodigal disposition. Mixing the most prominent elements of melancholic black metal subgenres, classical compositions, and eerie ambience, this album is seemingly above being subject to the laws of personal classification or instrumental morality. What this album evokes is a myriad of emotional complexities most artists only hope to achieve in their finest moments. In short: S. Holliman has released a true modern masterpiece of metal music.

Weaving woefully poetic verses around the haunting melodies of violins, the grim edge of sparse-used distorted guitars, and tranquil-to-militant drumming, I Shalt Become ascertains the listener is bound to writhe in torment as their personal degradation is put into audio form and forced into their ear canal. The cleaner sounding classical instruments make for a perfect contrast to Holliman's murky beastly shrieks.

Like Death in The Seventh Seal, nobody escapes [this unpolished gem].

Poison focuses on instrumental interplay that awakens the carnal despondency we are all bound to instinctively. This is the true doleful nature of Man: the inevitability of self-annihilation. A suicide in every language.

Quote:
Listen! you hear the grating roar
Of pebbles which the waves draw back, and fling,
At their return, up the high strand,
Begin, and cease, and then again begin,
With tremulous cadence slow, and bring
The eternal note of sadness in.

- Matthew Arnold (Dover Beach)


Website: http://www.myspace.com/ishaltbecome

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 01.08.2010 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 241  
Search this topic:  


Got Mayhem? - 01.08.2010 at 18:31  
Hm, I remember hearing some clips of this album off of youtube and being pretty impressed by it. I think now would be a good time to give a more comprehensive listen. Good review
ß - 01.08.2010 at 19:40  
Mhm I've found all of their previous to be fairly mundane. I'm somewhat intrigued by this now, perhaps I should give it a listen to.
Mikyz - 01.08.2010 at 20:03  
I completely agree with this review, good job writing this. A very emotional record composed by a talented musician.
silenius - 01.08.2010 at 20:49  
Getting it!
Richard - 02.08.2010 at 03:31  
Blimey, I Shalt Become! This chap sent me his first (?) demo 'In Withering' back in the late 90's or something when I did my reviews site, but I hadn't heard any further stuff. Judging from the myspace site the music is now rather more serious and improved! (Though it doesn't seem to have stuff from this new release).
Troy Killjoy - 02.08.2010 at 03:35  
Written by Richard on 02.08.2010 at 03:31

Judging from the myspace site the music is now rather more serious and improved!

That's a matter of taste, really. If you liked the demo then this new sound will be a lot to absorb, but in the end I think it's definitely worth it.
Troy Killjoy - 02.08.2010 at 03:40  
Written by silenius on 01.08.2010 at 20:49

Getting it!

I ordered my copy from Moribund's website yesterday. Came to about 15 bucks Canadian including shipping.
Daggon - 02.08.2010 at 06:11  
Judging by this review, this could be something I could probably enjoy a lot, I'll listen it and then give my opinion, seems interesting
Troy Killjoy - 02.08.2010 at 06:57  
Written by Daggon on 02.08.2010 at 06:11

Judging by this review, this could be something I could probably enjoy a lot, I'll listen it and then give my opinion, seems interesting

Interesting indeed. Let me know what you think!
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.08.2010 at 14:08  
Interesting album this, I don't love it but it's growing on me. Still get the urge to just chuck on some Elend (simply because it's less twee) but the cinematic symphonic elements overiding the black metal (almost entirely it seems) is a welcome change from other sfuff at the moment.
InnerSelf - 03.08.2010 at 01:06  
An accurate review capturing the essence of this album .... this is definitely a grower and though I have heard it 5 times or so it just feels like spinning it again and again .
What is really interesting is how most of the songs are structured by the Symphonic parts and the guitars or the drums making this album different from the other gazillion DSBM albums out there
advent - 05.08.2010 at 16:42  
I heard them before, but ur review will make me pay more attention to them
Troy Killjoy - 05.08.2010 at 16:43  
Written by advent on 05.08.2010 at 16:42

I heard them before, but ur review will make me pay more attention to them

Glad to hear it.
₣rost Giant - 08.07.2011 at 06:01  
Really looking forward to getting this album! Also great review as always.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums I Shalt Become - Poison 6 27.01.2014 by Fearmeister
Reviews An Autumn For Crippled Chidren - Lost 4.5 19.07.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Sargeist - Let The Devil In 4.5 12.01.2011 by
Reviews Cruxifiction - The Coming 4.5 21.05.2011 by Rupert
Reviews Hrizg - Anthems To Decrepitude 4.5 12.04.2011 by wormdrink414



Hits total: 5601 | This month: 74