Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned review



Reviewer:
5.9

554 users:
7.56
Band: Kamelot
Album: Poetry For The Poisoned
Release date: September 2010


Disc I
01. The Great Pandemonium [feat. Björn "Speed" Strid]
02. If Tomorrow Came
03. Dear Editor
04. The Zodiac [feat. Jon Oliva]
05. Hunter's Season
06. House On A Hill [feat. Simone Simons]
07. Necropolis
08. My Train Of Thoughts
09. Seal Of Woven Years
10. Poetry For The Poisoned
    1 - Part I: Incubus
    2 - Part II: So Long
    3 - Part III: All Is Over
    4 - Part IV: Dissection
11. Once Upon A Time
12. Where The Wild Roses Grow [bonus] [Nick Cave cover]
13. Thespian Drama [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [Live from Wacken 2010]
01. The Great Pandemonium
02. Human Stain
03. Center Of The Universe
04. Pendulous Fall
05. Hunter's Season
06. Karma
07. Forever
08. March Of Mephisto

[Super Limited Collector's Edition Bonus 7" Vinyl]
01. Rule The World [Live - Wacken]
02. Thespian Drama


Kamelot, at least in my eyes, has always been a band that sought their own path through the world of metal. The most fitting description of their sound is, no matter how I hate to admit it, power metal. Not the cheesiest, happiest German type, but power metal nevertheless. What made it more distinguished than most of the other power bands were Thomas Youngblood's distinctive guitar style, clever use of keyboards and orchestrations, and, above everything else, Roy Khan's vocals - so unlike any other metal singer, so non-metal so to speak. These three essential elements carried Kamelot's music through almost 20 years of their career, which has been on the rise all that time. Being quite a prolific band, they managed to deliver 9 full length releases, whose quality was constantly satisfactory, with occasional hints at excellence (Epica, Ghost Opera). Some progressive and symphonic elements crept into Kamelot's music in the meantime, making it richer, more textured and ambitious.

Alas my friends, not anymore. Poetry for the Poisoned is a letdown. The courage that Kamelot had to implement new elements into the fossilized body of power metal was enough for one brave, enjoyable song, "The Great Pandemonium." Electronic beginning, growling in the background, dense drumming that almost turns into blastbeats at the end. If it wasn't for the vocalist, it'd be hard to recognize Kamelot. The song is tight, to the point, and it genuinely hooked me up for the rest of the album. Bravo gentlemen, you're expanding your sound!

Too bad you don't know which direction you want to take your expansion. "If Tomorrow Came" is a typical power metal number, "The Zodiac" is a boring, theatrical exercise in role-playing, "Necropolis" balances on the edge of some kind of shy, half-hearted industrial rock. An honorable mention should be made about the terrible "House On A Hill." A few more songs like this and Kamelot will become new kings of sickeningly sweet cheese called power metal ballad. When I heard the verse "Cry me a river," I literally fell off my couch. Seriously, Michael Bolton meets Whitney Houston. It's scarier than "The Shining"! The title track, an ambitious four-part opus, doesn't save the day. It seems to go nowhere and everywhere at the same time. As a result, my finger hits the "STOP" button.

I can understand why the band wants to play a bit differently after 19 years of existence. But I was kind of hoping that they would figure it out during those 3 years that passed since their previous release. Apparently they had so many ideas for the new album that they couldn't make up their minds, so they crammed every idea they had into those 11 songs. The result is dubious. It'll probably scare off many old fans (like me) and won't bring too many new ones. Fanboys will be delighted, I'm sure, but they'd be delighted even if Khan started to fart in a melodic way. No offense, but this is just one inch over crap.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7


 



Written on 18.09.2010 by Writes overly honest and totally subjective reviews when fancy strikes him. Which is not often. Which is probably good, all things considered.

Guest review by
ponderer
Rating:
9.0
Brilliant. This cd will probably be totally misinterpreted by many, but after listening to it enough it finally dawned on me that Poetry for the Poisoned is just an evolutionary step of Kamelot's musical genius. It's nice to see this band evolving and growing from their power metal roots into something which appeals more to the musically inclined as opposed to serving up the same driving beats and power chords cd after cd. Welcome to the world of progressive metal.

Read more ››
published 12.12.2010 | Comments (21)

Guest review by
ZGoten
Rating:
8.2
Three long years fans had to wait for an all new full-length studio album, and here it finally is. So what's the deal on Poetry For The Poisoned? In a word - great, although not as great as expected. Kamelot is one of those bands that kept improving from album to album until they reached their zenith with the incredible The Black Halo. The following release was a letdown for many fans, because of new influences on the band's sound. If you are one of those fans, then better pass on this record, since it's one step further along the same road. If you however, like me, loved Ghost Opera, definately give this one a try.

Read more ››
published 15.12.2010 | Comments (4)

Guest review by
Kais
Rating:
8.8
It's been 5 years since Poetry For The Poisoned was released. Five long years in which illustrious Kamelot and Conception vocalist decided to bid farewell to the music industry as a whole, for a higher cause, and it was the first studio appearance of original bassist Sean Tibbetts, after long-time bassist Glenn Berry had left the band.

Read more ››
published 28.06.2015 | Comments (4)


Comments page 5 / 5

Comments: 146   Visited by: 664 users
20.11.2010 - 17:40
Susan
Smeghead
I really don't understand the hate for this album. I've been reading the comments and it seems pretty universally panned here. At first I didn't really dig it either, but it grew on me FAST and now I see its good qualities. A bit more proggy than Kamelot's previous few albums, maybe a bit darker, but honestly I don't hear a huge difference. Lots of people talk about how they changed but I seriously don't hear it. A nice (slight) evolution in the direction from Ghost Opera.

There is some really beautiful metal music here.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
06.12.2010 - 15:20
Cathaldus
I'm going with the group of disappointed fans on this one. Not up to Kamelot standards imo. I will also add that I think daniell_p's review is right on the money.
Loading...
20.03.2011 - 18:21
Matheus
Some of the comments here makes me really pissed, and it is sad that so many of you guys are this single-minded... I think it is absolutely wonderful in the way Kamelot has evolved.., and I am super pleased to say that finally are more in contact with their Gothic influences, those influences were always there, but now more than ever obvious. It is also great that they are less of a power metal band on this record. Kamelot was always more than a normal power metal band. Because, lets face it, power metal in its pure form IS KIND OF BORING. Kamelot was always so much more, and on PFTP Youngblood shows that he is a true genious when it comes to making music.

So, to all you, narrowminded people who doesnt understand the strength in the darker and more complex songs on the PFTP, maybe you should just stick to Blind Guardian or sth.

I love KAMELOT more than ever, I think PFTP could be there most mature and interesting album so far. I am thrilled to see them live in London later on this spring!!
Loading...
21.03.2011 - 13:53
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Written by Matheus on 20.03.2011 at 18:21

Some of the comments here makes me really pissed, and it is sad that so many of you guys are this single-minded... I think it is absolutely wonderful in the way Kamelot has evolved.., and I am super pleased to say that finally are more in contact with their Gothic influences, those influences were always there, but now more than ever obvious. It is also great that they are less of a power metal band on this record. Kamelot was always more than a normal power metal band. Because, lets face it, power metal in its pure form IS KIND OF BORING. Kamelot was always so much more, and on PFTP Youngblood shows that he is a true genious when it comes to making music.

So, to all you, narrowminded people who doesnt understand the strength in the darker and more complex songs on the PFTP, maybe you should just stick to Blind Guardian or sth.

I love KAMELOT more than ever, I think PFTP could be there most mature and interesting album so far. I am thrilled to see them live in London later on this spring!!


I agree with you in that Kamelot have always offered a new flavor of Power Metal that is quite unique in the genre, even developing their sound to incorporate entirely new elements or strengthened/altered already existing elements to keep their music interesting.

But what do you mean by 'Power metal in its pure form'?

Personally, I didn't enjoy the album, needless to say though that they have added to their already interesting sound. Unfortunate though that that doesn't necessarily mean that the album is good.
Loading...
30.03.2011 - 22:02
evoola
It's a damn shame people didn't step up earlier and defend this album in the face of this totally absurd, poorly written diatribe. It reads like a 12 year old having a seizure. I thought ponderer nailed it down nicely with his descriptions and take on where Kamelot were headed whereas daniell just bent over and took a verbal shit all over the place. What's worse are the outright childish attacks launched at ponderer for defending his point of view. Is MS a dictatorship based on repression and censorship? Since when is a group of so-called "extreme metal" wannabe brats from Europe allowed to troll a user off this site for having his own opinion? It's pretty fucking tragic if you ask me considering the quality of reviews ponderer laid down as opposed to the biased, witless drivel daniell slobbers all over this site. Hail Kamelot and props to ponderer for having the balls to defend what he believes in.
Loading...
31.03.2011 - 04:13
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by evoola on 30.03.2011 at 22:02

It's a damn shame people didn't step up earlier and defend this album in the face of this totally absurd, poorly written diatribe. It reads like a 12 year old having a seizure. I thought ponderer nailed it down nicely with his descriptions and take on where Kamelot were headed whereas daniell just bent over and took a verbal shit all over the place. What's worse are the outright childish attacks launched at ponderer for defending his point of view. Is MS a dictatorship based on repression and censorship? Since when is a group of so-called "extreme metal" wannabe brats from Europe allowed to troll a user off this site for having his own opinion? It's pretty fucking tragic if you ask me considering the quality of reviews ponderer laid down as opposed to the biased, witless drivel daniell slobbers all over this site. Hail Kamelot and props to ponderer for having the balls to defend what he believes in.


the user in question wasn't "trolled out", but trolled himself out. he flat out asked to be banned.

and if you want to see a totally absurd, poorly written diatribe, perhaps you should check out his review of Enslaved's latest.

----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
01.04.2011 - 18:13
evoola
@ Bittercold, Thanks for the heads up! His review seemed a bit over the top, yes, however I agreed with most of it. I'll be in the minority here when I say I think Enslaved are pretty overrated. I don't see what the hype is all about at all. Seems like a pretty mediocre offering in the same vein as everything else coming out of that part of the world.
Loading...
01.04.2011 - 20:32
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by evoola on 01.04.2011 at 18:13

@ Bittercold, Thanks for the heads up! His review seemed a bit over the top, yes, however I agreed with most of it. I'll be in the minority here when I say I think Enslaved are pretty overrated. I don't see what the hype is all about at all. Seems like a pretty mediocre offering in the same vein as everything else coming out of that part of the world.


yep. it sounds just like Gorgoroth and Immortal, doesn't it? i mean they are all virtually indistinguishable. just like mercyful fate was nothing but a hellhammer clone that sounded just like venom. all those fucking european wave bm bands sound exactly the same.

and anyone incapable of discerning any one of those from any of the others is probably equally incapable of discerning troll v1.0 from troll v2.0.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
03.04.2011 - 21:11
evoola
Mercyful Fate sucks. I agree with you there. That singing, my gosh! Also, we're not allowed to listen to that stuff inside the Vatican walls
Loading...
25.05.2011 - 20:33
The Norseman
How is that :

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7

gives a final rating of 5.9 ? I always thought it was the average of this 4 rates.
Loading...
25.05.2011 - 20:39
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by The Norseman on 25.05.2011 at 20:33

How is that :

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7

gives a final rating of 5.9 ? I always thought it was the average of this 4 rates.


nope. those are just four benchmarks. omitted are things like "enjoyment"... something can be played well, produced well, and still be boring as hell.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
26.05.2011 - 13:41
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Written by BitterCOld on 25.05.2011 at 20:39

Written by The Norseman on 25.05.2011 at 20:33

How is that :

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7

gives a final rating of 5.9 ? I always thought it was the average of this 4 rates.


nope. those are just four benchmarks. omitted are things like "enjoyment"... something can be played well, produced well, and still be boring as hell.


But wouldn't the four benchmarks depend on the enjoyment of the reviewer anyway? Reviews are opinions. In the case of this album, why give the opinion that the album is of decent quality but say that you didn't enjoy it? That doesn't make sense to me, saying "yeah this albums decent but I didn't enjoy it" is like saying "this albums somewhat enjoyable but I didn't enjoy it."
Loading...
26.05.2011 - 18:58
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by R'Vannith on 26.05.2011 at 13:41

Written by BitterCOld on 25.05.2011 at 20:39


nope. those are just four benchmarks. omitted are things like "enjoyment"... something can be played well, produced well, and still be boring as hell.


But wouldn't the four benchmarks depend on the enjoyment of the reviewer anyway? Reviews are opinions. In the case of this album, why give the opinion that the album is of decent quality but say that you didn't enjoy it? That doesn't make sense to me, saying "yeah this albums decent but I didn't enjoy it" is like saying "this albums somewhat enjoyable but I didn't enjoy it."


no. not at all.

i can divorce whether or not the band is skilled or writes "good" songs from whether or not I like them. Rush vs. later Darkthrone... Rush are better at their instruments, more original, and better produced. both write good songs. Rush would likely score better in 3 of 4 fields... yet i don't own a Rush album and "Circle The Wagons" got more spins than anything else I bought last year. Rush is a better band, which i'll admit, but I enjoy Darkthrone more.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
27.05.2011 - 03:55
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Written by BitterCOld on 26.05.2011 at 18:58

Written by R'Vannith on 26.05.2011 at 13:41


But wouldn't the four benchmarks depend on the enjoyment of the reviewer anyway? Reviews are opinions. In the case of this album, why give the opinion that the album is of decent quality but say that you didn't enjoy it? That doesn't make sense to me, saying "yeah this albums decent but I didn't enjoy it" is like saying "this albums somewhat enjoyable but I didn't enjoy it."


no. not at all.

i can divorce whether or not the band is skilled or writes "good" songs from whether or not I like them. Rush vs. later Darkthrone... Rush are better at their instruments, more original, and better produced. both write good songs. Rush would likely score better in 3 of 4 fields... yet i don't own a Rush album and "Circle The Wagons" got more spins than anything else I bought last year. Rush is a better band, which i'll admit, but I enjoy Darkthrone more.


Fair enough, but should the 'enjoyment' factor of an album even come into the final rating for a review? After all readers would be more interested in whether an album is 'good' or not rather than whether the reviewer enjoyed such 'good' (or not) music. Then again its all opinion anyway, so why not factor in your enjoyment?
Loading...
05.04.2012 - 17:04
Matheus
HI FOLKS!!!

There are so many rules on this site when reviewing or commenting... funny stuff. I thought we were all rockers and f***** rules... at least I do... still love the album. "Zodiac" is the strongest song to me, and "necropolis..". But hey..! Lately I have been listening to Alice in Chains and Jerry Cantrell... GREAT STUFF BTW.., Its quite far from Kamelots previous effort though..! I like the darker/ goth/ grunge influences visible in this they're latest effort...

However... Now that Khan is gone, I guess they are bound to get some boring spiritless power metal singer..! Unfortunately... like the guy they had on their last tour (in which I saw them live in London)...

It would be awesome if they got some darker, cooler goth-guy... I don't see that happening though..
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 06:08
IanYeara
I totally agree, I destroyed this album in my review on Encyclopedia Metalum, calling it boring, directionless and just not power metal. Even the most power metal song on the whole thing is incredibly lame and just lacking in energy. Pandemonium and Necropolis are actually decent songs, but even the worst songs from Ghost Opera are better than them (well maybe not Anthem). All in all the energy has seeped out of this band and they have just become some lame Goth metal group. Something needs to change.

4 out of 10
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 16:26
Epictemptation
This is the only website that has gave this album a bad review, this staff can't find the true power of PFTP, but he will eventually
----
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 18:29
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 16:26

This is the only website that has gave this album a bad review, this staff can't find the true power of PFTP, but he will eventually

Found this on the first page of Google:

http://www.metal-observer.com/articles.php?lid=1&sid=1&id=17794

Found this on the second:

http://absurdhistory.com/2010/10/15/album-review-poetry-for-the-poisoned-kamelot-2010/

Found this on the third:

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/reviews/compact_discs/kamelot/silverthorn/index.html

Etc.

You should find the true power of Google search.
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 18:56
Epictemptation
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 30.10.2012 at 18:29

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 16:26

This is the only website that has gave this album a bad review, this staff can't find the true power of PFTP, but he will eventually

Found this on the first page of Google:

http://www.metal-observer.com/articles.php?lid=1&sid=1&id=17794

Found this on the second:

http://absurdhistory.com/2010/10/15/album-review-poetry-for-the-poisoned-kamelot-2010/

Found this on the third:

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/reviews/compact_discs/kamelot/silverthorn/index.html

Etc.

You should find the true power of Google search.


Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)
----
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 22:15
Daniell
No, you don't
Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 22:59
Nemo Atkins
Written by Daniell on 30.10.2012 at 22:15

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...

Yeah, I got Poetry recently myself (I've got all of Kamelot's albums with Khan and Silverthorn arrived in the post today: loving it right now) and I have to say that there are three songs which I could say I like off of it: "The Great Pandemonium", "The Zodiac" and (because it opens "The Zodiac") "Dear Editor". Otherwise, I find the album pretty poor. I see what they were trying to do, but they didn't do it very well.
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 23:15
Epictemptation
Written by Nemo Atkins on 30.10.2012 at 22:59

Written by Daniell on 30.10.2012 at 22:15

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...

Yeah, I got Poetry recently myself (I've got all of Kamelot's albums with Khan and Silverthorn arrived in the post today: loving it right now) and I have to say that there are three songs which I could say I like off of it: "The Great Pandemonium", "The Zodiac" and (because it opens "The Zodiac") "Dear Editor". Otherwise, I find the album pretty poor. I see what they were trying to do, but they didn't do it very well.

Yah it's an album with mixed review so some will like it and some won't . You know what r u gonna do about it right?
I hope the album will enhance you as much as it did to me:)
----
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 23:16
Epictemptation
Written by Daniell on 30.10.2012 at 22:15

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...

Lol it's your opinion and I respect it:)
----
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 23:18
Epictemptation
Written by Daniell on 30.10.2012 at 22:15

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...

Again it's a mixed review album so some will like it and some won't
----
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 23:37
Nemo Atkins
Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 23:15

Written by Nemo Atkins on 30.10.2012 at 22:59

Written by Daniell on 30.10.2012 at 22:15

Written by Epictemptation on 30.10.2012 at 18:56

Lol all albums have bad reviews, it's just that this one seems to harsh, but thanks for the links:)


Since Kamelot have just released a new album, I went back to Poetry for the Poisoned to see how it stands now, after 2 years. I'd rate it even lower, with a full round 5 now, if I were to write this review again.

So, too harsh for you, not harsh enough for me. To each his own...

Yeah, I got Poetry recently myself (I've got all of Kamelot's albums with Khan and Silverthorn arrived in the post today: loving it right now) and I have to say that there are three songs which I could say I like off of it: "The Great Pandemonium", "The Zodiac" and (because it opens "The Zodiac") "Dear Editor". Otherwise, I find the album pretty poor. I see what they were trying to do, but they didn't do it very well.

Yah it's an album with mixed review so some will like it and some won't . You know what r u gonna do about it right?
I hope the album will enhance you as much as it did to me:)

Well, it certainly proved to me that synths and Kamelot don't mix very well!

On a serious note, my main issue is more the fact that it had the potential to be a lot better than the uncatchiness of the music (although that's certainly a factor: I'm not usually a fan of prog music). There was a lot of potential in this album, but very little of it actually bore fruit for me. Which is a real shame, since it's obvious that a lot of work went into this album...
Loading...
30.10.2012 - 23:47
Epictemptation
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:

Yeah, I got Poetry recently myself (I've got all of Kamelot's albums with Khan and Silverthorn arrived in the post today: loving it right now) and I have to say that there are three songs which I could say I like off of it: "The Great Pandemonium", "The Zodiac" and (because it opens "The Zodiac") "Dear Editor". Otherwise, I find the album pretty poor. I see what they were trying to do, but they didn't do it very well.

Yah it's an album with mixed review so some will like it and some won't . You know what r u gonna do about it right?
I hope the album will enhance you as much as it did to me:)

Well, it certainly proved to me that synths and Kamelot don't mix very well!

On a serious note, my main issue is more the fact that it had the potential to be a lot better than the uncatchiness of the music (although that's certainly a factor: I'm not usually a fan of prog music). There was a lot of potential in this album, but very little of it actually bore fruit for me. Which is a real shame, since it's obvious that a lot of work went into this album...

The album is good but not great, but its also an album to remember about if you are a kamelot fan, I'm seeing many comments on how "Silverthorn" isn't as great as PFTP and many comments that's its better than PFTP. So I'm guessing "Silverthorn" is going to be a mixed review album as well.
----
Loading...

Hits total: 19840 | This month: 83