Rating:
5.9
Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned
10 September 2010


Disc I
01. The Great Pandemonium [feat. Björn "Speed" Strid]
02. If Tomorrow Came
03. Dear Editor
04. The Zodiac [feat. Jon Oliva]
05. Hunter's Season
06. House On A Hill [feat. Simone Simons]
07. Necropolis
08. My Train Of Thoughts
09. Seal Of Woven Years
10. Poetry For The Poisoned
    1 - Part I: Incubus
    2 - Part II: So Long
    3 - Part III: All Is Over
    4 - Part IV: Dissection
11. Once Upon A Time
12. Where The Wild Roses Grow [bonus] [Nick Cave cover]
13. Thespian Drama [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [Live from Wacken 2010]
01. The Great Pandemonium
02. Human Stain
03. Center Of The Universe
04. Pendulous Fall
05. Hunter's Season
06. Karma
07. Forever
08. March Of Mephisto

[Super Limited Collector's Edition Bonus 7" Vinyl]
01. Rule The World [Live - Wacken]
02. Thespian Drama


Kamelot, at least in my eyes, has always been a band that sought their own path through the world of metal. The most fitting description of their sound is, no matter how I hate to admit it, power metal. Not the cheesiest, happiest German type, but power metal nevertheless. What made it more distinguished than most of the other power bands were Thomas Youngblood's distinctive guitar style, clever use of keyboards and orchestrations, and, above everything else, Roy Khan's vocals - so unlike any other metal singer, so non-metal so to speak. These three essential elements carried Kamelot's music through almost 20 years of their career, which has been on the rise all that time. Being quite a prolific band, they managed to deliver 9 full length releases, whose quality was constantly satisfactory, with occasional hints at excellence (Epica, Ghost Opera). Some progressive and symphonic elements crept into Kamelot's music in the meantime, making it richer, more textured and ambitious.

Alas my friends, not anymore. Poetry for the Poisoned is a letdown. The courage that Kamelot had to implement new elements into the fossilized body of power metal was enough for one brave, enjoyable song, "The Great Pandemonium." Electronic beginning, growling in the background, dense drumming that almost turns into blastbeats at the end. If it wasn't for the vocalist, it'd be hard to recognize Kamelot. The song is tight, to the point, and it genuinely hooked me up for the rest of the album. Bravo gentlemen, you're expanding your sound!

Too bad you don't know which direction you want to take your expansion. "If Tomorrow Came" is a typical power metal number, "The Zodiac" is a boring, theatrical exercise in role-playing, "Necropolis" balances on the edge of some kind of shy, half-hearted industrial rock. An honorable mention should be made about the terrible "House On A Hill." A few more songs like this and Kamelot will become new kings of sickeningly sweet cheese called power metal ballad. When I heard the verse "Cry me a river," I literally fell off my couch. Seriously, Michael Bolton meets Whitney Houston. It's scarier than "The Shining"! The title track, an ambitious four-part opus, doesn't save the day. It seems to go nowhere and everywhere at the same time. As a result, my finger hits the "STOP" button.

I can understand why the band wants to play a bit differently after 19 years of existence. But I was kind of hoping that they would figure it out during those 3 years that passed since their previous release. Apparently they had so many ideas for the new album that they couldn't make up their minds, so they crammed every idea they had into those 11 songs. The result is dubious. It'll probably scare off many old fans (like me) and won't bring too many new ones. Fanboys will be delighted, I'm sure, but they'd be delighted even if Khan started to fart in a melodic way. No offense, but this is just one inch over crap.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7


Band profile: Kamelot
Album: Poetry For The Poisoned


 


written by Daniell | 18.09.2010

Guest review by
ponderer

Rating:
9.0
Brilliant. This cd will probably be totally misinterpreted by many, but after listening to it enough it finally dawned on me that Poetry for the Poisoned is just an evolutionary step of Kamelot's musical genius. It's nice to see this band evolving and growing from their power metal roots into something which appeals more to the musically inclined as opposed to serving up the same driving beats and power chords cd after cd. Welcome to the world of progressive metal.

Read more ››
published 12.12.2010 | Comments (21)

Guest review by
ZGoten

Rating:
8.2
Three long years fans had to wait for an all new full-length studio album, and here it finally is. So what's the deal on Poetry For The Poisoned? In a word - great, although not as great as expected. Kamelot is one of those bands that kept improving from album to album until they reached their zenith with the incredible The Black Halo. The following release was a letdown for many fans, because of new influences on the band's sound. If you are one of those fans, then better pass on this record, since it's one step further along the same road. If you however, like me, loved Ghost Opera, definately give this one a try.

Read more ››
published 15.12.2010 | Comments (4)



Comments page 3 of 3

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 [3]
Comments: 146  
Users visited: 629  
Search this topic:  


ErnilEnNaur - 23.09.2010 at 22:11  
Written by Guest on 21.09.2010 at 02:29

True, but, look on the bright side, Blind Guardian's At The Edge Of Time is the best power metal release this year.


Not just that, it's one of the best metal albums released in years. I am so glad that Blind Guardian delivered a great symphonic power metal album, since so many bands have gone downhill in the recent years, not just Kamelot, but also Sonata Arctica, a band who's earlier albums I loved.
Windiz - 24.09.2010 at 01:51  
Let's just enjoy the music? Hey, it's entertainment! Let's not behead anyone.
Vikcen - 24.09.2010 at 03:15  
Written by WorpeX on 22.09.2010 at 05:40

Just got the album, and I hate to admit it... but this is really not as good as any of their previous releases. :/ First Kamelot album to disappoint me. Maybe, hopefully, it will get better after repeated listens. The first five songs are great, but once I got to House On a Hill it was like a road block. The rest bored me to death. T_T

Great Pandemonium is good and I also like The Zodiac, If Tomorrow Came and Hunter's Season a lot. The rest are so miserable I can barely even make it to the end of the album to hear Once Upon a Time, which is the only other worthwhile song.


Listen "My Train Of Thoughts" and "So Long", are good (and of course you've said, the last song: "Once Upon a Time").
WorpeX - 24.09.2010 at 08:22  
Written by Vikcen on 24.09.2010 at 03:15

Written by WorpeX on 22.09.2010 at 05:40

Just got the album, and I hate to admit it... but this is really not as good as any of their previous releases. :/ First Kamelot album to disappoint me. Maybe, hopefully, it will get better after repeated listens. The first five songs are great, but once I got to House On a Hill it was like a road block. The rest bored me to death. T_T

Great Pandemonium is good and I also like The Zodiac, If Tomorrow Came and Hunter's Season a lot. The rest are so miserable I can barely even make it to the end of the album to hear Once Upon a Time, which is the only other worthwhile song.


Listen "My Train Of Thoughts" and "So Long", are good (and of course you've said, the last song: "Once Upon a Time").


'So Long' is one of my least favorites. The minute the girl opens her mouth I change the song. Her voice is so annoying. The only PftP song I don't mind is Incubus and thats only for the first half. My Train of Thoughts is growing on me. Very, very slowly. Its so cheesy, even for Kamelot standards, that I have trouble really getting into it. Not to mention its boring, uninspired and not catchy at all.

Once Upon a Time is very enjoyable, I just can't shake the feeling that i've heard the song before. It sounds a lot like a Sonata Arctica song fused with A Feast for the Vain.
Vikcen - 24.09.2010 at 08:34  
Written by WorpeX on 24.09.2010 at 08:22


Once Upon a Time is very enjoyable, I just can't shake the feeling that i've heard the song before. It sounds a lot like a Sonata Arctica song fused with A Feast for the Vain.


Or maybe to other Kamelot's song =) .
MeTalRea|istiK - 24.09.2010 at 16:41  
For me all song at a level of average..no killer in this album..
Angel_Lament - 25.09.2010 at 00:33  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 21.09.2010 at 20:58

I'm going to join the minority. I have listened to it and it is definitely not as bad as people are making out. I cannot hear a bad album. The vocals are good, the instrumentals are good, the song writing is good. No BAD whatsoever.

Yes, it is not power metal anymore, so the speed is less apparent, it seems a more mature album with more depth and a certain grower.

It reminds me more of Conception's middle two albums, which were masterpieces of progressive power metal. So maybe if your tastes are more simplified then that is why you don't appreciate the added depth.

My only criticism is that the production is a bit muddy, the rhythm guitars seem lost in the mix.


My exact thoughts, Conception's Parallel Dreams and In your Multitude are very awesome albums....
pisymbol - 25.09.2010 at 00:50  
Written by MeTalRea|istiK on 24.09.2010 at 16:41

For me all song at a level of average..no killer in this album..


That's my problem with it right now. I still need more listens but not one song has my head banging. Other than the first track which IS cool there is no real killer on this album. I agree with the original review, they definitely lacked focus on this album. They are all over the place from song to song.
The Shape 1973 - 26.09.2010 at 13:20  
Power of metal.dk review. Score 96/100 a bit different to the review here.

"Kamelot continue on their march to the power metal Olympus and with "Poetry for the Poisoned" they prove once more than not many bands stand in the way, for them to reach the peak and for them to be crowned kings. And it all starts with the impeccable performance by Roy Khan, who I think has never quite received the credit he deserves, he was in my humble opinion solely responsible for taking Conception to the next level and his performances in Kamelot have never been questioned and I am at loss for words for his vocal acrobatics on this album.

Kamelot stays within the safe confines of their wide sound universe, and this album has more in common with "The Black Halo" (2005) than their latest studio album "Ghost Opera" (2007), but they have broaden the horizon and this album is darker, more progressive and a lot more complex. "Poetry for the Poisoned" is as complete as "Epica", it has the charisma of "Karma" and the atmosphere and diversity of "The Black Halo", and to add the extra spice they've picked some guests to appear on the album, and they've made some very wise decisions about who to ask. They do all fit perfectly in; Jon Oliva portraying the serial killer in 'The Zodiac' and Gus G. adds a perfect guitar solo for 'Hunter's Season', Björn "Speed" Strid adds sinister vocals for the brilliant opener 'The Great Pandemonium' and the velvet pipes of Simone Simons adds an extra dimension to a couple of songs.

Thomas Youngblood's guitar sound and riffs are the heart and soul of their sound, and he continues to impress and grow as a song writer as well as lead guitarist. The change at bass is unnoticeable and new guy Sean Tibbetts forms together with drummer Casey Grillo a formidable foundation for the songs. Keyboard player Oliver Palotai has had a big impact on the sound; the complexity and progressive aspects in the songs are mostly his merits.

Sascha Paeth has been the secret sixth member of the band for a long time, and he knows exactly how to create the perfect sound for each little piece of the puzzle. The dark and sinister atmosphere is reflected in the brilliant booklet and is just another little piece, and the result is that when you add it all together, you get: Power Metal album of the year!

As an extra bonus on the limited edition they've added a cover version that is actually quite interesting and good: "Where the Wild Roses Grow" (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds) where Chanty Wunder sings the parts of Kylie Minogue and she does a good job, trying to measure up with Roy Khan."

Kenn Jensen
vezzy - 26.09.2010 at 14:09  
Hm, seems like a fairly standard approach when a review is in a really positive spectrum.

So there's a review that praises the album, big deal.
The Shape 1973 - 26.09.2010 at 18:30  
Written by vezzy on 26.09.2010 at 14:09


So there's a review that praises the album, big deal.

Because it adds another view and a different perspective to a one sided review. All debates have at least two sides numbnuts.
vezzy - 26.09.2010 at 18:38  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 26.09.2010 at 18:30

Because it adds another view and a different perspective to a one sided review. All debates have at least two sides numbnuts.


Yeah, simply voicing your own opinion with your own words would suffice well enough, rather than cooking up some copypasta.

This review judges the album for what it is and it is stated that the reviewer liked previous efforts by the band, the other simply delves into it like the album is paradise.

Why not wait the three months to pass and write a review of your own? Then there would be a fine contrast.
The Shape 1973 - 26.09.2010 at 19:21  
Written by vezzy on 26.09.2010 at 18:38

Written by The Shape 1973 on 26.09.2010 at 18:30

Because it adds another view and a different perspective to a one sided review. All debates have at least two sides numbnuts.


Yeah, simply voicing your own opinion with your own words would suffice well enough, rather than cooking up some copypasta.

This review judges the album for what it is and it is stated that the reviewer liked previous efforts by the band, the other simply delves into it like the album is paradise.

Why not wait the three months to pass and write a review of your own? Then there would be a fine contrast.

If you had checked earlier posts you would have seen that I already have posted my own comments, here they are again,


"I'm going to join the minority. I have listened to it and it is definitely not as bad as people are making out. I cannot hear a bad album. The vocals are good, the instrumentals are good, the song writing is good. No BAD whatsoever.

Yes, it is not power metal anymore, so the speed is less apparent, it seems a more mature album with more depth and a certain grower.

It reminds me more of Conception's middle two albums, which were masterpieces of progressive power metal. So maybe if your tastes are more simplified then that is why you don't appreciate the added depth.

My only criticism is that the production is a bit muddy, the rhythm guitars seem lost in the mix.

I'm sure by the end of the year this will be up there with The Black Halo in my favorite Kamelot albums."


I showed another sites view to add another opinion from a published review to re-balance the arguement.
Opethian - 27.09.2010 at 02:39  
Written by ponderer on 20.09.2010 at 19:09

Written by Opethian on 20.09.2010 at 00:54

HAHAHA its sad how the retard who reviewed the album was too ass hurt to admit the fact that Kamelot isnt a band that is going to put out the same record year after year. This band doesnt please a certain crowd and i take it that is what gets everyones panties mixed in a bunch .. so to say.

IMHO this album is a TRUE follow up to TBH, i respect the fact that Kamelot doesnt in no way depend on their passed albums to move forward! Every album is a different experience. I love PFTP and its Kamelot doing what their excellent at, which is delivering great music


Well said. I'm glad I'm not the only one who thinks this offering is pretty damn good. Let the haters hate it's just a shame everyone has to look at that tragic review as soon as they click on the cd. Totally unfair and biased.


LOL thanks!
Daniell - 27.09.2010 at 11:31  
Shadowcross - 27.09.2010 at 17:34  
definitely one to listen to on MySpace first...
Windiz - 28.09.2010 at 14:31  
My biggest concern about PftP compared to all the other releases is a certain "Kamelot sound" - a certain sound/instrument to be specific which is absent. It's a certain "whistle"/"folk-ish tune" (keys I believe) which you find in many Kam songs: "A Sailorman's Hymn", "Center of the Universe" (the calm part), "Moonlight" (also the calm part), "Abandoned", "Anthem" to mention a few. THIS particular "Kamelot sound" appears ONCE in PftP: "Poetry for the Poisoned: So Long" at 00:31 - 00:35 which has THREE (3) bloody notes in the whole album. I don't think many fans are aware of this particular sound, because it blends so well into the music. But yeah, that is one particular thing I was missing. In other words, I wouldn't have recognized this as "Kamelot" if it wasn't for Khan on vocals.
MechanisT - 01.10.2010 at 11:58  
Is it me or does the production really blow?
Anyways, I think I might have enjoyed it more, had it been better produced, but at the moment the album ranges from mediocre-slightly good for me...in any case, this is one really disappointing offering from Kamelot...
Good review by the way...
WorpeX - 13.10.2010 at 09:09  
Thespian Drama is awesome btw. Just heard it on youtube. Wish it had come on my album!
Asmara - 26.10.2010 at 18:12  
This is a great review! nicely done! also agree with most of the arguments. such a pity!
Susan - 20.11.2010 at 17:40  
I really don't understand the hate for this album. I've been reading the comments and it seems pretty universally panned here. At first I didn't really dig it either, but it grew on me FAST and now I see its good qualities. A bit more proggy than Kamelot's previous few albums, maybe a bit darker, but honestly I don't hear a huge difference. Lots of people talk about how they changed but I seriously don't hear it. A nice (slight) evolution in the direction from Ghost Opera.

There is some really beautiful metal music here.
Cathaldus - 06.12.2010 at 15:20  
I'm going with the group of disappointed fans on this one. Not up to Kamelot standards imo. I will also add that I think daniell_p's review is right on the money.
Matheus - 20.03.2011 at 18:21  
Some of the comments here makes me really pissed, and it is sad that so many of you guys are this single-minded... I think it is absolutely wonderful in the way Kamelot has evolved.., and I am super pleased to say that finally are more in contact with their Gothic influences, those influences were always there, but now more than ever obvious. It is also great that they are less of a power metal band on this record. Kamelot was always more than a normal power metal band. Because, lets face it, power metal in its pure form IS KIND OF BORING. Kamelot was always so much more, and on PFTP Youngblood shows that he is a true genious when it comes to making music.

So, to all you, narrowminded people who doesnt understand the strength in the darker and more complex songs on the PFTP, maybe you should just stick to Blind Guardian or sth.

I love KAMELOT more than ever, I think PFTP could be there most mature and interesting album so far. I am thrilled to see them live in London later on this spring!!
R'Vannith - 21.03.2011 at 13:53  
Written by Matheus on 20.03.2011 at 18:21

Some of the comments here makes me really pissed, and it is sad that so many of you guys are this single-minded... I think it is absolutely wonderful in the way Kamelot has evolved.., and I am super pleased to say that finally are more in contact with their Gothic influences, those influences were always there, but now more than ever obvious. It is also great that they are less of a power metal band on this record. Kamelot was always more than a normal power metal band. Because, lets face it, power metal in its pure form IS KIND OF BORING. Kamelot was always so much more, and on PFTP Youngblood shows that he is a true genious when it comes to making music.

So, to all you, narrowminded people who doesnt understand the strength in the darker and more complex songs on the PFTP, maybe you should just stick to Blind Guardian or sth.

I love KAMELOT more than ever, I think PFTP could be there most mature and interesting album so far. I am thrilled to see them live in London later on this spring!!


I agree with you in that Kamelot have always offered a new flavor of Power Metal that is quite unique in the genre, even developing their sound to incorporate entirely new elements or strengthened/altered already existing elements to keep their music interesting.

But what do you mean by 'Power metal in its pure form'?

Personally, I didn't enjoy the album, needless to say though that they have added to their already interesting sound. Unfortunate though that that doesn't necessarily mean that the album is good.
evoola - 30.03.2011 at 22:02  
It's a damn shame people didn't step up earlier and defend this album in the face of this totally absurd, poorly written diatribe. It reads like a 12 year old having a seizure. I thought ponderer nailed it down nicely with his descriptions and take on where Kamelot were headed whereas daniell just bent over and took a verbal shit all over the place. What's worse are the outright childish attacks launched at ponderer for defending his point of view. Is MS a dictatorship based on repression and censorship? Since when is a group of so-called "extreme metal" wannabe brats from Europe allowed to troll a user off this site for having his own opinion? It's pretty fucking tragic if you ask me considering the quality of reviews ponderer laid down as opposed to the biased, witless drivel daniell slobbers all over this site. Hail Kamelot and props to ponderer for having the balls to defend what he believes in.
Xnoybis - 31.03.2011 at 04:13  
Written by evoola on 30.03.2011 at 22:02

It's a damn shame people didn't step up earlier and defend this album in the face of this totally absurd, poorly written diatribe. It reads like a 12 year old having a seizure. I thought ponderer nailed it down nicely with his descriptions and take on where Kamelot were headed whereas daniell just bent over and took a verbal shit all over the place. What's worse are the outright childish attacks launched at ponderer for defending his point of view. Is MS a dictatorship based on repression and censorship? Since when is a group of so-called "extreme metal" wannabe brats from Europe allowed to troll a user off this site for having his own opinion? It's pretty fucking tragic if you ask me considering the quality of reviews ponderer laid down as opposed to the biased, witless drivel daniell slobbers all over this site. Hail Kamelot and props to ponderer for having the balls to defend what he believes in.


the user in question wasn't "trolled out", but trolled himself out. he flat out asked to be banned.

and if you want to see a totally absurd, poorly written diatribe, perhaps you should check out his review of Enslaved's latest.

evoola - 01.04.2011 at 18:13  
@ Bittercold, Thanks for the heads up! His review seemed a bit over the top, yes, however I agreed with most of it. I'll be in the minority here when I say I think Enslaved are pretty overrated. I don't see what the hype is all about at all. Seems like a pretty mediocre offering in the same vein as everything else coming out of that part of the world.
Xnoybis - 01.04.2011 at 20:32  
Written by evoola on 01.04.2011 at 18:13

@ Bittercold, Thanks for the heads up! His review seemed a bit over the top, yes, however I agreed with most of it. I'll be in the minority here when I say I think Enslaved are pretty overrated. I don't see what the hype is all about at all. Seems like a pretty mediocre offering in the same vein as everything else coming out of that part of the world.


yep. it sounds just like Gorgoroth and Immortal, doesn't it? i mean they are all virtually indistinguishable. just like mercyful fate was nothing but a hellhammer clone that sounded just like venom. all those fucking european wave bm bands sound exactly the same.

and anyone incapable of discerning any one of those from any of the others is probably equally incapable of discerning troll v1.0 from troll v2.0.
evoola - 03.04.2011 at 21:11  
Mercyful Fate sucks. I agree with you there. That singing, my gosh! Also, we're not allowed to listen to that stuff inside the Vatican walls
The Norseman - 25.05.2011 at 20:33  
How is that :

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7

gives a final rating of 5.9 ? I always thought it was the average of this 4 rates.
Xnoybis - 25.05.2011 at 20:39  
Written by The Norseman on 25.05.2011 at 20:33

How is that :

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7

gives a final rating of 5.9 ? I always thought it was the average of this 4 rates.


nope. those are just four benchmarks. omitted are things like "enjoyment"... something can be played well, produced well, and still be boring as hell.
R'Vannith - 26.05.2011 at 13:41  
Written by Xnoybis on 25.05.2011 at 20:39

Written by The Norseman on 25.05.2011 at 20:33

How is that :

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7

gives a final rating of 5.9 ? I always thought it was the average of this 4 rates.


nope. those are just four benchmarks. omitted are things like "enjoyment"... something can be played well, produced well, and still be boring as hell.


But wouldn't the four benchmarks depend on the enjoyment of the reviewer anyway? Reviews are opinions. In the case of this album, why give the opinion that the album is of decent quality but say that you didn't enjoy it? That doesn't make sense to me, saying "yeah this albums decent but I didn't enjoy it" is like saying "this albums somewhat enjoyable but I didn't enjoy it."
Xnoybis - 26.05.2011 at 18:58  
Written by R'Vannith on 26.05.2011 at 13:41

Written by Xnoybis on 25.05.2011 at 20:39


nope. those are just four benchmarks. omitted are things like "enjoyment"... something can be played well, produced well, and still be boring as hell.


But wouldn't the four benchmarks depend on the enjoyment of the reviewer anyway? Reviews are opinions. In the case of this album, why give the opinion that the album is of decent quality but say that you didn't enjoy it? That doesn't make sense to me, saying "yeah this albums decent but I didn't enjoy it" is like saying "this albums somewhat enjoyable but I didn't enjoy it."


no. not at all.

i can divorce whether or not the band is skilled or writes "good" songs from whether or not I like them. Rush vs. later Darkthrone... Rush are better at their instruments, more original, and better produced. both write good songs. Rush would likely score better in 3 of 4 fields... yet i don't own a Rush album and "Circle The Wagons" got more spins than anything else I bought last year. Rush is a better band, which i'll admit, but I enjoy Darkthrone more.
R'Vannith - 27.05.2011 at 03:55  
Written by Xnoybis on 26.05.2011 at 18:58

Written by R'Vannith on 26.05.2011 at 13:41


But wouldn't the four benchmarks depend on the enjoyment of the reviewer anyway? Reviews are opinions. In the case of this album, why give the opinion that the album is of decent quality but say that you didn't enjoy it? That doesn't make sense to me, saying "yeah this albums decent but I didn't enjoy it" is like saying "this albums somewhat enjoyable but I didn't enjoy it."


no. not at all.

i can divorce whether or not the band is skilled or writes "good" songs from whether or not I like them. Rush vs. later Darkthrone... Rush are better at their instruments, more original, and better produced. both write good songs. Rush would likely score better in 3 of 4 fields... yet i don't own a Rush album and "Circle The Wagons" got more spins than anything else I bought last year. Rush is a better band, which i'll admit, but I enjoy Darkthrone more.


Fair enough, but should the 'enjoyment' factor of an album even come into the final rating for a review? After all readers would be more interested in whether an album is 'good' or not rather than whether the reviewer enjoyed such 'good' (or not) music. Then again its all opinion anyway, so why not factor in your enjoyment?
Matheus - 05.04.2012 at 17:04  
HI FOLKS!!!

There are so many rules on this site when reviewing or commenting... funny stuff. I thought we were all rockers and f***** rules... at least I do... still love the album. "Zodiac" is the strongest song to me, and "necropolis..". But hey..! Lately I have been listening to Alice in Chains and Jerry Cantrell... GREAT STUFF BTW.., Its quite far from Kamelots previous effort though..! I like the darker/ goth/ grunge influences visible in this they're latest effort...

However... Now that Khan is gone, I guess they are bound to get some boring spiritless power metal singer..! Unfortunately... like the guy they had on their last tour (in which I saw them live in London)...

It would be awesome if they got some darker, cooler goth-guy... I don't see that happening though..
IanYeara - 30.10.2012 at 06:08  
I totally agree, I destroyed this album in my review on Encyclopedia Metalum, calling it boring, directionless and just not power metal. Even the most power metal song on the whole thing is incredibly lame and just lacking in energy. Pandemonium and Necropolis are actually decent songs, but even the worst songs from Ghost Opera are better than them (well maybe not Anthem). All in all the energy has seeped out of this band and they have just become some lame Goth metal group. Something needs to change.

4 out of 10
Epictemptation - 30.10.2012 at 16:26  
This is the only website that has gave this album a bad review, this staff can't find the true power of PFTP, but he will eventually
!J.O.O.E.! - 30.10.2012 at 18:29  
Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 16:26

This is the only website that has gave this album a bad review, this staff can't find the true power of PFTP, but he will eventually

Found this on the first page of Google:

http://www.metal-observer.com/articles.php?lid=1&sid=1&id=17794

Found this on the second:

http://absurdhistory.com/2010/10/15/album-review-poetry-for-the-poisoned-kamelot-2010/

Found this on the third:

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/reviews/compact_discs/kamelot/silverthorn/index.html

Etc.

You should find the true power of Google search.
Epictemptation - 30.10.2012 at 18:56  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 30.10.2012 at 18:29

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 16:26

This is the only website that has gave this album a bad review, this staff can't find the true power of PFTP, but he will eventually

Found this on the first page of Google:

http://www.metal-observer.com/articles.php?lid=1&sid=1&id=17794

Found this on the second:

http://absurdhistory.com/2010/10/15/album-review-poetry-for-the-poisoned-kamelot-2010/

Found this on the third:

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/reviews/compact_discs/kamelot/silverthorn/index.html

Etc.

You should find the true power of Google search.


Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)
Daniell - 30.10.2012 at 22:15  
Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...
Nemo Atkins - 30.10.2012 at 22:59  
Written by Daniell on 30.10.2012 at 22:15

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...

Yeah, I got Poetry recently myself (I've got all of Kamelot's albums with Khan and Silverthorn arrived in the post today: loving it right now) and I have to say that there are three songs which I could say I like off of it: "The Great Pandemonium", "The Zodiac" and (because it opens "The Zodiac") "Dear Editor". Otherwise, I find the album pretty poor. I see what they were trying to do, but they didn't do it very well.
Epictemptation - 30.10.2012 at 23:15  
Written by Nemo Atkins on 30.10.2012 at 22:59

Written by Daniell on 30.10.2012 at 22:15

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...

Yeah, I got Poetry recently myself (I've got all of Kamelot's albums with Khan and Silverthorn arrived in the post today: loving it right now) and I have to say that there are three songs which I could say I like off of it: "The Great Pandemonium", "The Zodiac" and (because it opens "The Zodiac") "Dear Editor". Otherwise, I find the album pretty poor. I see what they were trying to do, but they didn't do it very well.

Yah it's an album with mixed review so some will like it and some won't . You know what r u gonna do about it right?
I hope the album will enhance you as much as it did to me:)
Epictemptation - 30.10.2012 at 23:16  
Written by Daniell on 30.10.2012 at 22:15

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...

Lol it's your opinion and I respect it:)
Epictemptation - 30.10.2012 at 23:18  
Written by Daniell on 30.10.2012 at 22:15

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...

Again it's a mixed review album so some will like it and some won't
Nemo Atkins - 30.10.2012 at 23:37  
Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 23:15

Written by Nemo Atkins on 30.10.2012 at 22:59

Written by Daniell on 30.10.2012 at 22:15

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...

Yeah, I got Poetry recently myself (I've got all of Kamelot's albums with Khan and Silverthorn arrived in the post today: loving it right now) and I have to say that there are three songs which I could say I like off of it: "The Great Pandemonium", "The Zodiac" and (because it opens "The Zodiac") "Dear Editor". Otherwise, I find the album pretty poor. I see what they were trying to do, but they didn't do it very well.

Yah it's an album with mixed review so some will like it and some won't . You know what r u gonna do about it right?
I hope the album will enhance you as much as it did to me:)

Well, it certainly proved to me that synths and Kamelot don't mix very well!

On a serious note, my main issue is more the fact that it had the potential to be a lot better than the uncatchiness of the music (although that's certainly a factor: I'm not usually a fan of prog music). There was a lot of potential in this album, but very little of it actually bore fruit for me. Which is a real shame, since it's obvious that a lot of work went into this album...
Epictemptation - 30.10.2012 at 23:47  
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:

Yeah, I got Poetry recently myself (I've got all of Kamelot's albums with Khan and Silverthorn arrived in the post today: loving it right now) and I have to say that there are three songs which I could say I like off of it: "The Great Pandemonium", "The Zodiac" and (because it opens "The Zodiac") "Dear Editor". Otherwise, I find the album pretty poor. I see what they were trying to do, but they didn't do it very well.

Yah it's an album with mixed review so some will like it and some won't . You know what r u gonna do about it right?
I hope the album will enhance you as much as it did to me:)

Well, it certainly proved to me that synths and Kamelot don't mix very well!

On a serious note, my main issue is more the fact that it had the potential to be a lot better than the uncatchiness of the music (although that's certainly a factor: I'm not usually a fan of prog music). There was a lot of potential in this album, but very little of it actually bore fruit for me. Which is a real shame, since it's obvious that a lot of work went into this album...

The album is good but not great, but its also an album to remember about if you are a kamelot fan, I'm seeing many comments on how "Silverthorn" isn't as great as PFTP and many comments that's its better than PFTP. So I'm guessing "Silverthorn" is going to be a mixed review album as well.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 [3]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned 10 15.12.2010 by WorpeX
Reviews Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned 10 12.12.2010 by Susan
Albums Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned 9 01.03.2010 by JÄY
Albums Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned + Live From Wacken 2010 (Limited Tour Edition) 9 07.05.2011 by lingus99
Reviews Flotsam & Jetsam - Doomsday For The Deceiver 20th Anniversary Special Edition 4 21.05.2007 by __Az__



Hits total: 17731 | This month: 136